iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

sunyen
post Sep 24 2010, 01:30 PM

253 posts

been searching the forum and have different answers for the same question, called MAXIS and the person so blur that I can be a better MAXIS CS than her..anyway, the thing is i never actually check my unbilled amount before, my question is how MAXIS calculate the unbilled amount daily? Does it includes the data or just sms and call? Looking at the unbilled RM700++ on my account, i guess it should include data and deduct with my iValue data when they issue the bill later, rite?? thanks!
sunyen
post Sep 24 2010, 03:58 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Sep 24 2010, 03:38 PM)
Guys anyone on previous Ivalue Plan who upgraded yesterday to the new Ivalue Plan?

guess what i got an SMS  today stating that ive exceeded my credit limit and i need to pay RM261. First time im getting this since Ive been on the Maxis IValue Plan.

I gave a call to the CS and as usual the same regurgative BS that they cant check my usage.

I suspect is due to because that me previous Ivalue Plan 1 has 113MB data used plus calls and SMS when i upgraded to the new IValue Plan 1 they've started with the new pro-rated cycle hence quoting me to pay what ive used of the last month.
They cant unbar my line until i pay "some" cash

when i told them my usage never exceeded RM 120 monthly why do i need to pay extra for something that has been included in my Previous plan all i got was "Wait till the next billing cycle and they'll prorate whatever i used from my previous Plan and my New Plan and they'll make necessary adjustments" but till then id have to pay the amount to ensure my line isnt barred.

Screw that.
i facing the same problem today after extended my iValue1 plan today to buy iPhone 4. Talked to CS and asked her to speed up the billing to next week instead of 14th to check, she promised wont cut my line in 24 hours....sucks man rclxub.gif
sunyen
post Sep 25 2010, 05:28 PM

253 posts

the problem with the line cut and overcharging is caused by MAXIS billing system unable to COMBINE the old iValue plan with the new iValue plan. Example: If your monthly bill is on the 14th with iValue1 500MB, prorated will be 16.6MB a day. So up to the day before you upgrade your plan to the new iValue1 1GB, say 24th, you have total around 166MB to use. If you exceeded that, say 200MB, the extra 34MB will be 34,000KB x RM0.05=RM1700. Since MAXIS cap at RM250, the billing system will send an sms saying you exceeded the limit and cut your line in 24hour. So the fair billing system should be (the old plan prorated up to the date of upgrade + prorated new plan up to the next bill). Eg. 166MB (old plan) + 33MB (new plan)x20days = 832MB. So they should only bill you next month with new limit of 832MB combined!

hope this clear for all of you who need to speak to the blur-blur MAXIS CS, it sucks when customers have to educate and explain the actual situation to the telco!!!! in fact if we are don't bising, they will just pretend nothing, and charge you that amount as many has voiced here and at the MAXIS facebook page...PLEASE SHOUT THE CLEAR PROBLEM HERE AT THEIR FACEBOOK WALL SO THEY WILL HERE THE PROBLEM FROM EVERYONE, SPAM THEIR WALL/DISCUSSION PAGE IF YOU HAVE TO!!!
sunyen
post Sep 25 2010, 07:25 PM

253 posts

To be fair, MAXIS data counter will always be more accurate than the iPhone data counter because they are the source. The problem is more of their CS conveying this fact to the customer, instead of sounded like blaming Apple, the customer and everyone, they should tactfully educate and explain the actual situation clearly and offer good usage advice....gosh, this is Customer Service 101... doh.gif

For me, I usually allow for 50MB discrepancy, so when my data reach 450MB shown on the iPhone, I will be abit careful with my usage or turn off data for those who really dont want to have a shock (iOS 4 and above). With the recent MAXIS addition of SMS 500MB reminder, we know we are almost reaching the limit. So I have never face any problem with my data bill and with the upgrade to 1GB when i purchased the iPhone 4, it will be less stressful tracking all this nonsense... rclxub.gif

Problem only happens when we CHANGE or UPGRADE our plan as mentioned in my previous reply.

So, its all because of either MAXIS billing database system pretty obsolete or complicated to be updated or they just don't bother rectifying until we scream and shout everywhere...DIGI knows very well of this and use it to their advantage in promoting their No Bill Shock feature, throttling speed after reaching limit, which makes helluva more sense for customers! doh.gif

Added on September 25, 2010, 7:28 pm
QUOTE(triple02 @ Sep 25 2010, 07:19 PM)
you still can surf when you disable 3G since it'll be on EDGE to truly ensure no data leaks just make sure you turn on CELLULAR DATA which is the option right below the 3G option
Oh boy, actually that is NOT TRUE!

