Number of SPM Subjects to be Limited, What say you?

TStanjinjack
post May 21 2009, 11:27 PM, updated 17y ago

4,122 posts

I saw the news just now, and feel to seek opinions of fellow forumers here about the issue.

It's said to ensure a more uniform and fair distribution for JPA scholarship, number of subjects to be taken in SPM are to be limited.
Personally, I feel that this is not an effective measure to meet their goal, but instead, a measure to allow them avoid some problems that arise this year.

If everyone is limited to 10 subjects let say, there will be no those super excellent 16A1, 18A1 students. Then they can be rest assured that those kind of students cannot make noise even if they are of that materials. In the end, we might see that more Malays where they usually take less subjects get the scholarship, in a more nice manner, because the Chinese just got the same A1s with them.

And I feel that there is no way that students should get limited in pursuing knowledge. Okay, you may argue that no exam also can self study what. But just self study can't tell you how good are you in that specific knowledge. If you are interested in Accounts, surely you wish to get judged externally about your skill in the knowledge you are interested in. Furthermore, with an exam ahead, it ensures that candidates will determinedly study well for it. If now we all are limited in taking the subjects, then we can't explore more knowledge. Is that what we should be doing as a student?
NO!

I really that this is a way that the government wants to do to make non-Bumi to get scholarships as they would slice off the advantages of Chinese who usually take more subjects, and hence a more beautiful result.

This way won't work. It's even better that you have a stricter marking system, or perhaps introducing the tedious Ranking system like what done for the Year 12 in Australia. That would ensure who is better, who is not, who is more fit to get the scholarship and who is unfit, as long as the really excellent students can stand out.
bgeh
post May 21 2009, 11:34 PM

1,814 posts

I'll ask the following question: What degree would actually use the 16 subjects or whatever number of subjects in the SPM examination?

[in the context that you used, that more As somehow imply that a student is a better choice for some degree when it comes to JPA selection]

This post has been edited by bgeh: May 21 2009, 11:36 PM
nelsonyap48
post May 21 2009, 11:43 PM

84paynoslen
600 posts

i would say 12 subjects is more than enough........
TStanjinjack
post May 21 2009, 11:46 PM

4,122 posts

Of course no degree requires the 16 subjects.
But it makes no sense to prohibit students from learning more.

Well, perhaps a system where they only look for specific subjects.
For instance, medicine will look at Biology, Chemistry, Maths, Add Maths English, Malay, Moral ONLY, Engineering Physics, Maths, English, Malay, Moral ONLY, Economics look at Economics, Accounts, Maths ONLY etc.
JPA has just set a minimum requirement for something like that. But who knows what's happening inside JPA?
Wouldn't looking specifically a better measure than limiting subjects to be taken?
I am doing a general education, not a specific knowledge of study.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 21 2009, 11:47 PM
avenger
post May 21 2009, 11:49 PM

What is there to put here?
1,467 posts

actually lesser subjects is better. the student can have more life instead of studying only.
bgeh
post May 21 2009, 11:49 PM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ May 21 2009, 11:46 PM)
Of course no degree requires the 16 subjects.
But it makes no sense to prohibit students from learning more.

Well, perhaps a system where they only look for specific subjects.
For instance, medicine will look at Biology, Chemistry, Maths, Add Maths English, Malay, Moral ONLY, Engineering Physics, Maths, English, Malay, Moral ONLY, Economics look at Economics, Accounts, Maths ONLY etc.
JPA has just set a minimum requirement for something like that. But who knows what's happening inside JPA?
Wouldn't looking specifically a better measure than limiting subjects to be taken?
I am doing a general education, not a specific knowledge of study.
Then you have the same issue, that if 2 candidates get A1s for your subjects listed there, but then one gets 16A1 and the other 'just' 7A1, you still get the same outcry. Doesn't solve the problem.

[Note: I'd be much happier if they actually decided to publish the selection criteria beforehand when applications are opened. The opaqueness is pissing plenty of people off]
Leto Kynes
post May 21 2009, 11:50 PM

823 posts

Why don't they make the scoring standards higher? That way less people get good grades.. tongue.gif
chungdavi
post May 21 2009, 11:53 PM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

Hmm.......

I took 12 subjects and I think it's fine........

I think choosing how many subjects to take is a student's own choice.......if he/she thinks can handle it.....go ahead.......

Probably they should just say, choose certain number of subjects among all you have took, to apply.......
CuteSanSan
post May 21 2009, 11:54 PM

Dream
1,398 posts

11 subjects is enough n 12 subjects is more than enough for me..u r nt gonna apply all da 16 subjects in ur daily life nor ur work isn't it? so wad for tk so many subjects
TStanjinjack
post May 21 2009, 11:55 PM

4,122 posts

Ya lo.
That's why my suggestion is to have a stricter marking or a ranking system la..
Or they can have a very nice division for the grades, like..
A+ for >90
A for 80-89
A- for 75-89
B+ for 70-74 and so on..

Australia has them divided for 20 grades, starting from highest 95-100 A20, 90-94 A19 etc.
That at least shows who gets a better A.

Added on May 21, 2009, 11:58 pm
QUOTE(chungdavi @ May 21 2009, 11:53 PM)
Hmm.......

I took 12 subjects and I think it's fine........

I think choosing how many subjects to take is a student's own choice.......if he/she thinks can handle it.....go ahead.......

Probably they should just say, choose certain number of subjects among all you have took, to apply.......
Everyone would just put in everything they have, isn't it?
And you can't ask people to choose subjects to take for SPM because of JPA right?
SPM is NOT for JPA only, but JPA sees SPM only.

QUOTE(CuteSanSan @ May 21 2009, 11:54 PM)
11 subjects is enough n 12 subjects is more than enough for me..u r nt gonna apply all da 16 subjects in ur daily life nor ur work isn't it? so wad for tk so many subjects
But it doesn't hurt if you want to learn more right?
I mean, you now make students want to learn more also cannot, then what is the purpose of you all delivering education?

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 21 2009, 11:58 PM
CuteSanSan
post May 22 2009, 12:00 AM

Dream
1,398 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ May 21 2009, 11:55 PM)
Ya lo.
A+ for >90
A for 80-89
A- for 75-89
B+ for 70-74 and so on..

Australia has them divided for 20 grades, starting from highest 95-100 A20, 90-94 A19 etc.

And you can't ask people to choose subjects to take for SPM because of JPA right?
I mean, you now make students want to learn more also cannot, then what is the purpose of you all delivering education?
goverment should not pamper the students..life is not that ez !

This post has been edited by CuteSanSan: May 22 2009, 12:01 AM
solstice818
post May 22 2009, 12:01 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Leto Kynes @ May 21 2009, 11:50 PM)
Why don't they make the scoring standards higher? That way less people get good grades.. tongue.gif
Exactly.Back in my days, even those who NEVER PASS add maths exam can get C/D in SPM...

The marking standard is pretty low...I'm not sure why.
CuteSanSan
post May 22 2009, 12:02 AM

Dream
1,398 posts

Ya lo.
A+ for >90
A for 80-89
A- for 75-89
B+ for 70-74 and so on..

nth wrong to learn mor..it's gd to learn mor..bt there should b a purpose of learning something..if it's merely a paper chase den wads the point?

This post has been edited by CuteSanSan: May 22 2009, 12:05 AM
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:11 AM

4,122 posts

For me, last time, initially it's really that want to get more A to take Accounts. But eventually, I feel that it's fun, although I didn't pursue a career for it though.
I also take Chinese because I have learned it formally for 11 years.
I took Art because I have interest in it and have learned for more than 10 years as well.
I even want to take Chinese Literature due to pure interest but I find myself unable to cope and hence give out that one.

Well, if such limit were to be imposed on me, then die lo me..
Either cannot pursue mother tongue, or personal interest liao lo..
what to do?

So, how can limit?
temptation1314
post May 22 2009, 12:12 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

purpose?
Eh what? I thought the purpose of learning something is already "obviously stated" in the sentence itself.

LEARN.

Just that easy.
Some people don't like to take so much subjects in their exams.
That doesn't mean that they are allowed to curse those who just wanted to learn more.

