Metal Gear Solid: RISING, coming to PC soon?

TSCyberSundayz
post Jun 2 2009, 09:05 AM, updated 16y ago

★★★★★★★★★
1,850 posts

rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by CyberSundayz: Jun 2 2009, 09:08 AM

n0v4m4r1n3
post Jun 2 2009, 09:13 AM

Safety and Health Practitioner
1,072 posts

Good news
Hell Fire
post Jun 2 2009, 09:25 AM

5 sTaR n00bs
741 posts

The power of money, lol.
tommyfai
post Jun 2 2009, 09:49 AM

408 posts

er this game is after guns of patriot ??
zeustronic
post Jun 2 2009, 09:54 AM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

I saw that live on gamespot E3 live Microsoft press conference & PS3 fans gonna be upset with it.
Zephro
post Jun 2 2009, 11:18 AM

174 posts

Kojima is a master troll.
DID U RIKE EET?
xakemx
post Jun 2 2009, 11:27 AM

151 posts

a must buy game if its really coming to pc
Pro-MX
post Jun 2 2009, 11:30 AM

Izay
1,259 posts

hopefully its true and hopefully there will be an online component then it will be perfect for the PC laugh.gif
telurmasin
post Jun 2 2009, 12:17 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jun 2 2009, 09:54 AM)
I saw that live on gamespot E3 live Microsoft press conference & PS3 fans gonna be upset with it.
didnt upset me a bit... i'm so over the console wars... im all about multiplat.. lol.. i wish they will be no 'anak tiri' incident. if u want to make it multiplat, make sure u support all of them...

IM WATCHING U BETHESDA.... with a little bit of MICROSOFT!!!!!!
Edison83
post Jun 2 2009, 12:24 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

PS3 become worst, if kojima dont expand his metal gear to other platform his kojima production might go down as well
viledante
post Jun 2 2009, 12:29 PM

414 posts

FOR PC? FOR REAL???? OMFG!!!!

laugh.gif I bet the requirement is high sweat.gif
Kidz1995
post Jun 2 2009, 12:56 PM

1,539 posts

it gonna be pirated as hell ;$
loL
i thought they said Metal Gear Solid GunS of patriot is the last one??
Mr_47
post Jun 2 2009, 01:15 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,341 posts

too late to spread it in pc enviroment,,,, its not sparkling as before... other pc game title will knock out tis one...
Leo3010
post Jun 2 2009, 01:50 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Jun 2 2009, 02:15 PM)
too late to spread it in pc enviroment,,,, its not sparkling as before... other pc game title will knock out tis one...
I would doubt that comment tongue.gif
evofantasy
post Jun 2 2009, 02:08 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Jun 2 2009, 12:24 PM)
PS3 become worst, if kojima dont expand his metal gear to other platform his kojima production might go down as well
based on the sales of mgs4, its the opposite i would say...
there are still 2 more mgs announced - one for the ps3 (possibly mgs5) another for the psp (peace thingy)...
so sony is still keeping the exclusiveness...

anyways, MGS: Rising would be a hack n slash type of game focusing on Raiden(ghey in mgs2, cyborg ninja in mgs4 and fans still hates him lol)...
it would be easy to pick up for every1 since the older mgs is nt suited for every1...
En.Vader
post Jun 2 2009, 02:18 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jun 2 2009, 12:29 PM)
FOR PC? FOR REAL???? OMFG!!!!

laugh.gif I bet the requirement is high sweat.gif
Don't worry I can always upgrade my pc. tongue.gif
Pro-MX
post Jun 2 2009, 04:01 PM

Izay
1,259 posts

As if MGS games have high requirement like crysis....i am pretty sure it wont be too demanding
bobohead1988
post Jun 2 2009, 04:05 PM

852 posts

So what does our sonyfriends has to say about this?
PS3 HAS NO G - - - - ?
SpikeTwo
post Jun 2 2009, 04:27 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

splinter cell has a competitor!
evofantasy
post Jun 2 2009, 05:25 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Jun 2 2009, 04:05 PM)
So what does our sonyfriends has to say about this?
PS3 HAS NO G - - - - ?
dun get the last word???
MGS:R is just a spinoff...
and i sitll lol-ed at all those who claim 30%game70%story and yet got excited when mgs spinoff goes multiplatform (its about time it goes multiplatform being 3rd party)...

again, MGS:R is not the tactical action espionage of the past MGS series...
the tagline for MGS:R = lightning bolt action...
so splinter cell would be a totally different game compared to this...

and mostly the plot would be before MGS4 on hw raiden got back sunny from the patriots...
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jun 3 2009, 01:53 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

hahaha that would be interesting...hope more famous game franchises in consoles will come 2 pc one day...esp my favorite GT PGR and forza...last but not least burnout which just pwnd flatout make it like a kiddie standard game laugh.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Jun 3 2009, 01:54 AM
Edison83
post Jun 3 2009, 01:57 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Jun 2 2009, 12:56 PM)
it gonna be pirated as hell ;$
loL
i thought they said Metal Gear Solid GunS of patriot is the last one??
yes the last 1 the game actually supervise by kojima
pikacu
post Jun 3 2009, 02:02 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

evofantasy, tell us more about Raiden lawl

i ain't googling this one.
Edison83
post Mar 3 2010, 11:27 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

it seem the game gonna release soon?

i already see play-asia start taking pre-order

USD 64.90 =.= around RM227

http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-bp-49-en-70-3qvm.html
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Mar 3 2010, 11:51 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

meh i am not a fan of console games.
kianweic
post Mar 3 2010, 11:52 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Mar 3 2010, 11:51 AM)
meh i am not a fan of console games.
Except for SF4?hahaha
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Mar 3 2010, 11:54 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

fuuuuuuu-
that one different.

