iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

triple02
post Jun 2 2010, 03:30 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(fiseel @ Jun 2 2010, 02:29 PM)
I wanna sound out my frustration!! (still half way thru reading the thread. I have signed up for an iphone 155 plan on 22/5/10, saturday, and due to my billing cycle starts on 28th everymonth, they mentioned that instead of the full 1Gb entitlement, they would pro-rate it... fine, today when the bill comes, I got a shock!! coz for the 1 week usage i need to pay an extra RM230!!

I have called maxis, but their staff said, they can't get the details of my usage! (crap, the bill is out, but the details are not out yet? are they plucking the figure from sky??!!) arrghhh

The bill shows that i have used 256,736KB during the 1 week!!

Anyone can help?
Hi fiseel...

did you immediately start surfing on the Iphone and downloaded any apps from App Store? or tether with your SIM after u got it? because from what i got from this forum and those Maxis guys ,
the IValue plan might take from anywhere from 5-24 hours for it to be activated, If you did then i guess your data charges was on a pay-as-you use basis and hence why the charges. infact the Maxis agents told me the same thing that it'll be prorated and to be careful with the data usage till the next billing cycle

What i did was i called the Maxis Center to confirm that they have activated the plan before i started using my Iphone. which was the following day, only used it to confgure it in ITunes and get it synced up properly. Got mine on the 28th May and my billing cycle ends every 16th infact im still using my old phone not till my next billing cycle im gonna use it for calls and the usual stuff. using it via Wifi at home and downloaded a heck load of stuff.Its a very expensive Ipod Touch for the moment and my data counter is still 0 Kbytes all without the Sim inside laugh.gif

This post has been edited by triple02: Jun 2 2010, 03:33 PM
triple02
post Jun 2 2010, 04:47 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

[quote=fiseel,Jun 2 2010, 04:28 PM]
Nope i didn't immediately use the phone for surfing n stuff on the iphone. I got it around 7++ and i did call up maxis around 10+pm at nite to confirm that they have switched my plan b4 i started using the phone. And then i didn't use it to download itunes or stuff, basically i just use the phone, go to the app store and download a handful of free apps! I only configure the iTunes on Monday, (got the phone on sat) when i am in office with the WIFI service available. As I was worried about the pro-rated entitlement, i did use it with care, i normally download those apps when i have WIFI connection, in office n at home. I only use the mail for a few days and then delete off the a/c, didn't on facebook nor messenger. even safari also just browse maxis n some blog just to test it out. didn't use it heavily on youtube but only watched once or twice only .....

Anyway I have asked them to give me a breakdown of usage.... which till now no feedback from them yet (coz they say have to wait for the detailed usage report to be out....bla bla bla) and yet i receive an sms saying that my case has been resolved and ask me to rate their service! when i call to complaint that the case was not resolved, they mention, the case is consider resolved as later the CS staff would open a new case once the detailed report is out!! I just think that they want to close the case so that it satisfied their SLA!!

[/quote

whats your Wifi signal strength? coz its been reported that at times when your wifi signal is low, the iPhone will engage the 3G services to ensure there is a stable connection and that eats up the usable data, youtube also? hmm probably could be that also since we dont really know what is the video size that we are watching...im saying definitely it is but my suggestion...
triple02
post Jun 2 2010, 10:35 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ally9970 @ Jun 2 2010, 09:43 PM)
the data usage captured in iphone is inclusive of usage while on wifi connection rite? or is it only via telco connection?
only data usage , it wont capture any data over wifi tested n proven tongue.gif
triple02
post Jun 8 2010, 11:35 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(kenneth_koo @ Jun 8 2010, 11:04 AM)
am i right to assume that once i disable my 3G and GPRS services, i would be free from all the data leakage problems? Concern new iphone user here.  =)
yes thats rite but in order to do it, your Iphone needs to be JB smile.gif this is my own personal opinion only, why sacrifice the features when all you need is to be careful with your usage? my cap is 500MB per month and with all my notifications turned on..im only reaching about 300MB monthly...
triple02
post Jun 16 2010, 05:49 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Jun 16 2010, 05:39 PM)
my house got 4mb broadband mah, im just a little student who dont need to online anywhere. i thought that just use home wifi to suft when i need then should be enough for me. however right now im looking for the " AUTO OFF DATA TOGGLE ". seem i dont get any result in google. sad.gif
If you're a student and CAN afford an iPhone then why cant you not afford to get a data plan attached together? doh.gif

i know its your cash and its totally up to you on how to use it.. but why did u get the iPhone if you dont intend to use it on the go and be constantly connected? following the masses perhaps? if you wanted to use a phone to surf the net without the need to be connected online on the go easily you could have gone for a HTC or Nokia rite?

trade your iPhone for an Ipod touch and get a HTC or someother phone with Wifi to surf at home..there you go no more high data usages charges... rclxms.gif

and as for your question dont think you can get you answer here...post it here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1341337/+1580
triple02
post Jul 21 2010, 02:15 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jul 21 2010, 01:44 PM)
OK I got it now.

