AVR yamaha or onkyo rm5.5k budget

TSjmdibr
post Jun 4 2009, 11:11 PM, updated 17y ago

324 posts

Hi sifus,

my friend want to buy avr below RM5.5k, between the 2 brand which one do you all prefer?
pls give ur suggestion & which model & how much? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by jmdibr: Jun 5 2009, 12:03 AM
Mov_freak
post Jun 4 2009, 11:20 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(jmdibr @ Jun 4 2009, 11:11 PM)
Hi sifus,

my friend want to buy avr below RM5.5k, between the 2 brand which one do you all prefer?
pls give ur suggestion & which model & how much?  icon_question.gif
With that budget, can at least get the Yamaha RX1900 (Rm 3+++)

The yamaha amps are literally "idiot" prove (setup wise), so VERY suitable for me!! tongue.gif

General rule of thumb, if watch a lot of music and then listen to some music, Yamaha is the way to go (cost wise)

But of watching movie < listening to music, then suggest Denon amps.

You cannot tell much difference when using Yamaha and Denon when watching movie, but when it comes to listening to music....

Not familiar AT ALL with the Onkyos
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Jun 4 2009, 11:30 PM

801 posts

For movie go for Onkyo.......lotsa of raw power. Go for Onkyo 876 ( Rm5.5k & below ). Lotsa of feature & power & lotsa of setting to do also. tongue.gif The manual is 190pg! blink.gif
He! He! If u do buy Onkyo avr do connect it with Panasonic product as it work perfectly with Panny Viera Link. rclxms.gif Every HT component will be in 'auto mote'.
Now if u also use it for music then perhaps Yammy will do. Personally I prefer Onkyo due to its feature & power & to me it is value for money. Just my peasant opinion. Do listen kaw kaw to both brand first before u buy. Happy avr shopping! smile.gif
TSjmdibr
post Jun 4 2009, 11:31 PM

324 posts

for movie only
ronnt88
post Jun 5 2009, 07:14 AM

2,353 posts

Of coz Onkyo 876..... more 'boomin' movie experience thumbup.gif
Mov_freak
post Jun 5 2009, 11:11 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(jmdibr @ Jun 4 2009, 11:31 PM)
for movie only
Then in my humble opinion, a good Yamaha amp will do it for u

Ease of setup

Kind to match with speakers

and with a good subwoofer, can BOOM also!! tongue.gif

Note that after you first setup, a 40 hours run in is usually recommended before the sound "opens" up

You'll "get it" once you set things up and run it for about 40 hours
rakyat
post Jun 5 2009, 01:52 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(jmdibr @ Jun 4 2009, 11:11 PM)
Hi sifus,

Go for onkyo* - value for $$$ in terms of relevant features, wattage, functionality & support M'sia made product rclxms.gif

Since u use it more for movie then onkyo pwn yammie in movies; if music then marantz pwn yammie in music, if you like good looks/ GUI then Denon/ HK pwn yammie.
If you like to play around w. DSP shocking.gif then get yammie

* disclaimer : I'm an Onkyo user and proud of it thumbup.gif
arremie
post Jun 5 2009, 06:51 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Jun 5 2009, 01:52 PM)
If you like to play around w. DSP  shocking.gif then get yammie
haha I have to agree with that one laugh.gif ...yammy is crazy with DSP...donno what is for what also doh.gif
djdyks
post Jun 5 2009, 07:03 PM

404 posts

For movie audio quality i've always believe Yamaha does it slightly better ... until i meet this brand Harmon Kardon, recently
With your budget, you should buy the Harmon Kardon AVR 355 !
All HD audio codecs supported, distintive look, strikingly lighted up in dark and even the remote controller itself lighted with white colour.
I've owned Yamaha, Onkyo, Denon and Marantz AV Receiver before ... but this is another class of its own !
http://www.harmankardon.com/product_detail...355/230&sType=C
arremie
post Jun 5 2009, 07:33 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Only 65W per channel? Not many use HK here I think. Expensive?
djdyks
post Jun 5 2009, 10:25 PM

404 posts

Do not under estimate their wattage rating ... its 65W/70W is the true wattage type ... i think equivalent to 110 to 130 wattage
AVR255 around 3k and AVR355 less than 4k
s6xs9x
post Jun 5 2009, 10:47 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

i knew a guy who sells these HK in ampang park, but the last visit i made there the shop has closed down.

none above mentioned are bad .. they all have its own strength. I've only been using a yammy and have no complaints about them. as for it's DSP modes I've never used them at all.

Wattage are just on papers, but my 1800 has never gone tired before even after movies and music for an extend of around whole day i guess.
TSjmdibr
post Jun 5 2009, 11:28 PM

324 posts

thanks for all suggestions..anyone want to add???
janapril
post Jun 6 2009, 03:02 AM

I heard Onkyo will launch new model to replace current model..
if you check at the Onkyo product website, the TX SR307, TX SR507 and TX SR607 are in listed and I believe some of model like TX SR806 and TX SR876 will be replace in this Oct with a lot of improvement.

bbear
post Jun 7 2009, 09:02 AM

57 posts

One of the shop in Penang is having Onkyo TX-SR706 selling at discount now.. I knew as I am in the middle of deciding Marantz SR6003 vs TX-SR706 with the Marantz still at RM300 more then the other.

Hmm.. looks like i should check out Yamaha also since so many recommending it.
TSjmdibr
post Jun 9 2009, 07:19 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(bbear @ Jun 7 2009, 09:02 AM)
One of the shop in Penang is having Onkyo TX-SR706 selling at discount now.. I knew as I am in the middle of deciding Marantz SR6003 vs TX-SR706 with the Marantz still at RM300 more then the other.

how much onkyo 706 in penang & which shop?
gocitygo
post Jun 9 2009, 08:32 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(bbear @ Jun 7 2009, 09:02 AM)

Bro, mind to share the price of SR6003 and SR706.
bbear
post Oct 26 2009, 12:16 AM

57 posts

jmdibr and gocitygo
Oops.. sorry that didn't notices on the last questions.. but not sure still useful or not. It was 3.6k for the 6003 and 706.. i kind of forgotten already and after so many months.. the prizing probably no longer valid. Sorry for the late reply.

The shop i went with 706 is CMY at Gurney and the shop i went for the 6003 is Watts HiFi at Jalan Perak and Star Buy at Raja Uda.

This post has been edited by bbear: Oct 26 2009, 12:17 AM
C.T. Seong
post Oct 26 2009, 10:31 AM

494 posts

QUOTE(jmdibr @ Jun 5 2009, 12:11 AM)
Hi sifus,

Yamaha RX-V3900

NAD T747

kayroll
post Oct 26 2009, 11:08 AM

612 posts

pioneer sc-lx82 tongue.gif