Arcade
JP July 18, 2008[1]

PlayStation 3, Xbox 360[2]
JP February 12, 2009
NA February 17, 2009
EU February 20, 2009

Microsoft Windows[3]
JP July 2, 2009[4]
EU July 3, 2009[5]
NA July 7, 2009[6]

iPhone OS
March 2010[7]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Street_Fighter_IV
Aggroboy
post Mar 3 2010, 01:47 PM

637 posts

Metal Gear's sohai storyline makes brains asplode rclxub.gif
Edison83
post Mar 3 2010, 06:49 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Mar 3 2010, 01:47 PM)
Metal Gear's sohai storyline makes brains asplode rclxub.gif
it do sometime, coz they took alot history in it
i still doesnt know until i search at internet
hakimix
post Mar 3 2010, 10:34 PM

66 posts

I didn't see any news or hype regarding this game but they already taking pre-orders??
kianweic
post Mar 4 2010, 09:38 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Kinda sad they stop porting MGS to PC after the 2nd installment.

Vorador
post Jun 15 2010, 02:04 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

DEFINITELY buy the ori of this game as PC is there!!! Oh love the setting!!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

PC Version is there!!!

Foxngn
post Jun 15 2010, 03:25 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

Potong, potong dan potong !
Tamsin
post Jun 15 2010, 03:33 PM

553 posts

Finally able to play as Raiden
Fatimus
post Jun 15 2010, 03:37 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

chopping water melons is serious business
gM | Mutsumi-san
post Jun 15 2010, 04:07 PM

PhD Falcon punch, Gunslingin, Sentry & Trollin Engineering
1,429 posts

CUT CUT CUT
potong sayur...
potong kentang...
potong daging...
wokeh i is hungry xD
Aggroboy
post Jun 15 2010, 04:14 PM

637 posts

Devil Gear Solid?
Metal May Cry?
Raiden May Cry?

jianh
post Jun 15 2010, 04:43 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

gametrailers.com lists that MGS Rising is only for X360 ans PS3 !?!? :'(

any reliable source to stop me crying? I WANT PC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Fatimus
post Jun 15 2010, 04:53 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Jun 15 2010, 04:43 PM)
gametrailers.com lists that MGS Rising is only for X360 ans PS3  !?!?  :'(

any reliable source to stop me crying? I WANT PC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metal_Gear_Solid:_Rising
gto87
post Jun 15 2010, 05:17 PM

492 posts

and if that's true, good news for PC gamers, I'm definitely buying this~
mrhulk
post Jun 15 2010, 05:28 PM

131 posts

lol...what a violent crazy game....cut a man into several pieces while on air...
n0v4m4r1n3
post Jun 15 2010, 05:35 PM

Safety and Health Practitioner
1,072 posts

Potong, samurai style lol.
Shooterz
post Jun 15 2010, 06:35 PM

abcdefaiz
2,538 posts

coming to pc ? for sure ill buy smile.gif
viledante
post Jun 15 2010, 08:01 PM

414 posts

i bet the requirement is high sweat.gif
Vorador
post Jun 16 2010, 10:22 AM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

3 reasons to buy ori of this game:

1. It has PC version.
2. IT's from Kojima's workshop (regardless Kojima involve or not, the team is strong and the gameplay willbe solid)
3. Raiden is HANDSOME.
kEazYc
post Jun 16 2010, 10:32 AM

1,314 posts

1 bad reason for not getting this original

bad port.
TSCyberSundayz
post Jun 16 2010, 12:38 PM

★★★★★★★★★
1,850 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jun 16 2010, 10:32 AM)

bad port.
mana ko tahu? hmm.gif
mrhulk
post Jun 16 2010, 01:09 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jun 16 2010, 10:32 AM)

bad port.
what is bad port?
TSCyberSundayz
post Jun 16 2010, 01:32 PM

★★★★★★★★★
1,850 posts

QUOTE(mrhulk @ Jun 16 2010, 01:09 PM)
what is bad port?
u know GTA IV?
dazealot
post Jun 16 2010, 01:51 PM