Thanks man.

Attaching a printscreen:

Turning OFF the "3G & Cellular Data" = Does it mean I am on 2G/EDGE network right now? I can still send and receive MMS, am I correct?
Yup turning off 3G will allow you to be on EDGE but turning off Cellular Data will cause you to lose the ability to send and receive MMS
triple02
post Sep 24 2010, 03:38 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

Guys anyone on previous Ivalue Plan who upgraded yesterday to the new Ivalue Plan?

guess what i got an SMS today stating that ive exceeded my credit limit and i need to pay RM261. First time im getting this since Ive been on the Maxis IValue Plan.

I gave a call to the CS and as usual the same regurgative BS that they cant check my usage.

I suspect is due to because that me previous Ivalue Plan 1 has 113MB data used plus calls and SMS when i upgraded to the new IValue Plan 1 they've started with the new pro-rated cycle hence quoting me to pay what ive used of the last month.
They cant unbar my line until i pay "some" cash

when i told them my usage never exceeded RM 120 monthly why do i need to pay extra for something that has been included in my Previous plan all i got was "Wait till the next billing cycle and they'll prorate whatever i used from my previous Plan and my New Plan and they'll make necessary adjustments" but till then id have to pay the amount to ensure my line isnt barred.

Screw that.
triple02
post Sep 25 2010, 06:39 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(sunyen @ Sep 25 2010, 05:28 PM)
the problem with the line cut and overcharging is caused by MAXIS billing system unable to COMBINE the old iValue plan with the new iValue plan. Example: If your monthly bill is on the 14th with iValue1 500MB, prorated will be 16.6MB a day. So up to the day before you upgrade your plan to the new iValue1 1GB, say 24th, you have total around 166MB to use. If you exceeded that, say 200MB, the extra 34MB will be 34,000KB x RM0.05=RM1700. Since MAXIS cap at RM250, the billing system will send an sms saying you exceeded the limit and cut your line in 24hour. So the fair billing system should be (the old plan prorated up to the date of upgrade + prorated new plan up to the next bill). Eg. 166MB (old plan) + 33MB (new plan)x20days = 832MB. So they should only bill you next month with new limit of 832MB combined!

hope this clear for all of you who need to speak to the blur-blur MAXIS CS, it sucks when customers have to educate and explain the actual situation to the telco!!!! in fact if we are don't bising, they will just pretend nothing, and charge you that amount as many has voiced here and at the MAXIS facebook page...PLEASE SHOUT THE CLEAR PROBLEM HERE AT THEIR FACEBOOK WALL SO THEY WILL HERE THE PROBLEM FROM EVERYONE, SPAM THEIR WALL/DISCUSSION PAGE IF YOU HAVE TO!!!
yea that calculation sounds rite. im waiting for the billing cycle to complete and see how did they charge. already voiced my complain to the CS and they acknowledge that there has been something wrong in the system which calculates the data usage and stuff so didnt bar my line and put in a special case where i can continue to use my phone. and i didnt pay anything either

Those who have the same prob should do it. They'll oblige if you ask them to unbar your line. No payment or anything need
triple02
post Sep 25 2010, 07:19 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ahmadcivices01 @ Sep 25 2010, 06:59 PM)
Maybe u can try this setting guys:-
setting>general>network>enable 3g
enable first, if u want to surf then u on back,i think everybody know this setting,i'm just to reminder only.
you still can surf when you disable 3G since it'll be on EDGE to truly ensure no data leaks just make sure you turn on CELLULAR DATA which is the option right below the 3G option
triple02
post Sep 26 2010, 09:36 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

I have no idea how the data will be still credited even if the cellular data is credited.

I had the same prob as all you guys with the overcharge and yes im careful with my data usage but meh didnt turn off the Cellular Data or 3G mu current bill is RM 289, ill wait for Maxis to sort out their system since they've already acknowledged its their billing system issue.

