9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Starcraft 2 V2, Releasing on 27th of July 2010 :D

Quazacolt
post Mar 10 2010, 02:00 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 10 2010, 01:46 PM)
More or less the same for,provided i could play it online smoothly most of the time.

I prefer 2v2 over 1v1s.
i tend to let my partner do shitty jobs like scouting LOL
though for sc2, i guess ill have to do it as well, and i am practicing on it a lot.
Quazacolt
post Mar 10 2010, 02:22 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 10 2010, 02:02 PM)
LOL,dont really care and dont mind doing scouting,im always more to support than the first one to engage a battle.
for war3, that works. however sc/ or sc2 having hero element removed and battles relying more on strategy, not scouting and playing in the blind is almost asking for a loss against decent to pro players ^^;
Quazacolt
post Mar 11 2010, 01:38 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(kanabalize @ Mar 11 2010, 12:46 PM)
guys how to counter the siege tanks for each race...?

if use protoss can use immortal but other race i dont know la....
zerg got air or ultralisk, hell if ur units enmassed his tank, also can heh
Quazacolt
post Mar 12 2010, 11:55 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(flow @ Mar 12 2010, 11:37 AM)
another reason why sup com isnt as successful as a competition game, is the time taken to play each game. sup com scale is so large it might take hours to finish a 1v1.

read this in dept why sup com failed as a competition game: http://www.ggl.com/?controller=News&id=4648&method=article
sorry to go OT however:
wrong, on sup com, ladder maps are typically smaller maps which are pretty fun to rush. the main problem though, is oftenly connection and/or PC spec/requirement problems. and sup com is definitely no where near as balanced as blizz RTS would ever be. not to mention the fact that you can gg from a quick commander rush :/

not to mention, supcom 'building up phase' is MUCH slower than sc/war3 is. so everyone at start have to just sit there and build up resource gathering/production etc. sc/war3 action can come as early as a worker in ur base harrassing/tower rushing, to an early hero rush or small skirmish/harass from sc

think of it as war3 but with robots lol. commander being the hero. but you cant revive commander, he dont get cool items, and chances are a dc will ruin ur day

anyways, this is the sc thread, dont think it needs anymore comparison with other games/RTS ^^;
Quazacolt
post Mar 12 2010, 09:02 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Mar 12 2010, 02:22 PM)
I herd from sources that blizzard is placing a server in singapore. I wonder how good the ping is for WoW, Quazacolt any comments on this? Do you lag much while playing wow?
HoN = full fledge dota stand alone game.

SC2 will be a game that is always developing like how SC was.
1) no there wont be sg servers until officially announced

2) 200-500ms ping
Quazacolt
post Mar 15 2010, 10:45 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

warp gate nerf.... durrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Quazacolt
post Mar 22 2010, 04:48 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 21 2010, 07:24 PM)
Please,guys,stop asking beta keys. doh.gif
it will be settled, at the meantime, troll the people who listed out emails? wwwwwwwwwwww
Quazacolt
post Mar 23 2010, 10:20 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 22 2010, 05:02 PM)
Like how?

Anyway,the spam bots who seek around the internets for emails will get their emails soon.
^ neh lol

Added on March 23, 2010, 10:22 am
QUOTE(Kam Tze @ Mar 22 2010, 07:40 PM)

reminds me of the starcraft 12 days christmas song

on the first day of christmas, blizzard gave to me-  a brand new SCV~~  whistling.gif
nostalgia wehhhh

i was on my pentium pro pc still XD

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 23 2010, 10:22 AM
Quazacolt
post Mar 23 2010, 04:37 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Mar 23 2010, 02:57 PM)
well then again, the zerg player could have researched burrow to counter the force field spam (the protoss player did not bring observer along i think)

or

he could just pull back his mutas and roaches out of range while waiting the force field timer to run out....
pretty much, and/or not build mutas when he pretty much KNOWS the enemy only consist of stalkers/sentries :/

ultralisks or broodlords would be insta gg on toss

Added on March 23, 2010, 4:39 pm
QUOTE(dlct87 @ Mar 23 2010, 03:50 PM)
agreed, its easier said than done tongue.gif

just take it as an experience so that we will not freak out when we deal with this kind of situation in future games

but kudos to the protoss player for being able to pull out the force field wall up in such a short time while focus firing on enemies muta army
no focus firing was made, atk + move anyone?

