Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

superdeemon
post Oct 8 2010, 10:26 PM

for 205/45/16 size, brand michelin pp2 price at rm420 is a good buy or not? what is the side effect for changing rim & tyre size from 16" to 17"?

This post has been edited by superdeemon: Oct 9 2010, 08:26 AM
superdeemon
post Oct 9 2010, 01:42 PM

QUOTE(yngwie @ Oct 9 2010, 01:37 PM)
pp2 is an old tire which is being replaced by ps3. you're buying a used set, isn't it?
btw, what is the stock tire size?
changing to bigger / wider / heavier set of wheels may affect the fc, acceleration, braking and speedometer; much depend on the % of upgrade.
well, this pp2 was quoted to me as new tires, this year production. So, does it worth the price given, rm420 p/pc?
my stock car is currently running on stock rim/tire size, 205/45/16. so, if i would liked to seek expertise advice of going for 17", is it better or worst in term of perfomance & fc?
superdeemon
post Oct 9 2010, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(yngwie @ Oct 9 2010, 02:25 PM)
about the same price with ps3. pp2 does have a slightly harder sidewall but ps3 offer more fun overall.
if it was a performance car, the differences may negligible but on non-performance car, its quite noticeable.
example; 205 to 225 tire width, 6.5kg of 16" wheels to 8.5kg of 17" wheels weight... engine need to works harder on acceleration.
wider tire contact with road surface affect the braking... you do the math  wink.gif
btw, this wasn't an expert opinion. i was merely been there doing it  smile.gif
woa, thanks for the valuable info by just increasing of 1" rim it makes so much difference.

Last question. How about if i down grade to size 15" rim/tire? will i still enjoy the stability of conering confidently as before or compromising speed watching as i sometime do drive as speedily as 170-180km max (never try up to 200km yet), otherwise i will just stay within legal road speed limit of 110-140km min once i hit the highway.
superdeemon
post Oct 9 2010, 09:14 PM

QUOTE(yngwie @ Oct 9 2010, 06:38 PM)
it's the wider contact with road surface and the increased in weight that matter.
estimate an extra 2kg per 17" wheels over the 16" x 4 = 8kg which is quite a weight. the only advantage of upgrading to 17" will be better handling(coupled with good suspension system and suitable tire pressure) when paired with lower profile tires, and nice looking  brows.gif

15" wheels are usually lighter and tailored for the smaller tire width, offset wheels is an exception. downgrading from 16" may require you to go for 195 / 50 or 55
to compensate the different in diameter and looks(if this matter).  there is a sacrifice in handling. esp. on touge and fast corner ride.
btw, lower profile tires tend to give a more direct feedback to steering which in return build our confident when going fast. choose one that suit our driving style and perhaps, our road condition.
drive safely icon_rolleyes.gif
Thks for sharing the rim sizes tips which i am now much more knowing of which one to choose for when i am changing my tires in the near future. thks again
superdeemon
post Dec 10 2010, 09:05 AM

QUOTE(kcng @ Dec 3 2010, 11:11 AM)
start from 16" actually... i am using 205/45/16...
S1 evo is a class higher then V12... can consider "lower" semi-slick class
dry grip is far more superior to V12 and the wet grip is not bad but don't push your luck during wet (all other donuts are about the same too)

for 205/45/16 is RM 365~ per piece...
rating is  ZR
hi kcng, dun mind if u can share with me your S1 evo 205/45/16 experience. Are they excellent for cornering, highway cruising & of course in wet condition? the price rm365 p/pc can get in tek ming or in klang? thks
superdeemon
post Dec 23 2010, 01:58 PM

have anyone heard or seen or drive the brand, "Accelera" tyres before? I saw 205/45/16 selling at just a fraction of rm220 p/pc in a sri gombak proton service workshop. The boss said it is a Netherland technology but made in Indon. It is a directional tread. Any idea anyone?

0.0483sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:33 PM