Those who asked if you've paid, most probably Maxis will rebate the amount you paid into your account.
triple02
post Sep 27 2010, 10:12 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(matthewctj @ Sep 27 2010, 10:06 AM)
Im curious, if my cellular data and data roaming in on, when I am connected to the wifi, will it automatically use the wifi for data? Or do I have to switch the cellular data off?
It'll use the Wifi. No need to turn off cellular data. Tried and tested. Guaranteed
triple02
post Sep 27 2010, 10:43 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Sep 27 2010, 10:38 AM)
Don't wait bro.. Just complain to SKMM.. I already did. It unfair for user. They make a plan like that. But don't provide a way for a user to check their usage.. Even call to CS cannot get how much u use.
what is the address or email of SKMM?
triple02
post Sep 27 2010, 11:01 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(Liquid Snake @ Sep 27 2010, 10:53 AM)
Same prob here. I change to ivalue 2 on saturday. My usage is around 25MB. Unbilled amount RM299.85. I called cs, they say it will take 5 days to look into the problem. I scolded him and he promised not to bar my line in this 5 days. He also said the amount will be waived in the next bill. Hmm....frustrating la to have this kind of problem. I want to enjoy my new phone. Not worrying about line barring and this ridiculous charges. sad.gif
Maxis already gave you their word that they'll wave the bill rite? then why it should stop you from enjoying the IPhone? and take comfort in the fact that you're not the only person with the billing issue. and Maxis for once are aware of the problem in their system and acknowledging the fact that there is and working to fix it.
triple02
post Sep 27 2010, 11:12 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Sep 27 2010, 11:07 AM)
Guys, one again please do ask your billing date. Remember 1st bill will be prorated, so does your allocation.. You will not get full 1Gb for 1st month.. unless ur billing date is exactly the day you register.
Thank you lets stress this out. this is the common misunderstanding that people have when they get their new IPhone that they're immediately entitled for the full data allocation. and when the usage shoots up during the first month. They'll blame the Telco's for overcharging when they didnt bother to read up the fine prints or ask the Customer Service further on the billing charges.

It's always easy to put the blame on someone else when you're at fault for not being arsed to read and find the info for yourself
triple02
post Sep 27 2010, 03:13 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ Sep 27 2010, 03:08 PM)
my billing date is 14th, i registered my ivalue plan at 24th, from 14th - 24th is 10 days which is around 33%, so does this means that after prorated, my data usage now is 1GB x 66% around 660MB for me to use till next month 14th?

tq
I'm sure those who even work at Maxis wouldnt know how to compute Data Pro-ration.Whats specified here is just based on pure calculation. So no ones the exact byte to byte usage calculation, all based on rough calculation.
triple02
post Sep 27 2010, 11:24 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

Guys Latest Update By Maxis:

Seems like they've fixed the Maxis Billing issue rclxms.gif

my bill was showing RM268 today morning. now its back to RM 19.08 which is rite about the amount.

Kindly check and post here to update smile.gif

This post has been edited by triple02: Sep 28 2010, 12:35 AM
triple02
post Sep 28 2010, 04:48 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ej_italia @ Sep 28 2010, 04:38 PM)

figure includes the amount of data  only when under the 3G/Edge environment.

This.
triple02
post Sep 28 2010, 04:59 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(MOUSEYAW @ Sep 28 2010, 04:54 PM)
man, time to switch to DiGI...

at least, DiGi won't charge anything even u exceed the quota of intenet usage, and even the lowest quota was 1GB!! not 500MB...
If you had taken the liberty to check before you post, you would know by now that the lowest quota now with the new plan by Maxis is 1GB.

true you can exceed your internet quota on your Maxis Data Plan but thats only if you're into tethering. normal usage u rarely go above 500MB
triple02
post Sep 28 2010, 10:36 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Sep 28 2010, 05:45 PM)
Just got my Iphone 4 yesterday and started using it last night as well ,
Was on Digi iplan88 which was only activated this morning around 9am++

So to cut short i shall snap a picture for easier understanding
pwnnage! i thought Maxis was bad enough laugh.gif
triple02
post Sep 28 2010, 11:24 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 28 2010, 11:23 PM)
with normal surfing forum , facebook , msn ......will it exceed 1G per month actually???
Never..with that usage you'll be struggling to reach even half! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by triple02: Sep 28 2010, 11:24 PM

0.0488sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:05 AM