TSalien2003
post Jun 4 2009, 06:11 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Jun 4 2009, 06:06 PM)
Gibson? Oh man, I was starting to like the guy. Looked like a decent player, but with the amount of players we have in his position this would prob be best.
Same here, was hoping he might get some chances next season at least as the squad players. We have only Carrick, Fletcher, Anderson as the long term players while Scholes will probably get lesser and lesser game time plus the big ? on Hargreaves's long term health/fitness. Unless Possebon can step up quickly else it might be wiser to keep Gibson?
TSalien2003
post Jun 4 2009, 06:36 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jun 4 2009, 06:21 PM)
no offense, bro alien. dun trust anything from mirror. bunch of rubbish. they're the same webbie that said we were set to sign torres lastime around.

on a sidenote.....$$$$$ + huntelaar = cr7. ok ka???  brows.gif  brows.gif
Well, IF Hull do come back with their previous 7mil for Campbell then I can see SAF doing the business. Plus in terms of numbers, there will be no changes since Manucho will come back to us.
TSalien2003
post Jun 5 2009, 06:00 PM

12,754 posts

Rooney wants central role

Wayne Rooney believes it is time to get selfish after he revealed he only wants to play as a central striker for Manchester United.

The 23-year-old was used wide on the left-hand-side during the latter stages of the season at Old Trafford, a role he admits he doesn't enjoy.

United manager Sir Alex Ferguson insists that the frontman can be just as dangerous out wide but in recent outings, including the UEFA Champions League final defeat to Barcelona Rooney has cut a forlorn figure on the left flank.

The former Everton striker admits that his best position is where he is currently being deployed for England and where he has scored the majority of his 20 goals for the Red Devils this term.

"The position I play for England is the one I like most," he told the Daily Star. "I haven't played there for a while for United.

"It is the manager's choice, although my best position in any team is upfront. As a forward you have to be selfish if you want to score goals.

Selfish

"Yes it's a team game and I love helping the team but maybe I have to be more selfish in where I want to play and what role I need.

"My best position is up front and hopefully that is where I will play."

Rooney also highlighted that he was enjoying his role with the Three Lions where a partnership with Steven Gerrard is beginning to blossom after banishing any defensive duties he has with his club.

"When you are playing out on the left, as I do for United, you have responsibilities," he added. "There is a lot more defending and that takes energy.

"With England I don't have to get back as much and Steven Gerrard and I regularly swap. We're building a good relationship, making and scoring a lot of goals.

"There is more onus on me to go forward with England. They are two different roles and my favourite is definitely down the middle.

"I have no worries about burning out like some players who also started early and I look at Ryan Giggs as my inspiration. He began his United career at 16 and has just won the PFA Player of the Year at 35."

Rooney is looking to add to his 21 goals from 50 England caps in the upcoming games against Kazakhstan and Andorra and admits that he aims to break Bobby Charlton's record of 49 England goals.

"It would be a privilege to become England's top goalscorer and that is my target. There is still a long way to go."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5364516,00.html
TSalien2003
post Jun 5 2009, 06:08 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(onepack @ Jun 5 2009, 06:02 PM)
according to RM vice president they hv pre-contract agreement to sign CR already..
they must sign CR this summer for 90mil euro or being fine for breaking the pre-contract

dunno if it true  hmm.gif

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/football/view/8...do-s-26m-bonus/
TSalien2003
post Jun 7 2009, 12:34 PM

12,754 posts

Nigel Worthington started with four new caps with Irish League players Colin Coates and Stephen Carson joining Chris Casement and Manchester United youngster Corry Evans in making their debuts.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/i...als/8087413.stm

Evans Jr to follow his brother, Jonny to break into the national squad and hopefully our first team squad in the future?
TSalien2003
post Jun 7 2009, 07:55 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Jun 7 2009, 03:18 PM)
Da Silva - Evans - Evans - Da Silva?
It seems Corry is midfielder:

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...=6634037&page=3

Finally, in a friendly, there was an international debut for Reds midfielder Corry Evans. The younger brother of centre-back Jonny played for Northern Ireland in their 3-0 away defeat by Italy, for whom ex-United striker Giuseppe Rossi scored a superb opening goal.

Rio - Banter will numb pain

Rio Ferdinand believes that the dressing-room banter at Manchester United will help him get over the pain of losing the UEFA Champions League final.

The Red Devils were left shell shocked with the way they easily succumbed to Barcelona in Rome two weeks ago but the 30-year-old insists the players will be helping each other get over the defeat.