Whether 3G or EDGE you still use data, hence possible leak...the correct switch to avoid data usage is SETTINGS>NETWORK>TURN OFF CELLULAR DATA

This post has been edited by sunyen: Sep 25 2010, 07:28 PM
sunyen
post Sep 25 2010, 11:27 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(terencelee @ Sep 25 2010, 07:40 PM)
I was wondering, when they say we can upgrade our contract, does it mean that since i am already on the iPhone3gs Ivalueplan 1 (500mb) can i ONLY UPGRADE my value plan without purchasing the Iphone4?
Not sure but MAXIS maybe will upgrade your old iValue1 to 1GB after iPhone 4 promotion few months later. They probably won't do it now since they want ppl to buy/upgrade to iPhone4!
sunyen
post Sep 26 2010, 08:41 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(holoman @ Sep 26 2010, 12:21 AM)
i got no cellular data at my 3gs .. 3.1.3
but i already install bossprefs and sbsettings
to avaoid credit drain,i off " edge " and " data " ..
for time being,it works for me ..
but i wonder,can i receive/send mms with this setting ?
or need to on this " edge " and " data " back before sending or receiving?

tq smile.gif
Cellular data option is for iOS 4 onwards.
You need to ON data (3G or EDGE or GPRS) to use MMS.
WIthout data you can only call and SMS.

3G, EDGE and GPRS are DATA connection with different speed.
So turning OFF Cellular Data in iOS4 will cut this off completely. A feature included by Apple to help avoid over usage of data.

Added on September 26, 2010, 8:49 am
QUOTE(wenshao88 @ Sep 26 2010, 01:18 AM)
any comments for these 2 telco? This is because I'm planning to get an iPhone from either Digi or Maxis...however,my are in mlk no 3G coverage for digi...less for digi...but Maxis has a wide 3G coverage in mlk n any other places too...

can anyone share with ur experiences for that? whether which 1 is more stable in edge or won't lag for too long...

if skype by using edge...is that smooth for skype?thanks
Personally I think we need to be careful with the marketing tactic of any telco with their enticing PRICE ads. It all boiled down to coverage first then contract commitment than only the price/bill. What good if the price is RM200 cheaper but tied to the telco for 24months, what good if the coverage at your area is bad, etc. SO if your area no 3G coverage, you ll not be able to fully able to optimize your phone and wasting time.

This post has been edited by sunyen: Sep 26 2010, 08:49 AM
sunyen
post Sep 26 2010, 04:52 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Happyman @ Sep 26 2010, 01:51 PM)
i have contract upgrade this friday and my unbill charges was RM40 before that and this morning receive sms from maxis saying that my usage is nearing the credit limit which is RM1500.....data usage is 400mb......it has never happened before....but i guess they will waive it since i am with ivalue 3
Explained from my previous post:
the problem with the line cut and overcharging is caused by MAXIS billing system unable to COMBINE the old iValue plan with the new iValue plan. Example: If your monthly bill is on the 14th with iValue1 500MB, prorated will be 16.6MB a day. So up to the day before you upgrade your plan to the new iValue1 1GB, say 24th, you have total around 166MB to use. If you exceeded that, say 200MB, the extra 34MB will be 34,000KB x RM0.05=RM1700. Since MAXIS cap at RM250, the billing system will send an sms saying you exceeded the limit and cut your line in 24hour. So the fair billing system should be (the old plan prorated up to the date of upgrade + prorated new plan up to the next bill). Eg. 166MB (old plan) + 33MB (new plan)x20days = 832MB. So they should only bill you next month with new limit of 832MB combined!

hope this clear for all of you who need to speak to the blur-blur MAXIS CS, it sucks when customers have to educate and explain the actual situation to the telco!!!! in fact if we are don't bising, they will just pretend nothing, and charge you that amount as many has voiced here and at the MAXIS facebook page...PLEASE SHOUT THE CLEAR PROBLEM AT MAXIS FACEBOOK WALL SO THEY WILL HEAR THE PROBLEM FROM EVERYONE, SPAM THEIR WALL/DISCUSSION PAGE IF YOU HAVE TO!!!

