9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Nokia N82 Thread V7- Owners See Post 7 (Pg 1), V35 is the latest but not much different

cute_boboi
post May 30 2009, 09:24 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Another testing. This morning I browse on HSDPA for about 5 min. The battery compartment is quite warm. More warm than I browse using the original 1050mAh.
cute_boboi
post May 30 2009, 11:47 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I don't know why my battery is contradictory to all of you. The reasons I can think:
1) May need several discharge/charge cycle
2) Battery problem
3) My N82 problem
4) User problem laugh.gif
cute_boboi
post May 31 2009, 12:14 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 31 2009, 12:07 AM)
Buddy, how many times have u discharged your phone?? It is more accurate to charge and discharge your phone several times before the battery can show its best performance...Waiting for your review next time... tongue.gif
Thu - start using, discharge
Fri - first time full charge
Fri, Sat - discharge, 8pm = 4 bars.
Sun - still discharge. 12am = 3 bars.

I really hope after several cycle of discharge/charge, the performance will improve.
cute_boboi
post May 31 2009, 06:30 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ May 31 2009, 07:43 AM)
Guys... i not sure is my N82 problem or the memory card problem, i have do hard reset my n82 ad then update the software of N82, now i trying open the Nokia Maps 3.0, it will always pop up the message said that dun have enough memory to start the application, but  i have follow the step which is delete the folder"Cities" and QF file, but it still pop up the same message, i have to hard reset n update it again, dunno how many time i repeat the same thing, it still pop up the message when i try to open Maps 3.0, please help me guys....  notworthy.gif
Try install Jbak Taskman (freeware) and look at all the apps and hidden-apps running in background. Try to close/kill all and try with Nokia Maps again. I do encounter Out of Memory from time to time and after reboot, the app works fine.

Take note N82 has:
[C:] 128MB ROM - install apps, etc. Also known as Phone Memory.
[D:] 128MB RAM - memory like PC RAM.
[E:] Memory Card - micro-SDHC

Out of Memory means C: or D:
Nothing to do with E: Memory Card, unless your memory card really runs of of disk space or has problem

QUOTE(AceCombat @ May 31 2009, 10:23 AM)
wah,got negative comment liao but it's nice to see at least we can know how good the battery can perform.
but,for my usage,my battery is not yet that weak like cutey koko describe wor,and for the packaing issue,i'll ask my friend and see whether can have one to one exchange for u or not,is it ok? brows.gif
Thanks for the offer. Let me try full discharge and charge several more times. The battery last till about 1pm (Sun) just now. Total about 51 hours. Then I do a 2nd full charge just now with the phone switched off. 3PM (Sun) I switch it on again. Now monitoring.

I repost the full details below. Daily usage:
1) Browse online using phone only about 10 minutes a day. Average can say 5 min on GSM (GPRS/EDGE), 5 min on UMTS (HSDPA 3.5G)
2) 20-30 SMS a day
3) Browse phone for fun, gallery, etc. about 10 minutes a day.
4) Connect to PC to install apps, move files, etc. about 5 minutes average
5) Daily calls about 10 minutes average.
6) Maxis line, always on GSM only.

As you can see above, is not really heavy usage. No music, no frequent flash/photos, no games nowadays. I mainly use it for calls, sms and online. For the past several months, I have switch back to use the default Nokia 2GB micro-SDHC card. Also, I am in same location, same signal strength/weakness, i.e. environment and the rest is similiar for testing comparison.

With the above usage (x2 for about 2 days usage), the original (Zitron) 1050mAh battery can last me about 40-50 hours average. That is a 1 yr old battery, which is charged 5-6 times a week for the past >12 months.

SunGlobal first discharge/charge cycle, the 1800mAh has the same performance of 51 hours. Based on my own mAh calculation with some allowance on lower grade material compared to Nokia OEM, I am expecting a 30-50% increase only. Not 71% increase [1800-1050]/1050 x 100%
Therefore, I am expecting a performance of at least 65-70 hours, give and take a bit.

Anyway, let me continue monitoring and will feedback here.

QUOTE(tun @ May 31 2009, 11:18 AM)
how to take indoor picture with n82 ?
i went to a mini concert in hall
mostly the picture or video not really clear
what mod should i choose ?
The puny Xenon flash on N82 and other digital camera is useless for distance >5m away. There is an article I read previously, you always see ppl in stadium, concert, etc. at night using flash to take pictures from TV (e.g. opening/closing ceremony). It is rather pointless to activate the flash.

Even with those external mounted flash on SLR/DSLR, it is only good up to maybe 10-30m only.

The proper way is to disable flash, enable night mode and have very steady hands. Also, preferably the subject is not moving.

To take proper pictures at night, the best is to use SLR/DSLR, where you can play with the aperture/f-stop (f2.8, f5.6, f11, etc), shutter-speed (1/30, 1/125 , 1/500 , etc.) and steady hands. You need to balance the aperture and shutter speed to take great picture.

