Starcraft 2 V2, Releasing on 27th of July 2010 :D
Gormaz
Jun 3 2009, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Jun 3 2009, 03:47 AM) I already ordered mine and shipped here already Apparently its already done they just delay the release date Heres the link to purchase one online www.malaysianpcgames.com.my"Never gonna give you up"? (I am in office so can't open youtube)
Gormaz
Jun 14 2009, 02:17 PM
Something similar to C?! Oh My, Blizz is so 80-90's Now that remind me too much of work to be good but it sounds like they really created something solid, it's the first time ever I read anything about a game script engine with its very own Garbage Collector (which, funnily enough, does not exist in the C language as far as I remember  ) This post has been edited by Gormaz: Jun 14 2009, 02:19 PM
Gormaz
Jun 14 2009, 03:21 PM
Basically yar, as frags explained it "just" clear up memory that is not used anymore without you (you = the programmer here) having to manually free it, which was a big pain in older languages like C.
It seems pretty "basic" like this but it's actually quite complex and absolutely vital for big programs as unused but not freed memory (ie: without a garbage collector) will lead to your game taking way more memory than it is really using and it will keep growing and growing (as non freed variables keeps piling up). That's one of the common cause of memory leak or "Out of memory" kind of error.
Gormaz
Jun 17 2009, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jun 17 2009, 01:36 PM) Among the posters here who have registered for Bnet 2.0? with their game specs sent? I registered to BN2 to try to get into the beta. But you need to link your account to an existing Blizzard game before you can apply. And it seems that my 3 years of WoW (and all the money that represents!) are not enough. Wow does NOT count as a Blizzard game.... That kinda pissed me off to be honest.... I do own original Diablo2 + LoD as well as Starcraft but they are back to hometown so I have no idea about the cd-key (and trying to explain to my mum where and what to look for is just impossible  )
Gormaz
Jun 17 2009, 11:17 PM
Yar, but it kinda pissed me off that WoW was not considered enough... seriously... I put hundreds of USD in it, more than any normal Blizzard game... it's really weird. Guess I will just wait for the full SC2, not too fussed about the beta, it's very unlikely you get choosen anyway, every gamer and their mothers around the world will register
Gormaz
Jun 24 2009, 12:38 PM
I will take a PhotoPorkChop with curry, kkthxbye
Gormaz
Jun 25 2009, 11:57 AM
If it's the same as the WoW patcher (and I think it is)... prepare to suffer in Malaysia, for some reason I never managed to make it work properly either and ended up using the HTTP download part of it most of the times
Gormaz
Jun 25 2009, 01:38 PM
Inside the Wow downloading if you go to the detailed view you will see which peers you connect with and all.
By looking at that I noticed that all my torrent connection lasted only few seconds before ending. Inside the list of the peers I was seeing one "Http download" special source.
Blizz usually provide some HTTP sources that are embedded inside the torrent (like directly downloading the file from a server). I ended up downloading all my wow patches through that, which is stable but way slower than what the torrent could give me.
I know for sure it's something wrong with Malaysia since I was getting pimp speed when I was still in France.
I am not sure how it is with the "Blizzard Downloader" tool you guys have to use now, but I greatly doubt Blizzard created a brand new tool when they already have an existing one...
I do wish good luck to people downloading something bigger than a couple of Gb with that from Malaysia...
Gormaz
Jun 25 2009, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jun 25 2009, 02:33 PM) I hope they do something about this if not people from countries like ours will suffer.  Added on June 25, 2009, 2:36 pmI just hope people uploads it on torrent sites so that I can download it fast with xunlei or rapidshare. Not like Wow is new and they have not done anything about it........ I don't think they are gonna bother with it, it's not an issue with Blizzard, it's an issue with Shitmyx, they throttle torrents and co. Malaysia is less than a peanut for Blizzard's market for them to bother doing any agreement with local ISPs For Cheese, I believe it could be because the torrent is just getting hammered at the moment with so many people connecting to it but not enough seeds. It might get better after a while
Gormaz
Jun 25 2009, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(Invince_Z @ Jun 25 2009, 04:30 PM) Yes, go get it NAO! Here for more info on where to get it: Starcraft released zomg!On a more serious note, I personally dun really care how a strategy game looks, I would enjoy good graphics but I won't get too fussed over if the graphics are bad if the gameplay is great. I am personally tired of "strategy" games that are nothing but empty shelf with shiny graphic effects on them This post has been edited by Gormaz: Jun 25 2009, 05:01 PM
Gormaz
Jun 30 2009, 09:34 AM
While I do understand the arguments about Cybers, if I want to play devil's advocate and put myself in Blizzard shoes, I still do not see the issue with people having to buy more copied of the game, it's more money for them.
