4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Do we need a local Linux Magazine, Local Linux Magazine

Qwert
post Dec 4 2004, 10:28 PM

271 posts

nice man ... u sure will get my support ...
wodenus
post Dec 5 2004, 01:53 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Qwert @ Dec 4 2004, 10:28 PM)
nice man ... u sure will get my support ...
A mass-produced full-color RM10 mag with a CD is practically a miracle. If he can do it, then I really have to salute him smile.gif
Pennywise
post Dec 5 2004, 02:14 PM

5,796 posts

Its possible... Just like PCGamer, PCPlus, etc - need sponsorship and advertisement nia.
bioweapon83
post Dec 5 2004, 02:15 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 5 2004, 01:53 PM)
A mass-produced full-color RM10 mag with a CD is practically a miracle. If he can do it, then I really have to salute him smile.gif
Hmm.............

Dont give him pressure.

This is some basic calculation:

Depends of what quality of paper used le if RM10 i think quite ok to make it la coz printing a mag with a bout 60pages full color/paper type cost about RM4-5 depends per 10k copies/print and CD mass production might come around RM1(+ label printing) .

If plus all those production cost say RM2 per copy and some commision to seller/distributor or what ever middleman will say RM1 then the total cost will come around

RM4+1+2+1=RM8 and profit per copy is RM2(by putting RM10 as selling price.

Say he print 10k copy to test market 1st

RM2 *10k = RM20k and this onmly subject to sold all.

Assume his mag only laku 75% then it will be RM15k..........

Say his producction team is about 20 ppl then each of u earn about RM15k/20= RM750>> this is quite ok le if a good team organization setup and perharps u might start this as a part time............

Hint: U can cut a bit ur cost if u can find some sponsor thumbup.gif

I could lend a hand maybe if u need it.................. sweat.gif

Do let me know if ur mag is out. I will buy thumbup.gif
wodenus
post Dec 5 2004, 02:33 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Dec 5 2004, 02:14 PM)
Its possible... Just like PCGamer, PCPlus, etc - need sponsorship and advertisement nia.
PC Gamer and PC Plus sell for RM10 with CDs ?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 5 2004, 03:00 PM
wodenus
post Dec 5 2004, 02:47 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(bioweapon83 @ Dec 5 2004, 02:15 PM)
Hmm.............

Dont give him pressure.

This is some basic calculation:

Depends of what quality of paper used le if RM10 i think quite ok to make it la coz printing a mag with a bout 60pages full color/paper type cost about RM4-5 depends per 10k copies/print and CD mass production might come around RM1(+ label printing) .

If plus all those production cost say RM2 per copy and some commision to seller/distributor or what ever middleman will say RM1 then the total cost will come around

RM4+1+2+1=RM8 and profit per copy is RM2(by putting RM10 as selling price.

Say he print 10k copy to test market 1st

RM2 *10k = RM20k and this onmly subject to sold all.

Assume his mag only laku 75% then it will be RM15k..........

Say his producction team is about 20 ppl then each of u earn about RM15k/20= RM750>> this is quite ok le if a good team organization setup and perharps u might start this as a part time............

Hint: U can cut a bit ur cost if u can find some sponsor thumbup.gif

I could lend a hand maybe if u need it..................  sweat.gif

Do let me know if ur mag is out. I will buy thumbup.gif
RM4-5 for a 60 page full-color glossy mag ? who's quoting those prices ?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 5 2004, 03:13 PM
Scavengers
post Dec 5 2004, 02:55 PM

380 posts

nice work man ...
this is a very healthy effort in spreading opensource resources throughout the region
for starters, try tackling the readers by investing something fun that can be enjoyed by all range of age. Just my 2 cent. Plus it would be kewl if u include the BSD family to spice up the agenda. Support local product. Outta here.
hawk
post Dec 7 2004, 06:11 PM

183 posts

I definetely would like to join the team for the local Linux Magazine! Definetely will support ....
TSaJeN
post Dec 8 2004, 12:02 PM

Anybody who would like to join the TEAM please email me at azren15@time.net.my.

Regards,
aJeN

http://linuxmag.niaganet.com
(soon to be www.linuxmag.net)

This post has been edited by aJeN: Dec 8 2004, 12:03 PM
feiming
post Dec 8 2004, 10:13 PM

212 posts

u also need to include advertisment earning from the mag ler.

we can also export to singapore also.
provide distro update in cd for ppl who dun have the connection to update.
vieri_corleone
post Dec 13 2004, 01:46 PM

342 posts

waiting for that time. of course we'll support ur effort
Geek
post Dec 15 2004, 09:35 AM

86 posts

thumbup.gif too good...I've just read about these posts today, and I find it very interesting to join the TEAM... but I'd like to know more information, like what is your plan, and goals for it, could you plz state it more clearly or could you post it in the website that you have mentioned earlier.
robertngo
post Dec 15 2004, 10:06 AM

4,027 posts

good idea, i will surely support the mag if it on sell in sarawak.
Cyclone
post Dec 15 2004, 12:14 PM

**Dark Knight**
Validating
1,227 posts

support from me too..... tongue.gif from a newbie of linux...... smile.gif
Broadica
post Dec 15 2004, 12:22 PM

352 posts

it will be great to have local linux mag..
i'll be supporting.. as imported ones are just too expensive.

something is wrong with our government.. magazine also tax heavily.. how to achieve Knowledge society..

i know very little on linux.. but anything i can help.. let me know

This post has been edited by Broadica: Dec 15 2004, 12:23 PM
strider
post Dec 15 2004, 12:34 PM

164 posts

Ayoi... Don't just talk here, talk there! I afraid that at the end nothing will come out. If have to, please do a proposal to let us see the plan.
Pennywise
post Dec 15 2004, 12:35 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 5 2004, 02:33 PM)
PC Gamer and PC Plus sell for RM10 with CDs ?
Yeap! I havent been buying for a year because i won a free 1 year subscription thing through some Warcraft Contest so I dont know if there's a price increase.
kevler
post Dec 15 2004, 03:54 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

cool MAMBO CMS ...aJeN

keep up a good work on it ...soon many user will switch to Linux environment
Scavengers
post Dec 16 2004, 09:56 PM

380 posts

ahhahaha....from my observation....
this avatar looks very familiar... openbsd ehh
ittutor ke..hehehehehe

btw...if the mag is on sale.. put the pics here...n i'll try my best to buy one to support
wodenus
post Dec 17 2004, 12:49 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Dec 15 2004, 12:35 PM)
Yeap! I havent been buying for a year because i won a free 1 year subscription thing through some Warcraft Contest so I dont know if there's a price increase.
Cool.. but then PC Plus is a general mag right ? and PC Gamer covers all the games on the market ? in short, the potential market for those publications are huge -- there are tons of gamers, and even more PC users. I don't know if there are that many linux users.

Anyway, if it works I really bow down to him smile.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0175sec    1.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:03 PM