N82 + Xenon is only good for near (<5m) pictures and preferably fixed objects at night. Same with other small/slim digital camera.

cute_boboi
post Jun 1 2009, 10:23 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Sun 3pm [0 hrs] - Full charge
Mon 10am [19 hrs] - Drop 1 bar sweat.gif
cute_boboi
post Jun 1 2009, 04:08 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Jun 1 2009, 03:22 PM)
class 2 and class 6 is no different speed if u using in PHONE.. however, if u use at computer.. then oni have the different speed between class 6 and class 2. correct me if im wrong.  smile.gif
Yes, you are right. I have posted (a few times) a link somewhere in N82 V4, 5, 6 thread. Lazy to search out again.
cute_boboi
post Jun 2 2009, 10:57 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Update: 2nd full discharge update on my Sun Global 1800mAh battery.

Sun 3pm finish full charge
Tue 11am totally finish.

2nd discharge = 44 hours only

1st discharge = 51 hours

Results: Not good. Similiar performance like my original 1050mAh.
cute_boboi
post Jun 2 2009, 02:49 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(li-ion65 @ Jun 2 2009, 01:20 PM)
shake to read sms,music?
wahh...sound great....using accelerator?
Need to install 3rd party applications. Google for Shake SMS.

Added on June 2, 2009, 2:59 pm
QUOTE(5zal06 @ Jun 2 2009, 12:54 PM)
how much did i get i get if i sell this nokia n82 phone ar?
i buy at early this year price 1250

im not really like this phone,nothing good i can do except,msj,call like old phone
my version is v30..nothing can do with that version,dunno how to update
N82 is like a traditional or more serious/business type of phone. N82 is a wrong choice if you are looking for a music phone. I strongly suggest to get 58000XM.

For gaming, movies, etc. N82 2.4" screen is not good, compared to others with 2.6", 2.8", etc.

To upgrade, you can do your own. PC with WinXP.
- Download Nokia Software Updater (NSU)
- Install
- Plug N82 (or any Nokia h/p) into PC using USB cable (better than BT)
- Run NSU and follow the instructions

the phone sometimes lag,when disconnect the call
the only good things i found in this phone was
the
camera-not bad but sometimes blur
music- i like the left and right speaker thingy,and wide speaker
Comparing within Nokia or Symbian S60v3, I would say N82 is one of the fastest around. Maybe N97 will be faster with 400MHz+

Camera wise, among h/p (not Japanese ones), it is one of the best. Problem is mostly due to hand shake or too high expectation from a simple point and shoot camera. I'm disappointed with N82 pictures also if compared to my pro-sumer camera.

the bad
the wifi is damn slow
camera sometimes not functioning properly,after capture a picture sometimes it ask to delete but sometimes it just save the picture
sometimes laggy
not many good game,the only game i enjoyed was assasin creed
hard to txt msj
the battery last for 3-4 days only..not good and im not really use this phone to hear music,should had last for 1 week
To me, WiFi is not slow. It depends on the WiFi line is congested or not. However, to compare loading times with a laptop, is of course no match.

Your camera picture not deleted, I think something wrong with firmware, phone, memory card or something. Anyone encounter this ?

Games = no comment, depend on individual type of preference. I like simple games or brain/IQ games on h/p. Anything more complex, I play PS3.

Battery wise, is really a disappointment, whether original higher mAh. Last 1 week ? laugh.gif Get back the old N3310. No way a Nokia with 16M colours can last >3-4 days on average.

i know that this phone can shake to read sms,music but dunno how and i don't think my version let me do that
This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jun 2 2009, 02:59 PM
cute_boboi
post Jun 2 2009, 05:00 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Jun 2 2009, 04:39 PM)
Well, i dont think N82 is slow...If u say N82 is slow then indirectly u are saying majority of the Nokia phones very slow!! (Since N82 faster than lots of nokia phones ) ... The camera is superb!! How can u say that it is awful?? ZZ...
Some phones are just not for every type of person. Some may prefer multimedia phones like 5800XM. Some prefer sliding like N95. Some prefer cover flip-phones.

Some prefer SE, moto, LG, samsung, etc. phones, features, menu, etc.

For now, the only phone to upgrade for me is N97.
cute_boboi
post Jun 3 2009, 04:16 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jun 3 2009, 04:04 PM)
found a 2nd hand N82 selling RM600 + 2gb mem card...

used for 1 year+
no scratches

worth or not?
Yes. Where ?
cute_boboi
post Jun 4 2009, 05:04 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Update: 3rd full discharge on my Sun Global 1800mAh battery.

Tue 1pm full charge
Thu 4pm full discharge

3rd discharge = 51 hours (note: less usage than previous)

Results: still same. not good.

1st discharge = 51 hours

cute_boboi
post Jun 5 2009, 01:25 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Jun 4 2009, 07:21 PM)
Seems like not very good huh?

