Renovations Polycarbonate Skylight, Any recommendations?

ozak
post Jun 1 2009, 01:32 AM

17,018 posts

I m using polycarbonate for over 10yrs. No problem beside the frame start to rust. Noisy when raining. But don't see much different with the ajiya awning. The good thing is, inside my home is still bright. Save me from lightning.

This post has been edited by ozak: Jun 1 2009, 10:25 PM
ozak
post Oct 19 2011, 09:12 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Oct 19 2011, 06:43 PM)
Depending on how strong are the roof trusses. And you must also only stand on the trusses. Never in between trusses on the polycarb sheet. Unless, you are a cat.
Even cat also can cause damage. Don't play play.
ozak
post Oct 20 2011, 09:28 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Oct 20 2011, 07:56 AM)
Rm80/sqft is cut throat price lor

i was quote rm35/sqft for 12.38 laminated glass only, frame by others... hmm.gif
Eh.. He is talking about tempered glass. Same result, tempered glass = laminated glass ?

Added on October 20, 2011, 9:31 am
QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 20 2011, 12:40 AM)
You may need 10m Temper glass. Market price is around RM 80/sqft. I am looking of this too but too expensive and hold this for another year.
Do you really need a tempered glass for roof? Is your glass under a load or just a cover?

This post has been edited by ozak: Oct 20 2011, 09:31 AM
ozak
post Oct 20 2011, 10:01 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 20 2011, 09:49 AM)
For skylight I prefer temper glass is not noisy and no color fade.
I m thinking of a cheapest way.

Tempered glass use mainly for load. Since skylight is just a cover and there is many frame support from below, why still need expensive tempered glass. Probally laminated glass will do. That can reduce the cost. hmm.gif A thick glass already better a lot than the polycarbonate for noise.

But do glass color fade under the sun for long period?
ozak
post Oct 20 2011, 01:49 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 20 2011, 10:05 AM)
Aiyah color fade on polycarbonate, the laminated price and laminated actually not much difference because temper, think about rm5  extra pqft.

But this I am not too concern now, I can do the parking after I move in.
Sorry, I read wrong about the glass fade color.

Polycarbonate color won't fade. It get dirty and look dull when not clean frequent. All my house shade is using polycarbonate for over 10yrs. Cheap at that time.

But glass look better. smile.gif
ozak
post Aug 10 2015, 09:59 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(sabic.sfs @ Aug 10 2015, 09:18 AM)

For your information, Dewan Sivik in Kuching, Sarawak is using Lexan 10 mm Clear Color.
The existing Roof was replace on year 2013
Before the replacement, The First Original Roof is also Lexan Thermoclear 10 mm and LASTED 24 YEARS.

We have 2 Agents Selling Lexan In Kuching.

Hope this helps

SABIC SFS
sabic.sfs@gmail.com
I only see a high chance of get leak from many joint there. Can' it design fewer pieces join?
ozak
post Oct 24 2016, 01:31 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(DanKa @ Oct 24 2016, 12:17 PM)
Nowadays, this stuff will cost more than RM20/ft2.
Anything less than this is very questionable.
Way back 18yrs ago when I install, RM4.5/ft2.
ozak
post Nov 5 2016, 04:59 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 3 2016, 12:02 AM)
why it become 4x the price now? sweat.gif
RM is 4x lower now.

0.0236sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:55 PM