Nokia N82 Thread V7- Owners See Post 7 (Pg 1), V35 is the latest but not much different

The Punisher
post Jun 27 2009, 01:45 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(bsb85my @ Jun 24 2009, 10:31 PM)
you nid to install the "ahem" version of Xplore only can modify those files.
I've installed the "ahem" version alrdy & now I can go a bit further that I can see the Private & Resource folders, can expand the folders inside them but still cannot copy files into them. How leh?
The Punisher
post Jul 3 2009, 11:18 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(unipati @ Jul 2 2009, 09:34 PM)
Hi guys,
I missed my Nokia 3310 preloaded ringtones.
How to transfer them to N82?
  cool2.gif
Go to Zedge.com & search for them wink.gif

QUOTE(madara001 @ Jul 3 2009, 10:54 AM)
Hello guy,

I've targeting for N82 as my first phone after secure my first job. But, after reading some comments in this forum, I'm convince that the battery life is one of major con for this phone.

Is there any ways to increase the battery life? or is there any thread i can refer to?

TQ
PM the user AceCombat to place ur order for the battery. Supposedly can last for up to 3 days under normal usage per charge. I plan to buy too when my ori battery dies.

This post has been edited by The Punisher: Jul 3 2009, 11:21 AM
The Punisher
post Jul 5 2009, 03:13 PM

111 posts

Was trying different torchlight apps yesterday & crashed my mem card. Totally cannot start the phone without removing the card (16GB SanDisk). Be careful of installing Best Torch v1.0, MobileTorch & NiceLight together. I suspect it was caused by installing MobileTorch coz thats the third of the 3 apps I installed to test test the brightness levels & usability before the phone auto restart then cannot power on back.

If any of u are interested in any of the torchlight apps then my findings are that Best Torch is most user friendly & the only one of the 3 that u can assign a hotkey to (besides N82's default hotkeys) though the "only" key that I was able to assign it to was the right side Gallery key. All other keys got error when tried to assign. Con of Best Torch is that the brightness is the lowest as it just displayed a white background & didn't auto max the screen's brightness level. NiceLight & MobileTorch on the other hand has good bright white screens but both aren't able to assign hotkeys & thus u have to open it like any normal app unless u can sacrifice on of ur default hotkeys for it.

Reformatted mem card coz of corruption & now figuring out how to install Garmin Mobile XT. So many steps to take for the "ahem" ver but still trying to get it working properly. After reformat my video playback on SmartMovie oso seems a bit more laggy, dunno y =/

This post has been edited by The Punisher: Jul 5 2009, 03:24 PM
The Punisher
post Jul 5 2009, 06:05 PM

111 posts

No at least not for me. But if u have h**ked ur phone to install unsigned apps then u r going to run into crappy apps that screw up ur phone. Best bet for u right now is to remember what apps u installed prior to this problem occurring & uninstall them. Post those apps names here so other don't fall into the same situation.
The Punisher
post Jul 9 2009, 04:31 PM

111 posts

For me my bath music comes from my trusty Creative ZEN Stone Plus wink.gif Anyway, my usage in no particular order;

1. Calls & texting
2. Garmin
3. Video playback - gotta do something when waiting for LRT right? wink.gif
4. Camera - still pics only
5. Reminders - birthdays, collect laundry, etc.
6. Daily wake up alarm
7. Backup music player when ZEN power flat XD

Number 1 source of rapid battery discharge award goes to *drumroll* file transfer via USB cable for apps & videos.
The Punisher
post Jul 10 2009, 10:46 AM

111 posts

My current & only theme is called Black 01. Its just an all black background so my wallpapers look nicer. Too bad the N82 has a screen resolution of 240x320 but wallpapers can't display at that resolution, only 240x240 is viewable =/ And of course u'll also need some third party software to display caller pics in full screen if not its only a tiny thumbnail XD
The Punisher
post Jul 12 2009, 12:49 PM

111 posts

I'm having a blast using Garmin that even a simple trip to the rice stall is an occasion to use GPS Lolz One question though for all the Garmin gurus of LYN, is there a way to add custom POI icons (a.k.a symbols)? This is so I can have for example KFC & McD icons instead of the standard fork & knife icons for restaurants? If there is a way, then do I have to manually update each KFC & McD icon with the new one or is it change one = change all?

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Jul 11 2009, 03:55 AM)
new n82 user reporting in tongue.gif
just bought this phone last week.damn syiok  tongue.gif

Then I welcome u to our little N82 users thread.