QUOTE(mrhulk @ Jun 16 2010, 01:09 PM)
what is bad port?
When a console game is remade/reconfigured into a PC game or vice versa, there would sometimes be a problem with a game. Awkward camera and controls, inconsistent framerates, etc. And that means it is badly ported into the other platform. Or something like that.
Edison83
post Jun 16 2010, 02:14 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

regardless its MGS
fans will buy it regardless its bad port or not
GTA4 was bad port but still the best selling of all time (by guiness book of record)
SUSultimateheaven
post Jun 16 2010, 02:20 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(dazealot @ Jun 16 2010, 01:51 PM)
When a console game is remade/reconfigured into a PC game or vice versa, there would sometimes be a problem with a game. Awkward camera and controls, inconsistent framerates, etc. And that means it is badly ported into the other platform. Or something like that.
not all of it.
Street fighter 4,RE 5,DMC 4, Assassins Creed 2 and many more is an example of good port.dont make bad port as an excuse to pirate the game.
im going to buy this game when its come out.any tentative date yet?
i_bony
post Jun 16 2010, 07:36 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(gto87 @ Jun 15 2010, 05:17 PM)
and if that's true, good news for PC gamers, I'm definitely buying this~
i didnt know that u were into MGS?
Tamsin
post Jun 16 2010, 08:45 PM

553 posts

I will buy it even if it cost a BOMB
kianweic
post Jun 17 2010, 07:31 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Should really port the rest of Metal Gear Solid to PC.

Kinda sucks to have part of the collection.

So far, I know that Metal Gear Solid 1 and Metal Gear Solid 2 are on PC.
Edison83
post Jun 17 2010, 08:02 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

MGS2 ada issue with nvidia (need a workaround to make it work) and Win7... Vista last time still got sound and image... on Win7 gambar and sound pun tarak
Jas2davir
post Jun 17 2010, 09:07 AM

461 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 17 2010, 07:31 AM)
Should really port the rest of Metal Gear Solid to PC.

Kinda sucks to have part of the collection.

So far, I know that Metal Gear Solid 1 and Metal Gear Solid 2 are on PC.
lol no way 3 and 4 will enter pc if 4 enters pc the graphics will drastically drop and many pc gamers might not like 4 :| my hardkore pc gamer friend did not like it complain from cg1-end

Added on June 17, 2010, 9:12 amhttp://e3.gamespot.com/story/6265355/new-metal-gear-solid-rising-details-revealed-at-konami-conference

in case any 1 missed it mgs rising was at 2.34 u can search from 2.34 if your lazy to read trough

This post has been edited by Jas2davir: Jun 17 2010, 09:12 AM
mrhulk
post Jun 17 2010, 09:24 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Jun 17 2010, 09:07 AM)
lol no way 3 and 4 will enter pc if 4 enters pc the graphics will drastically drop and many pc gamers might not like 4 :| my hardkore pc gamer friend did not like it complain from cg1-end

Added on June 17, 2010, 9:12 amhttp://e3.gamespot.com/story/6265355/new-metal-gear-solid-rising-details-revealed-at-konami-conference

in case any 1 missed it mgs rising was at 2.34 u can search from 2.34 if your lazy to read trough
both MSG4 and MSG Rising are using the same engine. If MSG Rising can play on PC, why not MGS4.
Jas2davir
post Jun 17 2010, 09:25 AM

461 posts

http://www.crunchgear.com/2009/06/14/mgs4-...cant-handle-it/

this is why lol
kianweic
post Jun 17 2010, 10:14 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Good graphics do not necessary mean a good game.

I couldn't finish MGS1, got my friend to finish it for me while I sit back and enjoy the story.
Edison83
post Jun 17 2010, 10:45 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 17 2010, 10:14 AM)

I couldn't finish MGS1, got my friend to finish it for me while I sit back and enjoy the story.
hmm, i dont think u understand kojima much
he a high tech geek

MGS2 for PC was 1st of its kind using DVD
During MGS2 era, there is none widescreen on the market yet they implement a widescreen reso in the game

he want technological breakthru in gaming
kianweic
post Jun 17 2010, 10:57 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

I was referring to Jas2davir's post on PC gamers b****ing on dated graphics.

I won't mind having the whole set of Metal Gear Solid on PC.

Graphic maybe dated but I can play anytime I want instead having to look for PS1, PS2 and then PS3.
evofantasy
post Jun 17 2010, 11:50 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

if mgs4 would be ported, get ready to get a blueray drive as mgs4 maximizes a dual layer blueray disc and that is after kojima cut off some contents to fix the whole game into a single blueray
Edison83
post Jun 17 2010, 12:25 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

PC got HDD.. =.= wat the use of bluray disc?
todays games are stored in HDD, not like the oldies which half HDD and half CD/DVD
evofantasy
post Jun 17 2010, 01:40 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Jun 17 2010, 12:25 PM)
PC got HDD.. =.= wat the use of bluray disc?
todays games are stored in HDD, not like the oldies which half HDD and half CD/DVD
so u expect em to sell the game in HDD?
they still need to distribute it via blueray/ DvDs

Added on June 17, 2010, 1:40 pmps: ps3 do have its own HDD as well sleep.gif"

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jun 17 2010, 01:40 PM
kianweic
post Jun 17 2010, 01:49 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jun 17 2010, 01:40 PM)
so u expect em to sell the game in HDD?
they still need to distribute it via blueray/ DvDs

Added on June 17, 2010, 1:40 pmps: ps3 do have its own HDD as well sleep.gif"
Quite difficult to distribute Bluray on PC.

Not 100% of PCs in the market are equipped with BluRay.

However, 100% PS3s are equipped with BluRay.

