Queries Science and Technology SubForum, ..for the geeks and nerds in us..

TSbeatlesalbum
post Jun 11 2009, 10:55 AM, updated 17y ago

1,711 posts

Hi Staff/Admin
Can we have such a subforum where we can discuss latest scientific and technological discoveries, or just anything science related like physics, math, etc?
SUSahjames
post Jun 11 2009, 11:31 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

title a bit long. can shorten to Scientology?

is combine both science and teknologi.

i also support.
bgeh
post Jun 11 2009, 12:11 PM

1,814 posts

Would support the suggestion, but think it highly unlikely it'll interest enough members to get a good enough post 'rate'. Though it'll be fun debunking stuff like scalar energy, pi water, etc. etc... if such a forum existed.
RBR
post Jun 11 2009, 01:14 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

QUOTE(ahjames @ Jun 11 2009, 11:31 AM)

i also support.
Fantastic idea. Who knows, Tom Cruise might pop by for a visit too.
skystrike
post Jun 11 2009, 03:47 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

very good idea...
wKkaY
post Jun 11 2009, 04:30 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Science & Technology, shall that be in Roundtable Discussions? Or another category?
ktek
post Jun 11 2009, 04:31 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

QUOTE(ahjames @ Jun 11 2009, 11:31 AM)

short form is not always better..
this name is "spoiled" shakehead.gif
http://encyclopediadramatica.com/Scientology
Cheesenium
post Jun 11 2009, 05:12 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I would like to see a subforum on that.Sounds great to me.
BlueWind
post Jun 11 2009, 05:43 PM

Sianzation
2,901 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 11 2009, 04:30 PM)
Science & Technology, shall that be in Roundtable Discussions? Or another category?
I think that is fine. I do not see any other suitable place for that.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 11 2009, 09:08 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Jun 11 2009, 05:43 PM)
I think that is fine. I do not see any other suitable place for that.
+1 I agree with BlueWind as well. Nice idea btw.
TSbeatlesalbum
post Jun 11 2009, 09:29 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(bgeh @ Jun 11 2009, 12:11 PM)
Would support the suggestion, but think it highly unlikely it'll interest enough members to get a good enough post 'rate'. Though it'll be fun debunking stuff like scalar energy, pi water, etc. etc... if such a forum existed.
yeah, science and technology is intertwined. all our grand inventions today would never had existed if it wasnt for the scientific discoveries, but great inventions today will someday lead to even greater technologies!

A simple law like "for every force there is an equal and opposite reaction" lead us to cars, roads, and u know our computers today will lead us to things like the ones we see in Star Trek. An ideal utopia of technological grandeur far exceeding what our minds now are even capable of imagining!

Yes!!! A forum where we can discuss about Laws and Theorems and equations, bits and 1 ands 0's, or maybe give our understanding of what happen in the last episode of Mythbuster.
Something to that effect.
Nothing is more noble than the pursuit of knowledge and much more nobler than that is to enrich the minds of our current generation with science and technology.

from great discussions come great minds!!!!

Added on June 11, 2009, 9:39 pmThe sad thing especially these days is that the younger generation just learn about covalent bonds and impulse force just for the sake of grades mostly, without the passion and the love of the subject matter.
And even worse, is the older generation who is content with what he/she knows, unknown to him that knowledge is a never ending quest, especially science.

This post has been edited by beatlesalbum: Jun 11 2009, 09:39 PM
empire23
post Jun 11 2009, 10:21 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 11 2009, 04:30 PM)
Seems to be the most fitting.

Heck we should get contributors to each write something we can pin up regarding their field.

I'm all for such a sub forum as i feel it to be beneficial and faithful to the original idea of the forum.
goldfries
post Jun 12 2009, 12:20 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

the site is pretty much a TECHNOLOGY forum already, we've covered, hardware, web, mobile, software, automotive blablablabla......

so i think the SnT section would cover the other parts of science and technology which are not having any other sub-forum - certainly a place that's ideal, better than opening a thread in /k/ and turned into a mess.

