Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Please provide proper description when you report a post. Report button abuse will earn you an automatic warn + suspension.
 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> A bit of problem after installing FICD, Pls help

kayef
post Jun 3 2009, 03:08 AM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 158

Joined: Jan 2003
I just installed an FICD from a toyota into my wira 1.8. The problem now is while driving, when I want to change gear that time and engage clutch, the timing of the car drops to 1.5k only. If I continue to hold the clutch or free the gear, the timing still stays high at 1.5k but after a few seconds it goes back down to 1k. During idle, the thing works perfectly, when aircond switch on and off the idling just stays steady. Another problem is now I can feel the aircond compressor switching on when driving, it kinds of pull the car back a bit, not jerk but slight loss of power. Before installing FICD don't have this problem. Oh ya, last thing is although idle is nice now when car not moving but the lights blink a bit during compressor on, again, before installing FICD don have this problem. So want to ask all sifu here, is this normal after installing FICD?Looks like it only solved my idling problem but created new small problems for me.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the_catacombs
post Jun 3 2009, 03:31 AM


8 stars wooo....
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 10,975

Joined: Jan 2003
From: disini disana


whats ur initial motive for installing the ficd??..

did u adjust the allen key screw at ur ficd to ur preferred idle rpm??..

is ur ficd hose connection is correct??
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kayef
post Jun 3 2009, 12:42 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 158

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jun 3 2009, 03:31 AM)
whats ur initial motive for installing the ficd??..

did u adjust the allen key screw at ur ficd to ur preferred idle rpm??..

is ur ficd hose connection is correct??
*
I install the FICD to stabilize the idling when aircond on and off. This part works when the car is not moving. When moving, press clutch that time idling stays too high and goes down slowly plus the problems i mentioned in first post.

Already adjusted the screw accordingly. Not moving that time correct but moving that time wrong.

One hose connected to vacuum and FICD and another connected to FICD and throttle body. Is this correct?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the_catacombs
post Jun 3 2009, 03:14 PM


8 stars wooo....
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 10,975

Joined: Jan 2003
From: disini disana


ficd should be connected this way

user posted image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kayef
post Jun 3 2009, 03:56 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 158

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jun 3 2009, 03:14 PM)
ficd should be connected this way

user posted image
*
Yes, mine is connected exactly that way.

After installing, these are the effects:-

- Idling very stable when aircond on and off during standstill (RPM is set to 1k)
- RPM drops to 1500 and not 1000 when changing gears (during driving and pressing clutch but after few seconds it slowly drops to 1000)
- Can feel slight drag when aircond on (during driving, not jerk, jus slight drag, before this don't have)
- Lights blink a bit when aircond compressor on during standstill (previously don't have)


So any other way to troubleshoot?

This post has been edited by kayef: Jun 3 2009, 03:58 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
boozie
post Jun 4 2009, 12:14 AM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 9

Joined: Apr 2009


QUOTE(kayef @ Jun 3 2009, 03:56 PM)
Yes, mine is connected exactly that way.

After installing, these are the effects:-

- Idling very stable when aircond on and off during standstill (RPM is set to 1k)
- RPM drops to 1500 and not 1000 when changing gears (during driving and pressing clutch but after few seconds it slowly drops to 1000)
- Can feel slight drag when aircond on (during driving, not jerk, jus slight drag, before this don't have)
- Lights blink a bit when aircond compressor on during standstill (previously don't have)
So any other way to troubleshoot?
*
my car 1.6 wira auto face this problem as well. sometimes the AC is on and after about a distance around 10-15km like that, i stop at traffic light, the rpm goes higher around 1.2k rpm. thn i off it, the idling rpm is 1.1k lidat. when i on the Ac, the light blink abit also. can feel like dragging the car like that after AC on. after i off, thn the car go smooths. i install this cos of my ISCV faulty. sometimes get very angry bcos after i adjust the screw at the ISCV, it run perfectly. but after few days, the rpm goes higher like wat i mention above. zzz. still trying to figure out this problem.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the_catacombs
post Jun 4 2009, 01:45 AM


8 stars wooo....
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 10,975

Joined: Jan 2003
From: disini disana


QUOTE(kayef @ Jun 3 2009, 03:56 PM)
Yes, mine is connected exactly that way.