If you are seeking "WHY" we learn so much for. Let me tell you something, I don't even use those complicated formula in the bloody add mathematics subjects since the first day I work, so why I need to take the subject for?
CuteSanSan
post May 22 2009, 12:13 AM

Dream
1,398 posts

minimum is 9 subjects normaly..so chinese..art..chinese literature..12 subjects..ngam2 la bro
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:18 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ May 22 2009, 12:12 AM)
purpose?
Eh what? I thought the purpose of learning something is already "obviously stated" in the sentence itself.

LEARN.

Just that easy.
Some people don't like to take so much subjects in their exams.
That doesn't mean that they are allowed to curse those who just wanted to learn more.

If you are seeking "WHY" we learn so much for. Let me tell you something, I don't even use those complicated formula in the bloody add mathematics subjects since the first day I work, so why I need to take the subject for?
Do you seek recognition in things you learn?
I believe you do, be it a recognition from a body or a person you respect.
I believe for academic learning, exam is the best way to show proof of your hardwork for the subjects.
So, we should be allow to learn more, and take more subjects in exam.

Well, I have not been using History or Biology for now, but I don't regret or feel useless for learning it.
"You shall regret for not learning it, but not for learning it."

QUOTE(CuteSanSan @ May 22 2009, 12:13 AM)
minimum is 9 subjects normaly..so chinese..art..chinese literature..12 subjects..ngam2 la bro
This is my case ma..
And I do not know what is the limit they are going to make.
Last time, I count I can make till 15, but do it for 12 eventually. LOL..
9+Chinese+Art+Accounts. Drop EST! Or else take Chinese Lit and General Science, I can make it a 15 leh..
I even thought of taking Music leh but too bad I can't do it because my school cannot offer.

Added on May 22, 2009, 12:21 amBut it's truth la..
people usually take more subjects to get more As, instead of interest.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 22 2009, 12:21 AM
CuteSanSan
post May 22 2009, 12:24 AM

Dream
1,398 posts

paper chase is good in some sense bt cnt overdo it rite? n it's quite tedious to study sooooooo many subjects.. "all study and no play makes jack a dull boy"
bgeh
post May 22 2009, 12:24 AM

1,814 posts

Would you be happier then if they let you take more than the limit, and tell you the results, but it won't appear in the certificate, and that bodies are expressly told that they cannot consider subjects which are not on the cert? That'll fix the problem

Because frankly I took extra subjects which I never enjoyed in SPM and I still wonder why I took them other than my parents pushing me to do it.

*I also must note that I disapprove strongly of your Malay/Chinese prescription again

This post has been edited by bgeh: May 22 2009, 12:27 AM
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:28 AM

4,122 posts

LOL..
But wouldn't getting a stricter marking system a more effective measure to determine scholarship distribution?
It's not about me, but everyone..
Well, never would it be about me also, passed my time liao..

Added on May 22, 2009, 12:35 amWhy must they choose the easiest method instead of a better method to solve a problem?

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 22 2009, 12:35 AM
bgeh
post May 22 2009, 12:59 AM

1,814 posts

Perhaps, but don't you think examinations are an extremely hit or miss approach to measure results? Making them harder might just mean one careless mistake might just screw things up further when it comes to a scholarship no matter how bright you are.
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 01:04 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(bgeh @ May 22 2009, 12:59 AM)
Perhaps, but don't you think examinations are an extremely hit or miss approach to measure results? Making them harder might just mean one careless mistake might just screw things up further when it comes to a scholarship no matter how bright you are.
Well, then can change the system to be less written exam based, perhaps some coursework components.
PEKA didn't contribute to final result last time right? They appear as different score, aren't they.
This requires a change in the education system itself, which I think won't happen in Malaysia so fast lo..
TSOM
post May 22 2009, 02:51 AM

2,145 posts

I think they shouldn't impose a limit. Instead, they should set up tests for scholarship applicants.

12 subjects is more than enough if they scrap off Moral education and EST, and probably history. History should be made as an elective course.
nelsonyap48
post May 22 2009, 03:13 AM

84paynoslen
600 posts

The limitation thing i think is a good move, if not the argument(jpa) will be brought up again and again.
limeuu
post May 22 2009, 04:36 AM

12,292 posts

if there is a REAL intention to cultivate a high quality education, and give scholarships to the best candidates, then the solution is relatively simple.......

make the spm exam marking more strict, and narrow the 1a band, or better still, substratify the a band..........

there is NO point taking so many subjects, but if one wants to, go ahead.....but ONLY the relevant core subjects will be looked at for scholarship applications.........that will immediately stop people from taking more than the necessary subjects just to get an advantage in scholarship application.........

but there is NO real or sincere wish to improve the system.......there is only the agenda of how to comply with the nep, in a 'meritocracy'.......hence the dumbing down of public exams, and flood the system with thousands of straight 1a's and thus allow subjective discretion into the selection process......
temptation1314
post May 22 2009, 07:55 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 22 2009, 04:36 AM)
.......hence the dumbing down of public exams, and flood the system with thousands of straight 1a's and thus allow subjective discretion into the selection process......
Seriously, I damn agreed with this.

"Those who deserved doesn't get theirs, and those who doesn't deserve, get theirs"
chungdavi
post May 22 2009, 08:14 AM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

What I'm trying to say is, no matter how many subjects you take.....

When you apply it, probably like you have to choose 8 of overall subjects to apply.......

So if you get 16A1 or what.....just apply with 8A1, doesn't make any difference when it comes to actual 8A1s students.......

Not a very appropriate way I would say, but at least students get the chance to take more subjects, and can sit for exam......

This post has been edited by chungdavi: May 22 2009, 08:14 AM
spitfire111
post May 22 2009, 08:23 AM

295 posts

personally, I think it should not be limited. They can take as much as they want but normally 9-12 should be enough.

btw, where's the news source. It would be better if you have the source.
kenixkenix
post May 22 2009, 09:48 AM

hai kawan kawan
571 posts

would prefer quality over quantity
DX007
post May 22 2009, 10:47 AM

242 posts

The origin of this arguement is when those 16A1 and 15A1 student cant obtain a scholarship.
and now those bodies try to solve the problem by introducing another problem,

i obtain 12 A1 in 2007,failed to obtain the JPA,
without a single strong reason from them..

then i forget about it,
finishing my a -level,with 4 As in my As,(merit schoalrship from college)
later get a profession,go out from this country,and will try my best not to come back..

as you can see,those bodies make those who can contribute to country move away from bolehland....
then alter they say not enough certain profession in out country...zz

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
limit or no limit,
just do ur best,if they limit it to 10,then just take 10As and see waht they say later,
dun be sad if u cant get those JPA,there is always a way for u.
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:08 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(spitfire111 @ May 22 2009, 08:23 AM)
personally, I think it should not be limited. They can take as much as they want but normally 9-12 should be enough.

btw, where's the news source. It would be better if you have the source.
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...9691&sec=nation
Today The Star Online headline. Guess they fed up with Perak thingy?

Alright, the article said 9, I thought it's 10.
9 subjects?

No way, Chinese students who take 3 Sciences will have no slots for their Chinese Language to take already and all Pure Sciences students will stick to the 9 subjects they take. Hey, no variation no exploration. Good thing?

Why must SPM get accommodated with JPA, not JPA accommodated with SPM?
Now the problem is at JPA? or SPM?
Even if problem is at SPM, limiting makes no sense. Heighten the standards, subdividing the grades, or even introduce ranking should be (much) more effective measures in determining candidates' excellence, isn't it?
Next time every applicants all those 9 subjects A1s, then which one to choose? Sure some other factors is going to take over, not to mention that some A1s are not fit to be A1s, and some A1s should be regarded even better than A1s.