The defender has lifted the lid on what goes on behind the scenes at Old Trafford revealing some unexpected pranksters.

The former West Ham youngster insists that no-one is spared the incessant training ground tricks, although he admitted that the players have to go easy on manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

"You don't go anywhere near the boss with proper banter," he told ChannelBee.com.

Clip round the ear

"But you might try and put the ball through his legs while he's walking around the changing room - and he'll give you a clip around the ear for doing it.

"But you wouldn't really cut his socks or shoes up because I think you would be on the next bus out of Manchester.

"At United we've got quite a few people who are into winding people up. Wayne Rooney's obviously one of the main culprits, he's involved at all stages of wind-up material.

"Wes Brown or Darren Fletcher are normally the butt of his jokes. Wes now has to check his trainers before he puts them on because they could be sewn in half or the laces are gonelaugh.gif

"Darren Fletcher has this really nice, clean image but in the changing room he is usually involved in stuff like that, usually people's phones going missing."

The England international highlights that not even current World Player of the Year Cristiano Ronaldo escapes the attentions of his team-mates.

"Ronaldo is quite a funny lad to be honest with you. People think, 'oh he's this and that' but Ronnie's got a good sense of humour," he added.

"If we start talking about his gear too much he gets a bit agitated so we hammer his gear, whether it's good or bad because we know that it gets to him."

Respect

But Ferdinand admits that there is one player who is never on the receiving end of anyone's jokes.

"We don't ever really touch anything on Scholesy (Paul Scholes). He's just too good a player and too nice a man," he said.

"You just don't go near Scholesy's stuff, simple as that. He's a living legend."

While Ferdinand also pointed out that another United legend made sure the younger players didn't get too confident.

"If a young kid is getting out of hand, Giggsy's (Ryan Giggs) the one with a little dry, sarcastic comment to make the lad go, 'oh, I'm a bit above my station here, I'll sit down and get back into my spot'," he concluded.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5367752,00.html

BIG DUO BID FOR VALENCIA

Wigan have received bids in excess of £16million from Manchester United and Real Madrid for Antonio Valencia, according to Sky Sports News.

The Ecuadorian winger has long been linked with the two European giants and it is now reported that the pair have tabled bids.

United are searching for creativity on the right after big-money signing Nani has failed to live up to expectations and Valencia is said to have impressed boss Sir Alex Ferguson.

Real are desperate to overthrow Spanish and continental champions Barcelona and the 23-year-old was thought to be close to a move in the winter transfer window.

A switch failed to materialise, but it is now understood that newly-elected president Florentino Perez, who has pledged a return to the dazzling days of star signings from his first spell at the Bernabeu, is ready to test Wigan's resolve.

Valencia joined Wigan in 2006 in a loan move from Recreativo de Huelva and the deal was made permanent in January 2008.

The Latics are currently without a manager following Steve Bruce's move to Sunderland, but Roberto Martinez is expected to be unveiled as successor on Wednesday.

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/trans...ual_121347.html
TSalien2003
post Jun 7 2009, 09:31 PM

12,754 posts

Hull table bid for Campbell

Sky Sports News understands Hull City have agreed a £6million fee for Manchester United youngster Fraizer Campbell.

However, the Tigers are expected to face competition from fellow Premier League sides Sunderland, Stoke City and Fulham.

The 21-year-old spent seven months on loan at the KC Stadium in October 2007, where his 15 goals helped Phil Brown's men achieve promotion to the top flight.

Despite his successful loan stint, the England Under 21 international rejected the chance to join the Tigers on a permanent deal last summer, opting instead to go on loan to Tottenham as part of the deal which saw Dimitar Berbatov move to Old Trafford.

But chances were few and far between at Spurs, with manager Harry Redknapp handing the striker just one Premier League start.

The Red Devils ace still proved he could cut it at the highest level when he fired a brace to knock Liverpool out of the Carling Cup at White Hart Lane back in November.

Campbell's only other strike for Spurs came in the following game where he scored a consolation against Fulham.

"It'll be tight as I know Stevie Bruce, Tony Pulis and Roy Hodgson are admirers," Phil Brown told the Sunday Mirror.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5367941,00.html
TSalien2003
post Jun 9 2009, 07:45 AM

12,754 posts

United 'set to sign' Dodo

Manchester United are reportedly poised to sign Brazilian youngster Dodo in a move that has stirred up controversy.

The 17-year-old centre-back currently plies his trade with Corinthians and is regarded as an extremely exciting prospect for the future.

