Diets & Supplements Ask all your lose weight questions here. , *Don't Open New Theads. Use This*

vinesh22
post Jul 14 2010, 09:52 PM

Eat.Fly.Lift.Party.Love.Sleep
546 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Jul 14 2010, 09:06 PM)
I aiming for body shape.. my target is 90kg with muscle appear.. that's why I'm focus on protein...
what you mean by drastic cut?
Bro, I think u can reach 80kg easily in 4-5months if you're really disciplined. I myself was about 103-105kg in January, and I went all the way to 78-79kg in May. Then I started taking whey (Nitrotech Pro Series to be precise) and now I'm around 84kg(last checked this morning). Didn't take any fat burners or supplements prior to my weight loss to 78kg. Just cut off rice all together and started eating oats/wholemeal bread/chapatti/mi hun for my carbo source. Then LOADS and LOADS of veggies, both green and coloured, as well as fruits, minus watermelon(sekali-sekala ok la) coz of the high sugar content. Then stop snacking!!! Haha
I used to eat all the kacang-kacang (not salted/sweetened/honey roasted) once in a while, my uncle used to buy in huge jars from a peanut packing factory in Singapore.
And gym lor! Joined one of those shophouse bodybuilding gyms back in JB and was though the proper techniques of working out. Happy to say it has all managed to work out nicely for me although it was really hard initially. Imagine being an overweight dude in a gym full of bodybuilders, damn malu man sweat.gif . But they were nice and all willing to share tips thumbup.gif

Anyway, thought of sharing with u because I was also in the same boat with u and know how it feels like. So yeah, jia you!! flex.gif

Added on July 14, 2010, 10:00 pmOh and anyway, have been reading this thread for quite some time, thanks for all the useful tips from the sifu's here. Haha

One question though,after loosing all this weight, I've got a lot of excess skin on my belly, and sadly loads of stretch marks. I managed to get rid(well still about 1/4 inch to go) of my "love handles" by doing the wood-chop exercise and the trunk rotator machine, Any suggestions on how to get rid of the stretch marks?
Of course, I've done my part and asked Uncle Google, and couldn't find anything substantial from any single website, just a lot of trial and error stuff. So yeah, if u guys could help give some suggestions, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks

This post has been edited by vinesh22: Jul 14 2010, 10:00 PM
vinesh22
post Jul 15 2010, 02:45 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Jul 15 2010, 01:03 AM)
Thanks for all the encouragement and replies and so on  notworthy.gif

I've got the answer by myself as I lost inches at my waist even though I gained a kg. Somehow I don't mind for that so much though after knowing that I'm also losing off some fat stored in my body.

Anyway, I've completely cut down the cookies as mentioned. I had a productive day and I'll still continue work out for my diet  smile.gif
Good job!! That shows that what you're doing is working, so keep it up!! thumbup.gif

Added on July 15, 2010, 2:52 am
QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Jul 14 2010, 10:50 PM)
icon_idea.gif alright, will remember about it
Thanks for sharing.. it give me a lot of motivation... rclxm9.gif
So far, there is no snack for me.. i think biscuit is not consider snack, am i right?  unsure.gif
It's just simple biscuit, don't know how to describe about that biscuit laugh.gif perhaps i could take picture of it later.
watermelon, i think in 1 month of diet, i drink it twice only doh.gif but nevermind, still reduce.. will remember not take it all after this.

ya, i feel so ashamed too.. want sign up for gym, but....... let my weight become 100kg first icon_rolleyes.gif
U mean those tiger and marie biscuits is it? Once in a while ok la, just don't make it habit.
Actually nothing to be ashamed of man. I'm sure if u go there to work out, people would respect u rather than laugh at u. And if you're really serious and want to improve yourself, I'm sure the people/trainers there wouldn't mind giving u tips wink.gif

This post has been edited by vinesh22: Jul 15 2010, 02:52 AM
vinesh22
post Jul 15 2010, 11:02 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Jul 15 2010, 07:28 AM)
not both of it.. it's biscuit, and have something elastic inside it.. it's look like dry raisin.. i don't know.. it look tasty when i saw it.. laugh.gif
this morning (i usually take a reading of my weight in early morning), it's 105kg rclxm9.gif
OHHH!!! I KNOW I KNOW!! I used to love to eat that also, the raisin looking things very chewy right? Haha
That one has loads of sugar man, and if u start eating, u wont be able to control, so if I were u, I'd try to avoid it icon_rolleyes.gif
vinesh22
post Jul 15 2010, 08:10 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Jul 15 2010, 11:19 AM)
aha.. gotcha.. will ask my sister to finish it all laugh.gif

another lunch just had it
egg tofu + white egg (boil) + tuna x 1 + about 5cm cucumber (not so big) + HL milk (a small glass)

it taste weird... i mix it all laugh.gif even my small little brother eat it too doh.gif
Overall, it's nice..

my not so nice body at 105kg blush.gif

You've got a good frame to work with if u wanna put on muscle man, so don't let it go to waste. Just remember this pic, and view it again after 3-4months, you're gonna feel really good about yourself! thumbup.gif
vinesh22
post Jul 16 2010, 11:42 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 16 2010, 10:42 PM)
Some food (simple/complex carbs depending on what you're doing) to fuel your workout before. And some protein afterwards to help repair muscles.