Sigh..
ask_dino
post May 22 2009, 12:20 PM

DS is the name
741 posts

QUOTE(kenixkenix @ May 22 2009, 09:48 AM)
would prefer quality over quantity
well..quality prove that the student doesnt need to take up to 16 subjects to excel...it just enough for them to get all A1 in their studies added with extra-curricular activities.
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:21 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(ask_dino @ May 22 2009, 12:20 PM)
well..quality prove that the student doesnt need to take up to 16 subjects to excel...it just enough for them to get all A1 in their studies added with extra-curricular activities.
The problem now is with so many straight As and A1s around, they are unable to know which one if the best of the best, or the best, or not the best but lucky to become the best.
nelsonyap48
post May 22 2009, 12:25 PM

84paynoslen
600 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ May 22 2009, 12:21 PM)
The problem now is with so many straight As and A1s around, they are unable to know which one if the best of the best, or the best, or not the best but lucky to become the best.
but if you look in a diff angle, they limit the sub, let say 10. in future more ppl get straights A1s, say like more than 3000, getting jpa only 2000, not enough for sure. those who didnt get will bring up the matter again. doh.gif

when they ll learn........ shakehead.gif
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:29 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(nelsonyap48 @ May 22 2009, 12:25 PM)
but if you look in a diff angle, they limit the sub, let say 10. in future more ppl get straights A1s, say like more than 3000, getting jpa only 2000, not enough for sure. those who didnt get will bring up the matter again.  doh.gif

Ya la. That's why I said limiting make no sense. Heighten the standard is the best way to dig the excellent students out. Some effective measure can be a Ranking system or a very finely divided grades system (perhaps 5 point in range for a grade). But the fine grade division will get exploited one day also la..

Added on May 22, 2009, 12:30 pmIn short, the system requires a change.
SPM needs it. JPA, too.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 22 2009, 12:30 PM
barista
post May 22 2009, 12:34 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

I say make long-term voluntary work compulsory as one of the requirements for scholarship. A lot of these kids are spoiled brats whom the parents do all the arrangements for them. No point competing for better results because they can just mug for it. How many can generously help others and say they enjoy it? These are the people we want for the good of our nation mah.

This post has been edited by barista: May 22 2009, 12:37 PM
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:39 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 22 2009, 12:34 PM)
I say make long-term voluntary work compulsory as one of the requirements for scholarship. A lot of these kids are spoiled brats whom the parents do all the arrangements for them. No point competing for better results because they can just mug for it. How many can generously help others and say they enjoy it? These are the people we want for the good of our nation mah.
This is a good way.
But then, complaints come in again.
Some applicants have started their studies but only get called up during March/April for such long-term voluntary work? That would spoil the plan of the applicants shall they fail to get the scholarship. (where they get to continue their studies and follow the path they have drafted, and forgetting about JPA.)

And, this likely to cost. Well, perhaps the politicians like it, more income ma...
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 12:43 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

in my opinion there is no need to limit but maybe they just need to take the 6 core subjects when considering for PSD scholarships.
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:47 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 12:43 PM)
in my opinion there is no need to limit but maybe they just need to take the 6 core subjects when considering for PSD scholarships.
Ya la, take the core subjects into consideration how?
200 places, 2000 all core subjects A1s.

Are we applying a scholarship or making a gamble, considering that it seems luck plays a bigger part than academic excellence?
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 12:52 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

If that happens, then we should turn to co-curriculum.
Highest level of participation and awards.
nelsonyap48
post May 22 2009, 12:58 PM

84paynoslen
600 posts

No point too, history repeats itself.

what i think is provide sufficient scholarships to excellent students, which i believe will lead to tax increase!
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 12:59 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

History repeats itself?
PSD should point out and *FOLLOW* their criteria system . Then they should post out each student's score in the criteria and then that is what you call Transparency .
edennature
post May 22 2009, 01:03 PM

294 posts

nice...fair
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 01:07 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

.... That is what i feel PSD should do. I am one of the PSD rejected ones for This year sad.gif
I got 9A1 2A2
I got 2 International participation, 1 national participation,2 state level, 1 district and 1 school level participation.
And i was rejected sad.gif .
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 01:08 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(nelsonyap48 @ May 22 2009, 12:58 PM)
No point too, history repeats itself.

what i think is provide sufficient scholarships to excellent students, which i believe will lead to tax increase!
Ask my dad to pay more tax to send you overseas?
No sense right?

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 12:59 PM)
History repeats itself?
PSD should point out and *FOLLOW* their criteria system . Then they should post out each student's score in the criteria and then that is what you call Transparency .
You expect transparency?
Well, I would say the criteria system itself is not good enough. Putting so much weightage on SPM result when SPM result itself fails to determine the academic excellence of the applicants.

Added on May 22, 2009, 1:10 pm
QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 01:07 PM)
.... That is what i feel PSD should do. I am one of the PSD rejected ones for This year sad.gif
I got 9A1 2A2
I got 2 International participation, 1 national participation,2 state level, 1 district and 1 school level participation.
And i was rejected sad.gif .
LOL, you are Chinese!
And, if your all As fit to be A1s and A2s respectively?
Well, yours maybe, but some others one not what..
Then, in the end, all see equally..
everything equal out, Chinese always have the poorer luck, isn't it?

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 22 2009, 01:10 PM
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 01:11 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

I am not saying putting more weightage on SPM results, What i am trying to say is they should point out the criterias and I expect PSD scholarship holders to be all-rounded student.
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 01:12 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 01:11 PM)
I am not saying putting more weightage on SPM results, What i am trying to say is they should point out the criterias and I expect PSD scholarship holders to be all-rounded student.
The system itself is not working, then you expect well-rounded students to get it?

I can tell you, I still feel that my talent should be appreciated by the government, but they don't want me, their loss!
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 01:15 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

Lol, actually i feel the same.
So the corruption and bias in PSD continues smile.gif
There is no way we can stop it can we?
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 01:19 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 01:15 PM)
Lol, actually i feel the same.
So the corruption and bias in PSD continues smile.gif
There is no way we can stop it can we?
Not sure about corruption though.
And not bias la, for them give Malay better chance is not bias. LOL..

Got way to stop.
You just go overseas study, then study nuclear, then come up with a bomb.
Then ask your family and friends run away first, then bomb!
Settle lo..
(It means, no way we can stop it.)
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 01:21 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

obviously you havent seen one of my school teacher who HAPPEN to have the soalan bocor for Phy and Chem, And not only that, All his tuition students got JPA.Even though they are poorer students. smile.gif And you know why? He has connections in the department.
nelsonyap48
post May 22 2009, 01:34 PM

84paynoslen
600 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 01:21 PM)
obviously you havent seen one of my school teacher who HAPPEN to have the soalan bocor for Phy and Chem, And not only that, All his tuition students got JPA.Even though they are poorer students. smile.gif And you know why? He has connections in the department.
Define your "poor", poor can get tuition? I got no tuition at all since standard 5......
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 01:38 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

the definition of poor students in my sentence are those who did not score well in SPM and Didn't do well in co-curriculum either.

This post has been edited by Angel01: May 22 2009, 01:38 PM
Topace111
post May 22 2009, 03:15 PM

2,102 posts

The problem with SPM exam lies on some factors :
1) Quality vs Quantity
Our exam is almost 100% based on quantity. If question asked for 5 SPECIFIC pointers students will not be punished by "not following requirements" instead they are encouraged to give more than necessary which in this case is GENERAL pointers. Students will reason that marker can choose the best answer to give marks. Teachers will also support that since student can give more points they should not be penalised.
Therefore students are encouraged to memorise all the possible solution & have one universal answer ready whenever a similar question is posed.

Instead of "reacting" to question the students prepared the answer in advance. Thats why this is one of the flaw of SPM exam. Student are not encouraged to think "outside of the box" instead are expected to behave like Robots.

2) Theory vs practical & application
Students who memorise favours "brute-force" of answering in exam by throwing whatever they knew to the question instead of analysing the question & finding solutions to it. A lot of people are confused what does those subjects will help them in real life. History are supposed to teach people not to repeat the same mistake & Why has it occured & Steps taken to rectify it. Instead we are required to remember who died, which dates, when is it ? all this are almost irrelevant.
Moral papers is the worst one. Not only we need to remember every single word of the definition but the question also seems very subjective.
Instead of offering answer which is logical from certain perspective or point of view we are restricted to only one answer. Then the asnwer is quite predictable, will a student stupid enough to do inhumane acts if asked by the question. If the question asked "will you help an old lady to cross the road?" nobody unless they want to fail will say no to that.

