Playstation Store launch, 8th June

Lord_Ashe
post Jun 8 2009, 11:38 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

So the price is hao? Do we get the same games/demos as our SG brethren?

Kalau tak nampaknya we still have to do the sharing laaaahhhhh
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 8 2009, 11:44 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Jun 8 2009, 11:42 AM)
Now we have a lot of options to get our games from. Those without CC, this is a heaven sent from Sony,no need to wait for sharing anymore.
Kalau PSN MY, how do we pay if we don't use CC?
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 8 2009, 11:47 AM

1,495 posts

Heheh, I'll stick with PSN US le nampaknya...thank God for sharing.
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 8 2009, 12:10 PM

1,495 posts

ragdoll kungfu was free last week from US PSN thanks to Sprint.
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 9 2009, 09:33 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Dinghydoggy @ Jun 9 2009, 04:22 AM)
I bought FF7 from the US PSN... There are definitely no HD graphics. The only thing 'new' is the generic PS Smoothing that you can apply to all PS1 games (from the PS2 days). Even faster disc loading speed isn't there. But heck, it's wonderful to play FF7 again, even if the graphics are crap nowadays. The non linear, dialogue with everyone gameplay is sorely missed. FFX kinda pushed the FF series in a different direction. I preferred FF7 - 9 if you asked me. Oops, I'm digressing.

Oh, and you can't use the analogue stick to control your character. D-pad only. I don't think there's vibration (since there's no analogue).

My thoughts on MY PSN Store (haha pun):

MY PSN has no support for credit cards, and that means I won't be buying anything from it, regardless of price. Using my sister's credit card, I can use Entropay for US PSN (cheap and English), or buy straight from SG PSN (for R3 game addons). Best of both worlds.

One more thing. Dunno if any of you noticed this, but MY PSN doesn't have exactly the same content as SG or HK PSN. Go to the disc-based addons and you'll notice that not all the games that support DLC are there (e.g. Burnout Paradise). This means that content-wise MY PSN Store is not up to standards, even if you ignore its outrageous pricing.

I understand why the prices are so ridiculously high (import taxes, conversion rates, etc.), and why PS1 games are in Japanese (Malaysia is under SCE Asia, which during the PS1 and PS2 days meant solely NTSC-J games - ONLY Japanese games for countries in Asia - region policies and laws prevent those content from transcending regions even now; only with the launch of PS3 did the Asian region (R3) come about with English games but Chinese manuals).

It is unfortunate, however, that there is really no reason for me to have anything to do with the MY PSN Store unless they started a video store (which is HIGHLY unlikely - not enough demand, costs too much to implement, plus the prices with tax and bla bla would make it unfeasible).

It really is a pity that I can't support something local without having to go out on a limb (i.e. no credit card payment, incomplete DLC library, much higher pricing, and no exclusively Malaysian incentives).
Probably the best reply so far.
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 29 2009, 01:38 PM

1,495 posts

phoenix, i am buying catan from MY store, kongsi with mah fren.
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 3 2009, 11:54 AM

1,495 posts

OOh I forgot to update my CC details. Thanks for giving me easier access to spend money, sony smile.gif

BTW, how are the games on MY PSN now? Are they updated as quickly, or do I need learn to need Chinese script?

0.0260sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:38 PM