*hint : try opening a thread in /k/ on science of reproduction and you'll see all the cucuk dan main thing coming along.
Stefanov
post Jun 12 2009, 12:33 AM

400 posts

brother goldfries.
i think TS meant like, stuffs like here

MIT Tech
don't worry about the website, i been following this for years.
It would be interesting if there's are something about it
but sadly, more subforum more trouble.

goldfries
post Jun 12 2009, 12:38 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i know la. that's what i'm saying.

you see, many of the category in the site you quoted is actually covered already.

only stuff like bio-med are not. smile.gif my point was that any other SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY that's not covered in already existing sections will go there.
NicJolin
post Jun 12 2009, 01:04 AM

Stop monitoring =)
1,053 posts

Yea we need a subforum for bio-chem-phy related kinda stuffs
Not electronic devices technology
Perhaps discussion on documentary shown on national geo or discovery channel
empire23
post Jun 12 2009, 09:00 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(NicJolin @ Jun 12 2009, 01:04 AM)
Yea we need a subforum for bio-chem-phy related kinda stuffs
Not electronic devices technology
Perhaps discussion on documentary shown on national geo or discovery channel
Everything should be available for discussion in my opinion. Even the dolts at hardware can't tell the difference between TTL and CMOS logic, or the difference between Amps and Volts.
pengiranijam
post Jun 12 2009, 05:41 PM

1,568 posts

I will support to have such like this in our community since we are Malaysia's Tech Enthusiast Resource Community which mean Science and Technology have its tech too to be talk...
SUSahjames
post Jun 12 2009, 05:50 PM

My Name James
1,337 posts

It should be moderated well, and the moderator should be knowledge enough in that area.

in case we have pebbie's epic "The earth is flat" again wink.gif
TSbeatlesalbum
post Jun 12 2009, 06:31 PM

1,711 posts

Oh well, in retrospect, goldfries is right.. i suppose we can downsize it to something more on the micro level.
Call it Life Sciences and Physics subforum.
More on chemistry, physics theories, electronics, and other life sciences.

wKkaY
post Jun 13 2009, 07:25 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Notice anything new? biggrin.gif

The tags were loosely based on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fields_of_science

Let's play it by ear for a couple of weeks and see what sort of response it gets.
duncan880409
post Jun 13 2009, 09:24 PM

Like Working in My Lab ^^
3,700 posts

if want to ask about computer problem, ask where? i mean, basic about computer working etc etc
example, i really intersting to know DDS, diskless network solution, i dont mean it basic thing, well i see in website already, it give me basic working procedure, and i know the basic procedure, searching thru google, and i see there is DDS thread(selling) in the classifield section, but i dont think i can ask there, so is there a permission to ask in science lab?

This post has been edited by duncan880409: Jun 13 2009, 09:26 PM
wKkaY
post Jun 13 2009, 09:39 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

suggest you ask those in the networking section.
duncan880409
post Jun 13 2009, 09:42 PM

Like Working in My Lab ^^
3,700 posts

well ,arent networking section for people have troble in thier network?
wKkaY
post Jun 13 2009, 10:29 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

nopes, any network related discussion is welcome there smile.gif
bgeh
post Jun 14 2009, 08:06 PM

1,814 posts

suggestion: some other name than science lab please, because it doesn't fit any discourse about economics, and perhaps even some mathematics

specifically, i've issues with the word 'lab'

no suggestions though on another name
RBR
post Jun 15 2009, 04:43 AM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

I think we should first consider what the subforum is for - should economics be included in The Science Lab? It already has a home in RWI, albeit that was intended for more political economics. However, TSL should not have threads political in nature at all. If we can keep economic discussions purely theoretical then I'm happy for it to be in TSL, but if not, it must be in RWI.
bgeh
post Jun 15 2009, 05:01 AM

