Hyundai i10, i10 info corner

mfizal
post Apr 26 2012, 08:54 PM

58 posts

Hey guys, i10 2011 user here. Do you guys notice that the stock tires are the "infamous" GY eagle nct5? Shouldn't we consider it part of the reason why this car's FC doesn't match up with all the hype? I could get only 12.5-13.5 km/l, compared to the advertised FE of 17 km/l. Not even close...

The tires suck! I've just driven 6k+ km and they roar like crazy on the road, even at low speeds. Driving in wet condition sucks big time, the grip when cornering is disappointing (I don't do high speed cornering mind you), & rolling resistance obviously felt really high. Really different from the time I first got the car when the noise was bearable and the grip wasn't this bad.

Anyone went for upsizing or different tires?

mfizal
post May 9 2012, 10:02 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(madcow1 @ May 2 2012, 11:03 PM)
12.5km/l ? That is good compared to mine, am getting 10km/l or less. Yours is 1.25 also ?
Yup mine's 1.25 too. 12.5 km/l is for 80% highway 20% city drive. 10km/l? Did you change your rims/tyres or did any mod? That FE's quite bad IMO hmm.gif

Added on May 9, 2012, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(Lacus @ May 2 2012, 11:11 PM)
Just done my 3rd servicing.. Btw regarding that 17km/L, what speed are they driving also we dunno. I find my tyres still ok,although i may be changing it soon to something more better. (how do one notice that the tyres roar on the road?)and is there anything wrong with NCT 5 series tyre? i though they were suppose to be good?

@gamer88, hard to say.. maybe 370-380? (i tend to drive according to speed limit, not 70-80 XD)
Indeed, but to be very far off that value is really something to think about. What's your mileage btw?

Well haha I've been reading a lot on tyres & stuff and ppl seem to use this 'roar' term to refer to tyre noise on the road. To me they do sound like roars wink.gif
Just google it & search for feedbacks/comments from Malaysians.. IMO NCT5 seems to set benchmark for terrible tyres. When ppl wanna complain about a tyre, they compare how bad it is to NCT5 sweat.gif

Wow it's amazing that you drive according to speed limit! laugh.gif That surely would save fuel+higher mileage per tank.

Added on May 9, 2012, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(mwkiller @ May 3 2012, 10:47 PM)
nope never sit in i10 before
lol i get you madcow1. this car's only for those who's driven it & felt the difference.. A spot-on motto! Or something like that icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by mfizal: May 9 2012, 10:16 PM
mfizal
post May 9 2012, 10:25 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(adrianwtx90 @ May 3 2012, 11:07 PM)
FC is bad when its new. same here. damn heart pain. but later things get better.

i bought it.

but the thing is it feels fragile and things get loose easily around the suspension area. and steering.

Added on May 3, 2012, 11:07 pmneed to be really careful when road got holes.. you will feel the car's pain.
Yup things def get better! but i'm not sure about the fragile/things get loose? i haven't had any.. I think.

Holes=pain in the ***. BUT only if your tyres' under-pressured IMO. I've been toying with the amount of pressure & frequency of pumping them.. your tyres should never be below 200 psi or you'll really, terribly feel every potholes & bad road surfaces. I find 240 psi to be the sweet spot (too hard->bumpy; too low->driving not smooth). Pump them once every two weeks if possible.. I wonder why my tyres lose pressure easily though, have to pump them almost every week sweat.gif

Added on May 9, 2012, 10:33 pm
QUOTE(madcow1 @ May 9 2012, 10:18 PM)
No, did not MOD or changes anything. Already running more than 3,000km now, still the same, just fill up RM59 RON95 petrol today after running 302km.
Whoa.. I seriously think it should've gotten better after your 1st service. Seems like something's not right.. not that I know a lot about cars though, but you might wanna have it checked. The worse I think should be 330-340.. o maybe you just have a heavy foot? But still it doesn't seem right hmm.gif

This post has been edited by mfizal: May 9 2012, 10:38 PM
mfizal
post May 10 2012, 03:24 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(aric_68 @ May 5 2012, 06:33 PM)
Hi all... this is my i10 1.25... ^^ blush.gif
New wheels! What rims & tyres are you using?Can you comment on your ride i.e handling/smoothness etc?

