Diets & Supplements Ask all your lose weight questions here. , *Don't Open New Theads. Use This*
May 17 2009, 01:23 AM
1,846 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
clarkfann : heh! I see you're still worried about your weight and looks.
May 17 2009, 10:52 PM
clarkfann : just realised, you haven't posted up your birthday party pics no? How did it go for cinderella?
May 18 2009, 12:06 AM
clarkfann : you do beautiful dearie.
now, don't lose focus and don't forget to study for your SPM in another few more months gal. |
May 18 2009, 01:14 AM
Well, at least u know now. And because you have been going to the gym, the exercise should keep your weight problem down.
Re-evaluate your diet intake and substitute foods if you need to. As for your skin, try out E45 brand although I'm not if can find in Malaysia. I found out in UK it's very popular for skin problems. |
May 18 2009, 10:56 AM
What is your food diet like these days clarkfann?
May 18 2009, 02:19 PM
lunch : add some green veggie in. since you're young, i cut u some slack with the rice and noodle.
dinner : i think reconsider having a proper meal rather than protein shake. there are a lot of recipes out there with < 500 calories, even chinese style meals. Just don't take rice and you reduce a lot of calories already. |
May 18 2009, 03:24 PM
May 18 2009, 03:36 PM
Hang on, is it lui cha? The hakka dish?
May 18 2009, 03:43 PM
oh okie lol! That dish is better if it was homemake because it can contain a lot of oil. Also, the peanuts may be fattening so don't take too much of it.
Hmm...did you ever count your calorie intake for your lunch and dinner meals? Just wondering. Or you just based it on how much you can lose weight? |
May 18 2009, 04:38 PM
Actually, I get the feeling that you're probably getting some oil from the ham cha and fat from rice/noodles.
For the protein shake, what brand are you using? The thing about protein shakes is that it's not necessarily a good choice for meal supplements. It's good for post-workout drink but for meal, maybe not. Your body is mostly designed to breakdown foods, not take things that are simplified forms. As for your thyroid issue, hmm... how about mixing some seaweed into your ham cha? Use the Nori sheets that are used for making sushi. Or make your own furikare which is a dry ingredients seasoning that is put on top of rice or sushi. It ususally has dried seaweed inside it. The seaweed would have iodine to fix your thyroid issue. I'm guessing anyways. Are you taking any supplements? Like vitamins, multi vits, trace minerals, etc? |
May 18 2009, 10:32 PM
Thanks richard.lol! Glad to see that portion control worked for you.
QUOTE(Goneraz @ May 18 2009, 02:24 PM) Hi guys... i started a post earlier looking for help in the form of a personal trainer. I think its against the forum policy. I dont think i will be able to find help in the classified department. So i figure i might as well do DIY. I am about 20kg overweight now. and my lifestyle is really not helping with the situation. I work long hrs and I have a lot of stress. I eat when i am stress and because of that i have gained 20kg over 2 yrs. Goneraz, looks like richard reposted what I used to say to him. LOL! So nice to have a PA to dig out old post.I am 181cm and my current weight is 105kg. After going thru almost all the post here i have come up with a simple plan for myself. Basically i understand the need for a proper diet and exercise and there are no way around it. So i have come up with a diet plan for myself. I am hoping that you guys can point me in the right directions. Morning Breakfast: 2 half boiled eggs with 2 toasted bread. 1 glass of HL milk Lunch: Nasi campur with 2 vege and 1 chicken breast. Tea time: oatmeal with HL milk Dinner: White rice with 2 vege and Fruits. ALso i am planning to exercise 3 times a week. Because i work late and by the time i finish work i am usually burn out so i plan to do some light exercise before i go to work. 10 minutes on the treadmill and 20 of weight training. 5 laps on the olympic size swimming pool. I find that doing 1 kind of sports is really a good way to lose weight. About a year back i use to play badminton twice a week and i was able to lose 5kg in 2 months. But the problem with sports is that its hard to organize and after a while everyone seems to lose interest. So if anyone out there have a committed group or would like to start a weekly badminton session that would be great. I guarantee you, its a very good way to stay motivated and its fun. Anyway thats my plan Kindly advice if there are anything i shd change or mix up Some suggestions : Breakfast : Make sure bread is wholemeal, preferably 100% wholemeal which unfortunately is hard. Any wholemeal bread that is soft will usually have some white flour in it. I'd try to take 1 egg but I'm not sure about men's intake. You would need to check how much calories you need to take for a day based on your weight, height, age and gender and reduce that calories by 200-800 calories. The guys may help you out. You can do your egg in different ways e.g.scrambled, poached, etc. Lunch : I would strongly suggest packed lunches. Ekonomi rice / nasi campur is full of hidden sugar in the veggie and meat dishes. If you want to continue to eat your current lunch, you have to stick to your 3x a week at least 30-60 min each time. Else, chances are you can't burnt off the fat. Any excess carbo that is not converted into energy, is converted into fat for storage. So watch for hidden carbs, which includes starchy veggie and too much fruits with high sugar. Teatime : Hmm....it may be too hefty since you want to exercise in the morning. I'd look for 100 calorie snacks. Google it. Dinner : Same advice as the lunch. If you like badminton, you might like to try out HIIT training. There's some folks here who are doing serious HIIT because they need to have that controlled burst of speed. This training might be better for you. This post has been edited by myremi: May 18 2009, 10:32 PM |
May 19 2009, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(Goneraz @ May 19 2009, 10:23 AM) Thanks richard andmyremi. you guys have been really helpful. The hardest thing for me to do now is the exercise. I am constantly tired because i work long hrs and only sleep 4 hrs a day. I will try out the program for a week and comeback with my result. Thanks guys and gals for the help and encouragement Getting routine exercise for me was also one of the hardest thing but have to do it.I'm severely obese and now working to lose a lot of weight. Imagine a 5' 2" gal weighing over 200 pounds. When I first started out, I just did simple walking and just did it more. Started out at 5 min and increase by 5 min every other day. I also keep active by cooking and some simple house chores around the house. Thinking of picking up gardening and learning about herbs and growing my own vegetables. Just to keep my life busy and also learning new stuff. I also have to shop around for a gym. Still trying to find out which gym to go to. I only know one good choice. Still checking around Kuching a bit. Only just got back but hopefully, I'll find one by this weekend. Need to check out whether got good PT and enough equipment to work out. Else, I'll just do walking at home for the time being or use the office gym. |
May 19 2009, 04:45 PM
Errr...a calorie is not a calorie these days.