Dodo has been quoted as saying that he expects to join the Red Devils over the summer in a transfer that would see him link up with compatriots Rafael and Fabio da Silva and Rodrigo Possebon.

United have yet to indicate whether they will swoop for Dodo but the thought of such a move has angered 1970 World Cup winner Carlos Alberto.

Alberto finds it infuriating that big European clubs are able to sign Brazilian youngsters and has called on Fifa to change its laws.

"It is disgraceful United are allowed to do this to Brazilian football," Alberto said in the Manchester Evening News.

"The big teams have the money and can take our best players. It is a big problem in Brazil.

"The clubs cannot keep good young players because they can make much more money in other countries. They should change the law so, at least until the age of 20 or 21, the best players play in Brazil and get experience before moving to Europe.

"Fifa must do something."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5369827,00.html
TSalien2003
post Jun 9 2009, 03:10 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(leongtat @ Jun 9 2009, 03:06 PM)
Heard ronaldo got hernia injury...if that is true he need to go operation n out for a month...

hopefully is not true....if not we cant see him in the asian tour jor...
Cristiano Ronaldo could miss Manchester United's pre-season

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/...pre-season.html

Injured Ronaldo, Simao to miss Portugal friendly

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/feedarticle/8547197

Surgery threatens to disrupt pre-season training for Ronaldo

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/foo...icle6458913.ece
TSalien2003
post Jun 9 2009, 06:53 PM

12,754 posts

Order your 08/09 DVD today

The 2008/09 Season Review DVD is now available to pre-order from United Direct, our online megastore.

The new release captures all the excitement and best action from an amazing campaign, including four trophy presentations culminating in a third consecutive Barclays Premier League title for the Reds, and a record-equalling 18th championship overall.

The DVD has plenty of extra features and bonus material for you to enjoy, including extended scenes from Old Trafford on the day United wrapped up the title.

You can now pre-order your copy for delivery direct to your door. For more details and to place your order, visit store.manutd.com.

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6634113

United: Season player ratings

Stuart Mathieson

June 09, 2009

STAR MAN

NEMANJA VIDIC: His United colleagues voted the uncompromising defender as their Player of the Year and you cannot argue with that, as he has been a rock. Three red cards didn't derail him, but his display in Rome put a dampener on things. 9

EDWIN VAN DER SAR: The Dutchman's contribution to the 14-match record breaking clean sheet sequence was the foundation for United's crucial mid-season form. 8

GARY NEVILLE: Mixed early form as he battled for role with teenager Rafael. But since his groin problem in February the captain has struggled to make impact. 5

JOHN O'SHEA: Played more matches than anybody which has been a testimony to his resilience. Won over critics with his steady effort. 7

RAFAEL: Brilliant impact by the teenage Brazilian and hasn't been over-used. A fantastic Euro debut against Aalborg and keeping Robinho quiet in the away Manchester derby were the highlights. 8

RIO FERDINAND: Was a major candidate for Player of the Year awards in the first half of the season but his mid-term back spasm interrupted that. But back to top form. 8

JONNY EVANS: Replaced the injured Ferdinand in the middle of the history-making clean sheet run and kept the solidity going smoothly. Assured future as a Reds centre back. 7

PATRICE EVRA: The first half of season saw the Frenchman in top form. His draconian ban in December and subsequent ankle injury rocked him backwards but he has been more like his true self lately. 7

DARREN FLETCHER: All his critics have been put to flight this season. Now a true vital cog in United's tactics. 8

PAUL SCHOLES: Medial knee ligament cost him two months in October and November. There have been patches of Scholes at his peak and that's not a bad ace for Sir Alex Ferguson to hold. 6

NANI: The majority are yet to be fully convinced about the Portuguese winger's ability. Hasn't done enough to warrant a regular spot, and has been disappointing. 4

RYAN GIGGS: The PFA Player of the Year, and you don't get that solely on sentiment, no matter what anyone says. Has had another new lease of life but unable to find it in Italy. 8

MICHAEL CARRICK: Rated by Inter Milan as United's key figure and earmarked by Barcelona as the Reds' pivotal player. Not bad recommendations, even if he could not quite carry that into Champions League final. 8

ANDERSON: Appeared to suffer second season syndrome in first half of the campaign. Lacked the impact he had last term, but has improved in the spring before disappointing in Rome. 6

JI-SUNG PARK: The workaholic Korean continues to give value for money as a disciplined wide player who the manager can trust to do a job. 7