Also, these days many original games for PC are on digital distribution service providers such as Steam, Impulse, Direct2Drive and etc.
evofantasy
post Jun 17 2010, 01:51 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 17 2010, 01:49 PM)

Also, these days many original games for PC are on digital distribution service providers such as Steam, Impulse, Direct2Drive and etc.
a dual layer blueray = 50gig and the mgs4 maxed it out...
so i doubt its feasible to distribute 50gig worth of data digitally...
kianweic
post Jun 17 2010, 02:03 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jun 17 2010, 01:51 PM)
a dual layer blueray = 50gig and the mgs4 maxed it out...
so i doubt its feasible to distribute 50gig worth of data digitally...
You'll be surprised these days.

I have downloaded 20gb for a single game from Steam before (I think it was Napoleon or something)
Edison83
post Jun 17 2010, 02:07 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

i total 200+GB worth of steam games... no mention kianweic waaaaaaaaaaaaaay more than me
s7ran9er
post Jun 17 2010, 02:24 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

http://kotaku.com/5565529/metal-gear-solid...see-how-you-cut

I see no "Game for Windows"
evofantasy
post Jun 17 2010, 02:31 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 17 2010, 02:03 PM)
You'll be surprised these days.

I have downloaded 20gb for a single game from Steam before (I think it was Napoleon or something)
20g of 50g = 40%

oh ya just remembered mgs4 comes with its online mode as well...
cutting those might save a few gigs...
and unless u guys played MGS1-3, u won't enjoy MGS4 at all...
its the epic story that makes the magic in mgs4 (especially the shadow mosses stage)
kianweic
post Jun 17 2010, 02:35 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jun 17 2010, 02:31 PM)
20g of 50g = 40%

oh ya just remembered mgs4 comes with its online mode as well...
cutting those might save a few gigs...
and unless u guys played MGS1-3, u won't enjoy MGS4 at all...
its the epic story that makes the magic in mgs4 (especially the shadow mosses stage)
That's exactly the issue I am having with MGS series on PC.

And my total download from Steam is definitely more than 350gb thus far.

This post has been edited by kianweic: Jun 17 2010, 02:51 PM
Jas2davir
post Jun 17 2010, 03:31 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 17 2010, 10:14 AM)

well addressing 2 things at once i did not say the game is good because of graphics, its the engine that cannot be ported to the xbox360 they will have to remove too much from the game to be able to port the engine and that would make the game dull kojima addressed this quite a while back, so if he was to implement the engine and release it for the pc also not every pc will be able to support it and forcing people to buy better pc's just to play a game would be cruel, look at shattered horizon not doing so well after setting such high standards for the minimum requirements of their game.

Added on June 17, 2010, 3:32 pm
QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 17 2010, 01:49 PM)

and this is the reason too, how many people posting here have a bluray drive? i dont have one, and uploading 50gb worth of content is just crazy.

This post has been edited by Jas2davir: Jun 17 2010, 03:32 PM
kianweic
post Jun 17 2010, 04:20 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Jun 17 2010, 03:31 PM)
well addressing 2 things at once i did not say the game is good because of graphics, its the engine that cannot be ported to the xbox360 they will have to remove too much from the game to be able to port the engine and that would make the game dull kojima addressed this quite a while back, so if he was to implement the engine and release it for the pc also not every pc will be able to support it and forcing people to buy better pc's just to play a game would be cruel, look at shattered horizon not doing so well after setting such high standards for the minimum requirements of their game.

Added on June 17, 2010, 3:32 pm
and this is the reason too, how many people posting here have a bluray drive? i dont have one, and uploading 50gb worth of content is just crazy.
Difficult but not impossible with Steam. Given that most of us probably have downloaded around 100gb and above from Steam.
Jas2davir
post Jun 17 2010, 04:25 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 17 2010, 04:20 PM)
Difficult but not impossible with Steam. Given that most of us probably have downloaded around 100gb and above from Steam.
that is not at once. that should be around the course of what 3-4 years of using steam? 50gb dl in malaysia will just take forever to finish.
kianweic
post Jun 17 2010, 04:36 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Jun 17 2010, 04:25 PM)
that is not at once. that should be around the course of what 3-4 years of using steam? 50gb dl in malaysia will just take forever to finish.
Nope, from my experience probably 5-6 days on a 2MB line.

Besides you can backup the game like as many times as you want.

Don't need to redownload each time you wanna play.
ulwan25
post Jun 17 2010, 10:33 PM

2,054 posts

haha.. never even heard blu-ray games on pc. maybe im a slow poke but they should attain the dvd or directdownload like steam.. blu-ray rom cost us a lot..
skylinelover
post Jun 18 2010, 01:53 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 17 2010, 04:36 PM)
Nope, from my experience probably 5-6 days on a 2MB line.
lolz thats bad...even 1 whole day leaving my PC on non-stop is a big sin even with 4mb...dont waste natural resources...its time 2 go environment frenly laugh.gif if u want fast download 50gig data,,,10mb line is the minimum requirements icon_idea.gif
H@H@
post Jun 18 2010, 02:57 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

I'm quite way behind the loop when it comes to PS3 development, but last I heard (Like a really REALLY long time ago, so please correct me if I'm wrong), most games don't fully utilize the BR disc completely and instead create duplicate sections of data to reduce data read times in order to compensate for the low disc read speed of the drive.