roach was OOR, thus the only thing stalkers/sentries could hit was the mutas, which made it seemed like it was focus firing.
all the toss player did was spamming force fields

lets not forget the AI/auto targeting threat level. didnt knew they have such a thing until the last patch about infestors mentioned it. if you play mmorpg/WoW, you'd understand it perfectly, else, take it as an auto targeting priority.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 23 2010, 04:39 PM
Quazacolt
post Mar 23 2010, 05:53 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Mar 23 2010, 04:56 PM)
probably you're right, but at least he used some(if not any) micro as well since there was some zerlings and roaches slipped through the force field...but then i am not good at telling whether it was just Att+field spamming, or he actually did focus fired
considering how fast he the force field got put up and the things that got shot down isnt precise (as in, whole group massively overkilling 1 unit lol) prolly no micro on that part at all.
Quazacolt
post Mar 24 2010, 09:29 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Mar 23 2010, 09:45 PM)
1st I thought it was very smart, then I realized he was just shift spamming the force field. I do give him credit for building so many sentries with without getting crushed early game.
early game stalker spammed and decimated the zerglings

Added on March 24, 2010, 9:30 am
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Mar 23 2010, 10:20 PM)
another 2 more new sigs for SC2 Terran fans:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry32647771

enjoy the sigs smile.gif

making more in a few more days...
loving those ghost art being used, keep it up biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 24 2010, 09:30 AM
Quazacolt
post Mar 26 2010, 03:06 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

moar toss nerf

-FML
Quazacolt
post Mar 27 2010, 08:17 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Mar 27 2010, 12:33 AM)
tried it on my fren's laptop...
my laptop too sucky for gaming (besides WoW) now...
sc2 have much less requirement than WoW
Quazacolt
post Mar 30 2010, 03:41 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 30 2010, 02:44 PM)
Finally good games start to appear.

No more camping shit.

Just waiting for avilo or Jozha to come out with good replays.
lol its been a while having good games showing up now/then since the beginning of the beta dei
Quazacolt
post Mar 30 2010, 04:27 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 30 2010, 04:22 PM)
No,most of them are boring.
david kim's replays are out since day one and those arent boring lol. oftenly ~10min games, and even some games having suicidal attacks (haha mutalisk vs stalkers)
Quazacolt
post Apr 8 2010, 09:59 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Laguna @ Apr 3 2010, 12:36 AM)
I beg to differ starcraft has the combination of macro and micro and War3  or Dota ? if dota it is solely is on micro . What ? starcraft is macro only so I have to just keep building and wait for my opponent to attack ????  laugh.gif
you need to get your macro/micro definitions correct lol
Quazacolt
post Apr 8 2010, 10:03 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Apr 3 2010, 03:00 PM)
SC2 feels slower in the pacing.

Sometimes,it's a total bore to watch SC2 replays.
id beg to differ on that as sc1 (dont count money maps sigh) imo is slower pacing due to the lack of the available array of "tools" sc2 have that can allow really fast pace rushes or even techings. with units like reapers from terran, nydus network from zerg, proxy pylon/warp prisms from toss, anything can happen at a very very fast pace, bases and units trade amongst each other at a much constant/faster rate than it is for sc1.

more often than not in sc1, the battles are either a stalemate tug of war until someone give up, or 1 fatal dropship/overlord/shuttle drop and its over. things in sc2 can be very unexpected EVEN from an observer/commentator's point of view. that in e-sports( or audiences for that matter) POV is much more positive than what you can see in sc1

Added on April 8, 2010, 10:05 am
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Apr 4 2010, 08:48 AM)
I like the scouting aspect,but the pacing is slow.