1,814 posts

Well my initial conception of the subforum, and my impression of the categories listed seemed to imply discussions of a more academic/theoretical nature

I'm just worried that the title of the forum itself will drive the topics made in the forum (more physical, lab based science) over the other subjects which I think were also envisioned to be discussed there (e.g. mathematics)

Though I do think it unlikely that it'll gain a large enough audience though - relative to the other forums, much like the DC++ subforum I guess, but we'll see.

edit: fixed some terms

This post has been edited by bgeh: Jun 15 2009, 06:20 AM
myvi5949
post Jun 15 2009, 06:22 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

Thanks for opening up Science and Tech sub forum.. I love it! its so interesting for science geeks like me. Hehe
Cheesenium
post Jun 16 2009, 12:53 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

After posting a few days there,i really dont see the point of this subforum.

People just come in with all sorts of science fantasy and nothing much realistic is discussed about.

Some people just use it to rank up post counts.
RBR
post Jun 16 2009, 01:00 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

As you pointed out, it has only been a few days. Subforums take time to grow and mature.
TSbeatlesalbum
post Jun 16 2009, 01:01 PM

1,711 posts

Then it is up to forummers like you to educate them. Sure fantasies may not be grounded into reality but imagination is the mother of inventions.
A lot of them are kids, or people in working field like me who hasnt touched these subjects for a looong time already. A lot of times the discussion actually make me research for materials online to actually dwelve into the subject matter with better understanding.
And furthermore, this subforum is still at its infancy and no proper moderator has been assigned to it yet.
With proper knowledgable moderators, better and more clear guidelines can be set.

SUSahjames
post Jun 16 2009, 01:33 PM

My Name James
1,337 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Jun 16 2009, 01:01 PM)
imagination is the mother of inventions.
rclxms.gif

yes, i think sometime u can get ideas to do stuff from such discussion. i also hope to gain more idea on some of the discussion that can relate to real world applications.

as for mod, is ok, we have goldie there wink.gif
Cheesenium
post Jun 16 2009, 01:34 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I cant really contribute much as quantum physics or physics in general isnt the field im doing.

If someone actually talks about turbulence(thats something im interested in),structures,or anything closely related to what i do,i would be able to contribute.

To be honest,something more realistic like Google Lunar X Prize or quantum computers(another thing im interested) would have more to discuss than fantasies like teleport or C&C3 drop pods that we probably wont be seeing it in our lifetime.
myvi5949
post Jun 17 2009, 10:56 AM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 16 2009, 12:53 PM)
After posting a few days there,i really dont see the point of this subforum.

People just come in with all sorts of science fantasy and nothing much realistic is discussed about.

Some people just use it to rank up post counts.
Science fantasy.. There is no certainty in science, so as anything in life. Are you so closed minded? Discoveries are made every single day. Do u know anything about string theory? Or theory of relativity? I dont want to sound like a tape recorder but just a few years ago people think that the world is flat.
SUSahjames
post Jun 17 2009, 12:08 PM

My Name James
1,337 posts

Guys, science != physics only la. Look at the possible tags. Bio / Life is also science, so are numeros other category.

And u dont have to be a scientist to be in Science lab. Altho i see many ppl who trying to sound like one wink.gif
3dassets
post Jun 17 2009, 12:57 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(ahjames @ Jun 17 2009, 12:08 PM)
Guys, science != physics only la. Look at the possible tags. Bio / Life is also science, so are numeros other category.

And u dont have to be a scientist to be in Science lab. Altho i see many ppl who trying to sound like one wink.gif
I think so, more like a show off, anyone can do some research and post.

I prefer something down to earth that clarifies myths or misleading assumption and so on rather than talk virtually nonsense (believes).

Make science sounded like a religion.
Joey Christensen
post Jun 17 2009, 01:06 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

Hi there!

The introduction of "The Science Lab" is a very channel for individuals who are "deep in curiousity". I foresee this as a channel/thread for us to have/gain access to a better education in science. It helps us to develop into more normal thinking human beings rather than a /k/tard.

