The "extreme Screamyx Slowdowns" V4, Edisi :Extreme International Slowdowns

andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 12:04 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(StealthSyndica @ Jun 20 2009, 12:01 PM)

Area - PJ
IP - 124.x.x.x
QUOTE(Hornet @ Jun 20 2009, 12:02 PM)
Melaka area here

I usually ping yahoo to test my connection (more of a test to see whether i have any connection or not) and the usual ping time is usually below 300ms.

At the moment, its above 700ms
So they downgrade Melaka users connection for the moment and allocate the available speed to PJ? o.O
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 12:07 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(StealthSyndica @ Jun 20 2009, 12:06 PM)
Haha... my ping to yahoo is 210ms
are you from kota damansara area? me and you have very similar results and ping times! lol
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 12:13 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(StealthSyndica @ Jun 20 2009, 12:09 PM)
Woa... im in tropicana
Hahah. Malaysia's 1st... Estimate where a person stays by looking at their ping times and speedtest results! doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 20 2009, 12:13 PM
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 12:53 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

C:\Documents and Settings\Andrew>ping 202.188.0.133 -n 24

Pinging 202.188.0.133 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=247
Request timed out.
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=247

Ping statistics for 202.188.0.133:
Packets: Sent = 24, Received = 20, Lost = 4 (16% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 32ms, Average = 22ms
---------------------------------------------------------------------

DNS again... those that having connectivity problem u can try to use other DNS like openDNS, jaring DNS or p1 DNS, head over to the pinned DNS thread to know how
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 01:01 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(pengiranijam @ Jun 20 2009, 12:56 PM)
Nah, now you get it. The DNS not stable now...
Yeah damn weird, how come it only affects me an hour/hours after you got affected? Neways, i just tested it again, seems fine doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif No idea what is going on, anyway i'm switching dns for stability

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 20 2009, 01:02 PM
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 01:58 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

ususally i get max speed to US, but after the "upgrade"....getting 0.5mbps less

i guess they are still fine-tuning the upgrades...

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 20 2009, 02:00 PM
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 02:32 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jun 20 2009, 02:09 PM)
Guys, don't say 'did they upgrade?'

The answer is YES, there's a guy who works in TM is in LYN.
he said he worked the whole freaking night. And he need some rest now.

Oh and yea, the upgrade took place in Cyberjaya.
Only ONE GUY? must be a joke.... rclxub.gif
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 03:50 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Traceroute Result:

1 203.116.178.1 (203.116.178.1) 0.287 ms 0.225 ms 0.269 ms
2 203.117.190.73 (203.117.190.73) 0.702 ms 0.689 ms 0.769 ms
3 vlan911-an-cat6k-ts-2-rsm1.starhub.net.sg (203.118.5.4) 12.024 ms 196.379 ms 1.426 ms
4 203.118.3.163 (203.118.3.163) 5.137 ms 4.626 ms 5.059 ms
5 219.94.9.205 (219.94.9.205) 8.336 ms 8.309 ms 8.284 ms
6 10.55.32.34 (10.55.32.34) 9.452 ms 10.55.32.36 (10.55.32.36) 11.863 ms 10.55.32.38 (10.55.32.38) 10.212 ms
7 * * 219.93.216.174 (219.93.216.174) 12.783 ms
8 61.5.111.218.kmr02-home.tm.net.my (218.111.5.61) 17.916 ms 17.032 ms 18.349 ms

Traceroute Completed.

tested at http://www.speedtest.sg/tr.php, from Singapore to my streamyx here. Take a look at line 6.... all the 10.55 IP

what are those IPs?
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 03:55 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jun 20 2009, 03:51 PM)
OMG it's freaking me out...
As far as i know, it belongs to:

10.55.32.34 - Whois Information

OrgName: Internet Assigned Numbers Authority
OrgID: IANA
Address: 4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 330
City: Marina del Rey
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 90292-6695

NetRange: 10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255
CIDR: 10.0.0.0/8
NetName: RESERVED-10
NetHandle: NET-10-0-0-0-1
Parent:
NetType: IANA Special Use
NameServer: BLACKHOLE-1.IANA.ORG
NameServer: BLACKHOLE-2.IANA.ORG
8.txt[/url]

EDITED, now we should know what is it about after reading the below.