So, if that's the case, there's a high chance the total download won't be as large as a full BR disc and since you can take advantage of compression and whatnot, could go even smaller.

Muhammad Syukri
post Jun 18 2010, 04:09 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Jun 18 2010, 02:57 PM)
I'm quite way behind the loop when it comes to PS3 development, but last I heard (Like a really REALLY long time ago, so please correct me if I'm wrong), most games don't fully utilize the BR disc completely and instead create duplicate sections of data to reduce data read times in order to compensate for the low disc read speed of the drive.

So, if that's the case, there's a high chance the total download won't be as large as a full BR disc and since you can take advantage of compression and whatnot, could go even smaller.
yeah compression technique would help on digital distributing,nothing is impossible these day with so many tech coming out.

In the future,we might seeing all games will be sell with Blu-Ray as the medium and alternatively the cloud storage system...xD.
evofantasy
post Jun 18 2010, 05:30 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Jun 18 2010, 02:57 PM)

that's true for some games on the ps3 (actually most)...

but MGS fully utilize the blueray...
heck u even need to install to the harddisk at the start of each levels (takes around 5 minutes >.<)...
kianweic
post Jun 18 2010, 09:18 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

A typical BluRay drive on a PC cost around RM400-RM500.

By adding another RM750 ++, can buy a Malaysian PS3.

Might get a BluRay drive on PC once I moved somewhere else.
kianweic
post Jun 19 2010, 08:20 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

The Real Metal Gear

Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker is a tale of giant robots and Cold War drama. It may be fantasy, but did you know that in the early 1960s, the US military actually had a giant robot?

Meet the "Beetle".

Built by Jered Industries in Detroit for General Electric's ominous — and very Metal Gear-sounding — Nuclear Materials and Propulsion Operation division, the Beetle was a mechanical terror designed for the Air Force Special Weapons Centre, initially to service and maintain a planned fleet of atomic-powered Air Force bombers. According to declassified Air Force reports, work began on the "mech" in 1959, and it was completed in 1961.

Unlike the fictional Metal Gears, the Beetle didn't try and walk on two legs. It was piloted, and not an AI. It never tried to destroy the world, either. But its history, design, construction and operation are all so eerily similar to that of "actual" units from the Metal Gear universe that fans of the series should find it fascinating, especially given the timeliness of the Beetle's existence in parallel with the Shagohod, from Metal Gear Solid 3's Cold War drama.

Shagohod was a giant Soviet war machine, and like the Beetle, was a product of the Cold War. It shared a focus on nuclear weapons and an obsession with the promise of the atomic age, was piloted by a single man, heavily armoured, shrouded in secrecy and also ditched cumbersome legs in favour of a more down-to-earth propulsion system, though Shagohod employed "screws" instead of conventional tracks (the Beetle, meanwhile, was built atop the treads and body of an M-42 "Duster", a mobile anti-aircraft vehicle).

While Shagohod was a threat to world peace – especially given plans to export the vehicle overseas to enemies of the US – the Beetle couldn't have been more peaceful if it tried. Shagohod's primary purpose was to serve as a launch platform for nuclear weapons. The Beetle's was to…repair and maintain engines, and when the atomic aircraft project was cancelled in 1961, it was earmarked by the US military for a role in cleaning up the debris caused by a nuclear explosion.

Because the Beetle was first conceived to fix aircraft engines that would be soaked in radiation, it had to be nuclear-proof. Because these would be big aircraft, with large parts that were high off the ground, the Beetle had to be big as well. And because the actual duties it was to perform would require a great deal of precision and finesse, the Beetle was given two arms with pincers for "hands", which is where the "Beetle" name originates.

All of which explain why the Beetle was a colossal 19 feet long, 12 feet wide, 11 feet high and weighed a ground-shaking 77 tons. The pilot was shielded by an inch of steel armour on the outside of the unit, half-an-inch inside and a minimum of 12 inches of lead plating around the cabin, which would keep him shielded from all but the most intense blasts of radiation. On top of all that, the cockpit glass was 23 inches thick, and was made up of seven individual panes of leaded glass.

To actually drive the Beetle, then, the pilot couldn't just pop open a hatch and jump in. The canopy, which weighed 15,000 pounds, had to be raised by hydraulic lifts then lowered onto guidance rods, a process which took several minutes. Once inside, despite cramped conditions, the pilot had some degree of comfort, with a small TV set, air conditioning and even an ashtray, should the stress of dealing with the remains of a nuclear holocaust get a little much from time to time.

Powered by a 500hp engine, the Beetle could, on a hard, flat surface, reach a top speed of…eight miles per hour. Any faster – not that it could go much faster – and the vibrations damaged some of its finer instrumentation and mechanics. That's painfully slow, yes, but speed had been traded off for power, the robot's bulk meaning it had 85,000 pounds of pull in its arms, strong enough to either punch clean through a thick concrete wall or, should the need arise, grab a wall and tear it clean off a building or bunker.

Yet despite this raw power, it could also – thanks to its roots as a servicing platform – perform incredibly delicate operations. At a public demonstration in 1962, for example, the Beetle was able to roll up to a carton of eggs (pictured up top), pick a single egg up and hold it in its pincers without breaking it.