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Jul 11 2009, 03:55 AM)
btw,how to remove quickoffice application in this phone?
edy googling around but still no solution sweat.gif
now im using office suite
AFAIK, u can't remove default software that comes with ur phone. Meaning software that is factory installed & will still be there even if u hard reset/format ur phone to default settings. But since default software is installed into phone memory this mean it "doesn't" affect ur card memory capacity even if u find a way to delete/uninstall them. One trick that I use is to move all the unused software icons into a folder & move said folder to the bottom of the menu/list. Just create a new folder with any name (mine is called "Unused") & simply move all the unused icons there via the Move To Folder command by pressing the Left soft key. I hope this helps wink.gif

EDITED: "mean it does effect ur card memory" to "doesn't affect". Sry for typo.

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Jul 12 2009, 12:22 PM)
why if record video menegak,then watch video at the phone and pc will be mendatar
but if record mendatar,the video will be menegak?

can change?
My BM is a bit cacat but I'm assuming u meant Landscape & Portrait views. What I do to solve this issue is simply disable screen auto rotate. Go to Tools \ Settings \ General \ Personalisation \ Display \ Rotate Screen & set it to off.

This post has been edited by The Punisher: Jul 13 2009, 11:05 AM
The Punisher
post Jul 13 2009, 11:15 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Jul 12 2009, 08:12 PM)
i already set it off long time ago
quite annoying ,

urm,its when i was recording a video
if record menegak ,then watch at phone,the video will look like mendatar unless u watch in full screen
if record mendatar,it will opposite.can watch as menegak in phone
Hmmm.... u use the default player to view ur recordings? Have u tried using other third party softwares like CorePlayer or SmartMovie? Those can pre-assign the default viewing modes to only Landscape or only Portrait. Seriously though I think the default software package for multimedia included with the N82 is really too basic & to some extent insufficient. Both the Flash & Real Media players though can do most .FLV & .MPG playbacks without problems but it doesn't have Fast Forward nor Rewind functions. Real Player also doesn't support some types of MP4 video formats too.

EDIT: In case my earlier query was confusing let me modify it a bit here.

Is there a way to add custom POI icons (a.k.a symbols)? This is so I can have more to choose from when adding My Locations instead of just default icons/symbols. For example a custom icon for my favorite roadside nasi lemak stall or economy rice stall other than the standard fork & knife icon?

This post has been edited by The Punisher: Jul 13 2009, 04:20 PM
The Punisher
post Jul 13 2009, 04:38 PM

111 posts

U mean its not a problem of orientation but the actual video looks either too stretched or too narrow?

I've just noticed 1 thing though, when I'm recording video the red light next to the flash is constantly on. Is that normal? Coz its a kinda sucky to record shiny things coz it'll reflect the red light =/

This post has been edited by The Punisher: Jul 13 2009, 05:06 PM
The Punisher
post Jul 13 2009, 05:08 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Eve2211 @ Jul 13 2009, 04:55 PM)
Yes, it's normal, red light will consistently be on throughout the entire video recording procedure. So far I have not discover any bypass to disable that red light, but then again the easiest to do is just find something to cover the red light if that irritates you so much.
I read on other sites about the red light issue & it seems that its a sorta "security" feature so other people know that u r recording video in their direction. Its tied to the Asian firmware version of the N82 like the camera shutter sound issue. The only way is to block the light using either some kinda sticky tape thats thick enough to block it or if u're the adventurous type u could dismantle ur phone & remove the red led from the circuit board which will promptly void any warranty that u might still have XD Some mentioned that the camera's auto focus function is dependent on the red light but personally I think thats a load of crap.

This post has been edited by The Punisher: Jul 13 2009, 05:47 PM
The Punisher
post Jul 13 2009, 06:21 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 13 2009, 05:45 PM)
Agree with you. I covered the red light with 1-2mm of black non-transparent material, then cover the entire flash with blu-tack. No more red light. I can still take normal portrait (near), landscape (far), and macro (<30cm) pictures without flash. But very troublesome to remove the coverings if want to use flash.

I may be tempted to dismantle the red light.
I think I'll just place a finger over the damn thing until stop recording. Fast & easy way to solve the damned problem. Primitive but effective none the less wink.gif
The Punisher
post Jul 14 2009, 12:07 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 14 2009, 10:51 AM)
Doesn't work for me. The red light is very bright and goes through my finger. Then the red light is dispersed and the camera will capture a red tinge in the videos or pictures.  doh.gif
I'm my trial recordings is "seems" okay lah sweat.gif Ur finger is too small is it so the light goes all the way through? blink.gif Actually does the red light have any significant function that without it might affect the camera's performance? I'm currently experimenting with black electrical tape over it (double layer) & it blocks 99% of the light though covering the flash slightly was necessary to block off the residual red light that refracts through the clear plastic cover of the flash.

