26 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

michael9413
post Jan 13 2011, 06:37 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well test shown is RE001 or RE760 (twins) is not as good as V12...

well these test are done properly by ppl... and there is a few mores results shows that wet results for it is not as good some others tires

nvm la... you use the tire you like... for me Hankook V12 is best for ppl whom want comfort...
Michelin PS3, Bridgestone RE001 is good for ppl that can afford it's price...

all tires have strong and weak point... at least i read most of the review saying RE001 is not as good in wet as PP2/PS3 and also V12...
michael9413
post Jan 20 2011, 07:00 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Jan 13 2011, 10:14 AM)
what is the No 1 ranking btw ?
Dunlop Direzza if not mistaken... forget already...

QUOTE(Auwen @ Jan 13 2011, 07:34 PM)
anyone who can share experience on Maxxis I-pro....it is categorized under UHP...erm..would like to heard some user's review n experience...thx...
not bad as per feedback but need some improvement on wet grip...

QUOTE(e_k1117 @ Jan 15 2011, 05:21 PM)
last call, made up my mind. budget from 350 - rm450/pcs. for 215/45/17
current wish list:
1) michelin PLC
2) michelin PS3
2) Toyo C1S / CT-01
3) hankook V12
4) GY F1 asym.
5) BS GR-90

pls help me to made decision. Top priority : comfort + silent.... if can long lasting as well laugh.gif  biggrin.gif
not driving fast during wet condition....
Toyo C1S wears faster than CT-01 as per feedback but not by much maybe the forummer corners a lot...
GR90 or Primacy LC also comfort... where are the 3 tires that you should look for...

V12, PS3 and F1 Asy is performance tires which is not as comfort as the others lo...

fren not driving fast in wet condition means u drive 80km/h??? do you know you can easily lost control at 80km/h in wet condition??? and do you know that speed is dangerous already in wet???

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jan 18 2011, 10:42 AM)
any tire to recommend for longer lasting and good handling/value for money? looking for 225/55/R16 spec.. any shop and contact? around klang valley area.. thanks!
there is not such thing as good handling with good value and LONG LASTING... most of the lower profile tires will not last more than 40k km... depends how u drive...
try Quicksave USJ 1, Tek Ming Sunway, Hup Soon SS3...

QUOTE(azharvedder @ Jan 18 2011, 01:42 PM)
Guys,
My current tire is Bridgestone Turanza RFT 195/55/R16.
I'm planning to change to normal tire (not run flats). But i find the size is quite odd 195/55 for 16".
So which size do you recommend and what brand..
Thanks..
195/55 R16 is odd but not as odd as the new CT size 185/60 R16 sweat.gif only Conti and Goodyear got this size...

you can change to 205/50 R16 which you have more choices... but the problem is how much you are willing to pay for your donuts?

michael9413
post Jan 20 2011, 02:18 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well it is not comfort for some ppl... V12 is even softer...
michael9413
post Jan 22 2011, 08:08 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(e_k1117 @ Jan 20 2011, 06:03 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  narrow down to 3 choices now :

1. PS3
2. GY F1 asym
3. V12

which to go? does PS3 fit in my budget as for now? since the price keep on increasing nowadays.....  shakehead.gif
btw, roughly how long/far these tyre will last? 40K? plan to use it for next 3 yrs....
well fren all 17" tires will not last or should i say all lower profile tires will not last especially those UHP tires...
40k should not be a problem if you drive it with manner not wacking the corners everyday la...