3) Fairness
I never find papers like english, maths or even add maths that challenging compared to subjects like History & Moral (I think most knew why).
I like history but not the "Malaysian standard of history written by Malaysian". You want to hear some interesting history check wikipedia. Our history touched 200% of 1% area of history importance while only covered 1% of the 100% important history of the world. They summarise the world history in only 2 chapters !!!.

If you want to exclude all those quota & biasness in education system then seek foreign qualification. You are then recognised overseas & will get double recognition in domestic country if you have excelled.

zidanedagger
post May 22 2009, 03:34 PM

157 posts

From the news

What I see the problem is about rural student has disadvantage from urban student due to they lack of facilities provided. So, Prime Minister suggest that amount of subjects should limit so that this will eliminate the advantage gain from urban student.

Hm....In my opinion, I think the selection for JPA as well as the marking on SPM, both of them have problems. Allow me to suggest my humble ideas here. Firstly about the JPA, the selection for applicants should divide into different categories according to different types like financial needer, extra ordinary applicant (21As, 17As, ....), excellent in extra co-curriculum or winner in internation competition. Secondly, SPM marking should be more rigously thus reduce the amount of As or else like how the tanjinjack mentioned earlier by widen the range of grade. Feel free to leave opinion and have a healthy discussion. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on May 22, 2009, 3:38 pm@Topace111
I am certainly agree with you. During my study in form 5, the solutions to obtain an A in SPM were practises and memorizes. Haha!

This post has been edited by zidanedagger: May 22 2009, 03:38 PM
bgeh
post May 22 2009, 04:45 PM

1,814 posts

Okay, look, this 'discussion' and all is basically going nowhere because we haven't defined what exactly the JPA is for. I seem to sense that for many of you, the JPA is a way to study overseas cheaply. But let's look at it from the perspective of the government, what exactly is their goal in mind when they look at the JPA?

*and angel01, I'd probably fall into your category of a 'poor' student too

We're all going to have to define our metrics, and what exactly constitutes deserving, and no affirmative action can also be part of the metric.

The main problem really is that the government doesn't define it beforehand. Also, perhaps this should be spun off into a JPA discussion instead?

This post has been edited by bgeh: May 22 2009, 07:18 PM
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 06:07 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

And you got JPA, Nice going. This pisses me off sad.gif
limeuu
post May 23 2009, 04:26 AM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(nelsonyap48 @ May 22 2009, 12:25 PM)
but if you look in a diff angle, they limit the sub, let say 10. in future more ppl get straights A1s, say like more than 3000, getting jpa only 2000, not enough for sure. those who didnt get will bring up the matter again.  doh.gif

you failed to understand.........that is EXACTLY what they want........

when you have 4000 10a1, and there are 2000 places, OTHER criteria can now be used for selection.....ie discretionary decision making.........

when the others complain, the answer is simple.........'there are so many good students, we cannot give everybody scholarships, so we SELECT based on other criteria other than results'..........

whaola........no more people with 15a1, 16a1 coming to make complains........since they all also got 10a1.........see........problem solved...........

like i said. it's all about trying to comply with the nep, within a veneer of 'meritocracy'.........1malaysia mah......... smile.gif
mumeichan
post May 23 2009, 07:45 AM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(avenger @ May 21 2009, 11:49 PM)
actually lesser subjects is better. the student can have more life instead of studying only.
I once knew this mother of two. She had two kid and they lived in Damansara. They stayed in a 2 story house somewhere near 1U. The kids were going to SMK Taman Tun. She drives a Honda Accord. Sometimes I go over to their house to play the PS3. Quite cool machine. Guess what, when I found out the mom has two jobs and somtimes comes back only in the night from work, I scolded the hell out of her. I told her to quit one job. She said she can't. She told me she's working hard for a good life for both herself and her two daughters. I told her, work less, the less you work the better, you can have more life instead of just working.
Angel01
post May 23 2009, 09:42 AM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

Lol, that was funny. Anyway, getting back to the topic i guess PSD will remain bias as usual.
arsenwagon
post May 24 2009, 10:03 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

the best ting juz revamp this piece of shit thing called a scholarship..
use the money make more places for IPTA especially critical courses.
every month poor students will be given some financial aid.

then everyone will be happy right?

JPA dont need to go beg those overseas students to come bacck and serve,
ppl wont complain why msia uni student sux (since most of those supposedly top students are studying locally)

and oso nobody will talk cork bout SPM who got more A1.. all boils down to pre-u.

govt oso happy, save money.. can use for other projects.. lol

taxpayer happy, no more stories

journalist no need write same thing every year bout ppl rejected by JPA banging on the doors of the department

and the list can go on and on.

the oni ppl who wont be satisfied are those who are too demanding and think that they only deserve to be in overseas top universities.

then we can always use the famous phrase : beggars cant be choosers. lol.

This post has been edited by arsenwagon: May 24 2009, 10:04 AM
Angel01
post May 24 2009, 11:08 AM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

Lol, arsen has a point there. Use the money used to send students overseas and upgrade our own Local University.

Then by that way they don't have to pull the * WE LET SMART STUDENTS STAY BACK IN THE COUNTRY * crap.
nelsonyap48
post May 28 2009, 05:09 PM

84paynoslen
600 posts

end of dispute!

10-subject cap for SPM from next year

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...5951&sec=nation
TStanjinjack
post May 28 2009, 06:13 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(nelsonyap48 @ May 28 2009, 05:09 PM)
end of dispute!

10-subject cap for SPM from next year

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...5951&sec=nation
Thanks for the info.
Now, I hate Malaysia another thing more.
Wynn
post May 28 2009, 06:43 PM

24 posts

Why cant Malaysia use a better way rather than a easy & not effective way to solve a problems?
TStanjinjack
post May 28 2009, 06:46 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Wynn @ May 28 2009, 06:43 PM)
Why cant Malaysia use a better way rather than a easy & not effective way to solve a problems?
Malaysia ma..
Angel01
post May 28 2009, 06:47 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

stupid like this, i drop a hard subject then take general science.
Topace111
post May 28 2009, 06:50 PM

2,102 posts

Just make SPM tougher then.
Technically I think getting A's in SPM is over rated. THe answer is predictable, linear & constant througthout the years. Just practice past years hard enough will earn you a pass. Question is non-technical & non-practical as everything is in the books. Student will never get a surprise or shocked when approaching the question.

The question should be easy enough to make them pass but difficult to make them score As.
Technically the As are not sometime fixed at 75 or 80. If the general public done badly in exam it can be lowered even to 60. So is there a great satisfaction to get an A in SPM ? I think its already an expected outcome.
TStanjinjack
post May 28 2009, 06:53 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ May 28 2009, 06:50 PM)
Just make SPM tougher then.
Technically I think getting A's in SPM is over rated. THe answer is predictable, linear & constant througthout the years. Just practice past years hard enough will earn you a pass. Question is non-technical & non-practical as everything is in the books. Student will never get a surprise or shocked when approaching the question.

The question should be easy enough to make them pass but difficult to make them score As.
Technically the As are not sometime fixed at 75 or 80. If the general public done badly in exam it can be lowered even to 60. So is there a great satisfaction to get an A in SPM ? I think its already an expected outcome.
As if it would happen.
LOL..
The education system needs a change, in the end.