After installing, these are the effects:-

- Idling very stable when aircond on and off during standstill (RPM is set to 1k)
- RPM drops to 1500 and not 1000 when changing gears (during driving and pressing clutch but after few seconds it slowly drops to 1000)
- Can feel slight drag when aircond on (during driving, not jerk, jus slight drag, before this don't have)
- Lights blink a bit when aircond compressor on during standstill (previously don't have)
So any other way to troubleshoot?
*
assuming ur ficd unit is not faulty, rpm doesnt drop to 1k immediately is normal... its some sort like a safety feature avoiding ur rpm plunge too much and stall ur engine... fuel injection cars without speed sensor signal into ecu will experience plunge in rpm when let go accelerator...

if all the above problems didnt happen before u fixed ur ficd, i suspect ficd problem... could either be leaking or so....

another old skool method of checking is reverse engineering... remove the ficd and see if the problems still persist or not...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kayef
post Jun 4 2009, 02:55 AM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 158

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jun 4 2009, 01:45 AM)
assuming ur ficd unit is not faulty, rpm doesnt drop to 1k immediately is normal... its some sort like a safety feature avoiding ur rpm plunge too much and stall ur engine... fuel injection cars without speed sensor signal into ecu will experience plunge in rpm when let go accelerator...

if all the above problems didnt happen before u fixed ur ficd, i suspect ficd problem... could either be leaking or so....

another old skool method of checking is reverse engineering... remove the ficd and see if the problems still persist or not...
*
Before this, my rpm will plunge to 1000 when compressor off or 700+ when compressor on, nothing less than that.

How to check if the FICD is leaking?From the engine bay, I can hear a bit of sucking/blowing sound when the FICD is on but cant really feel if there is any leak.

I need to get the original hose to remove the FICD coz the mechanic cut the hose when installing it. You know where to get it and what is the size?

Thanks
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the_catacombs
post Jun 4 2009, 04:20 AM


8 stars wooo....
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 10,975

Joined: Jan 2003
From: disini disana


QUOTE(kayef @ Jun 4 2009, 02:55 AM)
Before this, my rpm will plunge to 1000 when compressor off or 700+ when compressor on, nothing less than that.

How to check if the FICD is leaking?From the engine bay, I can hear a bit of sucking/blowing sound when the FICD is on but cant really feel if there is any leak.

I need to get the original hose to remove the FICD coz the mechanic cut the hose when installing it. You know where to get it and what is the size?

Thanks
*
its normal got sucking sound... ficd is jz a solenoid valve activated by electricity... it allows extra air directly into ur engine to bring up the idle rpm... if too much air leaked in, ur rpm will fluctuates up and down... advantage of using toyota ficd is u can control the amount of air leaked in, hence controlling the aircond on idle rpm...

to check if ur ficd leaking or not, remove the hose connected to ur ram pipe (hose F) and close it with ur finger... switch off ur aircond... close and open the hose F with ur finger and check if any changes in ur idle rpm... without electric signal from ur compressor, the valve should be fully shut... if there is leak in the valve/ficd, ur idle will increase a little....

the hose can be bought from any sparepart shop... ask for fuel hose... there are a few measurement available, either one should be applicable coz its flexible....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kayef
post Jun 4 2009, 06:02 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 158

Joined: Jan 2003
I think the FICD is not leaking.

Adjusted the screw on the FICD a bit. Now when standstill its still stable at 1k rpm but moving the rpm can drop to 1100-1200 like that during gear change, getting better. Will drive around and test some more.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sickbear
post Oct 11 2011, 10:36 AM


New Member
*
Group: New Member
Posts: 3

Joined: Jul 2010


the ficd can tuning what..
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vr2turbo
post Oct 11 2011, 01:28 PM


New Member
*
Group: New Member
Posts: 0

Joined: Oct 2009


But why Toyota FICD to Wira??
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
c4prlm4st3r
post Mar 2 2012, 12:19 PM


New Member
*
Group: New Member
Posts: 0

Joined: May 2011
QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Oct 11 2011, 01:28 PM)
But why Toyota FICD to Wira??
*
Hi

FICD manufactured by Toyota for Nissan use. It can help if you having rpm issued when turn ON AC. Mostly people install it when TB faulty. Is a cheaper solution either for troubleshoot or permanently solve the issue. Have seen lot of people use it. So far so good.

Thanks.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0635sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 02:59 AM