MAS - Suspension, Why do you think it get suspended?

TSVyvernS
post Jun 11 2009, 05:50 PM, updated 17y ago

~Keep Your Eyes on the Monitor~
1,954 posts

Hello forumers,

I just open this topic for 24 hours....Hehehe....

After that moderator can remove already....This is purely a speculative topic and rumour. But then again, MAS counter already suspended so cannot buy and sell tomorrow.

So why do you think it is suspended?

I fishing for information.
TSVyvernS
post Jun 12 2009, 11:54 AM

1,954 posts

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.p...top-rm2-billion
TSVyvernS
post Jun 12 2009, 03:24 PM

1,954 posts

So there we have it....Thanks to everyone for contribution.

MAS reported loss of 41sen per share. There is a drop in their NTA from 2.5 to (0.27) meaning to say they are owing folks money.

Nope, the loss is not 6 Billion. It is RM694million. Here is the report.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  MASQ1.pdf ( 80.94k ) Number of downloads: 42
TSVyvernS
post Jun 13 2009, 12:48 AM

1,954 posts

Haha...I leave after work and find MAS is nearly kena PN-17 since the company become Net Tangible Liability (NTL). They managed to get a waiver and not put on PN-17 - somehow someone managed to get this waiver.

Actually, lots of airlines hedge against fuel price increase, but I think last year most, if not all, bet the wrong way and recorded losses due to fuel price drop.

The waiver takes into account that the reason it became NTL is due to hedging wrong way, NOT because MAS management failed to properly execute the MAS operations.

In fact, I bought MAS at 2.6 because I have faith that Idris Jala will turnaround the company, and not because it is a GLC. Based on the recovery from 2007, Idris Jala has shown he is capable to turnaround a loss company to profit, taking hard steps where needed. I believe that at the end of 2009, this company will already turn around and later the MTM losses will be history.

Hehe...Just my 2 cents.
TSVyvernS
post Jun 13 2009, 03:50 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jun 13 2009, 09:13 AM)
VyvernS, you look confident in MAS that able to do a magical turnaround by 31/12/09  hmm.gif

make a note. MAS closed at 3.26

i'm sure there will be a lot of fearing dumping on monday.

dont catch the falling dagger, guys.
Hi hi Pana.....Yup, confident. I don't think Idris Jala will let his efforts go to waste. He is the right guy at the wrong time.... sad.gif

He has managed to turn around this company. Unfortunately due to rising oil prices and H1N1, somethings just did not go right.

All readers, this is all my 2cents and humble opinion. I already hold MAS shares. All those reading this, please be careful. Do your own research before buying in. There is a risk with MAS, because if any of the waiver conditions are violated, MAS will join Talam & Ekran in PN17.. tongue.gif

And there are lots of uncertainty in the airlines industry (Airbus investigation in progress), travel industry (H1N1 virus), commodities industry (increase in fuel costs) and stiff competition from Datuk Tony.

And I still gung-ho holding on the shares.... sweat.gif
TSVyvernS
post Jun 14 2009, 01:55 AM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Jun 13 2009, 10:35 PM)
MAS should still survive if the oil price hike...
But even if government strip off all their debts & left them with cash & they still left with negative equity after a few years, I just wonder shall government do it again?
Assign new CEO lah, of coz tongue.gif

After a few years, if MAS keep getting into hot water, then: "Announcing the new MAS CEO, - "Tan Sri" Datuk Tony Fernandez! rclxms.gif
TSVyvernS
post Jun 15 2009, 10:54 AM

1,954 posts

Thanks Pana. Here is one report from CIMB, TP 1.95.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  MAS_Mar_09_results.pdf ( 320.97k ) Number of downloads: 8
TSVyvernS
post Jun 16 2009, 12:39 AM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Jun 15 2009, 11:19 PM)
I tried to queue below RM3 but never get it. Just wandering why the share price still so high even though with bad announcement last Friday ?
Majority shareholders not wanting it to drop below RM3. So don't sell, or just sell to buy....EPF sell at high, EPF buy at high...as an example. We are merely the ikan bilis trading this stock. 52% owned by Penerbagan Malaysia. 17% owned by Khazanah and 13% owned by EPF.....

Its no wonder this stock price can steady.....The world red, I won't surprise it can still green...haha biggrin.gif

0.0274sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:28 PM