Can't imagine SPM has its system slightly changed just to accommodate JPA.
JPA very big is it..
Angel01
post May 28 2009, 06:58 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

lol government bodies lor, cause too much complains of jpa.
CuteSanSan
post May 28 2009, 08:20 PM

Dream
1,398 posts

SPM 2010 max 10 subjects !!!
NasiLemakMan
post May 28 2009, 08:32 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

funny, my school already limited on subjects SPM students can take 10yrs ago! it was 10 btw.
finaltrooper
post May 28 2009, 09:18 PM

134 posts

another racial discriminating idea from the gov. vote for the opposition for changes
Angel01
post May 28 2009, 09:39 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

what makes you think the opposition will change the thing?
CuteSanSan
post May 28 2009, 09:40 PM

Dream
1,398 posts

no politics here plz..keep the thread clean^^
macamtakada
post May 28 2009, 09:48 PM

1,360 posts

This is so- called 头痛医头,脚痛医脚. The core problem which lead to the introducing of this is because of JPA scholarships. So, I see no way that there should be a limit in subjects taken because of JPA as this will also affects students who want to apply other scholarships. It's better to reexamine the conditions of getting JPA scholarships, like CGPA in STPM. The CGPA may not be printed in the SPM results slip but then is moderated in the terms of getting JPA scholarships. In this way, students who want to apply for JPA scholarships might rethink, while other can still go for it.

Again, a 16A1's students is definitely better than a 10A1's students, provided other conditions such as coccuriculum is the same because one is proven to be more A's while 10A1s students can get 16A1's is just an assumption. One might say that they both score straight A1's but much effort is given by 16A1's students. But then, there is high possibility that a 10A1's student is not able to score 16A1's if he or she take 16 subjects.

Making the marking system stricter as well as introducing marking system like SAM might as well be another solution. There might be complaints in first few years but then we will see the positive results in long term.

Sorry if my language is bad.

misterpotato
post May 28 2009, 10:20 PM

49 posts

Well, if you read more, the article did said there is gonna be A+,A,A- and so on. So there will be quality A and not so quality A and we can easily see the difference in effort by these students.

So long as A+ is not dropped to 60 mark and above.

This post has been edited by misterpotato: May 28 2009, 10:21 PM
TStanjinjack
post May 28 2009, 11:30 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(misterpotato @ May 28 2009, 10:20 PM)
Well, if you read more, the article did said there is gonna be A+,A,A- and so on. So there will be quality A and not so quality A and we can easily see the difference in effort by these students.

So long as A+ is not dropped to 60 mark and above.
LOL, no change what..
A1 A2 becomes A+ A A-..
Unless they fix it say, 80% is A, anything lower than that cannot be A. Then that's standard, provided marking scheme is not too lenient.
misterpotato
post May 29 2009, 12:11 AM

49 posts

Like I said, so long as they did not screw the mark over getting an A.

I think they should consider 95-100 marks also.

xavi5567
post May 29 2009, 12:17 AM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

HAIYA.. DONT SHOW A OR NOT A LA.. next time jus show the mark.. if u score 80 also A u score 100 also A.. so wat the diff. abolish this damn system.. nex time ask how many percent u got.. not how many A u got.. easy for JPA to charge who is better tat way.. anyway 10 subject is more than enough.. y take so many anyway.. then u go to stpm u take 4 or 5 subject again? spm is totally overrated. try asking those who score 15a to go take some A level course.. i wanna c how they score.. all spoon fed nowadays.. teacher spot the question, giv student tips to study.. student now study not for the knowledge but jus to get A.. even get A also dont understand as they jus hafal..sien..
nelsonyap48
post May 29 2009, 12:25 AM

84paynoslen
600 posts

Malaysia boleh!

Now limit 10 subjects.........next year more applicant got straight A1s, then the scholarship dont know how to distribute again....and here comes another wave!
xavi5567
post May 29 2009, 12:33 AM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

the scholarship will all be pass to those who take stpm.. the rest ..earth is full go away..
TStanjinjack
post May 29 2009, 12:53 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 29 2009, 12:17 AM)
HAIYA.. DONT SHOW A OR NOT A LA.. next time jus show the mark.. if u score 80 also A u score 100 also A.. so wat the diff. abolish this damn system.. nex time ask how many percent u got.. not how many A u got.. easy for JPA to charge who is better tat way.. anyway 10 subject is more than enough.. y take so many anyway.. then u go to stpm u take 4 or 5 subject again? spm is totally overrated. try asking those who score 15a to go take some A level course.. i wanna c how they score.. all spoon fed nowadays.. teacher spot the question, giv student tips to study.. student now study not for the knowledge but jus to get A.. even get A also dont understand as they jus hafal..sien..
LOL, cannot use percentage la..
Then Chinese complain I get 80 don't have scholarship, Malay 60 already got.
Lagi teruk.
Now Chinese 10A, Malay 10A, Chinese cannot complain ma..

15A is not easy. They do have survival skill to make them score so many of As. As long as the skill is there, they can find a way out on their own. 15As can't be spoon fed la..

Your opinions are right to the point though, about SPM. Spotting questions, tips etc. That's the root of the problem!

Added on May 29, 2009, 12:54 am
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 29 2009, 12:33 AM)
the scholarship will all be pass to those who take stpm.. the rest ..earth is full go away..
Cannot, Malay takes matriculation. STPM then no chance they can get JPA lo..

Haih, MALAYsia.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 29 2009, 12:54 AM
apsidewatch
post May 29 2009, 06:51 AM

504 posts

as for me, it is not a good step for JPA/MARA/Petronas/<insert scholarship here>/UPU/Matriks to make a better judgement for those who are eligible for the scholarship and Universities.Since these recent years show that 10-12As is a normal achievement for excellent student, the applicants of scholarship will be flooded by those who get 10As.So, the only benchmark that sholars can use is co-curricular activities achievement which I doubt everyone take care about.To make things worst,you will get full marks for co-curricular activities by joining PLKN.Straight to the point,i really think that this is the way the gov want to urges students to go to PLKN. whistling.gif

so 10A1+PLKN = WINRAR

well,if only that they know our marks on the As you all got,it will also create little competition..

hanissyazwan
post May 29 2009, 07:01 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

Dalam sebuah majlis, seorang usahawan berbangsa Cina yang juga bergelar Tan Sri sedang ditemuramah oleh seorang wartawan. Duduk berdekatannya adalah 2 orang jurutera, anak beranak berketurunan India yang bekerja dengan syarikat Tan Sri tersebut. Berikut adalah perbualan mereka,

Tan Sri: Kerajaan perlu bertindak adil dalam pengagihan kek ekonomi negara. Tidak boleh ada diskriminasi terhadap kaum bukan Melayu. Kontrak antara orang Melayu dan bukan Melayu mesti diberikan sama rata demi keadilan. Lagipun bangsa kami banyak menyumbang kepada kemajuan negara walaupun kami digelar sebagai kaum pendatang. Setelah bersusah payah semenjak sebelum merdeka, maka wajarkah kami dinafikan hak sebagai warganegara. Orang Melayu perlu lebih berkompromi dengan kaum lain untuk maju. Liberalisasi perlu dilaksanakan dengan meluas dalam semua sektor demi mencapai kesamarataan antara kaum.

Wartawan: Tan Sri, boleh saya tahu sudah berapa lama 2 orang jurutera ini bekerja dengan Tan Sri?

Tan Sri: Oh...sudah lama. Praba ni dah bekerja dengan saya hampir 30 tahun sejak syarikat ni ditubuhkan lagi. Malah anaknya pun sekarang bekerja dengan saya lebih 10 tahun. Mereka ini adalah pekerja saya yang paling berdedikasi dan banyak menyumbang kepada kemajuan syarikat.

Wartawan: Kalau begitu, apa kata Tan Sri berikan sebahagian saham syarikat ni kepada mereka berdua. Lagipun mereka sudah lama bekerja dengan Tan Sri, malah banyak menyumbang kepada syarikat sepertimana kata Tan Sri tadi.

Tan Sri: Eh..mana boleh! Ini syarikat saya. Lagipun saya dah bayar gaji yang mahal kepada mereka berdua dan saya tak pernah halang pun jika mereka nak kumpul harta. Mana boleh senang-senang saya nak bagi saham syarikat saya pada mereka.

Wartawan: Macam tu jugalah perasaan Melayu. Tanah ini asalnya milik orang Melayu. Milik raja-raja Melayu. Lepas tu orang bukan Melayu macam Tan Sri pulak nak mintak hak sama rata dengan alasan kerana telah banyak menyumbang. Tan Sri rasa wajar atau tidak permintaan tu?

Tan Sri: ............ ......... ......... ......... ........