In a final and — given the appearance and scale of the Beetle — unexpected twist, the robot was also capable of reaching great heights. The cabin, which housed the cockpit and arms, was able to be raised on four hydraulic pistons, and when fully extended the Beetle stood an imposing 27 feet off the ground, more than high enough to pick through the rubble of a decent-sized apartment building.

All of which sounds amazing, you're probably thinking. It's like a mech, only real! Why don't we have these today? Why aren't US military personnel going to war in Metal Gears, instead of tanks, which are so twentieth century?

Well, for all its promise and science fiction appeal, the Beetle just didn't work very well.

At the same 1962 demonstration it managed to pick up an egg – for Popular Science and Life magazines - it also, over the source of four days, "operated seldom", the Beetle plagued by hydraulic leaks, broken arms, dead generators (the cockpit instrumentation had its own engine) and countless short circuits. Internal testing conducted by the Air Force was even more damning, citing constant mechanical failures and an impossibly high standard of maintenance required to keep the Beetle in good working order.

Perhaps its biggest failing, however, was that it was utterly unsuitable for active duty. The Beetle had been designed as a maintenance platform, which would operate from the confines and relative safety of an Air Force base. With the demise of the atomic aircraft program, however, the other potential roles planned for it would have required a more active deployment, something its size, weight and most crucially unwieldiness (as in, taking several minutes for a pilot to get in and out) simply could not stand up to.

Future efforts of this type were thus focused on making military robots smaller, both so that they would be lighter – and thus easier to maintain – and also so that they could be operated remotely, rather than having to provide such extreme protection measures for a single pilot. In 2010, you can see the legacy of the Beetle in remotely operated vehicles such as the TALON, recently made famous from the movie Hurt Locker, and the very Metal Gear-looking "Big Dog", recently commissioned for the US Marine Corps.

It's unknown what ultimately became of the Beetle. The Air Force couldn't tell us. Maybe it rusted away in a field somewhere. Maybe it was salvaged for parts. Maybe it's tucked away in a forgotten corner of an Air Force base, gathering dust.

Or maybe war really did change, and someone found a way to put the Beetle to use threatening world peace in some remote, isolated corner of the world, where it was blown to pieces by Naked Snake. It's the least such an amazing, and sadly forgotten, piece of military hardware deserves.

References:
Popular Science Magazine, May 1962
LIFE Magazine, May 1962
Unitd States Air Force Technical Documentary Report Number AFSWC-TDR-62-137 (Unclassified)

Image credits:
LIFE Magazine
Popular Science Magazine

Source: Kotaku

Mr_47
post Jun 19 2010, 10:08 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,341 posts

holy crap.... how did you know that?
Forgotten06
post Jun 19 2010, 10:12 PM

2,950 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Jun 19 2010, 10:08 PM)
holy crap.... how did you know that?
Kotaku< pointing at the source.
kianweic
post Jun 20 2010, 12:17 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Quite a pointless machine though, too slow and too heavy.
kianweic
post Jun 21 2010, 09:15 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Some people like the real Metal Gear:

Cyclonechuah
post Jun 21 2010, 10:38 PM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

hmm.. i remember i read on somewhere, where they said in Metal Gear Solid : Rising, Solid Snake AKA Main Prontagonist of the series, died and have a grave in MGS : Rising.

Am i Silowpoke?
Jas2davir
post Jun 21 2010, 10:48 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Jun 21 2010, 10:38 PM)
hmm.. i remember i read on somewhere, where they said in Metal Gear Solid : Rising, Solid Snake AKA Main Prontagonist of the series, died and have a grave in MGS : Rising.

Am i Silowpoke?
how did he die when rising was set between mgs 2 and 4? he died in 2 and magically revive in 4?
evofantasy
post Jun 22 2010, 12:46 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Jun 21 2010, 10:38 PM)

Am i Silowpoke?
dude, its between MGS2 and MGS4...
snake is alive n kicking in MGS4...
not to mention even big boss is still alive in MGS4 after a few times dying to snake lol...
XFX OMAR122
post Jun 22 2010, 01:24 AM

as a pc gamer i dont care about this game

why that guy didnt relasse mgs4 on pc well

sneak isnt in this game soo >>>Ignore it smile.gif

sam fisher is the bast
evofantasy
post Jun 22 2010, 01:57 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(XFX OMAR122 @ Jun 22 2010, 01:24 AM)

sam fisher is the bast
well i guess better kojipro gonna loose $.$ from the pc version and would stick to console after MGS:R
Jas2davir
post Jun 22 2010, 02:02 AM

461 posts

QUOTE(XFX OMAR122 @ Jun 22 2010, 01:24 AM)

sam fisher is the bast
spell check obviously fails for you :|
XFX OMAR122
post Jun 22 2010, 02:05 AM

lol tell me something i dont know wink.gif
Jas2davir
post Jun 22 2010, 02:15 AM

461 posts

QUOTE(XFX OMAR122 @ Jun 22 2010, 02:05 AM)
lol tell me something i dont know wink.gif
bf sucks :| bet you didnt know that
XFX OMAR122
post Jun 22 2010, 02:32 AM

hahahahahahah

nice one

you like 1st one who says that

good luck what ever you like....noob
kianweic
post Jun 22 2010, 07:41 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Konami should just milk Metal Gear Solid by putting them all in one huge big collection pack, perhaps 2 Bluray disc or something.