This post has been edited by mfizal: May 10 2012, 03:30 PM
mfizal
post May 10 2012, 03:34 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ May 10 2012, 03:30 PM)
Well i think it's coz it's Electronic powered, not the old type of power steering biggrin.gif.. just go slow/evade/try not to go over potholes biggrin.gif. XM2,thats pretty pricey right sweat.gif i don't wanna spend on rims and tyres leh.. cost even more doh.gif
Haha yea I've been avoiding holes ever since I felt the slight misalignment. Lol yeaa they're pricey, almost as pricey as 15" performance tyres! Which is why I suggested upsizing. But they last longer which is good, may not need to change tyres as often.. have to read more comments on that though to prove that. But seriously I'm tempted by the higher FE.. & lower noise compared to NCT5!

This post has been edited by mfizal: May 10 2012, 03:35 PM
mfizal
post May 11 2012, 09:26 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ May 10 2012, 04:07 PM)
When i first got my car i just go over those potholes only laugh.gif well but seriously in terms of handling i really like the i10's one wub.gif I feel short when i'm driving my sis's vios laugh.gif Now just might wanna go trade in those NCT 5 for something else =(
Couldn't agree more, this car's fun to drive. Before I bought it, I was curious as to why so many ppl said so. I thought they're just like i10 fanboys or something lol. But then, the car really is fun to drive. To me one of the best things of going to work is 1. driving to work & 2. driving home from work tongue.gif So err iklan jap hehe. To potential i10 buyers who's reading this post, make sure you test drive it first & compare to to myvi saga etc. Feel the difference first & you'll know why it's worth it smile.gif

Hmm as much as I'm annoyed by these NCT5 tyres, I don't have the budget to change them yet =( Perhaps another 3 months or so.. anyway do tell us when you've changed yours! Would love to get some feedback laugh.gif

Added on May 11, 2012, 9:30 am
QUOTE(aric_68 @ May 10 2012, 06:46 PM)
Hi bro, my rim spec is 15" works maister + falken Azenis 165/50/R15 tyre...!!!
handling good... cos 15" rim not so big n heavy also... so overall is ok....!!!

Added on May 10, 2012, 6:54 pm

Hi all, mine one also 12-12.5 km/L.....!!!
Oh nice that the rims aren't heavy! smile.gif So your FC remains the same is it?

This post has been edited by mfizal: May 11 2012, 09:30 AM
mfizal
post May 12 2012, 12:44 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(madcow1 @ May 11 2012, 02:13 PM)
Seriously, need to check the pressure every week ? Wow, it is quite hard b'cos all those pumper at petrol station always down.

Just check the tyres pressure this week, it seem the front wheels are under pressured. Hopefully the FC will be better now. Can't wait for next service to reset the so call LOW FC button. smile.gif
Far from compulsory; it's just advisable. If you find your tyre pressures maintaining over longer periods of time, then it's fine. I think I'll be going to the Seri Kembangan Service Center too next time.

Added on May 12, 2012, 12:47 pm
QUOTE(aric_68 @ May 11 2012, 01:52 PM)
yes the FC more n less same...... not heavy... cos i only up 1 size...!!! (14" > 15"). In europe that also have option pakage come with original hyundai 15" rim + 175/50/r15 tyres...!!! smile.gif
can also have a look on this link:- http://www.hyundai.de/pages/modelle/i10/zubehoer.html
N the i10 UEFA EURO 2012 edition also come with 15" rims... check this link:- http://www.hyundai.de/pages/modelle/i10/ue...12_edition.html
Glad to know european version hv several options for their tyres. Would be great if we had the same choices over here sad.gif

Added on May 13, 2012, 9:50 pmAnybody know what's the stock rim's width? smile.gif I'm hoping it's 5.5J....

