AMD/ATI Radeon™ HD 4000 Series Discussion v6, The time moves on..Prepare HD5000 Series
HL Milk
Apr 12 2009, 12:55 AM
I'm one of the 3870 user that switch to 4850 without any regret. I felt the performance difference, if budget is a limitation, 4850 GS is a pretty good choice. Longer warranty and good after sales support is a great plus when your product has failed, I've experienced it before, so better safe than never. Second hand gpu is another alternative for budget concern group.
This post has been edited by HL Milk: Apr 12 2009, 12:58 AM
HL Milk
Apr 26 2009, 05:32 PM
Correct, 4770 is great for budget user, it's even better than 4830. If you OC it, it will be in the realm of 4850.
HL Milk
Apr 26 2009, 10:00 PM
Weird, all those 4800 series that use reference design sure can control the fan speed one. May be need to use like Rivatuner like kuance said.
HL Milk
Apr 30 2009, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(metsatsu @ Apr 30 2009, 07:52 PM) 4870 can play MOST games in 1920x1080 reso, but games such as far cry 2. crysis, stalker clear sky may not be playable at that reso Added on April 30, 2009, 7:54 pmwhat? could that be vapour-X?? mind to take a picture? does it look this??  This is a Factory OC card of 4890 to 1000/1050Mhz (Core/Memory), i wonder how's the tempereature. Can it be further OC by user?
HL Milk
May 18 2009, 06:57 PM
I always got no luck with Catalyst Overdrive for my 4850, or should I say nightmare OC with it. I need to restart the PC even with 5Mhz of memory or core OC. Whereas Rivatuner give me stable OC from my testing at those speed or higher. But I would rather save the OC, not much performance difference, by softmod, that is my point of view.
HL Milk
Jun 21 2009, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(ITrocks @ Jun 21 2009, 03:34 PM) Woohoo! Finally upgraded my graphics card today, from that crappy Integrated Graphics Accelerater from Dell to the ATI HD 4770. It was difficult to find but found it at C-Zone in Lowyat for RM399. I couldn't really bargain as nobody takes a kid seriously.. I have to say, I'm kinda disappointed. FIFA 09 looks more fluid for sure, but the players still have white outlines. But at least I can play Devil May Cry 4 and Drakensang at amazing quality now  Welcome to the 4000 series user.
HL Milk
Jun 21 2009, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(Sephirothleo @ Jun 21 2009, 04:00 PM) erm... what is the differences between ATi and Nvidia? price also different... why? newbie Each got their own attractiveness. But for the same price range, the performance is similar. Unless you got a fetish on Phsyx. But I'm not pros here, there are more in the topic.
HL Milk
Jun 21 2009, 06:08 PM
4770 don't consume power like 4850 or 4770
HL Milk
Jul 7 2009, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(afad @ Jul 6 2009, 11:47 PM) so it means i need to upgrade my whole system lor, or is there any other way that i can make it to play anyway? DXVA GuideHope the above link can help you out for using the DXVA to play HD video. It's using MPC player. Not all HD video support though, but it's good to give it a try. I have tested it on HD4850, HD3200, and 8600GT, some 1080p video lag even with dual core processor. When you're playing a video, go to View>Renderer Settings>Display Stats, it should mention DXVA status on one of those stats, see whether it's enable or not. Good luck.  If can play, no need to upgrade the system.
HL Milk
Jul 12 2009, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jul 12 2009, 03:11 PM) i hope 5k series will have better cooling. my friends' 4850s kong-ed and rma. i would like to know it also. What brand and model?