Added on July 16, 2010, 10:45 pm

Too lazy to type exact diet but these were my fav :
Ground beef, eggs, tuna, peanut butter, olive oil, cottage cheese, parmesan cheese, coconut oil, lettuce, spinach, broccoli, fresh milk

High carbs
Cereals, oats, banana, apples.

Yum.
Almost the same as mine, minus the beef, cottage cheese and coconut oil.
Salmon and chicken breast is a winning combo too for those who can't eat beef thumbup.gif

Added on July 16, 2010, 11:45 pm
QUOTE(Sifha238 @ Jul 16 2010, 10:39 PM)
Sorry if this already mention before but there are lots of pages to look up

Should I take anything before / after workout at gym ?

I already lose weight but my body shape still "big". I think I need "something" to help reduce it
How much weight have u lost exactly? And are u big boned or just have a bulging tummy? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by vinesh22: Jul 16 2010, 11:45 PM
vinesh22
post Jul 16 2010, 11:51 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(revolter @ Jul 16 2010, 11:24 AM)
Anyone who on AD or CKD diet program for fat loss, can u share with me hows ur low carb and high carb daily menu is??
consider to do this diet, but now but still need to find out more bout what is easily prepared because im living in hostel..
but some simple cooking still can be done in secret area..haha..
whats is ur fat sources?
Nuts have a little bit of fat from what I've read before, so I usually take them once in a while as tid-bits. Your room got fridge or not bro? I'm also living in a Uni hostel, but I do have a mini fridge provided in the room, and it has a chiller/freezer, good to keep chicken and fish to cook once in a while.

Guys, just curious, what do u think about seaweed? hmm.gif

Added on July 16, 2010, 11:54 pm
QUOTE(Sifha238 @ Jul 16 2010, 11:51 PM)
After 6 month, I lose about 20 kg ( from 95 to 75 ). My stomach not as big as before but still got lots of fat compare to thin people especially when I sit. Also I still have my man breast even I do the training to reduce it.  sweat.gif

One of my friend say, I cannot do anything about it since it already shape like that. Is it true cry.gif
HAHAHA, no la, of course it can be removed. If I show u my before ad after picture, I would look like I could wear B cup man, damn embarrassing!!
Care to explain to us here what do u normally do in the gym? As in, what type of exercises?

This post has been edited by vinesh22: Jul 16 2010, 11:54 PM
vinesh22
post Jul 17 2010, 12:56 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(revolter @ Jul 17 2010, 12:52 AM)
Im getting used for taking eggs, chicken, beefs and tuna as my protein source.. but before this, never try taking huge amount of fat daily..
I guess its time to go to supermarket for olive oil, and all these cheese.. what brand of peanut butter actually u all take? any nutrition fact that need to watch? with low carb, did u just consume the peanut butter alone direct from ur spoon?  unsure.gif

I have mini fridge in my room.. also smuggled into the hostel  whistling.gif .. i keep my chicken breast and all other stuff in there.. is it good taking mayonese during this diet? because usually i eat my 'dada ayam rebus' with the mayonese to get some taste..biggrin.gif
Bro, u skinny ke? A little bit of mayo with your chicken breast wont do any serious damage to your meal plan, so yeah, its ok. Make sure u have cheat days also once in a week, on those days, hantam everything u can find!! Next day, go workout nicely, and try to do some cardio first thing in the morning when u wake up before eating anything. Your body will automatically use the fats as a food source. Oh yeah, for your mayo, there's low fat mayo also!! thumbup.gif
Dude, try finding those small toaster ovens, get some aluminum foil, and start grilling the breasts. Eating rebus everyday quite boring right?? Use olive oil on the foil so it wont stick. Marinate your chicken the night before with some pepper or sauce, but a little but cukup. U can buy those ready made marinates in a bottle sold at hypermarkets, just dont take too much, and not everyday la. Look out for the ingredients also, the more natural the ingredients, the more expensive its gonna be from what I've observed. sweat.gif

Added on July 17, 2010, 1:04 pm
QUOTE(Sifha238 @ Jul 16 2010, 10:39 PM)
Sorry if this already mention before but there are lots of pages to look up

Should I take anything before / after workout at gym ?