I can also say that it's safe to eat McDs and KFC stuff based on the calorie details that they now provide. But their content of fat is very very high. The problem with eating out is that you can't tell how much sugar and fat are in the meals and those are the hardest to break down. Not only that, sugar in the form of carbo are equally hard to burn off if it's a lot. Also, even though the calorie may be low, if it gives out sugar too fast, your body will consume it fast that your blood sugar goes up very high and then comes down very fast as well, causing hunger pangs. clarkfann has real fears to work through and overcome. Dunno whether she can overcome them or not, tbh. She has to take in more vegetables and more variety of them, especially the nite meal. Added on May 19, 2009, 4:47 pmclarkfann : jaga when you eat things on that list. maybe will balloon if not careful! This post has been edited by myremi: May 19 2009, 04:47 PM |
May 19 2009, 05:59 PM
g3rbera : pandai u come clean about ignoring good rules. notti notti.
clarkfann : overcome your fears of putting on fat. that's why u don't want to eat. you want to meet your goal but u also scared of many things. you should try to look up the calorie of vegetables. you can chop them up into small pieces and eat them. raw veggie will fill u up. as for the fat hmm.... u could try udo's oil. that may help you out. it's a safe fat to eat and fitness ppl take it. u can find them at homeopathic shop.also, buy those vaseline body moisturizes. those are cheap from pharmacy and i usually bring them to cold countries. they keep moisture in. and i thought your target was 50 kg? not 48kg? |
May 19 2009, 06:26 PM
http://www.johnberardi.com/articles/reviews/udos.htm : This is the article I was reading about Udo's oil.
http://www.t-mag.com/html/body_98udo.html : Another one. http://www.udoerasmus.com/articles/udo/udo_index.htm : The site that provided info about it. I think the bottle is not exactly cheap. It was in the range of RM30-RM60 per bottle but you don't have to take too much of it. |
May 19 2009, 06:45 PM
Hmm....one idea I was toying with was the small packets of biscuits like Oreas and Loackers. Was thinking of one biscuit as the calorie level would be low but the sugar content would interfer too much with the metabolic rate so I scratch that idea out completely.
May 19 2009, 07:04 PM
It shouldn't be the whey protein but probably something else.
What did you eat today and yesterday? Include any sugared drinks, quantities, etc. It's probably hidden sugar, carbs or oil. Or portions too. Added on May 19, 2009, 7:22 pmclarkfann : On my way back from UK, I picked up a free magazine. It's a BBC magazine called "olive!" and it is also available online. http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/content/recipes/special-diets/ This is their special recipe page where a lot of low-calorie dishes are available. They do international fare and you can see how they are creative with their recipes. http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/10970/m...edamame-noodles I was inspired by a picture of the above recipe so it is now my bento lunch meal for tomorrow. Hopefully less than 500 calories. I had the soba noodles for awhile now after seeing it in an organic shop. ![]() This post has been edited by myremi: May 19 2009, 07:22 PM |
May 19 2009, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(Shenay @ May 19 2009, 07:27 PM) hey myremi. i have been eating this quaker "honey & almond" oats in the morning, drinks like barly, dinner i take beans cause i read somewhere they're good. its not a heavy meal at all, but ive been gaining weight. im not sure what could be the cause. Hmm....may need to know a more detailed description.Breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks. What liquids u take as well. Do you exercise? How often? What's your current weight, height and age? To check if you are in the normal range and just worried about flabby muscles. |
May 19 2009, 08:30 PM
Ah...the picture is now clearer. I had a suspicion that you were a in the normal weight range.
It's not fat that you're putting on but you're building muscles. BMI is used as a rough indicator whether you're in your normal weight range or not, provided that you're not a fitness freak or an athlete. You're bit beyond the lower end of the normal weight range which is 18.5. You're 18.1. From what i understand from the fitness folks here, to get a smaller stomach, is to build some muscles through cardio and situps. Also, start holding your tummy in - that will build up the muscle and not let the flabby muscle show u having a tummy. You might also want to take in some green leafy vegetables. They don't add up a lot of calories, provided that you avoid the starchy veggies. You'll need the nutrients in there to keep your body going and healthy. They would also fill up your stomach so that u don't get hunger pangs. |
May 19 2009, 08:59 PM
Not u lah clarkfann.