Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

kenji1903
post Feb 2 2011, 10:29 AM

3,785 posts

anyone changed their stock Vios E's 175/65R14 to 205/45R16? overall height should be almost the same... but will it loose a lot of pickup?

15" and 16" tyre prices a lot of difference? now sure if it's worth the upgrade or not... or maybe just stick back to 14" or upgrade to 15"...
kenji1903
post Feb 2 2011, 10:13 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Feb 2 2011, 04:27 PM)
kenji1903@
you need to calculate the big increased in tire and wheels weight / width as well. 205/45/16 tire is usually around 9.5kg/ea + 6.5kg/ea for lightweight 16" rims,
also, 175 and 205 width is quite a lot. there will be a compromise in steering feel, braking capability, speedometer reading, acceleration and fc.
perhaps, you should consider 195/50 or 55/15. bonus; 15" tire is slightly cheaper too.
michelin ps3 of 195/55/15 is around 250 while 205/45/16 is around 430.

xphossis@
you mean the newer conti comfort contact 5? i still put my money on primacy lc. beside being quieter, less flexing during a slightly spirited driving.
but it cost more thou.
thanks for your reply... i am thinking of the Satria Neo 16" Advanti R3 rims, damn nice... but tyres are a lot more expensive... maybe not worth the investment... also it's definitely heavier than 14"/15"

i'm using Premacy LC 195/55R15 on my City VTEC

what 15" light weight rims do you recommend?
kenji1903
post Feb 10 2011, 07:49 AM

3,785 posts

will 185/55R15 fit into rims with 6.5jj? from michelin's website, max is 6.5jj, not sure how it will look like but just afraid will give problems only...
kenji1903
post Feb 15 2011, 03:16 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(KiAN008 @ Feb 15 2011, 02:28 PM)
Can anyone help me ....any recommetation brands tires for myvi ....
looking for 185/60/14 or 195/60/14 ?? i current now using 175/65/14, wanted to change....can find below rm200 perpcs ??
185/60R14, michelin XM1... RM175/pcs (Sunway) if i remember correctly...

never tried but initially planned to change that's why asked for quotation but now planned to change rims so no need liao tongue.gif

0.0431sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:52 AM