I already lose weight but my body shape still "big". I think I need "something" to help reduce it
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/350964 icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by vinesh22: Jul 17 2010, 01:04 PM
vinesh22
post Jul 17 2010, 11:43 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(revolter @ Jul 17 2010, 05:25 PM)
Nope.. Im not skinny.. Just now I feel Im comfortable with my weight.. But my body fat is still high.. That why im opt to try AD to reduce my body fat.. every morning I try to wake early for 30min exercise (stairs climbing for 5-6 times of 7 storey building) before my breakfast.. Since it is AD, i try to use KRAFT mayo (low carb) one..
For small oven, maybe will look at it if I think it is affordable..
The small toaster ovens can be found at Giant and all. Would cost u less than 100bucks even from electrical shops
vinesh22
post Jul 20 2010, 04:48 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(razor909 @ Jul 19 2010, 04:09 PM)
is this diet plan any good?in the morning i would drink protein shake with milk,for lunch i would have the same, dinner how ever i would have lot vegetable, moderate amount of meat and fruit like apple and guava, dinner time is usually around 5pm. At around 9 i would again drink protein shake after gym session no cardio just weight lifting.i would sleep around 12, my weight was 89 before and now im 86.5, am i losing muscle or losing fats?
The thing is this, you're definitely loosing fat, but at the same time, thanks to your protein, you're definitely putting on muscle really fast. If u really wanna loose fat but gain muscle, u have to do cardio man, AT LEAST 20mins on the treadmill or bike. I usually do 10mins treadmill prior to weight training just to get the blood flowing, but at the same time don't wanna exhaust myself coz I wanna have enough energy to lift/push/pull.
What protein are u taking, whats it's serving per-scoop, how many scoops do u take and what is your weight training like at the gym? Anyway, sleep is REALLY REALLY important if u wanna recover fast, no use pushing yourself at the gym but not allowing your body to rest and recover. How often do u hit the gym anyway,and how long do u spend working out? I'm not asking how long u lepak and wait around till u get to use the machines, instead how long do u actually work your body?

I'm not a pro bodybuilder or a certified fitness instructor nor a sports science degree holder, but along with the rest posting on this forum, I'm sure we give the best advice that has worked for us so far, sharing our experiences so to say. And being though at the gym by probably hands down one of the best bodybuilders in JB does help, and the fella was so bloody humble and helpful, didn't even charge me!! thumbup.gif

Added on July 20, 2010, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(-Nos- @ Jul 19 2010, 06:00 PM)
lose weight or gain muscle?
if your priority is to lose weight, i would suggest you to just run an hour on the threadmill. << talking about daily here.
Yeah, doing cardio definitely helps u burn those fats really fast on the spot. But a bit weight training does help burn the calories throughout the day. I love how our bodies work!! Haha sweat.gif

This post has been edited by vinesh22: Jul 20 2010, 04:50 PM
vinesh22
post Jul 21 2010, 02:47 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(razor909 @ Jul 20 2010, 10:28 PM)
one an a half hour i guess ,I usually jog to the gym that will take up about 10 minutes . Arrive at the gym at around 7 and end around 9,then would walk back home as i dont have much energy to jog back haha. i would take 2 scoops of protein shake with skim milk for breakfast lunch and supper if u can call it that, im taking ON protein shake btw ....at the gym i usually Concentrate on certain body parts for example monday chest and arms, tusday etc......would hit the gym 5 times a week. Now my weight is at 86.5KG before was 89 kg and my height is 186cm
Your workouts seem to be ok man, but since you're going 5 times a week, try not to mix your arm exercises with chest/shoulder/back. If u wanna do bicep/tricep/forearms with legs then ok, but don't do with the other major body parts. Your weight loss shows that your metabolism is slowly increasing coz you're controlling your diet strictly, so don't worry, the weight you've lost is definitely NOT muscle thumbup.gif
Try not to just rely on protein shakes as meal replacements, instead, eat some fruits and veggies. Avoid eating rice if u can, go for wholemeal bread or meehun as your carbo source, also chapatti once in a while worked for me icon_rolleyes.gif
Height wise we're almost the same, so its easier for people like us to achieve a good BMI as long as we eat healthyly and exercise regularly even AFTER we've reached our desired body weight brows.gif
vinesh22
post Jul 21 2010, 01:38 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(razor909 @ Jul 21 2010, 04:32 AM)
k dude tks for the info ,today need to rest haha .yesterday did squats ,today cant even walk up the stairs to my gym lol.damn its 4 am i cant sleep to much extra energy.
Nice, keep up the good work. Remember, no pain, no gain mate flex.gif
vinesh22
post Jul 22 2010, 01:32 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Jul 22 2010, 01:22 PM)
Ain't all that quite high carb?  sweat.gif
+1
And sugar/oil as well. NEVER, I repeat, NEVER buy fried food, especially from pasar malam if u know whats good for ya'. Just watching them fry food in the same oil over and over again even after it turns black makes me wonder why people still buy it, gosh! doh.gif

