AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V18, Hmmm...The heat of AMD..is on the way..

strife_personified
post Jul 12 2009, 11:49 PM

Discordius Maximus
543 posts

hey guys, just started oc-ing my phenom today, and wanted to ask something. whats the nominal or expected temps for the northbridge?

my spec is 9150e, managed to push it to 2520 (280*9) and both NB and HT multi's are 7x, so the values are both around 1960. My temperature however for the NB was around 89C. this scared me, so switched off to do some research, which has now led me here.

system information would be in my siggie.
strife_personified
post Jul 13 2009, 02:14 PM

Discordius Maximus
543 posts

man this thread moves fast. it really is an overclocker's thread tongue.gif

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 13 2009, 08:44 AM)
did u remove d stock cooler, remove d protective foam (d squarish black/yellow sponge), and replace d stock paste w those of better grade like mx-2 or so? manufacturer like dfi is notorious w their stock components coolin.  doh.gif
not yet, but i think i will have to smile.gif good thing my tx-2 havent finish yet tongue.gif
right now its stable at around 77 though. still irritates me >.< what sucks is the placement of the NB heatsink is right below my xigmatek cooler, so i cant install any taller coolers for the NB.

QUOTE(antonio @ Jul 13 2009, 01:48 PM)
Anyone here get pass 260HTT???
yeah, as long as your board can tahan why not. i'm pushing 280 now, highest my board could hit was 284 though.
strife_personified
post Jul 13 2009, 05:13 PM

Discordius Maximus
543 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 13 2009, 02:20 PM)
this is how my setup was b4, hope it can give u some idea bout how to squeeze in fan(s) in that area...  wink.gif

[attachmentid=1075606]

thats a nice setup there *drools*

i originally thought my achilles can't sit that way, but thinking about, i'm not sure if i properly looked at the lines for the attachments >.<

other than that, i think i'll be taking the rig apart this coming weekend, half upgrading (or downgrading tongue.gif) to a 550BE so my sis can take the quadcore (she does video rendering like mad tongue.gif)

depending on my CPU heatsink, i might either go for fans like you did or a custom cardboard shroud wink.gif

btw, how did you sit that 60mm fan on the heatsink? i see one cable tie, but i cant figure the rest out. i'm also sad that i accidentally broke my amd stock fan while experimenting yesterday cry.gif

This post has been edited by strife_personified: Jul 13 2009, 05:13 PM
strife_personified
post Jul 13 2009, 05:28 PM

Discordius Maximus
543 posts

QUOTE(ventrilocks @ Jul 13 2009, 05:20 PM)
lol..just tied like dat lor..there is no other way to put fan there..
i think i get it now, it dangles and rests on the other fan. i'll see if i can find any small fans at home, if not i'll make do with my shroud for now.

0.0464sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:52 PM