CRISTIANO RONALDO: Took a while to settle down after last summer's ankle op, and the weight of expectation was on him, but he has come through it splendidly. 26 goals is a fantastic return. 8

CARLOS TEVEZ: The fans' favourite hasn't let them down with his all-out effort. Cannot really complain about his match minutes. If it's farewell, it will be a fond one. 8

WAYNE ROONEY: The England striker has been transformed into a brilliant wide left midfield player who causes so much danger coming in from the flank but Rome was the disappointing exception. 8

DIMITAR BERBATOV: The jury is still out on the Bulgarian. An over-priced luxury or a value for money key strike option? Has split the fans but he's had a decent start. 7

BEN FOSTER: The unlucky understudy to van der Sar was the hero of the Carling Cup final and has clearly put down his marker as a future number one. 7

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/spo..._player_ratings

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jun 9 2009, 07:48 PM
TSalien2003
post Jun 10 2009, 10:58 AM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(z3171600 @ Jun 10 2009, 10:46 AM)
Guys, I'm planning to buy MU jersey. Just want to confirm something. Since new jersey deal will start in 2010/2011 season, are we still using the same home jersey? I think I read/heard somewhere before that usually Manchester United jersey only last for 2 seasons only and then they'll have new jersey. Can someone clarify this for me?
AIG decided not to renew their sponsorship deal after the 2009/2010 season. Barring any late changes, they should remain as the shirt sponsor next season.
TSalien2003
post Jun 10 2009, 07:01 PM

12,754 posts

Tosic prepares for launch

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6634187

08/09 Review: Rooney

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6634167

Capello: I showed Roo how to score

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport...w-to-score.html
TSalien2003
post Jun 11 2009, 06:03 PM

12,754 posts

Could next season be the season where we finally see the full potential of Rooney in getting us the goals? If Capello can do it, I am sure SAF surely has something up his sleeves as well nod.gif
TSalien2003
post Jun 11 2009, 06:09 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Jun 11 2009, 06:07 PM)
With the attention of our winker, Rooney would defo step up. Sure it'll take some getting used to now that his golden partner is no longer around, but he's a talented player, I'm sure he'll up his level a notch. He's been fantastic for England in that hole role. Time for him to return there and get a perfect foil for him upfront.
Perfect foil? Benzema [if SAF sticked with Berbatov's current role]? brows.gif
TSalien2003
post Jun 11 2009, 06:27 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(bomjangka2009 @ Jun 11 2009, 06:13 PM)
hmm, nani to step in.. any thought?
If he stay?

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6634296

Sporting Lisbon lure Nani

Sporting Lisbon have initiated talks with Manchester United about re-signing Nani on an extended loan spell or arranging a player-plus-cash exchange involving their captain, the attacking midfielder Joao Moutinho. A delegation led by the Sporting vice-president, Ribeiro Teles, is understood to have visited Manchester on Tuesday, hoping to capitalise on a disappointing season for Nani in which he started only seven Premier League games. However, the 22-year-old favours a move to Italy and has expressed misgivings about returning to the club that sold him for around £16m two years ago. A straight cash deal has been ruled out because of Sporting's financial restraints.

Daniel Taylor, The Guardian

QUOTE(OhIsU @ Jun 11 2009, 06:13 PM)
well 80m,
for me i will go for benzema and david silva ^^
QUOTE(EmaNLeTo @ Jun 11 2009, 06:22 PM)
I'll go for david silva..
David Silva either not for sale OR will not come cheap:

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11827_5372063,00.html

According to AS, the only way Silva could go is if the club receive, for example, a bid of €30m for Villa and €50m for Silva, then they would keep Villa instead.

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Jun 11 2009, 06:14 PM)
just wanna ask, unconditional 80mil? meaning?
Full cash in installment without the likes of appearances/bonus/etc?
TSalien2003
post Jun 11 2009, 06:50 PM

12,754 posts

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/foo...icle6474489.ece

Chelsea’s summer transfer plans suffered another blow yesterday when they were quoted a £65 million asking price by Bayern Munich for Franck Ribéry.

Forget about him if that's what they wanted. Plus we do not have good relationship with them anyway in terms of player transfer (Hargreaves) laugh.gif
TSalien2003
post Jun 11 2009, 07:05 PM

12,754 posts

Ronaldo reaction

June 11, 2009

FORMER Manchester United player Frank Stapleton believes the club should not panic over the loss of winger Cristiano Ronaldo to Real Madrid.

Stapleton pointed out that United had sold star players in the past and had not suffered when David Beckham and Jaap Stam left the club, or when Eric Cantona retired.