I hope with this introduction, it will help in developing the understandings in science and and habits of mind they need to become compassionate human beings able to think for themselves. I whole heartedly supports the notion of the existence of "The Science Lab".

One last request, since the post count is available, there are bounds to have a few nincompoops posting nonsensical a.k.a ANNOYING replies. Therefore, Hope the moderators monitor the thread's content from time to time.

Regards, Joey

p.s: The more science literate individuals are, the stronger our society can be. Specifically, the lessons and skills science gives us can have repercussions that help us in the long run.
OMG!
post Jun 17 2009, 01:36 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

Oh well, i always feel a sense of awesome towards a scientist ..

for me they are the inventor, they are great in analytical thinking. They always embrace problem -based soving skills to make things done.

So i salute their efforts in creating a more convenient and a more wiser humanitarians in the today society.

My suggestion would be post anything you feel you are adept at, like invent something or comes out with a good research projects that might enhance one's lfe.

i know it is tough, but why not we just give it a try..anyway, i hope to get some idea from the scientist around the world on how do they carry out experiments and how they analyse the experimental data and so on.
Those scientist might be the one that involve in research fields like a biochemist, a pharmacist, a medical researcher,zoologist, botanist, microbiologist etc..

We will surely appreciate ur efforts.
Cheers=)
zenous
post Jun 17 2009, 02:23 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 12 2009, 12:20 AM)
the site is pretty much a TECHNOLOGY forum already, we've covered, hardware, web, mobile, software, automotive blablablabla......

so i think the SnT section would cover the other parts of science and technology which are not having any other sub-forum - certainly a place that's ideal, better than opening a thread in /k/ and turned into a mess.

*hint : try opening a thread in /k/ on science of reproduction and you'll see all the cucuk dan main thing coming along.
u dun play2 at /k/ mah
we all go there to show stupidity only
others section will keep it to professional level
Cheesenium
post Jun 17 2009, 05:53 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Jun 17 2009, 10:56 AM)
Science fantasy.. There is no certainty in science, so as anything in life.  Are you so closed minded? Discoveries are made every single day.  Do u know anything about string theory? Or theory of relativity? I dont want to sound like a tape recorder but just a few years ago people think that the world is flat.
So,if you think threads like Dihydrogen Monoxide worth discussing while it's just a hoax from the beginning or the beginning of the teleport thread filled with kopitiam style chatting? I havent read the whole subforum but that my impression on it.

Theoretical physics isnt my field,btw.I dont think people need a degree in physics,maths,chemistry etc to post there.Just a bit serious and logical will do,IMO.The problem with this subforum is there is almost no serious discussion,except a few threads.Other than that,it's just fantasy or nonsense.

One thing im glad is,some of the thread actually started to have some serious discussion on it now.

I do think that section needs a regular mod there to lock those pointless thread.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jun 17 2009, 05:57 PM
TSbeatlesalbum
post Jun 17 2009, 05:55 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 17 2009, 05:53 PM)
So,if you think threads like Dihydrogen Monoxide worth discussing while it's just a hoax from the beginning or the teleport thread filled with kopitiam style chatting? I havent read the whole subforum but that my impression on it.

Theoretical physics isnt my field,btw.I dont think people need a degree in physics,maths,chemistry etc to post there.Just a bit serious and logical will do,IMO.The problem with this subforum is there is almost no serious discussion,except a few threads.Other than that,it's just fantasy or nonsense.

I do think that section needs a regular mod there to lock those pointless thread.
Someone like you may be suitable to be a moderator there.

Anyway I would like to suggest a QnA for SPM/STPM/A-levels students to post interesthing questions from the science subjects they take.
Cheesenium
post Jun 17 2009, 06:01 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Jun 17 2009, 05:55 PM)
Someone like you may be suitable to be a moderator there.

Anyway I would like to suggest a QnA for SPM/STPM/A-levels students to post interesthing questions from the science subjects they take.
There are better forumers to be a mod there,like bgeh or ModularHelmet.

