Beginner's guitar, Your opinion

TSIvangile
post Jun 6 2009, 09:39 PM, updated 17y ago

405 posts

I'm about to get myself a new guitar. Please recommend me a good Acoustic, Nylon guitar (6-string). Preferable Below RM200 tongue.gif *(If can include capo + vibration tuner in the price).

PS: I also hope you can tell me the location to get it in penang:D
whatsupbro
post Jun 6 2009, 09:42 PM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

u can get a good classical for 200 but with tuner and capo... I dun think so biggrin.gif

lennon_87
post Jun 6 2009, 09:58 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(whatsupbro @ Jun 6 2009, 09:42 PM)
u can get a good classical for 200 but with tuner and capo... I dun think so biggrin.gif
agreed. tuner and capo i think the cheapest price for both would be 100 or maybe 150?
and i think u will need budget of 350-400 for guitar + tuner + capo.
FauxHawk
post Jun 6 2009, 10:07 PM

<3
1,340 posts

kapok brand..not good but fits ur budget
bshen92
post Jun 6 2009, 10:48 PM

~
522 posts

Save a bit more and get the yamaha C40, really more worthwhile than getting a crap cheap guitar. Its yamaha's basic classical guitar. forget the capo 1st, get it only when ur better at the guitar.

As for the tuner, not having it is a good experience because u learn how to tune using reference pitch. It's really helpful training. I've never heard of a good guitarist who cannot rely on his own ears to tune his guitar.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by bshen92: Jun 6 2009, 10:49 PM
raul88
post Jun 6 2009, 11:09 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

go to yamaha store and ask the salesman
yamaha's guitar is good..their cheap ends also very quality
Al@n2rock
post Jun 6 2009, 11:24 PM

349 posts

If still wanna stick to ur budjed,

Jinyin Brand, its a clasical guitar, very cheap, RM140 at Sugei Wang

the balance u can buy a capo

ikram1991
post Jun 7 2009, 08:14 PM

134 posts

at selayang mall
got cheap acoustic
guitar also
u can try
huhuhu
thatsound
post Jun 7 2009, 11:53 PM

147 posts

ashton is good. you can refer to my thread. though i dont think rm200 is enough. haha. but seriously, ashton acoustics sound like a 1k guitar.

to me your 1st guitar needs to be comfortable, easy to slide fret to fret, sound no need to be the best also ok. but i think kapok is abit out lah. not a good choice
nizamextreme
post Jun 8 2009, 12:32 AM

241 posts

if in penang try go to LBS which is in front of the kompleks bukit jambul..or u can go to gurney plaza..3rd floor if im not mistaken..also got shop called art tune but im not sure where it is,still searching
roguehunter
post Jun 8 2009, 01:17 AM

27 posts

I heard Yamaha guitars are a good start but when you get better its time to get a better guitar. If you've just started guitar then I don't think a capo is necessary and for tuner I suggest online tuning. Great for building your hearing.
akira de aimbuster
post Jun 8 2009, 02:41 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

if you hand is big, find a suitable guitar size that match ur palm lol. Last time i saw some really good acoustic guitars are being sold in watt fatt, around rm300 hmm.gif

about capo, my rm15 capo works like miracle laugh.gif
Kase
post Jun 8 2009, 03:28 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(Ivangile @ Jun 6 2009, 09:39 PM)
I'm about to get myself a new guitar. Please recommend me a good Acoustic, Nylon guitar (6-string). Preferable Below RM200 tongue.gif *(If can include capo + vibration tuner in the price).

PS: I also hope you can tell me the location to get it in penang:D
if u can add RM80...

then the yamaha acoustic RM280 is very good thumbup.gif the sound is nice and bright
TSIvangile
post Jun 8 2009, 09:25 PM

405 posts

I now increased my budget to RM400 tongue.gif, and I am not totally new to music, but for guitar yes biggrin.gif I play percussion and piano, just want to try guitar, I know how to see guitar chord and guitar tab tongue.gif

@Kase, got RM280 acoustic guitar??? What model??
bshen92
post Jun 8 2009, 10:31 PM

~
522 posts

QUOTE(Ivangile @ Jun 8 2009, 09:25 PM)
I now increased my budget to RM400 tongue.gif, and I am not totally new to music, but for guitar yes biggrin.gif I play percussion and piano, just want to try guitar, I know how to see guitar chord and guitar tab tongue.gif

@Kase, got RM280 acoustic guitar??? What model??
rm400, hmm.. thats an okay budget for a beginner guitar.

The yamaha kase is talking about is probably the yamaha f210, which is the basic yamaha acoustic guitar.
However, bear in mind that its an acoustic guitar, not a classical guitar which u said u were looking for.
TSIvangile
post Jun 8 2009, 10:43 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(bshen92 @ Jun 8 2009, 10:31 PM)
rm400, hmm.. thats an okay budget for a beginner guitar.