The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) has reserved the
following three blocks of the IP address space for private internets:

10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255 (10/8 prefix)
172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255 (172.16/12 prefix)
192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255 (192.168/16 prefix)...(isnt our modem and routers on this range?)

We will refer to the first block as "24-bit block", the second as
"20-bit block", and to the third as "16-bit" block. Note that (in
pre-CIDR notation) the first block is nothing but a single class A
network number, while the second block is a set of 16 contiguous
class B network numbers, and third block is a set of 256 contiguous
class C network numbers.

An enterprise that decides to use IP addresses out of the address
space defined in this document can do so without any coordination
with IANA or an Internet registry.
The address space can thus be used
by many enterprises. Addresses within this private address space will
only be unique within the enterprise
, or the set of enterprises which
choose to cooperate over this space so they may communicate with each
other in their own private internet.

As before, any enterprise that needs globally unique address space is
required to obtain such addresses from an Internet registry.

An enterprise that requests IP addresses for its external connectivity
will never be assigned addresses from the blocks defined above.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
That means it is used for Inter-TM connections, just like from your computer to your modem might be 192.168.0.1 (see above that it is also an IANA IP address range)

So it is an IP address, but only in your own network, in this case, it is tm's new network so called lah

And please lah i remember got someone said that it belongs to US Defence department or network monitoring tool... please research carefully before making a statement and make people believe in it doh.gif

So dont worry guys, it not some US Army monitoring stuff, its just probably their new equiptments IP address of something in their own network... just like our computer to our routers/modem which is in the "192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255 (192.168/16 prefix)" as seen above. What new equipment? we dont know, it might be a monitoring tool, it might be just a router of something else that we dont know. And i dont jump to the conclusion and tell everyone that it is a something that belongs to US and logs our connections ==

source....https://www.arin.net/knowledge/rfc/rfc1918.txt

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 20 2009, 04:28 PM
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 04:28 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

yeah, but don't confuse people by immediately saying it is a monitoring and logging tool mah....a lot of people got scared by it.

nevertheless i will contact someone in TM on the nearest working day and ask about it...will get back to all once i know the answer
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 04:38 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Last night saw some people doing some stuff at a nearby DSLAM, about 12am in the morning, i just came back from somewhere that time...

Then about 1.30 i got DC...waited 20 mins still no connectivity

BTW i think it's a DSLAM, not sure if it is TENAGA National Box....was driving too fast... -.- later pass by reconfirm

lol
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 04:52 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jun 20 2009, 04:42 PM)
lol
Why drive so fast?
And what's TN need to do with a DSLAM?
At night no car mah... street was really empty last night in PJ, no idea why, kinda scary...

I think my area is using FTTS technology and their core upgrade got something to do with their New Generation Network thing and FTTS/FTTH was a part of it...so thats why they were doing something in my area?

Not sure lah, just an assumption.

Hahah...not sure lah if its a tenaga national box or a dslam housing...most likly dslam kua....pass by i check again

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 20 2009, 04:53 PM
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 04:54 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jun 20 2009, 04:52 PM)
So the upgrade last night is for the FTTH/FTTS only?
DSL users nothing??
Brudder...You ask me I ask who? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Saw your speedtest above? got some improvement right... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 20 2009, 04:55 PM
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 09:39 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(gurrenlagann @ Jun 20 2009, 09:37 PM)

By the way, cant finish china & korea speedtest doh.gif
IP address 118 range? If yes, it seems that the upgrade affects 118 range the most... Network core has something related to Core IP Network Development?
andrew9292
post Jun 20 2009, 11:08 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jun 20 2009, 08:07 PM)
We need some good explanation from TM on this so-called "Private IP"

Someone please send a e-mail to ceo[at]tmnet.com.my
Dont know wether you can access wikipedia or not, so i'll quote some stuff to make u feel better

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPv4

Private networks
Main article: private network

Of the approximately four billion addresses allowed in IPv4, three ranges of address are reserved for private networking use. These ranges are not routable outside of private networks and private machines cannot directly communicate with public networks. They can, however, do so through network address translation.

