Engine flush, come n share your DIY engine flush....

TScrazeeclan
post May 26 2009, 11:14 AM, updated 17y ago

542 posts

Hi guys...i believe you all will do engine flush whenever you all service your car (changing engine oil). I have a fren..he say he dun trust those engine flush oil...what he do is keep the balance engine oil everytime he service his car...once he have around 2 liter plus...he mix with petrol....roughly about 70% engine oil 30% petrol...then

1) he drain out all those oil engine oil without replacing the oil filter yet...
2) screw back the oil sump nut
3) he pour in back the mixture of petrol and engine oil
4) start the engine without revving it for about 5mins to 10mins
5) off the engine...
6) drain out all those oil again
7) change the oil filter
8) pour in fresh new suitable engine oil

result : after he flush out the engine oil that mid with petrol...the engine oil really become thick...it thicker than the engine oil that stay inside his engine for 5000km .....means it really bring out all those carbon stuck at the wall of the engine...

so my question is .....will this method harm the internal parts of the engine ? such as those oil seal? gasket...or whatever part you all think offf?
Ultima
post May 26 2009, 11:38 AM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

the petrol itself easily to vaporize, n strong chemical.. wont it harm the internal engine?
the_catacombs
post May 26 2009, 12:24 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

i dun flush my engine... i do regular changes every 5000km...
TScrazeeclan
post May 26 2009, 02:17 PM

542 posts

i also do change my engine oil every 5000km...im using semi synthetic oil that require me to change every 7000km...but if really can flush out the carbon , then that is good....
amduser
post May 26 2009, 11:06 PM

5,542 posts

very high cost, need half bottle of engine oil and then the petrol...

and you sure that is carbon and not something else?
TScrazeeclan
post May 27 2009, 12:11 AM

542 posts

yeah...sure is carbon...if not wut else wor? coz after mixing the petrol into the engine oil...the engine oil seem to be thinner...but after 10mins run....when drain out...the engine oil is thick n black....
the_catacombs
post May 27 2009, 01:48 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(crazeeclan @ May 27 2009, 12:11 AM)
yeah...sure is carbon...if not wut else wor? coz after mixing the petrol into the engine oil...the engine oil seem to be thinner...but after 10mins run....when drain out...the engine oil is thick n black....
that is not called carbon i presume... carbon only exists in combustion chamber... not ur engine oil sump... mayb its some metal residue due to metal-to-metal shaving...
Esky
post May 27 2009, 08:17 AM

394 posts

The thick, black stuff is probably mostly sludge?

Another way of flushing is to use a cheap mineral oil as the flushing oil for maybe 10~15 mins, after draining out the used engine oil. Then drain again, change the oil filter and fill up with the engine oil of yr choice.

U can also shorten the oil-change interval to maybe 2k km or so as a flushing job, then change oil again and follow the usual oil-change interval.
huakenny
post May 27 2009, 12:40 PM

384 posts

some service centres(not to mention which)...use diesel to flush...very clean

or use a thinner grade cheapo engine oil to flush
the_catacombs
post May 27 2009, 02:53 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ May 27 2009, 12:40 PM)
some service centres(not to mention which)...use diesel to flush...very clean

or use a thinner grade cheapo engine oil to flush
Bardahl icon_idea.gif

Added on May 27, 2009, 2:55 pmtell u guys how... normally our engine only takes in about 3.5L of engine oil each service interval... the remaining 0.5L u keep it in a bottle... after about 7 oil changes, u'll have 3.5L of extra'ed engine oil available for flushing...

This post has been edited by the_catacombs: May 27 2009, 02:55 PM
Ultima
post May 27 2009, 09:33 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

but make sure u keep the remaining engine oil sealed or not exposed to air...
the_catacombs
post May 27 2009, 09:38 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ May 27 2009, 09:33 PM)
lolz... of course...
cheeann
post May 27 2009, 09:39 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ May 27 2009, 10:33 PM)

not 1st in 1st ooout>? ? laugh.gif
Esky
post May 28 2009, 08:12 AM

394 posts

Some people just use diesel engine oil that's also rated for petrol engines, as diesel lubes usually contain more detergents compared to petrol engine lubes. Examples include Caltex Delo 400 15W-40, Mobil Delvac MX.
TScrazeeclan
post May 28 2009, 09:53 AM

542 posts

so the conclusion is not advisable to mix petrol and engine oil together to flush our car engine?
FerrariST
post May 28 2009, 10:23 AM

340 posts

Just buy a can of Engine flush, instead of leaving the car idle for 15min, shorten the time to 10min, this product is corrosive, so you do not want to leave it for to long, once after that every 20k - 50k oil change use 1 can of engine flush will do.

you don't have to use it regularly.
toye
post May 28 2009, 11:29 AM

27 posts

try auto-rx
Conroe
post May 28 2009, 08:44 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(toye @ May 28 2009, 11:29 AM)
try auto-rx
Where to get it in Malaysia?Price?
Esky
post May 29 2009, 08:02 AM

394 posts

Don't think auto-rx is easily available here. And I was told it takes like 10k km to work properly.