QUOTE(yngwie @ Jan 22 2011, 07:09 AM)
yeah, my 2nd ride is still on 195/55/r15. but main ride burn rubber like no tomorrow.
btw, i did mentioned that the ps3 had the upper hand in wet / intermediate road condition but the re001 feel more planted on downpour.
the rest doesn't differ much . except for the stone hard sidewall on re001 which is good for touge' but bad for town potholes.

remember the thunderer tire i was testing sometimes ago? turn out it was even better than the china made kumho ku-36!
just imagine a ride on gsd3 with softer compound and sidewall. with just slightly less noise level tongue.gif
yes i hate too bumpy ride as i old toy already on hard suspension setup never want to risk with RE001 make my ride harder...

wow... matching GSD3 standard means good... hehe....
michael9413
post Jan 23 2011, 11:48 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(UltraConductor_41 @ Jan 22 2011, 04:42 PM)
anyone know the latest price for xm1?? 3 years ago it was 125/pcs only...last week i went for a quote...rm 190/pcs... doh.gif  doh.gif size 175/70/r13
that is over priced... should be around RM160/pc now... ask around and see, remember to ask for package price...

QUOTE(e_k1117 @ Jan 22 2011, 10:55 PM)
hehe... my driving style is very ordinary only... never high speed cornering also....
just sruvey 1 shop at my hometown area. PS3 for 215/45/17 RM495/pcs  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
exceed my budget alr.....  cry.gif  might source for alternative alr..... perhaps GY or N8000/N6000 liao.... CNY coming soon.... burn alot alr....

btw, i think 40k is ok alr... seldom travel... usage less than 15k per yr i guess.  laugh.gif  so can tahan for 3 yrs ++ alr rclxms.gif
that size go for Hankook V12 and 595 Evo cheap and good but a lil noisy... coz both directional tires...
then u can opts for N8000 or even F1 Asy... N6000 or N5000 is not as good as N8000, they say grip in wet no really good...

Pricelist for 215/45R17
Federal 595 Evo - RM 285 GoodWood Tyre Service, Klang (Mar 10)
Goodyear F1 Asy - RM380 Quicksave (Feb 10)
Goodyear RS02 (Japan) - RM368 Quicksave (Apr 10)
Hankook V12 - RM330 Teoh Brothers Bayu Tinggi Klang (May 10)
Maxxis i-Pro - RM320 PJ Old Town (Jun 10)
Michelin PS3 - RM450 Michelin Glenmarie (May 10)
Michelin PS3 - RM470 Hup Shun Sunway (DEC 10)
Yokohama A Drive R1 - RM320 Hup Yik Tyre - Ipoh (Feb 10)
Dunlop Veuro VE302 (Japan) - RM425 Jooi Seng, Klang (Nov'10)

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Jan 23 2011, 12:14 AM)
what's the cheapest tyres for 205/45/17 other than those china made..using westlake tyres now but very noisy and the grip very bad
that one u might only have a few choices but stick to local made or china tires... try to ask Hankook V12 got that size or not...
michael9413
post Jan 23 2011, 04:52 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

S Drive u need to bear with the noise intrusion after sometime... the noise is quite annoying sometimes... other than that it is quite ok for spirited driving...
michael9413
post Jan 23 2011, 07:11 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

PS3... smile.gif
it is much better than 912... wear rate should be better than 912 also harder sidewall but not really as hard as RE001...
michael9413
post Jan 23 2011, 08:50 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 23 2011, 07:43 PM)
PS3 for 195/55/R15 is around the range of RM250 right? Any idea which shop offers the best deal? Or any cheaper alternatives? Only have budget of +-RM200 per tire.
yes... if not u can try Hankook V12 lo... cheap and nice to use...

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jan 23 2011, 08:02 PM)
Anyone, hear of Thunderer Tires?

Its from Bridgestone factory, according to the shop owner this tires is much better then hankook v12 and federal 595.

I need more review about this tires.

Thank you
haha really??? if it's sidewall is hard then handling sure good but lack of comfort.... so it still depends... remember some one did highlight this tire but forget who already...

