Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

Zaypher
post Jan 2 2011, 09:48 AM

297 posts

Dear all,

please let me start with my background.
I am scouting around for tyres. I drive a satria neo lite and currently on continental comfort contact cc5 tyres ("stock"). I drive to work most of the time and I don't drive very slow. On top of that, I enjoy taking corners the best I can. Whenever I am free and have the extra $$ to burn, I'd drive up to mountain roads and "play".

Due to my driving style, I find that the stock tyres just cannot accomodate my driving style. While it is satisfactorily acceptable at lower speed corners and/or uphill things are very unpredictable at high speed corners especially on the downhill. It is just too hard to drive without having to struggle with the tyres. Again, the stock tyres offers absolutely no confidence when driving on the downhill. After couple of times, I think i'm tired of struggling.

Having said the above, I have been eyeing for some tyres which suits my driving style. That is the reason why I decided not to go all out on mountain roads before I go for a tyre change.

I have read and heard of Bridgestone Potenza RE001 ("RE01"), Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 ("AD07") and Michelin PS3 ("PS3").
While the RE01 and AD07 have very positive feedbacks, I heard of mixed reviews in relation to the PS3. Some say "tak boleh pakai", some say "ok" and even some say "worst". However, from online research, somehow different story. Particularly this website -->http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Michelin/Pilot-Sport-3-PS3.htm which rated the PS3 very very highly. Even higher than the AD07.

While I intend to try out different tyres, I would like to get a good start by choosing a good tyre. I am looking for a tyre which is very grippy and reasonably well in rain. I don't want to go for tyres with astronomical prices at this moment. To me, the RE01 is pricey at my current life station. Lastly, the tyres shouldnt worn out too rapidly.
Oh, I don't give a damn about noise level but ride shouldn't be too stiff.

So it's Performance > Durability > Price.

Can anyone help? Thank you

Zaypher
post Jan 2 2011, 11:01 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(Rascal Stitch @ Jan 2 2011, 10:57 AM)
u might wanna try michelin's bro called BfGoodrich since noise level is not an issue for u~
btw PS3 is much better than AD07 during wet but during dry road AD07 still pawn over PS3
haha thanks bro. I am looking at PS3 and AD07. Later when got more money only go for higher specs.
Kcng said AD07 is too soft and hence, poor durability. LOL wonder if that's the price to pay smile.gif
U're spot on, everywhere i read claims the superior dry grip of the AD07.
So which one u think I should get huh?

Zaypher
post Jan 2 2011, 07:02 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 2 2011, 02:17 PM)
bro, you can't expect much from CC5 as it is at the lowest category in tire ranking (comfort)...
you have Comfort, Comfort Premium, High Performance, Ultra High Performance, Extreme Performance, Max Performance...

Comfort - CC5
Comfort Premium - Michelin Primacy, Continental CPC2
High Performance - Falken 912, Continental CSC1
Ultra High Performance - Hankook V12, Bridgestone RE001, Toyo T1R, Yokohama S Drive, Kumho ESPT, Goodyear GSD3...
Max Performance - Michelin PS3
Extreme - Toyo R1R or R888, Yokohama AD07/08

(Model is general base on categories, it depends the availability of your size...)
RE001 is expensive then or even PS3 and AD07/AD08... if not mistaken ur size is 195/50 R16 or 195/55 R15... what is ur size...
for 195/50 R16 you have limited choices... if not change to 205/45 R16 for better choice...
you can use PS3 actually which is good enough for most people... of course you heard mix results for PS3 coz some ppl used to Max/Extreme Performance Categories which give them maximum grip in dry but when they change to PS3 it does not gives them the grip they wanted but in wet, PS3 tops most of the Max performance tires where it give you good wet traction... and it gives you a lil comfort too, which the noise of the tire is minimal...
if you want value for $$$ then Hankook V12 might be good for you but it only available for 205/45 R16 for 16" size...

FYI a good 16" tires will cost you above RM300/pc, RE001 and PS3 is over RM300/pc... so if you are looking for value i highly recommend you the Hankook V12 (as you prefer to maintain the comfort), then Kumho ESPT or BF Goodrich 
replaced AD07 with AD08 already... his size will not be cheap...
BTW ur ranking is good... AD series is good but it is pricey... RE001 and PS3 is nice but not really cheap too...
it is Certis...
no prob... cheers...
Hi michael9413,

thank you for your elaborated reply, it is much appreciated.