United have accpeted an £80m bid from Real and Stapleton told Sky Sports News: “I feel that money will be used very, very quickly.

When the top players have left Manchester United the actual team has not been diminished in any way, they have gone on to be stronger again.

“The Champions League final for Sir Alex Ferguson will have opened his eyes, what Man United need to do to stay top, not only in England but in Europe.”

Former Manchester United full-back Arthur Albiston believes Ronaldo’s move to Real Madrid could lead to Carlos Tevez remaining at Old Trafford next season.

Albiston, who made 485 appearances for United, told BBC Radio Manchester: “Cristiano might end up staying but I very much doubt it.

“Once the club have given him permission to speak to Real Madrid, I think that will be it and he will be on his way.

“It (the news) has not come as a great shock. There were a lot of rumours last season about him leaving.

You do not want to hold on to a player who is not going to show total commitment to the club.

“Having said that, he has been a fantastic ambassador for the club. United have had six years out of him; supporters probably do not realise that as he is so young.”

Argentina striker Tevez’s loan spell runs out this summer and his future remains unclear.

Albiston added: “I don’t think they can turn it (the transfer fee) down. The only problem the manager has got is to find someone to replace Cristiano given the number of goals he has scored.

“When (Ruud) van Nistelrooy left, people said the manager did not know what he is doing but Ronaldo stepped up to the plate.

“Whether this might allow them to sign Tevez now and still have money left in the kitty to get other players... the manager will not have his head buried in the sand. He will be looking and scouring the market worldwide.”

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/spo...onaldo_reaction
TSalien2003
post Jun 11 2009, 07:17 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(odieseven @ Jun 11 2009, 07:12 PM)
Agreed. Beckham did not betray Man Utd...He had to leave. He did it for the sake of the club. Totally different story from CR.
Different story from CR? I hope some of you are not over reacting to his pending departure. Its a well known fact that his dream is to one day playing for Real Madrid. Its just a matter of time before it will eventually happen.

Its not like he went on strike/refused to play/acted unprofessionally, no?

So where's the posts about his betrayal coming from?

Credits to be given where its due and there is no deny that he contributed to the club during the years he is with us so we should be grateful and thankful for that. Labeling him as betrayer or such will only make us sounds like sour grape.

QUOTE(giotto @ Jun 11 2009, 07:09 PM)
I must say im not too overly surprised with CR7 leaving. As cliche as it may sound, i was quietly predicting his transfer at the end of last year. No Man Utd player had went on with 3 super seasons like what CR7 achieved this 3 seasons. He lighted up the league with his dazzling performance, assist and goals, even more from a midfielder position. I never really liked him but at the end of each season, i still give full credits to him for being such a super player this 3 seasons.

Reason why i said i predicted his transfer quietly is that after this 3 season, there will definitely be a slide in his performance and true enuff, this season he was already in the decline tho he still mustered some good games but it was clear to see that if SAF don't cash in on him this season, his price won't be that high anymore. From business point of view, its a massive return of investment, perhaps had Man Utd won the UCL and Ron scored 1 or 2 goals in the finals, he might have milked a further 5-10 million. But all the writings were on the wall already. Ron sulking away, performance dropping slightly, Real gets a new president in Perez and you can't fine another better time to sell CR7. 80 million is a good deal. Man Utd will have a good shopping list with this money, added with their usual mega budget.

On the other hand, i hope you Man Utd fans appreciate the stuff he's put in for you guys over the years. Coming from an Arsenal fan here, i must say he's been a super player and i would be dissapointed if there are some fans here who would condemn him and etc. He's left in a good note, so he deserves some respect and tribute.
This post has been edited by alien2003: Jun 11 2009, 07:20 PM
TSalien2003
post Jun 12 2009, 09:41 AM

12,754 posts

Nani positive over Ron exit

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5375063,00.html

Good deal? Bad deal?

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11096_5374360,00.html

Man Utd right to sell Ronaldo

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/philmcnulty/200...ll_ronaldo.html
TSalien2003
post Jun 12 2009, 01:08 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(odieseven @ Jun 12 2009, 12:52 PM)
My my....he's loving the spotlight doesnt he
He has been doing that with the media for past few seasons already so no surprise there.

QUOTE(honamd77 @ Jun 12 2009, 01:00 PM)
dah muktamad atau dalam pertimbangan CR'dol ke RM ???
With the club given the greenlight, I can't see CR turn down the opportunity.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0242sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:33 PM