*manage to find who... bro yngwie... can you comment on this tires??? how is the wet traction??? compare to your RE001???

comment is almost like extreme tires... not good for daily use coz it wet traction sux... thread life also very short... so only for track day use...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 23 2011, 08:58 PM
michael9413
post Jan 24 2011, 08:23 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(e_k1117 @ Jan 23 2011, 09:55 PM)
downgrade now rclxub.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  will choose among this list only alr... budget decrease to max rm350/donut only liao.....  cry.gif  cry.gif
pls help me to narrow down the choices.... if can, help me to rank them what is the 1st, 2nd, 3rd choice. as i can decide which to go for.... smile.gif
thanks ya notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
well for me the list is
1.Goodyear F1 Asy
2.Hankook V12
3.Toyo CT01/C1S
4.N8000 (give it a try coz ppl say cheap and nice comparable with 912)
5.Falken 912

tire price has been hike up end of last year...

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jan 23 2011, 11:20 PM)
Dear Michael,

Thanks alot for your feedback, i look at the thread design, look pro5, his comment both this model is not as good as it sound. He told me if i really want to go for Hankook and Federal. Go for the Top notch model which can easily additional few hundred RM on top of Hankook V12 & Federal 595.

Now i'm really with the decision making for tires brand rclxub.gif
haha, bro depends what you want... and what is your size... the difference might be RM200/pc (16" & 17") or as low as RM50/pc (15")... for me 595 evo and V12 evo is good for daily use and V12 serve me well on 2 cars now, while another on PS3... V12 is cheap and much better than some others within the range, 595 is a lil pricey around PS3 range on 15" side...
who do you mean "he"??? the shop owner or bro yngwie???

well if you can afford of course PS3, RE001, GSD3 will be better in handling (for 15") or PS3, RE001, F1 Asy will be better for 17"... so hard to say...

look at what you want from the tires? what is your current suspension setup, u need more comfort or bumpy is fine??? comfort, handling or noise??? then it is for daily use or track use??? as per bro yngwie clearly stated, Thunderer Mach III is not for daily use..

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jan 24 2011, 12:38 AM)
Tyre price went up again aah? So long never change mine already...

Whats the latest price for 195/55/R15 F1-GSD3 and PS3? Thinking to downgrade to 185/55/R15 which is available with PS3. Lastime only change for RM200 per piece for F1... haiiihhhh
price has been increase, i heard PS3 is as low as RM250 and as high as RM280 now... not sure about GSD3... RM200/pc when is it??? so low meh... i ask last year it was around RM230 already...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 24 2011, 08:25 AM
michael9413
post Jan 24 2011, 12:34 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

if you maintain your overall diameter... you should not have any problem on those rubbing issue..

go for Federal 595 Evo... really if you don mind about the wet traction, then you can get Thunderer... bro yngwie already mention that it really sux on wet... compare to others like 595 Evo or V12 Evo is more suitable for daily driving...

michael9413
post Jan 24 2011, 02:21 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

195/55 R15 u can get nice tires with better comfort at cheaper price too...
205/50 R16 is wider in also make ur stance wider also...

195/55 R15
Pros :
More Comfort
Cheaper Tires (below RM300 u can get good performance tire)
better FC (compare to 205/45 R16 or 205/50 R15, of course might be a lil more compare to 185/55 R16)
better acceleration (compare to 205/45 R16 or 205/50 R15, of course might be a lil slower if u compare to 185/55 R16)

Cons :
Handling poorer (still depends what tire you are using)
the gap of the fender with ur wheels might look bigger (but in the fact it just maintaining)

205/45 R16 or 205/50 R16
Pros :
Better handling (still depends what tire you are using)
the gap looks smaller between ur wheels and the fender... (but in the fact it just maintaining)

Cons :
Expensive (above RM300 only can get good performance tires)
lack of comfort (as we all knows that Honda car's suspension is on the hard side)
increase of FC (compare to 195/55 R15 or ur original size)
slower acceleration also...