Added on September 26, 2010, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(nles @ Sep 26 2010, 04:21 PM)
Is there any easy way to check data usage? Have to keep track of our billing cycle as well? Maxis have no service to check our current data usage of the month is it?
No such feature from maxis at the moment but you can track on your own: If your monthly bill is 14th, reset your iPhone data counter to zero beginning 15th, allow for discrepancy 50mb (ie. If your plan is 500mb, try stop using when reaching 450mb)..also maxis will send reminder when you hit 400mb, so track from there...so far quite accurate for me plus minus 20mb

This post has been edited by sunyen: Sep 26 2010, 04:58 PM
sunyen
post Sep 26 2010, 05:29 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(JulietLY @ Sep 26 2010, 05:03 PM)
M ivalue plan 1 just got activated 7pm yesterday and  this morning there was message from Maxis saying my total usage are RM225,ie exceeded limit and payment have to be made within 24 hours. What a shock! See see my call usage are only 12 mins & Data usage are abt 60MB. Called CS, they asked me to increase limit at Maxis centre. Drove to TTDI Maxis Centre, the staffs have no idea of what is happening and just requested me to pay if I don't want to get it barred. Knowing that paying won't solve the issue, ie I might getting the same message tomorrow even payment made today, I drove to Sunway.

Understand from the staff at Sunway Maxis Centre, no billing details can be seen until the end of billing cycle. At the same time, the usage shown in the device might not be something reflective.

Temparary solution is making payment 1st & change to billing cycle to 28th so that can see the detail by then, off the cellular data and don't use anything related to networking until the problem investigated and estimated to revert in 3 days.

Pray hard... Hopefully this gonna be solved.
Read my previous post explanation, problem at maxis billing system many who upgrade had the same problem, you don't need to off your data, you are running a new plan data with 33mb a day until your bill if you signup iPhone 4 ivalue1
sunyen
post Sep 26 2010, 09:59 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(JulietLY @ Sep 26 2010, 05:50 PM)
Thanks for your input.
Do they prorate free call, sms and mms as well?
Is the prarate thing applicable for 1st month only, or it's applicable througout the contract period?
I still do not understand the charge. If I have 33mb yesterday, usage are 50MB, excess will be 17MB, 1700KB*RM0.05= RM85 only.
How to derive at RM225?
Is my computation correct?
The prorate is for data as it is the only reason that give you bill shock because it's rm0.05/kb! We ONLY have to prorate for the first month because the usage will not be full 1 month unless you upgrade plan ngam ngam the day your bill comes out. This prorate for first month makes sense to adjust everything to your current billing date. A good MAXIS salesperson will calculate and tell you clearly not to think you can surf 1gb till next bill but the prorate them like for example 830mb.

Subsequent month you don't have to worry because they will NOT be a prorate per day. It will be calculated as a whole month, meaning you can use as much as you like any day of the month provided they doesn't exceed 1gb for the whole month.

Your RM225 bill is because RM100 monthly iValue 1 + rm85 over usage data charge + extra call/SMS up to that day

Added on September 26, 2010, 10:03 pm
QUOTE(keenie @ Sep 26 2010, 05:58 PM)
Sunyen,

So its only problem to those who upgrade from old ivalue plan to new ivalue for iphone4?
Telco's policy is kinda complicated, and im new to Maxis.

Not just iPhone 4 but any plan upgrade. To put it in clear short answer:

"MAXIS billing system can't COMBINE prorate of old and new plan total data allowance when you upgrade your plan"

So it's a problem MAXIS need to address on their system.

Added on September 26, 2010, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(JulietLY @ Sep 26 2010, 06:15 PM)
I was a hotlink user prior to this subscription. Don't understand the charges & procedure. The staff from Sunway Maxis Center did not offer to unbar. She asked me to pay first while they proceed with investigation.
I guess they will pay back if the billing is wrong.
I told them not to bar my line until the bill statement comes put because they can't check daily usage which is totally stupid. I dont mind customer cant view the daily breakdown but they themselves should at least can view from their end to verify doh.gif

If you have paid, tell them the explanation from my previous post and they should debit back to your account. For those who yet to pay, ask them to waive it for u...