In case y'all are wondering, yes those are scratches on my flash & part of the rim of the flash also damaged a bit coz dropped my phone. Luckily camera dust cover no damage.

This post has been edited by The Punisher: Jul 14 2009, 12:12 PM
The Punisher
post Jul 14 2009, 12:42 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 14 2009, 12:24 PM)
Drop until the scratch the flash ?  shocking.gif
Yeah. Put on lap then get out of car & forgot it still on lap. U know the rest of the story lah. Sakit hati cry.gif lucky it behind & not the front screen ler sweat.gif

This post has been edited by The Punisher: Jul 15 2009, 05:10 PM
The Punisher
post Jul 15 2009, 05:13 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Jul 15 2009, 01:22 AM)
red light led is to help focusing on low light

if u guys dont like the red light..

use liquid paper to block it mah
Crazy fellow use liquid paper doh.gif even if u did use it do u realize how thick u have to apply to block the light? rclxub.gif

EDIT: Some news regarding the recent GPS problems I & many others were experiencing & still am today.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/worldnews/...ht-trouble.html

http://www.physorg.com/news162133400.html

This post has been edited by The Punisher: Jul 15 2009, 06:06 PM
The Punisher
post Jul 15 2009, 07:55 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 15 2009, 06:43 PM)
4) Soundwave attacking satellites (Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen)
Yes that must be it!!! We are DOOMED!!! Sound the alarms!!! Prepare for the Apocalypse!!!
The Punisher
post Jul 20 2009, 01:55 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Jul 19 2009, 09:17 AM)
seriously, this phone dries battery much?
i would get those stuff when i own this phone.
My ori battery at 6 bar (full charge = 7 bar) after on GPS for 2.5 hr will flatline (1 bar left) & can't receive calls anymore coz phone will auto shutdown.

QUOTE(mdlan @ Jul 19 2009, 01:33 PM)
anyone use 8GB Micro SD here...?
wat brand..?
is that laggy...?
wanted to buy one..but dunno with one is better
I'm using 16GB SanDisk class 2 card. Bought from Low Yat @ RM168 from StarTec Computer Systems. If u use 8GB then u can find class 4 card for faster performance. Its the same as PC memory, the higher the capacity means the slower the performance which is why PC memory have to use dual channel to compensate.

user posted image user posted image

QUOTE(mdlan @ Jul 20 2009, 01:33 PM)
wat the diffrent between MicroSD and MicroSDHC ...? both can be used on n82?
MicroSD is older spec which is v1.x & MicroSDHC (Secure Digital High Capacity) is v2.0 & higher. All >8GB cards and maybe some 4GB ones, are SDHC spec models. Think of it like USB v1.x & USB v2.0 on ur PC.

This post has been edited by The Punisher: Jul 20 2009, 02:32 PM
The Punisher
post Jul 20 2009, 04:06 PM

111 posts

N82 will get hot doing almost anything that "constantly" uses the screen backlight such as GPS navigation. Though it might not necessarily by caused by the screen backlight itself, the heat is mainly felt from the battery, at least for me it is.
The Punisher
post Jul 20 2009, 06:11 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Jul 20 2009, 04:58 PM)
Ok thanks. Do you know how to differenciate between ori and fake?
I oso dunno. U'll just have to get ur feet wet & choose a reseller to trust.
The Punisher
post Jul 21 2009, 02:46 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Jul 21 2009, 11:18 AM)
off topic question:

anybody knows any seller in LYN selling laptop adapters?
pls pm me
urgent thx
I saw a shop (those small corner shop not the big full size ones) selling lappy accessories including what looked like second hand power adapters while I was shopping for my 16GB mem card. If I remember correctly its the same floor as Sri Computer or the one above it.

This post has been edited by The Punisher: Jul 21 2009, 02:47 PM
The Punisher
post Jul 22 2009, 03:07 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Tanakwagu_noh @ Jul 22 2009, 07:09 AM)
any lagging kevin?
I dunno if its just me but I "feel" like its a bit slower when opening apps loh but I nvr really benchmark & time it with stop watch ler between the ori card & the Sandisk. I dunno what class is the Nokia ori 2GB since it isn't printed on the card but as a general rule of thumb is bigger mem means slower mem card just like PC mem.

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Jul 22 2009, 08:35 AM)
laptop power adapter
dell inspiron 6400
not mine actually..my fren
err..thx but im not stationed in KL
i nid sellers in LYN not LYP
thx neway wink.gif
Oic... like that then u have to wait see if anybody here is working in LYP then they can help u buy & then courier/post laju it to u loh if u not from KL wink.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0426sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:24 AM