My original battery, use for a day, for 10mins of music, 10-20 random camera shot(no flash) and 30 mins of wifi usage, only less than 50% left. Means must charge because the next day before I go out, it must have left less than 40%. Is this normal? I guess the wifi is draining the batteery very quickly.

Compare to my K800i, with the same usage but without wifi, still have at least 70% which can last at least another day.
WiFi is not that power hungry. The drainer is LCD constant on with backlight while you are browsing. I estimate constant on LCD (no hack brightness) will finish drain a fully charge battery in 3-5 hours.

1) How old is your battery ?
2) Authorised/AP set battery ?

cute_boboi
post Jun 5 2009, 05:54 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Weird, you guys can last >70hrs+

Do you guys leave it on 24 hrs a day ? Or switch off sometimes ?
cute_boboi
post Jun 6 2009, 12:42 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Maybe is the cause that eat up more battery ? hmm.gif
Mine is default brightness -> in the middle.

But anyhow, is the same settings to compare the 1050mAh and 1800mAh battery. My expectation is just 30-50% longer, not 80% longer. Somehow, it is just 1% longer rclxub.gif
cute_boboi
post Jun 7 2009, 08:53 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Jun 6 2009, 02:44 PM)
Anyone knwo where can I get oen of this?

I saw at my area morning wet market. Got h/p accessories seller there where I used to buy the crystal case smile.gif

Added on June 7, 2009, 8:54 pm
QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jun 6 2009, 06:52 PM)
is it the N82 using a independent GPS antena not sharing with phone antena?
Yes, N82 GPS antenna is on top, i.e. at the back, above the camera.

The GSM antenna is at the bottom, somewhere behind the D-pad. WiFi antenna is also here.

Added on June 7, 2009, 8:55 pm
QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Jun 6 2009, 08:01 PM)
hei guys .. need help with my gps

i've uploaded a new map into my garmin folder.

however now every place i search all the names are in short form ?

help plz
I think you download the wrong map. You download the map for normal Garmin or Garmin Mobile. Not Garmin Mobile XT.

Search for the GMXT map.

Added on June 7, 2009, 8:56 pm
QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Jun 7 2009, 03:16 AM)
u using ori batt?
mine gsm oni
digi no nid set dual laugh.gif
even if ori batt oso sound abit faulty to me
because i try before low batt can low for around 5 hours before shutting off
but tat time my batt was a month old rolleyes.gif
My current new 1800mAh low battery 1 bar... last me 7 hrs. But of course, no calls and just 1-2 sms only.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jun 7 2009, 08:56 PM
cute_boboi
post Jun 7 2009, 09:01 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Update: 4th full discharge on my Sun Global 1800mAh battery.

Thu 6pm full charge
Sun 7am - left 1 bar. Low battery warning.
Sun 2pm full discharge

4th discharge = 68 hours (note: even less usage than 3rd discharge)

1st discharge = 51 hours

Comment: For new battery, the low-battery can last longer. With very low usage, seems like the battery can reach 60 hours. Need to monitor further.

Note: 99% on GSM (not UMTS)
cute_boboi
post Jun 8 2009, 10:06 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Jun 7 2009, 11:32 PM)
guys. my DNA 8gb going die soon.. coz many of my files unable to read and many folder are " CORRUPTED " any method to solve ? p/s DNA offer LIFE TIME WARRANTY ~
1) Plug into PC as USB (not PC Suite). Preferably use USB card reader.
2) Do a scandisk and recovery (if possible)
3) Backup all and try to format in PC.

999) Claim the life-time warranty

cute_boboi
post Jun 9 2009, 11:54 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

N82 xenon flash still power !

Nokia N97 Q&A

How powerful is the flash? You have an N82, can you test them side by side? Could you say it's 50% as effective or... something else proportionate?

Dual LED is still only about 20% the brightness of Xenon for an average pub/club shot, and Xenon freezes action 100x better. rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Jun 9 2009, 10:45 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(MiN_SAHC @ Jun 9 2009, 10:32 PM)
Guyz.. really need help here.. Reinstall firmware also doens't help..
If after reset to factory default, WiFi also not working, can only mean:
1) Faulty WiFi or some board. Replace or claim warranty doh.gif
2) User problem. Try ask friends or tech people to help troubleshoot and configure the WiFi. If still not working, refer #1. sweat.gif
3) No WiFi, cause is Nokla N82. Unlikely ? laugh.gif
cute_boboi
post Jun 10 2009, 11:16 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Update: 5th full discharge on my Sun Global 1800mAh battery.

Sun 2pm full discharge
Tue 11pm - left 1 bar. Low battery warning.
Wed 4am full discharge

5th discharge = 62 hours (normal usage, but final 1 bar test to maximum ~6 hours)

4th discharge = 68 hours (note: even less usage than 3rd discharge)
1st discharge = 51 hours

Comment: For new battery, the low-battery can last longer. With very low usage, seems like the battery can reach 60 hours. Need to monitor further.

Note: 99% on GSM (not UMTS)

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:51 AM