My tyre size is 195/55 R15 and I don't intend to change tyre size.
Also, the tyre ranking is very very helpful and i'm quite surprised that CC5 is at its lowest ranking. Although I know that it is not good for spirited driving, the neo is still quite stable with CC5. Seriously, I think I have experienced the limit of the stock tyres more often than the car itself. LOL.

You rank Michelin PS3 at Max Performance which is quite good. The way I see it, Ultra HIgh Performance is better than Max Performance?
You guys are well informed, I did some research and the AD07 is replaced by AD08. Apparently, it enjoys great reviews. BUt I don't know what is the price. I tried searching the tyre price list but to no avail. Any idea?

From how things look, I'd go for PS3 and or AD series...
Zaypher
post Jan 11 2011, 10:12 PM

297 posts

dear michael,

do u know the price for Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 and RE001 for size 195/55/15?

just asking smile.gif
Zaypher
post Jan 11 2011, 10:26 PM

297 posts

hm..why la they discontinue the ad07?????
Btw, how is the threadwear for ad08?

based on your statement, the re001 performs poorer in wet as compared to PS3, am I right?

Btw, threadwear under 250 means can last how many KMs if driving at above average speed and ocassional all out driving?

This post has been edited by Zaypher: Jan 11 2011, 10:27 PM
Zaypher
post Jan 13 2011, 10:00 PM

297 posts

dear everyone,
i just want to hear you guys' opinion before i go to rawang.
How much can i expect from selling off my 195/55/15's continental comfort CC5?

done around 6000 km.

Zaypher
post Jan 13 2011, 10:18 PM

297 posts

u're saying, the most I could get also RM99? hahaha....can consider la
Zaypher
post Feb 23 2011, 11:18 AM

297 posts

Dear all,

i have one last question to consider before changing my tyres this saturday. I would like to make an informed decision and I have actually consulted quite a few sifus here namely michael and kcng. They provide very good feedback to aid my decision. This post should not be to taken to mean that I do not value your respective feed back.

My tyre is 195/55/15. Tempted to change to 195/50/15
It's a choice between RE001 and PS3. May I know which of the two offers better grip for cornering?

As for myself, I am very keen to try out both. If I were to get PS3 this time around, I will get RE001 the next round. biggrin.gif

Zaypher
post Feb 23 2011, 08:56 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(investor @ Feb 23 2011, 08:51 PM)
What is the price right now for PS3 profile 195/55/15 for myvi?
where is ur area? I am changing to PS3 of the same price this coming saturday. Wanna do it together tongue.gif
The michelin shop behind my house whom I maintained close relationship billed me RM260 per piece smile.gif
If you go Rawang, the price is RM 250. So I reckon the price should be around there la hmm.gif
Zaypher
post Feb 25 2011, 05:00 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 25 2011, 08:40 AM)
Hi bro your rim is 16" ? Interested to get Yokohama Parada ? try contact Maddriver.
15" yeh lai. No, i'm keen to try PS3 smile.gif
Zaypher
post Mar 5 2011, 12:36 AM

297 posts

hi michael,

my area is not too far from rawang. seriously, the rm40 is more than enough to cover fuel and time LOL.

My next tyre is going to be the potenza series hehehehe
Zaypher
post Apr 16 2011, 11:48 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Apr 16 2011, 10:31 AM)
answering on behalf oh him . was using re001 on my main ride. i could say very aggressive highway driving. after clocking close to 30k km with about 45% tread left, sold the tire at 90 bucks each, which is well worth it. tire last longer in city driving compare to constant highway driving.
good thing about re001, it doesn't flex during extreme cornering. direct and progressive steering feel too.  as a user of ps3 tire as well, i was surprised re001 give a more composed ride during downpour. perhaps, this is due to re001 being heavier than ps3.
btw, for city driving, i suggest you take a look at ps3, s.drive or v12, they're far more comfortable.

re001's sidewall is just too hard. coupled with a hard suspension, kl road potholes , speed bumps and you may say goodbye to your arm bushes / rubber parts on mounting.. a lot sooner!  smile.gif
bro this is what I am looking for bro for my daily driven car. I don't care about comfort and noise, just gimme the grip. I'll just nurse it to and fro work and let it loose sometimes....

0.0513sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:32 AM