I think QnA section could come in later,when there are more forumers posting.

We'll see how it goes.

OT by the way,that subforum just make me feel like buying New Scientist or Discover again.I love reading Discover,especially the Darwin's Theory special issue.
ModularHelmet
post Jun 18 2009, 12:30 AM

24 posts

Later on, i believe there will be more and more people come in to ask about their school homework.

We will have threads like

Biology homework discussion V3
Physics homework discussion v2

We should also set some regulations where students are NOT supposed to ask question directly.
Instead, they should show their working in attempt to solve the question.
At this stage, other member will try to guide the person to solve the question.

It is always good to have some imaginative science fiction discussion. The only problem is that to have the discussion in what manner? More towards serious technical, academic discussion or just some personal opinion?
bgeh
post Jun 18 2009, 12:34 AM

1,814 posts

Put me in the camp of less science fiction and more technical/academic discussions please. Or give science fiction some subforum within it.

e.g. the UFO topic. Does that really have anything to do with 'science'? Sounds more like something for science fiction buffs to make conspiracy theories out of more than anything else. I'd let it stand, but yes the forum is suffering from a lack of a defined purpose right now.

or say the 'Is exploration of space that important?' topic..... isn't a discussion of the practicalities of the exploration of space more of a real life economic issue regarding the distribution of resources, which is a political decision, and thus more suited for real world issues more than anything else? [that's the original post, if the question were phrased to ask 'what scientific achievements, etc, etc gained from this, and could it have been achieved if it were done from the ground alone?', it would be more relevant]

This post has been edited by bgeh: Jun 18 2009, 12:42 AM
elhh82
post Jun 18 2009, 08:12 AM

737 posts

I think the guideline should be:

Does it promote interest in Science and Technology?

Though i agree that we should have less conspiracy theory threads (i.e. the UFO one), there is merit in it, if we shape the discussion in the direction of one that is science based. Ie: Talk about the SETI project, Talk about Astronomy etc.

I disagree with bgeh that the topic of space exploration is of less value if we discuss the economic and political realities. I don't think we need to be so anal so as to say that because the focus of the discussion is less science therefore we should move the thread to Real World Issues. It is a science issue, and science shouldn't be thought about in a vacuum, the fact is political and economic realities shape a lot of the scientific research in today's world.
bgeh
post Jun 18 2009, 08:36 AM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(elhh82 @ Jun 18 2009, 08:12 AM)
I think the guideline should be:

Does it promote interest in Science and Technology?

Though i agree that we should have less conspiracy theory threads (i.e. the UFO one), there is merit in it, if we shape the discussion in the direction of one that is science based. Ie: Talk about the SETI project, Talk about Astronomy etc.

I disagree with bgeh that the topic of space exploration is of less value if we discuss the economic and political realities.  I don't think we need to be so anal so as to say that because the focus of the discussion is less science therefore we should move the thread to Real World Issues. It is a science issue, and science shouldn't be thought about in a vacuum, the fact is political and economic realities shape a lot of the scientific research in today's world.
It isn't a matter of being anal or whatnot, because a thread with almost the same content in the original post exists in real world issues:

In science lab:

Title: Is space exploration that important ? [Billions were spent !!]
Post content:
Do we need to spend billions of $$ just to explore the 'uncertain' ???

Why don't human just play their part in taking care of d environment n make d Earth de best place to stay instead of finding other planet ???

Meanwhile, in real world issues:

Title: Exploration Of Space
Post content:
Now with Russia out of the picture, the only nation involved in the exploration of space is the United States. Each year, it spends billions of dollars and millions of hours on its space programme. Is this vast expenditure of money & time justified?

I think the vast sums of money could have been better spent on providing housing, educational and medical facilities for the people. Exploration of space does not bring any tangible benefits to the people. It is nothing but a sinful waste of public fund. So far, what they have actually gained is only a little more knowledge of our universe.

