Maradona vs Pele, Who's better?

TScic.lemur
post Jun 1 2009, 10:19 AM, updated 17y ago

376 posts

I did a search at LYN football, strange no poll on football's perennial question, who's better Maradona or Pele. People who say Pele is better, after some 'interrogation' admit one big influence in their decision is Maradona's drug problem. Personally I just judge on how he plays on the pitch, and Maradona was amazing. Pele was before I was old enough to appreciate football, I did look a youtube clips of his but can't see what's so special, but then again Maradona's youtube clip doesn't exactly do justice to the amazing stuff I saw him do on tv.

This post has been edited by cic.lemur: Jul 30 2009, 12:30 PM
Quick`
post Jun 1 2009, 10:25 AM

735 posts

player who scores with their hand is always a winner
what more in the world cup rclxm9.gif
Zan81
post Jun 1 2009, 10:32 AM

82 posts

Can I vote Cruyff? tongue.gif
Makakeke
post Jun 1 2009, 10:51 AM

310 posts

Maradona single handedly won the WC for Argentina in 86 while Pele had other great teammates around him.
air_mood
post Jun 1 2009, 11:00 AM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

Fabian Assmann
longamwai
post Jun 1 2009, 11:19 AM

140 posts

both oso lose to ALFREDO DI STEFANO...go look him up
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Jun 1 2009, 11:24 AM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

better footballer in skills, maradona but overall as a player, i say pele....so i vote neither
yhtan
post Jun 1 2009, 11:35 AM

8,653 posts

Pele scored more than 1000th goal in his career, but some might argue that he is not played in top league, but who can denied that he won 3 world cup with Brazil?

both player are born in different decade, and not much footy video about him, is hard for us to judge who is the best

if we vote the best footballer in and off pitch, i'll vote Pele
leongtat
post Jun 1 2009, 11:44 AM

950 posts

Maradona Good, Pele Great, George Best...
skystrike
post Jun 1 2009, 12:13 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

definitely maradona.....brazil still can win world cup without pele but argentina can't win world cup without maradona...
rayz1031
post Jun 1 2009, 02:34 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

I don't know why this comparison existed. You comparing Pele with a god laugh.gif A god that use his hand to score goal for god sake. Again, when Maradona scored that goal, he said: I didn't do it, it is an action by god laugh.gif

Ok serious, Pele have slight edge compared to Maradona, the numbers of world cup that he won is hardly matched by anyone in modern football.
koolspyda
post Jun 1 2009, 03:37 PM

222 posts

you can buy DVD of pele goals & his playing days (showed on TV before). oen can also do with DVD of maradona (i have one)

both are equally gifted.

the thing that separates gifted & immortal, pele had very much good skillful team mates in club & esp in the great "Brazilian national team". In some WC, brazil probably could win without Pele. thats how gifted the brazilian team was. So discount the total amount of of WC wins as a yardstick.

for maradona, sure there were talented teammates with the argentine national team but he almost single handily brought mediocre "napoli fc" success.

dont need to even he carried the weight of argentina's world cup win singlehandily.

close call in skill but for all the deficiency maradona had to face, it makes him in my books

maradona (as the greatest footballer) > pele

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Jun 1 2009, 03:42 PM
EyraYus
post Jun 1 2009, 07:32 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Jun 1 2009, 10:51 AM)
Maradona single handedly won the WC for Argentina in 86 while Pele had other great teammates around him.
Yes. Agreed. While Pele have the support of the whole great Brazillian squad, Maradona work hard to take his team to the summit.

And yeah, anyone why can score using hand in the World Cup without getting any sort of problem surely is the best.

If he does not have any problem with drug, his position in world football surely higher then Pele...

George Best RIP cry.gif
visioz
post Jun 1 2009, 08:20 PM

71 posts

for me
the best is Pele
ash.ashie
post Jun 1 2009, 09:09 PM

144 posts

Pele's definitely the best. smile.gif
FaezFarhan
post Jun 1 2009, 09:51 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

don't know coz i never watch them play biggrin.gif
zwanvedder
post Jun 2 2009, 07:59 AM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

maradona la...sebab masa tue dia main kat Napoli...
Pele....xpernah tgk dier main
GrandElf
post Jun 2 2009, 08:19 AM

HyunA
1,154 posts

Maradona score the greatest solo goal as well as a hand of god in WC......the biggest football competition in the world......so no need to compare.......definitely MARADONA..........

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Duke Red
post Jun 2 2009, 11:19 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Jun 1 2009, 12:13 PM)
definitely maradona.....brazil still can win world cup without pele but argentina can't win world cup without maradona...
He also won the Scudetto with Napoli, with a weaker squad compared to giants like AC and Inter Milan, etc.
cw_wang
post Jun 2 2009, 11:34 AM

6 Star Player
1,045 posts

Massimo Taibi

0.0526sec    1.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:54 PM