The yamaha kase is talking about is probably the yamaha f210, which is the basic yamaha acoustic guitar.
However, bear in mind that its an acoustic guitar, not a classical guitar which u said u were looking for.
Actually I am not clear about acoustic and classical, is it the string differentiate them ?? (Steel and Nylon)

And, The C40 you mentioned, is 3 Nylon 3 Steel, or 6 Nylon :S?
thatsound
post Jun 9 2009, 12:33 AM

147 posts

if your budget is rm400. you're on your way to become a damn good acoustic musician. all you need is an Ashton smile.gif it blows ppl away.
roguehunter
post Jun 9 2009, 01:28 AM

27 posts

Actually I am not clear about acoustic and classical, is it the string differentiate them ?? (Steel and Nylon)

And, The C40 you mentioned, is 3 Nylon 3 Steel, or 6 Nylon :S?

Acoustic guitar and classical is quite different. Kinda like keyboard and piano. Depends on what kind of songs you want to play. For more pop kind go for acoustic but if your into to classical playing and spanish styles you'll need a classical. It's rather troublesome when your trying to play flamenco on an acoustic guitar. I know first hand.

the C40 is a classical guitar.
secondrate
post Jun 11 2009, 02:17 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Yamaha C40 is a 6 six NYLON. Yes the bass strings look like metal but their core is nylon or sometimes silk.

I recommend it. I have one and use D'addario Hard Tension strings on it. Mine doesn't sound bright, kindof mellow actually. The top is spruce not cedar. It's stained spruce.

Classical guitars are generally one size only. Acoustics come in many 'flavours' so to speak. Dreads, those funny 000 ones, jumbo, etc.

Fretboard wider, tuning head different, etc.

If you want to buy a capo for a classical, DO NOT go for the Dunlop Trigger Curved Acoustic Capo. For one, it is curved. Fretboard for classicals is flat. Another, it is too small. I've tried it on my classical and it cannot reach the treble strings.

I think the Flat variety can work. I have no idea as I bought the capo for my acoustic.

Lets see... RM 400 for tuner, capo and guitar... only can recommend Yamaha F-310. I guess you guys know I bashed the guitar earlier but I played one in Yamaha One Utama and it sounded very nice. The sales people also didn't bother me haha. I just noticed them staring at me as I fingered the F-310 and asked them if I could try. They said yes thumbup.gif.

RM 350 I think for guitar. Other RM 50 can get cheap capo but not sure about tuner. My Metro Chromatic tuner cost RM 120.

Try looking for some other brands... but don't simply buy ar. Play first. Or drag someone else with you who knows guitars if you cannot play anything.

Oh yeah, decide if you want classical or acoustic. Can play interchangeably but difficult.

SUSPVCpipe
post Jun 11 2009, 08:38 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

use pencil and rubber band for capo
IcyDarling
post Jun 11 2009, 09:28 AM

1,372 posts

i heard theres this cheap guitar brand name kapok. Cheap, i guess
mumeichan
post Jun 11 2009, 10:18 AM

4,152 posts

The real truth is, for a beginners guitar, just get whatever you can afford. It hardly makes a difference.
secondrate
post Jun 11 2009, 12:44 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Well it does make a difference if you use a RM 50 guitar and a RM 300 guitar. My RM 700 solid top Ibanez is also billed as an advanced beginner's guitar btw.

The TS should just get the best he can afford. It does suck playing on an RM 50 guitar. Trust me I know. I had a Rhythm guitar that cost around RM 100, now just a C40 that cost RM 360 and an Ibanez that cost RM 700 (not counting the custom bone nut and saddle I'm having installed). The classical C40 just had more tone than the Rhythm.

mumeichan
post Jun 11 2009, 01:31 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Jun 11 2009, 12:44 PM)
Well it does make a difference if you use a RM 50 guitar and a RM 300 guitar. My RM 700 solid top Ibanez is also billed as an advanced beginner's guitar btw.

The TS should just get the best he can afford. It does suck playing on an RM 50 guitar. Trust me I know. I had a Rhythm guitar that cost around RM 100, now just a C40 that cost RM 360 and an Ibanez that cost RM 700 (not counting the custom bone nut and saddle I'm having installed). The classical C40 just had more tone than the Rhythm.
Unless you can play a guitar decently you won't know what tone you really want or what size really fits you.
secondrate
post Jun 11 2009, 07:34 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

I really don't like that reason. My parents always pull that card with me. But it doesn't take long to realize your guitar sucks and when that happens, your 'will to learn' suddenly drops.

Much better to get the best you can afford rather than playing a cheaper one and having to get another guitar. Cheap guitars (I mean below RM 200) are horrible to learn on. And they don't really produce nice tone or sound funny so you will sound different from other people. It can be disappointing.

But of course... it's stupid to go buy a guitar most people can only dream of and expect to play like Clapton or something.

This post has been edited by secondrate: Jun 11 2009, 08:08 PM
bshen92
post Jun 11 2009, 08:56 PM

~
522 posts

secondrate is right. If you want to play, u should get the most guitar that you can afford in ur budget, accessories are secondary. Yes, u will want them some day. but, the guitar is still the most important thing.

You have to get a good guitar, and you can a pretty decent one with a budget like yours. Now the question is whether u want a classical or an acoustic.

0.2411sec    2.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:38 PM