Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

my44
post Aug 12 2009, 10:40 AM

2,471 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 12 2009, 10:16 AM)
Falken 912... haha... not that bad lo as said by some AW Forummer...
it is not UHP tires... gripping is not fantastic like UHP and extreme tires...
if you want comfort and low profile then this is one of it...
Got a friend recently purchased Falken 912 for his Satria. When in the car, I think the tires are quite comfortable and he also said the grip is good. Price is affordable too. Maybe I'm switching to this for my car too.

my44
post Aug 12 2009, 05:36 PM

2,471 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 12 2009, 10:44 AM)
well see what is your size... if you are using 55 series... you can give Hankook V12 a try...
good for comfort + a bit if performance tire... but a bit noisy la... smile.gif

Me normal driver only. Highway 130-140km/h only. I want comfort tire. Zoom down to either Yokohama or Falken. Hankook? First time heard that name, haha. Michelin too expensive for me lah, other ppl I know la print money everyday ;p

my44
post Aug 13 2009, 11:08 AM

2,471 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 13 2009, 09:56 AM)
Yes Hankook, it is like Falken 912 in price range but better in handling and also it is directional thread... RM185 for 195/55 R15...
not bad in term of performance vs price ration as PP2 at that size will cost you around RM240...
you can try Primacy LC also from Michelin as the price range is around RM210...
Hankook is cheapest but the cons is directional thread tends to creates more vocal than 2 of the Michelin PP2 and Primacy LC...
Michelin have the good reputation in my heart as this Hankook V12 set that i'm using is the 1st set out of Michelin...
It give me good confidence to corners until now in dry and wet also... not hard cornering... around 80km/h kua...
PP2 give me more confidence indeed on handling and cornering... Aquaplaning also it is the best in the UHP range...
trust me... PP2 will give you all they have even you reach the safety marks...
My SEG PP2 once pass the safety mark i still drive around even heavy rains...
although not pass 80km/h but it still give you the grip...

Wow, thanks bro! That's a wealth of information.

Anyway, the mere mention of "noise" or "more noisier than x-brand" will trigger a small alarm in me. Since I really want a quieter tire than my current Bridgestone Potenza RE080 (stock from Toyota).

So any ranking of quietness from Yokohama to Falken to Hankook to Michelin?

my44
post Aug 13 2009, 02:18 PM

2,471 posts

Yes, my Vios is has 185 tire which is non-standard. I don't mind switching to 195 for slightly better handling (and infinitely small FC decrease).

Driving style? Non-aggressive. Comfortable highway speed is 130km/h. I do notice 185/R15 tire is not too good when cornering at Karak highway.

So what I want? Priority is Comfort. Then handling slightly better than Bridgestone Potenza RE080 is already OK (since I don't do sharp cornering every day).
my44
post Aug 13 2009, 02:29 PM

2,471 posts

I thot Re001 is performance tire, so very noisy?
my44
post Aug 13 2009, 02:35 PM

2,471 posts

I checked falkentire.com and the 912 threading looks very impressive.
my44
post Aug 13 2009, 02:43 PM

2,471 posts

OK many ppl complain too soft, what does it mean? Sorry, total noob here, hahaha

0.0209sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:14 AM