This post has been edited by mfizal: May 13 2012, 09:50 PM
mfizal
post May 14 2012, 11:16 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(aric_68 @ May 14 2012, 01:47 AM)
yup... it's 5.5J....!!! blush.gif
Oh great! May I know where you got that info? May need it as a reference smile.gif
mfizal
post May 14 2012, 12:33 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ May 14 2012, 11:24 AM)
sweat.gif Went to my usual tyre shop and they told me only GoodYear NCT 5 has the 165/60/14 size. Does anyone knows if other brands do have similar sizes? Don't wanna change rim as i like the stock one. And weirdly, my fc seems back to normal hmm.gif (never visited SC as i overslept) And don't mind if i know whats is 5.5j? sweat.gif
I noticed I keep on quoting here, hope thats not a problem tongue.gif

5J means the width of the rim is 5 something.. inch maybe? but I don't remember what J means tongue.gif But simply put, it specifies rim width. Allowable tyre sizes depends on rim width for it not to be too squeezed or stretched out. For example, 5J rims are suitable for 165 tyres up to 175. 185 is max. Btw 185 is the width of the tyres. U might wanna see this page on the min, recommended and max rim width for XM2 for you to understand more:

http://www.michelin.com.my/tyre/viewall/517

Yup 165/60/14 is only limited to NCT5. Which is why I've thought about getting 185/60/14 XM2 tyres, a common size. But if the stock rims are 5J, then that might not be suitable. If 5.5J, that would be great. This page has updated info on available tyres and their prices:

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?sh...c=86484&st=1620

Owh & if you're trying to buy wider tyres (e.g. 175, 185) & the shop says it's not advisable & better get wider rims, then I think it's just usual business tactic.. of course they wanna sell new rims to you lol. Provided that these rims are 5.5J, 185 tyres will go great with them. But I have to confirm on that width first... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by mfizal: May 14 2012, 12:43 PM
mfizal
post May 14 2012, 02:46 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ May 14 2012, 12:41 PM)
There's nothing wrong with quoting la =P.. but man XM2 tyres are sure pricey but good. Thanks for the explanation. Still new in car world tongue.gif.. My first car biggrin.gif I though someone mention it's 5.5J? if 5.5j means can pasang XM2? brows.gif Side not, i do notice there 2 different type of stock rims right? + not a fan of cheap rims tongue.gif..
Haha I'm new too, this is my first car laugh.gif But I can get obsessed over something sometimes, and this happen to be it... so I've been reading a lot rclxub.gif I think I got the facts right, or else hopefully someone expert will come & correct me smile.gif

Yup, aric_68 said it's 5.5J... but it'd be good to have it confirmed 1st with something as a reference before I go ahead with the plan. I think this year's i10 (nowadays no more standard spec, just hi spec & the price's gone up to 56k) use different rims. I saw one in Wangsa Walk & the rims look cooler to me haha.

I'm with you on that! I'm against upgrading just for the looks with cheap & heavy rims wink.gif Advanti or enkei light rims might be a good start... that is if I do have to upgrade & have the budget sweat.gif
mfizal
post May 15 2012, 02:43 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(aric_68 @ May 14 2012, 05:18 PM)
from my fren tyre shop.... smile.gif

Added on May 14, 2012, 5:55 pm
hi, what bulb have u change...??? Osram Night Breaker Plus...???
the original i10 rim is made in our local...malaysia... brand JRD...!!!(the weight is heavy). Unlike europe or overseas i10 rim got better quality & QC...!!!
cos i10 in malaysia is CKD model producing by Inokom , not imported CBU model...!!! So that All the accessories are local 1... and also installed by local Sime Darby...!!!
the accessories include:- mp3 & cd Headunit, central locking & alarm system, rims & etc....!!! if u see the overseas i10 central locking & alarm system not same like malaysia... they all come with different type of remote plus emobilizer... smile.gif
Okay thanks bro smile.gif Anyway I knew about our i10 being made locally in Kulim.. but to think the stock rims are JRD doh.gif JRD's are considered the looks-good-but-cheapo-heavy rims. It kinda piss me off knowing that regardless of the fact that they're alloy rims... plus, we couldn't get immobilizer, ESP or similar number of airbags+side airbags sweat.gif

Added on May 15, 2012, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(monster2020 @ May 14 2012, 04:29 PM)
HI I10 User

can i know is the I10 easy can get 13km/l on fc ?

for auto model?
Personal experience: Not easy to achieve 13km/l. Unless you have a light foot. I get around 12.5-13.5. Worse days I get 11-12. But I drive 80-90% highway; this car is more suited for city drive.