Not only time and money were lost but also lives when the spaceships exploded on the launching pad or shortly after launching.

Don't they both just talk about why bother spending on space, and concentrate on making Earth better? Do they both not look like close twins of each other?

Besides, if I were being anal I'd point out that the science lab thread has absolutely nothing to do with astronomy at all (which is the tag), because it's trying to discuss why should the exploration of space get that much funding, etc. etc.

This post has been edited by bgeh: Jun 18 2009, 08:44 AM
Cheesenium
post Jun 18 2009, 09:00 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ModularHelmet @ Jun 18 2009, 12:30 AM)
Later on, i believe there will be more and more people come in to ask about their school homework.

We will have threads like

Biology homework discussion V3
Physics homework discussion v2

We should also set some regulations where students are NOT supposed to ask question directly.
Instead, they should show their working in attempt to solve the question.
At this stage, other member will try to guide the person to solve the question.

It is always good to have some imaginative science fiction discussion. The only problem is that to have the discussion in what manner? More towards serious technical, academic discussion or just some personal opinion?
Homework threads would be great,IMO.

I always prefer a more serious and technical manner.Now,it's mostly Kopitiam style with loads of nonsense.

QUOTE(bgeh @ Jun 18 2009, 12:34 AM)
Put me in the camp of less science fiction and more technical/academic discussions please. Or give science fiction some subforum within it.

e.g. the UFO topic. Does that really have anything to do with 'science'? Sounds more like something for science fiction buffs to make conspiracy theories out of more than anything else. I'd let it stand, but yes the forum is suffering from a lack of a defined purpose right now.

or say the 'Is exploration of space that important?' topic..... isn't a discussion of the practicalities of the exploration of space more of a real life economic issue regarding the distribution of resources, which is a political decision, and thus more suited for real world issues more than anything else? [that's the original post, if the question were phrased to ask 'what scientific achievements, etc, etc gained from this, and could it have been achieved if it were done from the ground alone?', it would be more relevant]
Agreed,threads like teleport and UFO have almost nothing to do with science,other than some conspiracy behind it.

I just think that some people here are just taking the chance to rank up post counts in Science Lab while there isnt a proper mod here.

I still think Science Lab needs another better name.How about Adeptus Scientificus? tongue.gif
Joey Christensen
post Jun 18 2009, 12:29 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 17 2009, 05:53 PM)
So,if you think threads like Dihydrogen Monoxide worth discussing while it's just a hoax from the beginning or the beginning of the teleport thread filled with kopitiam style chatting? I havent read the whole subforum but that my impression on it.

One thing im glad is,some of the thread actually started to have some serious discussion on it now.

The Dihydrogen Monoxide (DHMO or H2O) thread is a good start albeit some less serious postings that I've made. Not many people knew the "unrecognised killer". I had my laugh with that thread though I admit it's a little veered off. I admit that we are the ones responsible for the thread regarding how and where we would want to steer it. I apologise for my behaviour.

As some of yu noticed, my style of composing replies or starting off a thread of my own, I think with "The Science Lab", it helps us to exposed and understand the wonders and drawbacks of SCIENCE.

I share the same sentiments as yu, "Cheesenium". Although (I'm applying this example upon my good self) I do not hold a science paper qualification, but I was a curious and science lover. After SPM, I enrolled in a Univ studying art based subject: HRM. Though I was a pure Science student during my years in Form4 & Form5, I still pursue my interest in science no matter what I'm majoring.

I've noticed some of the replies are good ones...mine also not bad, right? Albeit some of it are weird in context.

For my self, SCIENCE is not all SERIOUS MINDED, CRUNCHING FIGURES and FORMULAE FIXINGS.
SCIENCE can be FUN and ENJOYABLE.

WE need to cultivate, educate (I prefer the word "sharing" than educate) and instill in their hearts and minds when it comes to Science. I'm sure yu would agree this motion, right?