Kisah di atas merupakan sedutan daripada kisah benar yang berlaku dalam sebuah majlis perasmian kilang di Gemas, Negeri Sembilan. Pendapat anda? ///

This post has been edited by hanissyazwan: May 29 2009, 07:29 AM
bgeh
post May 29 2009, 07:43 AM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(apsidewatch @ May 29 2009, 06:51 AM)
as for me, it is not a good step for JPA/MARA/Petronas/<insert scholarship here>/UPU/Matriks to make a better judgement for those who are eligible for the scholarship and Universities.Since these recent years show that 10-12As is a normal achievement for excellent student, the applicants of scholarship will be flooded by those who get 10As.So, the only benchmark that sholars can use is co-curricular activities achievement which I doubt everyone take care about.To make things worst,you will get full marks for co-curricular activities by joining PLKN.Straight to the point,i really think that this is the way the gov want to urges students to go to PLKN. whistling.gif

so 10A1+PLKN = WINRAR

well,if only that they know our marks on the As you all got,it will also create little competition..
apsidewatch: In my year, the only girl that got into Harvard 'only managed' 8A1s (iirc), and this was relatively recent (after the 15/16A1 girl). I'm using the appeal to authority argument here, but yeah Harvard should know whether a particular student is brilliant or not shouldn't they? The number of A1s should not be a differentiating factor because it makes no sense to measure how good someone if the subjects he/she takes up is completely unrelated to the intended degree.

hanissyazwan: Siapakah orang Melayu? Adakah aku orang Melayu? Kad Pengenalan aku menyatakan aku orang Cina. Rupa saya juga macam orang Cina. Tetapi aku bukan seratus peratus orang Cina. Nenek moyangku orang Baba, dan aku pasti bahawa nenek moyangku pun ada orang Melayu. Sepupu aku orang Melayu kerana mak cik aku mengahwini orang Melayu. Aku tidak tahu bercakap dalam bahasa Mandarin. Masa aku kecil, aku selalu bermain dengan sepupu Melayu aku, dan aku tidak pernah memikir sepupu aku sebagai orang asing kerana kami telah diberi label bangsa yang berbeza. Inilah soalan aku: Adakah aku lebih Melayu atau lebih Cina, atau, adakah dia lebih Cina atau lebih Melayu?

[sorry for the lousy BM, I haven't used it in ages]

This post has been edited by bgeh: May 29 2009, 07:47 AM
apsidewatch
post May 29 2009, 10:27 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(bgeh @ May 29 2009, 07:43 AM)
apsidewatch: In my year, the only girl that got into Harvard 'only managed' 8A1s (iirc), and this was relatively recent (after the 15/16A1 girl). I'm using the appeal to authority argument here, but yeah Harvard should know whether a particular student is brilliant or not shouldn't they? The number of A1s should not be a differentiating factor because it makes no sense to measure how good someone if the subjects he/she takes up is completely unrelated to the intended degree.

hanissyazwan: Siapakah orang Melayu? Adakah aku orang Melayu? Kad Pengenalan aku menyatakan aku orang Cina. Rupa saya juga macam orang Cina. Tetapi aku bukan seratus peratus orang Cina. Nenek moyangku orang Baba, dan aku pasti bahawa nenek moyangku pun ada orang Melayu. Sepupu aku orang Melayu kerana mak cik aku mengahwini orang Melayu. Aku tidak tahu bercakap dalam bahasa Mandarin. Masa aku kecil, aku selalu bermain dengan sepupu Melayu aku, dan aku tidak pernah memikir sepupu aku sebagai orang asing kerana kami telah diberi label bangsa yang berbeza. Inilah soalan aku: Adakah aku lebih Melayu atau lebih Cina, atau, adakah dia lebih Cina atau lebih Melayu?

[sorry for the lousy BM, I haven't used it in ages]
well of course the subject should be related to the courses that you applied...
bgeh
post May 29 2009, 10:40 AM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(apsidewatch @ May 29 2009, 10:27 AM)
well of course the subject should be related to the courses that you applied...
Then does it invalidate the 11A-12A argument then? Because that would mean that (assuming that only at most a few subjects are related at all to the intended degree - probably true for many cases) the number of As mean nothing unless it was done in the context of the relevant subjects alone.

Heck I find it even troubling that SPM's used as a benchmark for JPA allocation of scholarships. It should be the pre-u ones, because that'll force the student to specialise, and that'll make it so much easier for the JPA to discriminate truly excellent students in that field (assumptions: same entrance exam or of similar difficulty, which we lack right now) and we won't have this rush for bloody As in SPM which won't lead to this SPM 'A' inflation.
Topace111
post May 29 2009, 11:27 AM

2,102 posts

Technically If you are truly excelled in SPM why bother with JPA, i think you can easily secure a private scholarship. I never applied for Govt linked scholarship since they are not majorly based on meritocracy but on quota of....... I got a private scholarship in oversea which is must easier than applying for matriks here.
To get scholarship the most important is the interview itself like when applying for job too. If your communication skill is not up to par then don't think of getting one no matter how well you performed in exam. Anyhow life itself is not fair, once you grasp the principle life should be easier to dealt with.
TStanjinjack
post May 29 2009, 12:27 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ May 29 2009, 11:27 AM)
Technically If you are truly excelled in SPM why bother with JPA, i think you can easily secure a private scholarship. I never applied for Govt linked scholarship since they are not majorly based on meritocracy but on quota of....... I got a private scholarship in oversea which is must easier than applying for matriks here.
To get scholarship the most important is the interview itself like when applying for job too. If your communication skill is not up to par then don't think of getting one no matter how well you performed in exam. Anyhow life itself is not fair, once you grasp the principle life should be easier to dealt with.
But the ratio of weightage between academic result and JPA interview performance is not going to improve too much of your chances despite how well you do in your interview.

Added on May 29, 2009, 12:32 pm

I doubt how true this is. I don't believe the Tan Sri is that stupid where I can come up with refutation while he can't.

The problem is, the Praba and sons are satisfied with what the Tan Sri gave him. This can be shown by the decision of Praba sending his children to the company. I believe it's not that tough for Praba's son to get a job elsewhere.
In real case, Chinese have been sending their children out from the country, not wanting them to stay in Malaysia. Those who did not do it, probably do not have the budget for it.

Praba is treated well by company. He receives pays and welfare. I also think that he doesn't receive discrimination despite a Chinese company. In real life, most Chinese companies practise a rather oriental management where most of the important posts are held by close relatives, or very close friends.
But certainly, Malay don't see the way to Chinese like how the Tan Sri sees Praba.

That is a BAD analogy you make.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 29 2009, 12:32 PM
Angel01
post May 29 2009, 01:24 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

at least if they appreciate Us for our hard work then its fine.

This post has been edited by Angel01: May 29 2009, 01:24 PM
lakini80
post May 29 2009, 01:36 PM

334 posts

Nowadays, getting As' are easy job.

But the steps that goverment done is pretty fair enough.

Cap it at 10 subjects.

The reason why is that when there are too many students scoring 16A's by taking 16 subjects, does it mean all the scholarship will need to allocate to them.

How about those that score 10As' by taking 10 subjects.

The world is round & scoring 16As' nowdays does not guarantee you a place for schloarship but scoring 10As' during 90s' when you took 10 subjects, you will definitely be the spotlight of the country.

Hahha...accpet the faith la...nothing can be change.

If you want o learn more, do self study la.

Angel01
post May 29 2009, 01:39 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

its not really fair if u think of it.
poppinglive13
post May 29 2009, 02:16 PM

nice. limited.
gnc88
post May 29 2009, 02:37 PM

145 posts

To be frank, during my time in the 90's, to get 9A1 or 10A1 is considered fantastic.
Now SPM doesn't seem to carry much weight.

I think best to have every uni implement a special "University Extrance Exam". That way, we can have a good gauge of the student's capability.

visionary1993
post May 29 2009, 02:43 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ May 21 2009, 11:27 PM)
If everyone is limited to 10 subjects let say, there will be no those super excellent 16A1, 18A1 students. Then they can be rest assured that those kind of students cannot make noise even if they are of that materials. In the end, we might see that more Malays where they usually take less subjects get the scholarship, in a more nice manner, because the Chinese just got the same A1s with them.