Especially those camping games.
its not easy to camp in pro games due to the fact that you can get out-econ'ed very quickly.

based on the previous youtube posted between nazgul and littleone, while there is obvious camping from terran side, they both STILL expo'ed and struggled to keep/trade expos non stop throughout the game and the strats being toss around was very unexpected all around.

who'd expect marines/zealots in late game?

Added on April 8, 2010, 10:08 am

my avg apm is around 70-80 now, as opposed to 80-100 back in war3 days, feeling of age catching up to me is just, sad.

Added on April 8, 2010, 10:24 am
QUOTE(guardioo @ Apr 8 2010, 10:00 AM)
micro is how you control all the unit movement
macro is how you control the resources and army population
macro is the opposite of micro, in general, micro involves dancing a unit (or hero, for war3) around doing specific moves, boxing units, evading damage, etc.

macro in general, involves you a + click and let the unit battle themsevles. this is inferior (obviously) to micro, hence to overcome this, generally people cheeses with this (in sc1-2) by having a specific type of unit that works all rounder (stalkers/dragoons, able to atk land/air and range) to any kind of opposition they may face, or, more specifically, just outnumber your opponent

which is why some people associate macro to base building and resources, which is in a way, not very accurate.

=edit=
to further clarify on macro/micro, one can refer to games like total annihilation (or the later known supreme commander aka supcom) which is also kinda why people associate macro on base building (building like 10-20+ factories and all of them pumping out units at the same time)

though if you notice, thats how you HAVE to play in supcom. you're NOT gonna micro a unit thats gonna die in matters of split second when both armies clashed together in the scale of hundreds over say, war3 where its only like 10-20+ vs 10-20+ and a hero or 2 on both side.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 8 2010, 10:30 AM
Quazacolt
post Apr 8 2010, 11:56 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 8 2010, 11:30 AM)
@ quaza
its nt ur age, sc2 do calculate apm a little different but one of the replay i'm seeing toss players doing 200+ apm while his opponent is less than 100 when both of them are high level players...
as fujin said, apm is really not everything...

some nice vids that i've been watching
http://www.gosugamers.net/starcraft2/news/...vitational-ro16
i know the commentator sucked (comapred to husky and hd) but still some great vids

Added on April 8, 2010, 11:31 amand oh ya, bnet lag/ delays is partly the reason for my low apm...
i tried single player and i'm around 100 apm on toss...
well if anything, i know my reaction/micro have gone down a notch. i dont war3 like i used to, thats for sure. and in sc2, im not playing as good as id want myself to be. im not expecting pro level, but somewhere between above avg - pro is what i wanna be at, and for sure i am not there.

also, ~100 apm give/take is the "standard" for pro levels, and for koreans, thats like the bare minimum to be at. look at david kim's apm for example, it avg at ~130-150 but once battle starts, holy shit 200-250 ROFL
Quazacolt
post Apr 8 2010, 12:44 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Apr 8 2010, 12:11 PM)
What about the godly boxer days? Wont excessive apm waste time?
provided without latency issues, not at all heh

Added on April 8, 2010, 12:49 pm
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 8 2010, 12:30 PM)
i'm fine wit it but i'm a little bz this week (especially finding a new room etc) so this week i wont have much time (to even WoW!!!)...

wit the waypoint modes, i think u dun really need that high of a apm to play well...
considering it isnt warcraft 3 where micro is really crucial/important, i would say yeah. however no doubt having higher apm (or in another way of putting it, reaction times/response time) would definitely help

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 8 2010, 12:49 PM
Quazacolt
post Apr 8 2010, 10:47 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

to add into that, THERE IS AUTOCASTING FFS LOL
medivac to name a few.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top