And make work on PS3 and PCs.

Good to see the whole story thru. In fact, I have already forgotten what's MGS1 and MGS2 all about as it is.
Tamsin
post Jun 22 2010, 03:39 PM

553 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 22 2010, 07:41 AM)
Konami should just milk Metal Gear Solid by putting them all in one huge big collection pack, perhaps 2 Bluray disc or something.

And make work on PS3 and PCs.

Good to see the whole story thru. In fact, I have already forgotten what's MGS1 and MGS2 all about as it is.
On the PC???OMG when will it be out??
Jas2davir
post Jun 22 2010, 04:12 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(Tamsin @ Jun 22 2010, 03:39 PM)
On the PC???OMG when will it be out??
did u even read trough? :|
Tamsin
post Jun 22 2010, 06:11 PM

553 posts

Got myself so excited for nothing....
GameFr3ak
post Jun 23 2010, 11:13 AM

3,849 posts

Make a movie lor.................waiting forever..
kianweic
post Jun 23 2010, 01:57 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

The plot also very confusing.

Probably need to make the movie like those Hong Kong, Japanese and Korean series.
evofantasy
post Jun 23 2010, 02:06 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 23 2010, 01:57 PM)
The plot also very confusing.

Probably need to make the movie like those Hong Kong, Japanese and Korean series.
its nt really confusing...
MGS4 tied everything up for u nicely...
that's why mgs4 is such an emotional ride cause it linked up every MGS (before mgs4) up...
there's close to 0 plotholes in fact...

even when i thot mgs2 is filled wit plotholes, mgs4 managed to explain everything up...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jun 23 2010, 02:06 PM
kianweic
post Jun 23 2010, 02:07 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jun 23 2010, 02:06 PM)
its nt really confusing...
MGS4 tied everything up for u nicely...
that's why mgs4 is such an emotional ride cause it linked up every MGS (before mgs4) up...
there's close to 0 plotholes in fact...

even when i thot mgs2 is filled wit plotholes, mgs4 managed to explain everything up...
Yeah probably need to play all of them to understand the story better.

Also with more episodes, this would enable MGS's story to be more complete.

Instead of having to carve out stuff to fit the timetable.

This post has been edited by kianweic: Jun 23 2010, 02:08 PM
evofantasy
post Jun 23 2010, 02:10 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 23 2010, 02:07 PM)
Yeah probably need to play all of them to understand the story better.

Also with more episodes, this would enable MGS's story to be more complete.

Instead of having to carve out stuff to fit the timetable.
all of the mgs are linked...
but their order does not reveal everything (usually there's scenes after credits that adds more questions)...
to me if the movie would to follow the order like the games, it would be really great...
the question is how many ppl can last till the plot in mgs4 especially mgs2 is kinda deep n confusing...
Tamsin
post Jun 23 2010, 02:51 PM

553 posts

MGS storyline is a bit confusing...had to look up the wikipedia for some illustration but overall good game and great storyline thumbup.gif
kianweic
post Jun 23 2010, 11:14 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Hideo Kojima Has John Carpenter's Blessing

From the eye patch to his name itself, Metal Gear's "Snake" has a lot in common with that other Snake: Snake Plissken, star of 1981 film Escape From New York. But what does that film's creator, John Carpenter, think?

He's cool with the homage, telling CVG that Kojima even sent him a letter asking for his "blessing".

"[Hideo Kojima] has written me and asked me for my blessing on the game and I wrote him back [to say] how about it?", the director of movies like The Thing told the gaming website. "He's a very nice man."

Carpenter is currently lending a helping hand on FEAR 3, but since FEAR causes me to break out into wild fits of indifference, I'd instead like to close this post out with Carpenter's greatest work: the fight scene from They Live.

I don't remember that movie.
GameFr3ak
post Jul 12 2010, 02:11 PM

3,849 posts

an animated comic adapted from the artstyle of the game itself will be cool smile.gif or a high budget movie biggrin.gif
kianweic
post Jul 16 2010, 03:11 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Metal Gear's Hideo Kojima Will Judge Your Cosplay At Comic-Con

The man responsible for inflicting Metal Gear and Metal Gear Solid on the world is going to the San Diego Comic-Con next week. Better still he'll be judging your attempts at cosplay during the event.

Hideo Kojima will be heading to San Diego, California next week, signing whatever you put in front of him and offering his opinion on just how good your Solid Snake, Raiden and Johnny Sasaki costume is. Oh, I'm sure you could show up as a sexy or chubby Jehuty from Zone of the Enders, preferably with extra attention paid to the codpiece, and impress Mr. Kojima.

To do so, make your way to the San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina—adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center—on July 23 between 11 am and 3 pm. I bet it's going to be fun.

kianweic
post Jul 19 2010, 09:17 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Hideo Kojima Is Making An Adventure Game

Last month, Metal Gear Solid creator Hideo Kojima revealed  that for his next game, he is deciding between an original title and the next MGS game.

Kojima appears to have signed on to do an adventure game with Japan's best looking game exec Chiyomaru Shikura.