I thought there is a quota already no matter who gets what the percentage will be the same? icon_question.gif
apsidewatch
post May 29 2009, 03:16 PM

504 posts

like i said, getting 12-13A is a simple job for students nowdays, yet 10A1 should be nothing for them.when u got 10A1,your pointer will be fully 90% for curricular.and if u take PLKN,it is another 10% hence 100% points.

so the only benchmark that they could use is the interview.
foofoosasa
post May 29 2009, 04:09 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ May 21 2009, 11:27 PM)
I saw the news just now, and feel to seek opinions of fellow forumers here about the issue.

It's said to ensure a more uniform and fair distribution for JPA scholarship, number of subjects to be taken in SPM are to be limited.
Personally, I feel that this is not an effective measure to meet their goal, but instead, a measure to allow them avoid some problems that arise this year.

And I feel that there is no way that students should get limited in pursuing knowledge. Okay, you may argue that no exam also can self study what. But just self study can't tell you how good are you in that specific knowledge. If you are interested in Accounts, surely you wish to get judged externally about your skill in the knowledge you are interested in. Furthermore, with an exam ahead, it ensures that candidates will determinedly study well for it. If now we all are limited in taking the subjects, then we can't explore more knowledge. Is that what we should be doing as a student?
NO!

I really that this is a way that the government wants to do to make non-Bumi to get scholarships as they would slice off the advantages of Chinese who usually take more subjects, and hence a more beautiful result.

This way won't work. It's even better that you have a stricter marking system, or perhaps introducing the tedious Ranking system like what done for the Year 12 in Australia. That would ensure who is better, who is not, who is more fit to get the scholarship and who is unfit, as long as the really excellent students can stand out.
sorry, i m not agree with you.I think they limited the subject is a right move.But the issue here is still the grading system..from what i saw the news yestesterday,the change it from A1,A2 to A+,A,A- grade.it is irrevalent if they still maintain Lousy grade how to decide who get pass and excellent.

Why i agree they limit the subject taken,after i came oversea,i realised that malaysian student (generally) lack of critical thinking...seriously..

I will agree with the current move if and only if
1)limited subject taken,but make the syllabus more harder and grading system is more strict.

a)i dont understand why primary school maths still in the syllabus of Form 1 and Form 2.

b)such as make the add maths look like real add maths instead of like made student memorise those formula illogically.

c)i can tell u the current syllabus for physics,chemistry is like shit when compare to other country.

d)english education...enuff said..i m of the failure product our english education system.LOL

e)our F1-F3 science especially after the changing of syllabus (from malay ->english)..is like....haha joke of heaven.pls at least maintain the level and at the same time changing the language.

2)Remove all RUBBISH subject such as MORALE, EST, blablabla <--- TELL ME HOW THESE RUBBISH HELP UR FUTURE?

If the above problem is still exist,so tell me what is the diffrence of the changing of the policy like limiting the taken subject?????

haha..but the way the teacher also need to improve and the way SPM examine student is totally like shit.

a lot more...if i list down can write until few pages.

so regarding the JPA...if their intention is to limit the subject taken + not changing our lousy syllabus =>give more scholarship to bumi?
if really so this country (little hope-->totally hopeless!)

yea~

This post has been edited by foofoosasa: May 29 2009, 04:12 PM
TStanjinjack
post May 29 2009, 05:37 PM

4,122 posts

LOL, ya lo.
That's why.
The system needs a change, and the change is not just introducing 1 extra grading for A (ie, from A1 A2 to A+ A A-) and limiting the subjects to be taken.
More steps are to be taken, including what talked about several times here, push up the graph, higher up the standard, or even fix the marks for getting an A.

Yes, our syllabus is quite shit because we are not introduced thoroughly for a lot of fundamental knowledge. Plus, the way they write the textbook and reference book do not grant full understanding without further study, which is quite hard for secondary school students due to lack of resources.

Well, I do benefit from the Malay to English change and I support this move. But it's me, and probably my school, because we had teachers who first learned the subjects in English (the old old teachers) and are more than happy to actually teach in English. If it wasn't the change, my English wouldn't be so good now (although it's still bad.).

Moral Studies need a change in syllabus, entirely. More philosophical thingy should be introduced, making students to think critically. This way, we produce students with moral thoughts. If remained, the subject name can be changed to 'Memorising Practice' which fit in more appropriate.
I see the change of emphasis of reasonings and results for History in syllabus but I do not see the teachers (at least in my school) are radical enough to introduce us critical thinking as well for History. Sarcastically, there's a quote something like 'History is taught not to be repeated' appearing very often in the textbook.

Stupid move by the government, where they usually pick the easiest instead of the most effective one.
Singaporeans perhaps are laughing that they actually abandon Malaya.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 29 2009, 05:38 PM
Angel01
post May 29 2009, 06:12 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

singaporeans are probably god damn happy.
foofoosasa
post May 29 2009, 06:12 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ May 29 2009, 05:37 PM)

LOL, ya lo.
That's why.
The system needs a change, and the change is not just introducing 1 extra grading for A (ie, from A1 A2 to A+ A A-) and limiting the subjects to be taken.
More steps are to be taken, including what talked about several times here, push up the graph, higher up the standard, or even fix the marks for getting an A.

Yes, our syllabus is quite shit because we are not introduced thoroughly for a lot of fundamental knowledge. Plus, the way they write the textbook and reference book do not grant full understanding without further study, which is quite hard for secondary school students due to lack of resources.

Well, I do benefit from the Malay to English change and I support this move. But it's me, and probably my school, because we had teachers who first learned the subjects in English (the old old teachers) and are more than happy to actually teach in English. If it wasn't the change, my English wouldn't be so good now (although it's still bad.).

Moral Studies need a change in syllabus, entirely. More philosophical thingy should be introduced, making students to think critically. This way, we produce students with moral thoughts. If remained, the subject name can be changed to 'Memorising Practice' which fit in more appropriate.
I see the change of emphasis of reasonings and results for History in syllabus but I do not see the teachers (at least in my school) are radical enough to introduce us critical thinking as well for History. Sarcastically, there's a quote something like 'History is taught not to be repeated' appearing very often in the textbook.

Stupid move by the government, where they usually pick the easiest instead of the most effective one.
Singaporeans perhaps are laughing that they actually abandon Malaya.
In fact i think 10 subject is too much too.seriously,when i told my fren in oversea that i take 12 subject they were like @@ stun.
In my opinion,Morale ,EST should be removed from entire syllabus,they should restrict it with only 6-8 subject.
it is like if you are science student,only take malay,english,physics,bio,chemistry ,maths,+1 /2 elective as u like.
there is no point like reduce the A1 mark to 70++(still the syllabus is sux!)

honestly,do you all think it is better to implement 6-8 subject but syllabus much more harder but same burden with 10-12 subject??

in addition,made the A+ like only for 95mark++.
If they want distribute more to bumi student,they can just give loose requirement like all bumi student need to take all subject in A-(85++),there is no need to pull down ALL the syllabus to make everyone get worse education.

E.g Tell you wat,wat i learnt in SPM Physics it is like Form4 in hong kong and china and international school.

because they only take 4-6 subject mainly focus on what they like in high school.

And 1 thing wat i hate the system is like,
e.g why the student who take add maths...still take maths???is it to let student to get more A and artifically made MALAYSIA EDUCATION IMPROVE???
what i suggest is to diffrentiate the maths level to 3 level, basic (art student),Fundemtal(commerce),Add maths ( science)
honestly our add maths is like fundamental maths in many of the other country...

do you all know our maths is like wat???--->like pattern -->do more, get used the pattern-->get 100%

ditto for other subject i mention increase their level too.

If like this,i 100% can sure no scholarship distribution problem exist.and i am sure student who can get full A+

according to the system i suggest,will less at least half of the present number.