there is a few key points that will affect your handling and comfort too... it depends on the tire's sidewall properties...
regards on $$$ it depends on individual,
195/55 R15 u can get Hankook V12 Evo ~RM200, PS3 ~RM260, RE001 ~RM260, Federal 595 Evo ~RM260...
205/50 R16 u only get PS3 ~RM450, RE001 ~RM400, Federal 595 Evo ~RM340, Hankook V12 Evo (205/45 R16) ~RM300...

so it depend on individual... smile.gif what you want and willing to spend...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 24 2011, 02:23 PM
michael9413
post Jan 24 2011, 03:25 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

enjoy thumbup.gif really grip is good...
but directional tires sometimes after wear 50% the noise is unbearable...
i pray hard my Hankook V12 will not be like that also after 50%...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 24 2011, 03:25 PM
michael9413
post Jan 24 2011, 06:39 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jan 24 2011, 04:41 PM)
I did get feed back from the group of people who drove the same model as i am, under normal driving circumstances, you don't usually have to worry about the rubbing issue, however, my ride has already been lowered - (front at 1finger length) by upsizing to 17" the look will definitely look good and handling should slighly improve but ill face rubbing for sure.

If given a chance ill definitely want to have front 16", rear 17" but money is a concern. sweat.gif

Unlike angmo which normally has 3 sets of wheel for their car usage (Set 1. Daily usage,Set 2. Track purpose, Set 3. Tire for winter condition)

for the time being ill go for tires that is suitable for daily usage.

Federal 595 SS (non-evo) 205/45/16 @ RM 250/-  biggrin.gif

Best Regards
well your choice... wink.gif you lowered ur ride that is a limitation already so choose a size which will not hit ur fender...
that tire thread looks good but will be noisy... if you don mind u can try...

QUOTE(noprob @ Jan 24 2011, 04:59 PM)
What abt 205/55/16 ? tire will look bigger and reduce the gapping .. can ah ?
205/55 R16 i think is a lil too big for you... the gap is there for safety... the tires will not hit your fender if your suspension is compressed maximum... stick to 15" if you want comfort and 16" if you want handling that is my advice...
BTW if your ride is city fitted with 185/55 R16 originally the 205/55 R16 will be over size for you... smile.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 24 2011, 06:43 PM
michael9413
post Jan 24 2011, 09:56 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

no... those directional tires will not be quiet though... V12 is a good in terms of noise but it will couldn't compare with RE001, PS3 and some others Asymmetric tires... ur 595 SS looks like will be more noisy than V12, because of it's thread design...

if you want a quiet drive then skip those Directional tires...
is your choice at the end...
michael9413
post Jan 24 2011, 10:04 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

budget is important but in the end it still your satisfaction level after you get the tires... smile.gif
remember to tire is the only contact to the ground about 1 palm size, so it is around 4 palm size of contact patch for your car to the ground only...
so choose wisely and do not save a lil to risk your life... smile.gif
michael9413
post Jan 25 2011, 07:44 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Auwen @ Jan 24 2011, 11:21 PM)
very thank u for ur  analysis  notworthy.gif ....i oso consider with this...tayar made me  rclxub.gif ...coz if using 205/50/r16...it might wanna change the rim oso ...original cant fit....
tayar price was increase to much from 15inch to 16 inch...tat why many ppl ask me to consider 17 inch....anywhere...will do some reaserch 1st....

beside this....anyone got using Kumho Ku31??? smile.gif
that one u need to find... not much ppl selling it though the price should be around RM300 for that size...

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jan 25 2011, 12:08 AM)
Refer To yngwie post to me

FerrariST@
i just trashed a set(x4) of thunderer mach 3(deep directional tread) to the max.
to be honest, i did not expect it to perform in such a way that it was just a rung below the gsd3 in wet(match the gsd3 in traction but lose out in grip).
alos, behave well after 10 minutes of constant driving at average of 190km/h speed which is expected for a zr rating tire except the rubber could be a little soft in high temperature.
only drawback was it's slightly softer sidewall but this can be countered by pumping in a higher psi. so, far it withstand the punishment
quite well.
easily a better buy than the china made kumho ku-36( i sold mine to a friend after using to 2.3k km mileage while
the thunderer is now transferred to my 2nd ride and it's already covered more than 5.8k km mileage) or the more expensive but lousy 522.
that is different la... KU-36 and 31

