need some help in building custom casing (simple)

TSreiben05
post Jun 7 2009, 03:55 PM, updated 17y ago

American Muscle
1,800 posts

planning to build a mini-atx that is horrizontal..

reason why: easier to carry around
size: able to support ATX mobo, ATX PSU and of course an hd4870x2 or longer yawn.gif
material : definately light aluminium and acylric

so far the measurements i've taken

Width : 360mm (36cm) [the width is wide just in case]
Length: 500mm (50cm) [to support a HD4870x2, and the following DVD Drives]
Height: 350mm (35cm) [double layer to separate the PSU and mobo in the upper layer and maybe put the hard disks in the bottom layer and the first layer must be tall enough to fit a TRUE]

note: measurements are taken horizontally

cooling : i dont plan on fitting a water cooling gear inside.. however, planning on putting loads of 120mm fan LED inside

inspired by my old casing .. a SG01 silverstone... sadly it wont fit my gpu and psu.. and i had to sold it =(..

need any help and suggestion u guys can give =).. thnx

as for the tools.. i have some drills and dremels to use..

cost: idk, the cheaper the better..

2848calvin
post Jun 7 2009, 03:59 PM

507 posts

buy acrylic and make a casing ur self sight u have dremel and drill XD
TSreiben05
post Jun 7 2009, 04:00 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

xD well the problem is i dunno how to stick 2 aluminiums together.. hmm.. most cases either use a screw or sliding panel..
2848calvin
post Jun 7 2009, 04:15 PM

507 posts

drill a hole on both alu and use rivert to make them stick together XD
TSreiben05
post Jun 7 2009, 04:22 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

no no.. i mean stick them together horizontally and vertically =_=..
Susaiput
post Jun 7 2009, 04:28 PM

595 posts

err...maybe a slot?like in carpenting there's what they called 'tanggam' i dunt noe what theyr called in english tho...

Added on June 7, 2009, 4:29 pmor..u could just bent the sides of the allu panel...and as the miri boy said...drill hole n rivet/screw whichever u like..

This post has been edited by Susaiput: Jun 7 2009, 04:29 PM
TSreiben05
post Jun 7 2009, 04:39 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

yup tanggam liao.. how u DIY?? and bend the sides of the aluminium, wont it spoil the aluminium sheet ??
tjay_tj
post Jun 7 2009, 05:40 PM

retire
1,140 posts

bending wouldnt spoil the aluminium...
but u need alot of effort to bent aluminium nicely...( tongue.gif i use hammer sweat.gif )

anyway... u can go hardware shop to buy aluminium angle or all those L angle and fix it the aluminium to it...
not hard to find... anyway... if u not understand find the picture from google should be no problem.
TSreiben05
post Jun 7 2009, 05:57 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

hmm okay liao, i've done those last time at school D:.. now problem is the price for an aluminium plate.. they dont sell in hardware shop, only aluminium foils/sheets.. the people there ask me to go buy it at Kedai Logam.. which is normally close on Sundays T.T.. anyone know how much the cost for 3mm thickness aluminium plate.. measurements ermm.. maybe 600mm x 400mm??
2848calvin
post Jun 7 2009, 06:10 PM

507 posts

can take some pic and post out?XD
TSreiben05
post Jun 7 2009, 08:25 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

ok this is just epic.. i asked my dad for some money for the plate.. he said he rather buy me a 800$ silverstone casing and let me mod it =_=.. EPIC OMG LOL..
2848calvin
post Jun 7 2009, 08:34 PM

507 posts

lol tat nice haha
rich daddy doh.gif
TSreiben05
post Jun 7 2009, 08:38 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

nice?? i feel dissapointed.. so excited in making new case edi :'(..

Added on June 7, 2009, 8:39 pmit'll be my first experience somemore :'(..