My main point here is to point out Quality is the most important,nt quantity

This post has been edited by foofoosasa: May 29 2009, 06:29 PM
Angel01
post May 29 2009, 06:21 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

maths and addmaths different mah, Addmaths harder. Maths teaches things from form 1,2,3 but more detail.
foofoosasa
post May 29 2009, 06:49 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 29 2009, 06:21 PM)
maths and addmaths different mah, Addmaths harder. Maths teaches things from form 1,2,3 but more detail.
this is why our education fail and our current education system,when the syllabus change,more ppl get A.Do u think it

is normal????our curent student are smarter compare to past???or our stupid gov just want to increase more A's

student .the stupid policy maker should made add maths also cover maths syllabus,

it is only waste more paper to out the paper if diffrentiate two subject.

beside add maths is low level,our maths is also too low level.

IF NOT these subject low level,why every year we ccan produce more full A's student compare to year back?

From my post,my english is sux right?guess wat,i get A1 in english...JOKE right?

when i go oversea,the most wat i can get is only around C+ to B.

this is y malaysia education fail badly...in 1960's -70's i guess malaysia education is good enough..more failure is

produced by this country..for wat? to let more ppl go in college or uni?this is why the certificate of tertiary education

is worth less and SPM is like rubbish paper .

This post has been edited by foofoosasa: May 29 2009, 06:52 PM
Angel01
post May 29 2009, 06:50 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

u got A1 in english thats you only. LOL your 1119 maybe worst.
foofoosasa
post May 29 2009, 06:56 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 29 2009, 06:50 PM)
u got A1 in english thats you only. LOL your 1119 maybe worst.
yea correct,but my point iswhy made the syllabus ,grading system so low level????cant our grading system strict a bit?why always want make malaysia like "malaysia boleh".it is like..see malaysia education improve right?
more A's student woh...wat is the point?if scholarship problem they can just diffrentiate the requirement, dun make the whole syllabus become worse n worse la....sigh..malaysia education nth to say more doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif = sh!t
Angel01
post May 29 2009, 07:05 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

lol, actually concentrating on a few subjects is a great idea.
TStanjinjack
post May 29 2009, 07:55 PM

4,122 posts

It is to me that Malaysia should follow the Australian system.

For those who have no idea about Australia system, let me tell you all about it.

Australia has a ranking system. The best of the best gets to differentiate from the best. The upper average gets to differentiate from the average.
Basically, the system ranks students with aggregates generated by the scores for each of the assigned grade. A20 gives 20 marks, A19 gives 19 marks, so on and so on.
The possible grades to be obtained is very finely divided. Each grade represent 5% only. A20 simply means being from 95-100, A19 90-94, A18 85-89, so on and so forth.
The mark will not be scaled like what happen in SPM.

This is what we call standard.
Topace111
post May 29 2009, 08:05 PM

2,102 posts

Solution is always to tackle the root of the problem.
No need to apply sophisticated methods to tackle this problem & the solution could be so simple but effective to silence all critics.
Just scrap all those A, B, C, D & E for that matter.
Just focus on passing the papers thats enough. But make the exam extremely difficult that getting a pass is already an achievement.
If want to be more transparent just reveal actual marks in exam simply than just quoting A or B.
In that each mark is harder to obtained than before. Marks should not be offered linearly but at a step by step progression.
For example : 25% easy question, 25% average question, 25% hard question, 25% practical question (real life scenario)

That is the system of my current Uk professional qualification.

TStanjinjack
post May 29 2009, 08:47 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ May 29 2009, 08:05 PM)
Solution is always to tackle the root of the problem.
No need to apply sophisticated methods to tackle this problem & the solution could be so simple but effective to silence all critics.
Just scrap all those A, B, C, D & E for that matter.
Just focus on passing the papers thats enough. But make the exam extremely difficult that getting a pass is already an achievement.
If want to be more transparent just reveal actual marks in exam simply than just quoting A or B.
In that each mark is harder to obtained than before. Marks should not be offered linearly but at a step by step progression.
For example : 25% easy question, 25% average question, 25% hard question, 25% practical question (real life scenario)

That is the system of my current Uk professional qualification.
Well, similar concept. But I believe it's more acceptable to make A very difficult to get instead of making it very hard to pass. Somehow, some people here like A A A and A a lot.

I believe there exists a ratio for the hardness. 5:3:2 easy:normal:hard but I do not know how strictly they adhere to it.
bgeh
post May 29 2009, 10:28 PM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ May 29 2009, 08:47 PM)
Well, similar concept. But I believe it's more acceptable to make A very difficult to get instead of making it very hard to pass. Somehow, some people here like A A A and A a lot.

I believe there exists a ratio for the hardness. 5:3:2 easy:normal:hard but I do not know how strictly they adhere to it.
But here's the followup question: Even if it's made to get those who scored the best, is there still room for affirmative action to take place? I'd say yes, and I'd infer that many of you want a tougher set of exams so that you can then use the meritocracy argument to say they're biased towards some race. But then again affirmative action is always biased
lordblood
post May 29 2009, 10:38 PM

422 posts

I say that we should put in tougher exams in replacement of SPM.. Limiting the number of subjects won't actually help the students to improve as a better person.. Most students are living in a false idea, scoring well in SPM only to suffer in Pre-U and uni.. Only a few actually worked their butts off to score straight As, or many As..

Raise the bar of SPM, stop fluctuating the grading system.. It's ridiculous to hear a passing mark for a paper is 8 while the A for another paper is like 60+. That way the students know their strength and weaknesses, thus able to improve themselves and creating a better future generation.
TStanjinjack
post May 29 2009, 10:47 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(lordblood @ May 29 2009, 10:38 PM)
I say that we should put in tougher exams in replacement of SPM.. Limiting the number of subjects won't actually help the students to improve as a better person.. Most students are living in a false idea, scoring well in SPM only to suffer in Pre-U and uni.. Only a few actually worked their butts off to score straight As, or many As..

Raise the bar of SPM, stop fluctuating the grading system.. It's ridiculous to hear a passing mark for a paper is 8 while the A for another paper is like 60+. That way the students know their strength and weaknesses, thus able to improve themselves and creating a better future generation.
Sadly, the exam syndicate doesn't seem wanting to commit something like that. LOL...
Some people cannot score 80 but they still want A, so like that lo..
bgeh
post May 29 2009, 11:32 PM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(lordblood @ May 29 2009, 10:38 PM)

I have to disagree to be honest. I didn't do well for my SPM, or the mock SPM tests , but I did much better in my pre-u and my marks right now tend to be better than the marks I got when I was in secondary school doing add maths (and I'm studying maths/physics)

edit: bolded to show the part I'm referring to

This post has been edited by bgeh: May 29 2009, 11:35 PM
Ibrahimovic
post May 29 2009, 11:44 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

Well its about time it reduce to 10 subject. I remember the fever back in Amalina day. It's kinda stupid looking back.

I agree with tanjinjack. Now the only thing I afraid is lesser A's which mean parent will be piss even when their child really below average.

P.S: in House one patient says 'Why parent ALWAYS think their child always above average? Did'nt they know what average means?'

get I mean tongue.gif
wsy25
post May 29 2009, 11:53 PM

38 posts

for those ppl taking 1+ subjects in SPM,are they really study for getting more knowledge?or jz wan 2 get more A in exam?since its very easy 2 get more A in spm...
TStanjinjack
post May 29 2009, 11:59 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(wsy25 @ May 29 2009, 11:53 PM)
for those ppl taking 1+ subjects in SPM,are they really study for getting more knowledge?or jz wan 2 get more A in exam?since its very easy 2 get more A in spm...
Indeed, a lot did want to get extra A, but there are still students want to learn extra knowledge, or seeking recognition for the skill they have learned. For my case, my Pendidikan Seni.

If it's limited to 10 subjects, then Chinese left 1 more subject to choose from if they are Pure Science students. This would make them want to drop Chinese and opt for the other subject as Chinese is very tough to get A1, probably the toughest. This certainly is not a healthy growth for the Chinese group. An agenda by the respective body to make Chinese not taking the language?

Also, for some students from famous schools that produces a lot of straight As students which also make Chinese language compulsory are going to suffer. They have no choice but to eat the hard bone - no taste and hard to eat.

0.1231sec    1.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:45 PM