KU36 is Kumho Ecsta XS (Extreme tires- not good for daily driving as it maximize dry grip while wet grip is poor)

KU31 is Kumho Ecsta SPT (UHP tires- for all kind of condition, decent dry and wet grip...

my fren used this ESPT b4 on his Kenari (165/55 R14) duno where he found it... it is not as good as PP2 but quite decent in overall performance... it's value is about RM30~40 cheaper than Michelin PP2 that time too... means u buy 4 pcs Michelin PP2 u get 5 pcs Kumho ESPT

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 25 2011, 08:21 AM
michael9413
post Jan 25 2011, 08:21 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

BTW you all can try to contact SG side whether they know any one in Klang Valley carrying the brand or not...

SG Branch Info from Kumho Tires Website

SINGAPORE BRANCH
22 MALACCA STREET 07-01 A,
ROYALBROTHERS BUILDING,
SINGAPORE 048980
TEL : 65-6536-3852
FAX : 65-6536-3875
E-MAIL : youngkim@kumhotire.com

i manage to google Typepac do sell this model...Tyrepac website for KU31

Tyrepac Malaysia Sdn. Bhd.
No.9, Jalan 201, Off Jalan Tandang
Petaling Jaya,Selangor, 46050
Tel: 03 7783 9309 Fax: 03 7785 9668

Available Tyres By Size:-

165/55 R14 RM150.00

195/50 R15 RM175.00
195/55 R15 RM190.00

195/50 R16 RM230.00
205/45 R16 RM243.00
205/55 R16 RM268.00
215/55 R16 RM335.00
225/55 R16 RM357.00
225/60 R16 RM380.00
235/60 R16 RM355.00

205/40 R17 RM286.00
215/45 R17 RM292.00
215/50 R17 RM355.00
225/45 R17 RM392.00
225/50 R17 RM418.00
michael9413
post Jan 25 2011, 01:29 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

maybe you can find Toyo CT01 or C1S... both is nice... should be below RM400 too
michael9413
post Jan 25 2011, 02:33 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

try Nexen N8000 then... or even Continental CPC2...
N8000 should be around RM300 only and CPC should be just below RM350

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 25 2011, 02:34 PM
michael9413
post Jan 25 2011, 05:29 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Master C @ Jan 25 2011, 03:19 PM)
205/55/16
Damn, GR90 is about 480 per piece. AR10 is about RM325. Anybody tried Ecopia yet?

Tyre dealer ask me to check on this:
Hankook V12 - RM310 and Bridgestone AR10

My benchmark is Goodyear Excellence

Added on January 25, 2011, 3:26 pm
Thanks, I'll check on that
bro V12 is out coz it is not quiet at all... it thread is directional and it is Higher Range of tires while the once that u are using is more towards middle range and comfort...
V12 is in your list if you don mind the quiet... that is a hard individual preference to get... means my type of quiet might not be ur type...

Ecopia is new so hardly you can find user now... maybe you can give it a try... AR10 is worst than what you are using now so not recommended...

Btw you requirement:-

Requirements:
1. Less than RM350 - u still can get good tires above RM300 no worries...
2. Silent - remember never get Directional threaded tires if you want this...
3. Good for everyday driving cause i'm not a speed demon (never exceed 200kmh) - so all the tires is good for 110km/h but no faster... u might feel ok bu once you start to test it's grip in the corner then you will feel it lose traction already... performance tires of course has better grip but a lil more expensive...
4. Good during rainy days - only higher range of performance tires is better in wet traction... so you want quiet and comfort is a lil hard to get nice nice wet traction tires... maybe CPC2 can fulfill you needs...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 25 2011, 05:33 PM

26 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:01 AM