Movies LYN Official TRANSFORMERS Movie Thread: V2, Next: Transformers 3 - July 1st, 2011

kobe8byrant
post Jun 24 2009, 10:39 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Some of Michael Bay-ish dialogue in reaction to TF3:

(using Shia's voice) No! No! No! Nooooo! Noooooooo!
(using army like voice) Not tonight. Not on my watch, you won't.
(Optimus Prime) I am Optimus Prime and we're waiting to defend ourselves against the threat of poorly made movies.

kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 09:54 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 28 2009, 08:12 PM)
...well, a movie can have more than one MacGuffin.  tongue.gif  But perhaps MacGuffin isn't the right term to describe them. How about... they're plot devices.

Not characters.
whoever said they couldn't be characters?
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 10:02 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 28 2009, 09:59 PM)
I didn't say they couldn't be characters. They certainly could, and probably should. I say they're not characters, because Michael Bay doesn't treat them like characters.  smile.gif
Then what does he treat them (if by them, you mean Autobots) like?
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 10:17 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 28 2009, 10:09 PM)
For the significant ones, plot devices. All the rest, special effects.
Mind explaining how are the Autobots plot devices? I thought the Allspark fragment and Harvester were plot devices?
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 10:32 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 28 2009, 10:28 PM)

Again, they have no personality, nor are they capable of expressing any emotion. They are not characters. What else could they be?
Bumblebee and Prime are characters. They have personality. Their lack of it doesn't make them plot devices. The lack of personality among the characters in TF2 is just down to bad writing.

Added on June 28, 2009, 10:33 pmIf it doesn't advance the story, I find it hard to believe it can be a plot device.

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jun 28 2009, 10:35 PM
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 10:42 PM

12,275 posts

Will you say Buster Keaton isn't a character but a plot device? NONE of the characters he play show any emotion.

The fact that Autobots personify certain values such as justice and compassion make them characters. Though they do not undergo any change in expression, they stand for values which make them flat characters.

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jun 28 2009, 10:45 PM
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 10:56 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 28 2009, 10:51 PM)
But that's literally the only thing they do - advance the plot.

There's certainly plenty of bad writing in the movie, but I don't think that's why the robots have no personality. Even that annoying Leo and the Tyrese Gibson character have more personality than the robots.

I think it's because Michael Bay deliberately made them that way. It's the basis for his entire approach to the franchise. He's purposely making Transformers movies in which the Transformers are not characters.

Everything about how the movies portray them fits this interpretation.
No it doesn't.

Just because human characters are more expressive doesn't mean they have more personality. All the characters in Transformers are one dimensional. He doesn't purposely make Transformers movies in which Transformers AREN'T characters because they are characters. If they aren't, you won't see that many Bumblebee-Sam scenes and the 'development' of their relationship.

The core of the story is 'a story about a boy and his car' so the car is a character. And as mentioned, they do stand for certain values and have showed emotion making them characters.
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 11:00 PM

12,275 posts

What about you? whistling.gif Don't try and blend in now tongue.gif
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 11:09 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 28 2009, 11:03 PM)
That's just what they say in the press junkets.  smile.gif  Do you honestly think that came across in both movies?
Yes. There were quite a fair few scenes.

And that doesn't take away the fact that Autobots are characters. Ask yourself:

a) Does Autobots stand for any values?
b) Does Autobots show emotion?

If yes to the above, they are characters.

Answer: Optimus Prime says BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH
Answer: Bumblebee cried cry.gif
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 11:22 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 28 2009, 11:18 PM)
laugh.gif You can't even remember what "values" he stands for. And no, "stands for values" does not a character make.
But was it an emotional scene? No, it was played for laughs. That wasn't an emotion, that was a special effect.
I remember. I'm just not going to type all the shit out. Autobots believe in justice and humanity.

WTF? What do you mean having 'values' isn't a trait of a character? It doesn't matter if it was played for laughs or not, it showed emotion. Tell me Chaplin or Keaton aren't characters next time you watch their films. And just because it's special effect doesn't make it less of an emotion.