I think the STP Engine Flush states on its label that it's not corrosive. Donno whether this holds true for engine flush from other brands though.
feralee
post May 29 2009, 01:34 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

can try CRC engine flush icon_rolleyes.gif
arcilist
post May 30 2009, 01:08 PM

91 posts

actually how often are we required to flush engine? changing oil only is not enough?
FerrariST
post Jun 1 2009, 10:00 AM

340 posts

More than 50,000 of milelage, should be the time to use engine flush.
kapal
post Jun 1 2009, 04:27 PM

one thing i feel discomfort about flushing oil is .. after you drain it, there is still little bit balance of it inside the crankcase. as you may know, most flushing oil is kerosene-based. kerosene shears oil faster. the flushed oil looks very dark because you're flushing using the old oil filter. the flush oil mixed with the crap inside oil filter hence giving the "OMG my engine is so dirty and this thing really cleans" impression. flushing using a new oil filter wouldn't look that dark, unless the engine is stuffed with sludge.

agreed with previous poster, flushing oil doesn't clean carbon deposits from combustion by product.

IMHO, as long as you're using top tier@mainstream oil with proper interval, you engine should be free from varnish/oil related residue. no need to spend extra for flushing.

This post has been edited by kapal: Jun 1 2009, 04:35 PM
cheeann
post Jun 1 2009, 06:50 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(kapal @ Jun 1 2009, 05:27 PM)
one thing i feel discomfort about flushing oil is .. after you drain it, there is still little bit balance of it inside the crankcase. as you may know, most flushing oil is kerosene-based. kerosene shears oil faster. the flushed oil looks very dark because you're flushing using the old oil filter. the flush oil mixed with the crap inside oil filter hence giving the "OMG my engine is so dirty and this thing really cleans" impression. flushing using a new oil filter wouldn't look that dark, unless the engine is stuffed with sludge.

agreed with previous poster, flushing oil doesn't clean carbon deposits from combustion by product.

IMHO, as long as you're using top tier@mainstream oil with proper interval, you engine should be free from varnish/oil related residue. no need to spend extra for flushing.

but in other way it's not wise 2 use new oil filter also cuz as u said sludge n crab will go thru d oil filter but not all can go pass d oil filter so kinda waste if u use new 1~
kapal
post Jun 2 2009, 08:23 AM

QUOTE(cheeann @ Jun 1 2009, 06:50 PM)
but in other way it's not wise 2 use new oil filter also cuz as u said sludge n crab will go thru d oil filter but not all can go pass d oil filter so kinda waste if u use new 1~
pardon me but why flushing using new filter is it a waste? the purpose of oil filter is to trap dirt.
cheeann
post Jun 2 2009, 07:43 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(kapal @ Jun 2 2009, 09:23 AM)
pardon me but why flushing using new filter is it a waste? the purpose of oil filter is to trap dirt.

of cuz it's good but u make d new oil filter's life span shorter n sum dirts might harmful stays in da new oil filter during after flush n use new engine oil wit it~ wink.gif
Ultima
post Jun 2 2009, 09:39 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

then juz buy 2 new oil filter lor, n use one for flushing n another one for new engine oil..
toye
post Jun 3 2009, 12:33 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Conroe @ May 28 2009, 08:44 PM)
Where to get it in Malaysia?Price?
got at rm98.00 from my member..
chanti-sama
post Jun 5 2009, 02:05 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Jun 2 2009, 09:39 PM)
then juz buy 2 new oil filter lor, n use one for flushing n another one for new engine oil..
agree... i bought 2 oil filters, one for flush then replace with another new one for the proper oil.
besides flushing is not on every oils change, so it's negligble. smile.gif
kapal
post Jun 8 2009, 12:00 PM

QUOTE(Ultima @ Jun 2 2009, 09:39 PM)
that's what i'm trying to say earlier on..

Vervain
post Jun 8 2009, 12:32 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

damn, I just did flushing last friday. it was more than 15 minutes. but somehow, feel the engine was replenished to a better state
cheeann
post Jun 9 2009, 12:24 AM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(chanti-sama @ Jun 5 2009, 03:05 AM)
agree... i bought 2 oil filters, one for flush then replace with another new one for the proper oil.
besides flushing is not on every oils change, so it's negligble. smile.gif
so after tat throw away? ? hmm.gif
kapal
post Jun 11 2009, 12:31 PM

QUOTE(cheeann @ Jun 9 2009, 12:24 AM)
so after tat throw away? ?  hmm.gif
yes cheeann-san, throw the oil filter away. to put it simple:

* drain old oil
* replace oil filter
* pour in some flush oil
* run your engine accordingly