A photo titled "Blood Oath" popped up on Twitter this past spring, showing the two men, along with No More Heroes designer Goichi Suda, doing who-knows-what and smiling. At the time, Shikura hinted that the project would be an "adventure game", which is how "visual novels" are sometimes referred to in Japan.

In a recent interview, Shikura was asked about the Kojima project and if it was proceeding. Shikura confirmed that the project was moving ahead and said what he could about it. No word whether Goichi Suda (pictured above) is connected to it, but he is not mentioned by Shikura.

"The meaning of why I am personally connected to this project is that this is the third entry in a conceptual science series," he says, "and that it is a project with Kojima." According to Shikura, these are the two reasons why he is giving this his all.

"Kojima told me," continues Shikura, "that he wanted to make an adventure game. We're at the still stage where we need to go to a secluded spot in the mountains and hash this project out, and thus, we don't have any of the minute details hammered out."

When asked if the project was science fiction, Shikura declined to answer, saying that is a question to ask Kojima directly.

5pb is best known for doing console ports of erotic games and dating simulators. However, Shikura goes on to state, "Personally, I love adventure games." He says that instead of games with "bishoujyo or moé boys", he thinks it would be great if there was a classic adventure game boom.

Kojima tweeted last past April, will "challenge a certain type of taboo." According to Kojima, "If I mess up, I'll probably have to leave the industry."

In Kojima's back catalogue, Snatcher and Policenauts are sci-fi adventure games. Could 5pb be working on the third entry? If so, is that really wise? Haven't seen a single 5pb game that has been impressive. What I have seen are loads of buggy ports.

kianweic
post Jul 21 2010, 10:04 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Solid Snake Meets Ghost In Modern War Gear Solid

What happens when "Ghost" from the elite commando squad Infinity War, a subsidiary of "ActivistSun," teams up with "Snake" to take down the threat of Modern Gear? MODERN WAR GEAR SOLID, the ultimate paramilitary crossover!

Standing between Snake, Ghost and world peace is the evil alliance between Makarov and Liquid Ocelot, an alliance set up in part one of the Modern War Gear Solid story. Turns out our heroes from two of the most popular games of all time aren't that different. While they may employ different methods to get the job done, they both really love breasts.

This fan-made short from "guerrilla" filmmakers Beat Down Boogie is slicker than the Gulf of Mexico, so don't miss it.

This post has been edited by kianweic: Jul 21 2010, 10:04 PM
kianweic
post Jul 29 2010, 07:58 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

The Modern War Gear Solid Saga Continues

The ultimate paramilitary crossover continues in part two of Modern War Gear Solid. "Ghost, get in my box!"

The combat is fast and furious as Ghost and Snake go mano-a-mano with Marakov and Liquid Ocelot. Fists fly, moustaches are transferred, and Liquid makes the ultimate mistake - trying to headbutt a footballer.

The second part of Beat Down Boogie's fan-made short film is even better than the first. We can't wait for part three!

sai86
post Sep 17 2010, 02:34 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

Latest vid from TGS 2010...damn the physic looks damn awesome drool.gif

MGS Rising TGS 2010

This post has been edited by sai86: Sep 17 2010, 02:42 PM
Tamsin
post Sep 17 2010, 06:26 PM

553 posts

^Beautiful thumbup.gif
Erickk
post Sep 17 2010, 11:46 PM

119 posts

awesome!
Silverfire
post Jun 6 2011, 05:02 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

I heard its coming in December 2011 brows.gif
lalula2
post Aug 15 2011, 05:13 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Jun 6 2011, 05:02 PM)
really??? any news?
sai86
post Aug 15 2011, 05:19 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Jun 6 2011, 05:02 PM)
source? if its true, i'll be damned in Q4, so many games i wan to get n play..... doh.gif
Vorador
post Dec 13 2011, 10:59 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

new trailer:

The official site:

Metal Gear Rising

And FARK, no PC logo at the bottom right of the page, u know that it means...

This post has been edited by Vorador: Dec 13 2011, 11:00 PM
sai86
post Dec 13 2011, 11:08 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

^correct me if im wrong,

Is all the latest MGS series is like hack & slash instead of the old time MGS 1 & 2? coz that is the only 2 i played on PC before...
Vorador
post Dec 13 2011, 11:17 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Dec 13 2011, 11:08 PM)
^correct me if im wrong,

Is all the latest MGS series is like hack & slash instead of the old time MGS 1 & 2? coz that is the only 2 i played on PC before...
no bro... only this one is hack & slash.
Edison83
post Dec 20 2011, 11:07 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

judging by the developer history and the latest game trailer
it seems this game has lost hope appearing on PC

You can see there no PC logo at the end of the trailer, only console.
The developer made Bayonetta game, which never release on PC b4.
Vorador
post Dec 20 2011, 11:38 AM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Dec 20 2011, 11:07 AM)
judging  by the developer history and the latest game trailer
it seems this game has lost hope appearing on PC

You can see there no PC logo at the end of the trailer, only console.
The developer made Bayonetta game, which never release on PC b4.
yalor... the graphic looks a bit outdated...

neway, no PC nvm, we got many other great game to play, bye bye raiden.
skylinelover
post Dec 20 2011, 09:20 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

so i guess topic can b closed now laugh.gif

0.0527sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:58 AM