Dragonheart? Sad dragon dying in that movie? That's special effects but also emotion.

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jun 28 2009, 11:23 PM
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 11:35 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 28 2009, 11:32 PM)
What I meant was, a symbol is not a character. The Autobots do not have values, they...

...actually, they don't even symbolize them. They merely spout platitudes.
I'm a fan of Pixar, so I have no beef about special effects used to show emotion. Bumblebee crying is a gag, not an emotion. He cares about Sam so much that he can't bear to be left behind? Where was he when the kid died?
They have values. Believing in justice is a value. Having compassion is a trait.

And where don't get started with the plot holes laa.. that's unfair tongue.gif where was mom pulling sam back when he wanted to risk his life when she was weeping over college?

maka, characters or not? tongue.gif
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 11:45 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Jun 28 2009, 11:39 PM)
Whaa? Don't get me in this.
Ohhh come on tongue.gif Yes or no? brows.gif

And they spout shit about justice and evil but they represent GOOD or EVIL - making them characters.

Okay, bored of this tongue.gif

and don't cop out la, maka tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jun 28 2009, 11:46 PM
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 11:50 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jun 28 2009, 11:48 PM)
Its obvious you have more fun bashing it. whistling.gif  biggrin.gif
3/5 is a good score regardless of how you put it. whistling.gif
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 11:55 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(oucheev @ Jun 28 2009, 11:54 PM)
I guess most of you forgot its a MICHAEL BAY movie. If you want to enjoy a Michael Bay movie, leave your brains out and just enjoy:-

1) Kick-ass action scenes
2) Kick-ass military hardware
3) Kick-ass slow-mo action scenes
and the most important of all
4) Kick-ass boobs

OK, seriously this movie is full of plot holes. Actually this year first few summer blockbuster movies plots are really full of holes. Star Trek, Terminator and now Transformers 2 plot are really really terrible. But as a popcorn blockbuster movie, they do work.

Hey, even the best blockbuster movies are full of holes and have horrible dialogues. Remember the original Star Wars trilogy. I am not even talking about the prequels.
Plot holes is one thing. Properly fleshed out characters are another.
kobe8byrant
post Jun 28 2009, 11:56 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 28 2009, 11:54 PM)
Actually, my ratings scale goes to 4 stars max.
There goes your credibility in my books whistling.gif tongue.gif
kobe8byrant
post Jun 29 2009, 12:38 AM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 29 2009, 12:30 AM)
But in 10 years time, they'll be seen exactly the same way Armageddon and Pearl Harbor are seen now.  biggrin.gif
Those were decent Bay flicks which I enjoyed.
kobe8byrant
post Jun 29 2009, 10:44 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(20thCentury @ Jun 29 2009, 05:41 PM)
RM 10.00 for 2 1/2 hours action movie... sudah worth it lor...
So it's about the length, huh? Don't watch Pixar movies!
kobe8byrant
post Jul 1 2009, 06:42 PM

12,275 posts

Well if that's your only purpose for watching those films then yes.
kobe8byrant
post Jul 1 2009, 07:06 PM

12,275 posts

I must admit that there are a lot of plotholes in the movie but that isn't why I hated it.
kobe8byrant
post Jul 1 2009, 07:45 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 1 2009, 07:37 PM)
Okay so I read that article, and the guy was being nitpicky, though he did have a few good points. ROBOT HEAVEN AND BACK?! That is shit deus ex machina writing right there.

But some of the replies from the Shoot For The Edit guy were even more douchbaggery.

Added on July 1, 2009, 7:38 pm

I mean the movie made 200million at the box office in only 5 days la!
Can't say I was surprised with Robot Heaven to be honest. If you had robots with a walking stick, baby robots in the embryo so this isn't a surprise to be honest.

Doesn't make it illogical though.

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jul 1 2009, 07:46 PM

0.0401sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:18 PM