Summore u hantam 2 pieces of FRIED chicken breast, die wey... shocking.gif
vinesh22
post Jul 22 2010, 02:46 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Jul 22 2010, 01:36 PM)
Oil for now I take only extra virgin or fish oil, other than that no. As for my meat, mostly I steam or boil, sometimes will grill it but that will be like once everyweek or every two weeks smile.gif
Actually there was this really cool cooking site I used to learn from when I grill my meat, really healthy methods. I learned how to make awesome dips from them too drool.gif
Will find the link when I get home to share with u guys icon_rolleyes.gif
vinesh22
post Jul 23 2010, 01:27 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jul 23 2010, 01:04 AM)
im afraid if cheat,will make me want to eat more on the other day

so if cheat,can eat anything ?? a lot also can ar ?like eat rice 3 times on cheat day ?
Hahahaha, I have STRICT cheat days each month. Only once a week I allow myself to tipu my diet. On those days, hantam everything my heart desires, but don't go overboard la. sweat.gif
If I'm having like special gatherings with friends or summat, I'd take those days as cheat days, but at the same time, don't need to over-over just because I can. Its all self control, don't think or worry whether u ca or can't do it. When there's a will, there's a way, don't let your mind give u excuses! thumbup.gif
vinesh22
post Jul 23 2010, 01:46 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Jul 22 2010, 02:52 PM)
Cool!!! Please share! Most of the time I'll create own recipe based on information of the food/ingredients I found in net. I failed before but luckily lately for my meals still quite alright  sweat.gif
Here are some links that I saved before, really easy to make, and they taste awesome!!
*I'm a guy, so when I say its EASY, trust me, its EASSSSSSY!! thumbup.gif *

http://www.healthycookingrecipes.com/lowfa...ken-recipes.htm
http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes_menus/co...chicken_recipes

And two of my favourites, coz I can always find the ingredients ready in the fridge
http://www.healthycookingrecipes.com/lowfa...orie-recipe.htm
http://hubpages.com/hub/Grilled-Chicken
Check out the other recipes on the sites, really nice for mixing up your diet every once in a while. thumbup.gif
vinesh22
post Jul 23 2010, 11:56 AM

546 posts

No problem mate.We're all in the same boat, so I know how it feels..hahaha
vinesh22
post Jul 25 2010, 09:35 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jul 25 2010, 09:21 PM)
last week i din't eat much and work out ,jogging.i feel ok a bit
but this week until tuesday only,then i eat quite alot until today,what a waste,going to start back tomorrow.i will try to prevent eating a lot.

btw what time to sleep at night?.10pm ?i always sleep late at night, 12 but usually 2,3,4am
The time u sleep doesn't really matter mate,as long as u get about 6 hours at least. Remember that unlike your friends who just eat, sleep, study/work, you are hitting the gym, so your body needs more rest than them. I sometimes sleep at 3-4am just to finish assignments, but I make sure I have power naps in the afternoon just to cover back whistling.gif
vinesh22
post Jul 28 2010, 04:20 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Jul 28 2010, 03:23 PM)
I just check today and I lost another half kg blush.gif

Anyway, I would like to ask, my friend too started to change the diet completely but always fart more frequently than last time, is that normal?

Added on July 28, 2010, 3:24 pmI just check today and I lost another half kg blush.gif

Anyway, I would like to ask, my friend too started to change the diet completely but always fart more frequently than last time, is that normal?
Me too initially, but she/he will get over it// whistling.gif
vinesh22
post Jul 30 2010, 07:14 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Jul 30 2010, 06:36 PM)
What is the best and most effective way to increase one's metabolic rate?
From personal experience, put on more muscle!! flex.gif
vinesh22
post Aug 5 2010, 01:57 AM

546 posts

Wah damn, must start posting again after I'm done shifting to my new school in Langkawi. The damn place doesn't have a gym, gonna have to improvise again doh.gif ..adui, pening la!!! rclxub.gif
Sumore meals are provided, FML!! shakehead.gif
Lantak la, time to plan some serious food smuggling.. thumbup.gif

0.0513sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:02 AM