The following are the three ranges reserved for private networks (RFC 1918):
Name  Address range  Number of addresses  Classful description  Largest CIDR block
24-bit block  10.0.0.0–10.255.255.255  16,777,216  Single Class A  10.0.0.0/8
20-bit block  172.16.0.0–172.31.255.255  1,048,576  16 contiguous Class B blocks  172.16.0.0/12
16-bit block  192.168.0.0–192.168.255.255  65,536  Contiguous range of 256 class C blocks  192.168.0.0/16
Source : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_network

In Internet terminology, a private network is typically a network that uses private IP address space, following the standards set by RFC 1918 and RFC 4193. These addresses are common in home and office local area networks (LANs), as using globally routable addresses is seen as impractical or unnecessary. Private IP addresses were originally created due to the shortage of publicly registered IP addresses created by the IPv4 standard, but are also a feature of the next generation Internet Protocol, IPv6.

These addresses are private because they are not globally assigned, meaning they aren't allocated to a specific organization--instead, any organization needing private address space can use these addresses without needing approval from a regional Internet registry (RIR). Consequently, they are not routable on the public Internet, meaning that if such a private network wishes to connect to the Internet, it must use either a Network Address Translation (NAT) gateway, or a proxy server.

Link to rfc 1918: http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc1918
Link to rfc 4193: http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc4193

Those are the links to the guidelines or terms and conditions of the private (inter-network) IP address, is very long but if u really want that assurance u should read it.

As i said, its like from my COMPUTER IP in my own "network" 192.168.0.2 (which is assigned by my router/modem), to my router/modem which is 192.168.0.1

so if i "traceroute" my "infrastructure" ( which is my computer & router/modem) it will be like...example

1. 192.168.0.2 < 1ms (my computer,private IP, non accesable to external internet)
2. 192.168.0.1 < 1ms (my router/modem,private IP, non accesable to external internet)
3. 218.XXXXX < 1ms (my real IP)
4. 219.XXXXX < 20ms (TM's node)

when i say non assessable to internet it means that when u type 192.168.0.1 in your computer, you cant access my router/modem page right? get it ah bro? same thing with TM, their 10.XXX ip are just their Inter-connctivity IP in their own infrastructure.

*router/modem = because my router is also my modem (2-in-1)

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 20 2009, 11:21 PM
andrew9292
post Jun 25 2009, 05:34 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

yeah youtube buffering alot, even on songs with lyrics only...no graphic, max speed i get is 30kbps. 218.111.5. XXX here

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 25 2009, 05:37 PM
andrew9292
post Jun 28 2009, 10:00 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

218.111 slow tonight.... has been inconsistent for the past few days.

i'm gonna start collecting data and when the time comes i'll shoot TM in the ass again, they seem not to learn at all

their DNS seems to be very very slow, even using OpenDNS with about 240ms latency to OpenDNS's DNS... it is still much faster than TM.

what kind of nonsense is this, TM is one of the biggest Telecommunications company in South East Asia, yet even a simple part of internet infra which is a DNS they can fumble upon. Damn lowyat.net needs more attention internationally, let the world see what we get with a stupid company runned my "Monkeys and Mat-Rempits"

u know what i mean by mat rempits rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 28 2009, 10:07 PM
andrew9292
post Jul 5 2009, 11:10 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

youtube starting to buffer...
andrew9292
post Jul 6 2009, 09:47 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

i got new ip block 218.111.0, usually i get 218.111.4/5

i dont know what you guys mean by DC, as in DSL light blinking or just account DC. mine is...sometimes load a page no response for a while, then refresh a few times its back to normal. MSN send message also, cant deliver few times, then resend after 20 sec ok de. happens randomly

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jul 6 2009, 09:47 PM
andrew9292
post Jul 8 2009, 06:17 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Guys, the problem is lying with their DNS, i've run 25 ping requests to TM's primary DNS and there is 24% loss.

Please visit the Pinned Thread "Fix Streamyx DNS Issues" at Broadband User-2-User's main page on how to change your DNS.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Andrew>ping 202.188.0.133 -n 25

Pinging 202.188.0.133 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Reply from 202.188.0.133: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=247
Request timed out.