I really think european i10 are better equipped to achieve the advertised FC. So if you don't mind investing in energy-saving tyres, lighter rims and whatnot, it will help.

This post has been edited by mfizal: May 15 2012, 02:51 PM
mfizal
post May 15 2012, 03:43 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(aric_68 @ May 15 2012, 03:24 PM)
yes bro, the i10 rims are 100% JRD wheels.... cos when the time i change my rims... i seen it my self... at d bck on the rims put JRD..!!! mad.gif
Hmm that means changing the rims to lighter ones would certainly be worth it like what u did. I like the stock design though hmm.gif

This post has been edited by mfizal: May 15 2012, 03:44 PM
mfizal
post May 15 2012, 03:54 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(aric_68 @ May 15 2012, 03:30 PM)
hi bro, the michelin xm2 is out of the size for i10 5.5J rims.... cos the most closer size also only is 175/65/R14(too high) and 185/60/R14(too wide)...

If only they have 175/60/14 it would make things easier. I've been checking on stock tyre sizes for European/Indian i10 & the width are usually 175, not 165. So I really think the stock tyres (165/60/14) are not of the original tyre diameter i.e it's not 0% difference to Hyundai recommended overall diameter. Which means, 185/60/14 can fit. They do for European ones, so I believe it shouldn't be any different here.
mfizal
post May 15 2012, 04:17 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(aric_68 @ May 15 2012, 03:56 PM)
if i not mistaken is 4 to 5 screws have to take out for FL model (i have change my bulb b4 also).... if u see the user manual that only show it 3 screws...it because the user manual is non FL model....

for the tyres, yes. u can try falken, goodyear, dunlop, brigestone...

Added on May 15, 2012, 4:05 pm
the only things is maybe the euro/india version rims comes with 6j.... blush.gif
Yup that's true, but the overall diameter & circumference's still the same. So imo it doesn't matter what rim width they used. Btw how much does it cost for the bulb?
mfizal
post May 16 2012, 03:15 PM

58 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by mfizal: Dec 7 2012, 07:34 PM
mfizal
post May 20 2012, 10:11 PM

58 posts

Anyone else think the steering wheel feels plasticky..? sweat.gif Interested in upgrading it into this, audio control mounted:

Or at least leather!! drool.gif

This post has been edited by mfizal: May 20 2012, 10:12 PM
mfizal
post Jun 14 2012, 09:59 PM

58 posts

Errr how to replace the light bulbs again..? tongue.gif I've bought the Osram NB+ but I don't think I'd be able to replace them sweat.gif Lacus, u mentioned there's a sixth screw? Could u give me a detailed explanation/steps needed to replace the bulbs? Big thanks in advance! biggrin.gif
mfizal
post Jun 17 2012, 03:02 PM

58 posts

Whoaaa finally! I've managed to fit in the new NB+ bulbs biggrin.gif Whoever said it's easy must have done it a couple of times already sweat.gif What the heck was Hyundai thinking making it that difficult.. btw big thanks for your advise, I removed the bumper screws. Else it would've been harder pulling the headlights out.

This post has been edited by mfizal: Jun 17 2012, 03:02 PM
mfizal
post Jun 17 2012, 03:55 PM

58 posts

I think mine's a bit different.. the screw near the pipe plus the ones near the water bottle-something & the battery are nuts, not screws. These nuts are dang tight, I can't even remove the one near the pipe. Same case for the bumper screws too.. only the top ones are screw-type (supported by plastic, can just pull out), others aren't. Else it would've been much easier sweat.gif

0.0412sec    1.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:14 AM