They dun have to do marketing, they don't have to beg people to buy their game, they just have to make it good and it will sells as fast as they can produce it.
Sucks for cybers? Most probably Sucks for people who may have to buy their own? Most probably, but they may enjoy original game for once Sucks for Blizz? Hell no
This post has been edited by Gormaz: Jun 30 2009, 09:35 AM
Gormaz
Jun 30 2009, 12:33 PM
Yar, after thinking more true SC1 was pretty famous for the LAN parties and it could hurt the longevity of the game in the long run. Well, it could still change but I am sure pirate will find a way to use it in Lan so if Blizz is smart they would actually create their own support for it to make people more willing to buy original
Gormaz
Jun 30 2009, 07:21 PM
Well, when people refer to LAN it can also mean the ad-hoc LAN in someone's place where you just hook few computers to a switch, I did many of these during my uni times.
This kind of LAN will NOT be possible for SC2 (the link just above confirmed it).
Sure you can still play in cyber since they are connected, but asking that you connect to Bnet for all LAN is kinda meh in my opinion.
This post has been edited by Gormaz: Jun 30 2009, 07:21 PM
Gormaz
Jul 1 2009, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(H@H@ @ Jul 1 2009, 08:35 AM) Technically, if you each own an original copy, it shouldn't be an issue. Since (I'm assuming), the games will still be hosted via peer to peer, after getting into the game... So, its kinda like LAN mode after that  The only ones who actually complained are the pirates who couldn't play in using Hamachi or cafe owners who were to skimp. But the type of LAN I was describing you simply have no internet connection, just a local LAN with a switch put somewhere. It's a pain in the butt to start configuring a shared internet connection just so you can "hi" to the BNet server to authenticate, even with everyone having an original copy. I would say let's wait and see what are the very exact details but if it's how I understand it now, it's indeed a step backward from Blizzard in my opinion.
Gormaz
Jul 1 2009, 11:16 AM
One thing that is not perfectly clear for me is:
Ok, you need to logon to Bnet to play LAN, let's live with it, let's take the case where you do have an internet connection, everyone has an original, all good.
Once you start playing, are the packets going to stay on your local network or do they need to go through Bnet as well? I know that if they do go through Bnet then it's not really a LAN anymore but now I am really wondering how it will work.
I do think it's high chance it's going to stay on the local network but then what exactly stop people to use the same copy and logon one at a time, then unplug the net and use the LAN.
I dunno, I still find that system a hassle for legit users while I am sure the pirated version will have a way to play LAN without requiring Bnet
Gormaz
Jul 1 2009, 01:06 PM
Alright, so is it released yet? WhUre can I has maH Sc2 GUYS!?!?! ..... Sorry, I just wanted to lighten the atmosphere
Gormaz
Jul 2 2009, 10:15 AM
If I were still in Malaysia (hello Shitmyx!) I would be slgithy unhappy about the Bnet-is-a-must thinggy since the internet is so crap. Right now I dun really mind but I can imagine some tears coming from Malaysia when Shytmix is acting up and people can't connect for authentication (kinda like how people are shouting at Steam sometimes while the issue is actually Tmnet, I had 0 issue login to Steam since I am out). But hey, I play mostly SP anyway It's no "big" deal, just slightly not convenient for legit users and kinda a big move away from the old style of LAN which greatly contributed to SC1 success, that's why I am kinda rubbed off by this change. Personally I am sure SC2 is going to be one of the biggest hit in the last few years and will stay for many years to come, so even if they made it DRM free, people would still buy it to be able to play on Bnet.
Gormaz
Aug 4 2009, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(Hejime @ Aug 4 2009, 04:53 PM) looks nice... i'll definitely get it when it's fully available When it's doneSorry, it was easy
Gormaz
Aug 5 2009, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 5 2009, 12:39 AM) I think its almost written out loud that SC2 will be delayed till next year. They mentioned that SC2 beta will be out this summer and summer ends tomorrow or Aug 8 if you go by chinese solar term. They would never finish beta testing in 4 months time. My prediction is CNY. Since its always 6 months beta testing. We'll see if they release beta during blizzcon which is August 21 and 22. Technically for american, "Summer" last until 21st of September Just saying, I do kinda agree it has high chance to be delayed
Gormaz
Aug 6 2009, 10:20 AM
Yar, no heart broken here either, I was pretty much sure they wouldnt be ready and I am not waiting for the game so much to go emo-fit for a delay.
Make it a good, non buggy game and I am okey to wait