This post has been edited by reiben05: Jun 7 2009, 08:39 PM
2848calvin
post Jun 7 2009, 08:55 PM

507 posts

is easy~ but the sliverstone casing then open treade

[WTT] sliverstone casing with aluminium,this,that,bla bla bla bla....
haha
TSreiben05
post Jun 7 2009, 08:57 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

haha ._. i doubt i'll be doing that lol.. sigh" project dibatalkan.. bump*
reason why: dad x kasik approval..
tjay_tj
post Jun 7 2009, 09:31 PM

retire
1,140 posts

LOL... shakehead.gif

i think the main problem is that u try t use 3mm aluminium... 1 mm is more than enuf...
lian li also only use 1.5 - 2 mm aluminium...

i think there is no ppl using 3mm for casing building... very hard to cut, drill and heavy...

normal pc casing is just 0.6mm thick...

the biggest problem is the avai of the 3mm thick aluminium... it is way too hard to find...
that y the price is omg.

go search for 1mm aluminium 1st. that move to 2mm... the 1.5mm is already impossible to bend withoud proper mechine as i tried bending it before with hammer sweat.gif
2848calvin
post Jun 7 2009, 09:33 PM

507 posts

XD yea 1mm is easy to find over my place wor is enough already

lun1986
post Jun 7 2009, 09:49 PM

939 posts

there r 2 material u can use.either arcylic or alu,but both material also expensive 1.
backplate,wiring & switch ,buy a cheap casing n disassembly it.

if just arcylic,u can use colorform to join them 2gather or skru up.
find 6mm arcylic,this thickness suitable build casing.

if alu,need rivert them together.
0.6mm - 1mm easy to bend.
tjay_tj
post Jun 7 2009, 10:34 PM

retire
1,140 posts

yup... u can always choose the arcylic... arcylic is nice smile.gif

arcylic is not light actually...
but it is easier to cut and drill and also bend brows.gif

but when gluing the arcylic with choloform, make sure that the contact area is flat... mine always not flat doh.gif thus result in bad bond doh.gif
2848calvin
post Jun 7 2009, 10:45 PM

507 posts

yea acrylic is very easy to design and cut^^ but u need to design it nicely 1st like how big how tall how many hole u need drill where u need to put ur psu~cd rom~ power and reset button~usd hole~ bla bla bla XD damnnn it sure very fun! i will start a custom acrylic casing project soon XD
TSreiben05
post Jun 7 2009, 11:32 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

hmm Acylric melts pretty fast when i cut it with my dremel liao.. aluminium 1mm thick yawn.gif.. thats pretty thin.. i measure with ruler look so small 1mm xD.. but damn... really wish i could design my custom casing :'(.. waiting for approval haha xD
2848calvin
post Jun 7 2009, 11:34 PM

507 posts

XD acrylic really cheap
tjay_tj
post Jun 8 2009, 12:05 AM

retire
1,140 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Jun 7 2009, 11:32 PM)
hmm Acylric melts pretty fast when i cut it with my dremel liao.. aluminium 1mm thick yawn.gif.. thats pretty thin.. i measure with ruler look so small 1mm xD.. but damn... really wish i could design my custom casing :'(.. waiting for approval haha xD
1mm is okey but u need a stady frame.. 1.5mm is always better... anyway... the lian li or silverstone normally is just less than 2mm...
3 mm is just too thick... anyway... go for arcylic. cheap and good material for modding....
lun1986
post Jun 9 2009, 12:11 AM

939 posts

use arcylic la,find 6mm arcylic
TSreiben05
post Jun 9 2009, 12:33 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

hmm ok liao.. since aluminium = no approval.. new objektif acylric xD
2848calvin
post Jun 9 2009, 01:02 PM

507 posts

yeah~~ same project with me XD
lun1986
post Jun 9 2009, 04:37 PM

939 posts

so bro,when start huh ?
Susaiput
post Jun 10 2009, 03:35 PM

595 posts

wow...lately got so many acrylic mod... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif y u all only appear after ive run out of money? tongue.gif
anyways looking forward for ur mod...i tot of building an acrylic case too...so maybe i can learn from u guys afterwards...huhuhuhu...

ur planning for a casing that looks like sumbeam HTPC rite?may i noe whats ur decided plans...as rite now ur facing the prob of choosing the rite thickness...its all up 2 u bro...wether u want to cut easier or the case stronger...i would recommend a 3mm tho...bcoz in my opinion small casing(m-ATX) if i got one would end up under the table for me to put my feet...much like the fate of my current subwoofer...n for me things do get though as space is room is limited n im forced to stack guitar amps on the subwoofer...which on 1 causes the subwoofer to break... lucky its just something i picked up...tongue.gif a mans trash is another mans treasure...huhuhuhu...

anyways...u could always choose the 1mm...then make the support beam for the case using 3mm...

gudluck on ur mod bro... thumbup.gif

p/s after this when im building my acrylic case...dont hesitate to give tips/advice ok?hahahahahaha rclxms.gif tongue.gif

0.0185sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:22 PM