Regards, Joey

p.s: UFO, Aliens, Teleportation...these are fine threads provided they are well address upon. Anyway, I was a little suprised that "goldfries" closed the Dihydrogen Monoxide thread. Anyway, he has his reasons and I fully supported his standing. On another note, to have someone to manage/moderate the "The Science Lab", someone on the neutral side is preferred and has the ability to see which is good and which is nonsensical.

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Jun 24 2009, 09:43 AM
Cheesenium
post Jun 18 2009, 12:43 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jun 18 2009, 12:29 PM)
The Dihydrogen Monoxide (DHMO or H2O) thread is a good start albeit some less serious postings that I've made. Not many people knew the "unrecognised killer". I had my laugh with that thread though I admit it's a little veered off. I admit that we are the ones responsible for the thread regarding how and where we would want to steer it. I apologise for my behaviour.

As some of yu noticed, my style of composing replies or starting off a thread of my own, I think with "The Science Lab", it helps us to exposed and understand the wonders and drawbacks of SCIENCE.

I share the same sentiments as yu, "Cheesenium". Although (I'm applying this example upon my good self) I do not hold a science paper qualification, but I was a curious and science lover. After SPM, I enrolled in a Univ studying art based subject: HRM. Though I was a pure Science student during my years in Form4 & Form5, I still pursue my interest in science.

I've noticed some of the replies are good ones...mine also not bad, right? Albeit some of it are weird in context.

For my self, SCIENCE is not all SERIOUS MINDED, CRUNCHING FIGURES and FORMULAE FIXINGS.
SCIENCE can be FUN and ENJOYABLE.

WE need to cultivate, educate (I prefer the word "sharing" than educate) and instill in their hearts and mind when it comes to Science. I'm sure yu would agree this motion, right?

Regards, Joey

p.s: UFO, Aliens, Teleportation...these are fine threads provided they are well address upon. Anyway, I was a little suprised that "goldfries" closed the Dihydrogen Monoxide thread. Anyway, he has his reasons and I fully supported his standing. On another note, to have someone to managed/moderate the "The Science Lab", someone on the neutral side is preferred and has the ability to see which is good and which is nonsensical.
I never imply that anyone need a science degree to post there but the subforum is filled with many topics with little or no content to discuss.Im also very curious in science,especially in chemistry and water engineering related topics.

I would prefer if there is a little seriousness in it,than seeing it filled with science fantasy that we wont see it in our lifetime.I really doubt that stuff like teleportation,time travel or Star War style of space exploration would happen even in your grandson's son lifetime.It's just too far fetch and there isnt much science behind it or it would be too hard to understand for an average joe.

I think topics like Plane on a Conveyor Belt would be much better,IMO.Or stuff like nanotech(they start to appear around us now),electric power vehicle(Chevy Volt etc) or how a game actually works(there is whole lot of interesting stuff behind it,like why people buy a RM2000 graphics card just to calculate some matrix multiplication) would be much better for discussions.

It just feels everyone just take the science fantasy from their favourite movie,drama and games,hoping to get a discussion out of it.

Im not against science fantasy as im always a believer of what Steven Hawking said: " Today's science fiction is tomorrow's science".Just that those science fantasy would only be science in a very very far away tomorrow.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jun 18 2009, 12:48 PM
bgeh
post Jun 22 2009, 03:35 AM

1,814 posts

Complaint: Posts like these shouldn't really be tolerated:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=26780891
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=26719673
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=26706687
Aurora
post Jul 1 2009, 01:55 PM

630 posts

I think we can use a project subforum, where members can post worklog of their science project. Project can range from scale model, prototype, poster, exhibition. We should welcome all academic project to post here, especially from EE subforum.

To prevent spamming, we could draw a simple project post guideline, like:
Project Title:
Category:
Academic Level: Primary/(lower or upper)Secondary/Tertiary
Problem Statement/Hypothesis:
Project Description:
Science Explaination:

0.0356sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:20 AM