Added on September 26, 2010, 10:22 pm
QUOTE(madnarc @ Sep 26 2010, 09:03 PM)
This is my first iphone so I was previously using just a standard Value 50 (with no data plan).

Just to update, my line got barred as well. I called up the CS and told them to unbar it and they did without any charges or asking me to pay my bill first. SO they did.

Anyway, another question.. SOmeone here said its the cellular data that is constantly incurring charges and this is not reflected in the iphoone counter. Is that true?

My phone bill updated at 1pm was RM331, and then updated at 4pm was RM349. But I clearly remember that between 1pm and 4pm my 3g AND cellular data was turned off..
If you have turned of cellular data from 1pm to 4pm it definitely from call or SMS. Actually if you still within data limit say 1gb in any days of the month, you don't have to worry much about data leaks from iPhone as notifications, gps etc usage is very negligible unless you watch YouTube non-stop. Apple multitasking and background activities use very little data when the device is idle to conserve battery life.. app are basically frozen when your device in standby, that's the new kind of smarter multitasking technology available in iPhone..eg. App like twitter tweets will not update when it's in standby..and notifications system send from apple server and drain very little data if any and minimal battery drain..hope this clear up sone confusion

This post has been edited by sunyen: Sep 26 2010, 10:22 PM
sunyen
post Sep 26 2010, 10:40 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(JulietLY @ Sep 26 2010, 10:35 PM)
Hi Sunyen,

Based on your explanation on the computation, is that means that my bill charges is valid?
Why there is an increase of RM37 in the unbilled even after I switch off all the Network related?
My call usage is abt 10min today & sent out few sms only...
The other factor is MAXIS unbilled amount shown on the website or sms check might possibly taken not counted from 1-4pm. I dont think it's realtime and reliable measure
sunyen
post Sep 27 2010, 08:52 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Edw @ Sep 27 2010, 08:00 AM)
just called maxis because i got barred also, they say its their system problem causing iphone user data to shoot up and they are trying to rectify it, they unbarred it for me and assured that excess data fee will be waived, cheers guys
You see guys if we make noise by everyone calling them and posting on forums and their Facebook page, they will GET it! Or else they will just buat tak tau...But what the CS said is half correct, right is their system is cacat but wrong that it causes iPhone data shoot up doh.gif

Whether you use iPhone 4, galaxy s, nokia, htc android or whatever the problem will still occur when u upgrade plan, just read some discussion at maxis Facebook discussion page. When they are crazy many ppl buying iPhone 4 these few days, it "sounded" like problem with iPhone which is totally absurd!

"It's MAXIS billing system error, not the phone" rclxub.gif
sunyen
post Sep 27 2010, 11:39 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(matthewctj @ Sep 27 2010, 10:06 AM)
Im curious, if my cellular data and data roaming in on, when I am connected to the wifi, will it automatically use the wifi for data? Or do I have to switch the cellular data off?
Yes, iPhone will ALWAYS use wifi over 3G if it's available regardless of whether your cellular data is on or off.
If you have a data plan, you don't have to worry much about turning cellular on or off. I am a heavy Internet user browsing webpage but I don't watch videos, I leave cellular data on all the time because 500mb just about right each month, the new 1gb even better I don't need to border with any of this tracking anymore especially with MAXIS reminder SMS when you 100mb away from limit.

So they only time you need to care about turning cellular data on or off are:

1. You don't have data plan, meaning paying RM0.10/10KB.
2. You are oversea avoiding roaming charges.
3. You know you are almost reaching your limit

Hope this helps

This post has been edited by sunyen: Sep 27 2010, 02:48 PM
sunyen
post Sep 27 2010, 11:42 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(kkrazer @ Sep 27 2010, 11:28 AM)
Not sure if you guys know or not, but i see in oversea forum that iphone 4 connect to the internet even if turn the roaming or cellular data off. It especially happen in the early morning. It say it maybe due to problem with the iOS.

For those who have their iphone, could try this exp  and report back here.

Reset your iphone data usage to zero b4 going to bed. When wake up the next morning, check the date usage if it goes up.
You also can cehk with cs what is your data usage or total bill today and the next day check with them again, if there any excessive data charge.

I think about to get ip4 but had to hold back due to this problem (more serious than the antennagate issue as there have reported bill more than USD1000 as it get high especially if the user goes overseas and incur mobile international roaming).

rclxub.gif
This is completely untrue.
sunyen
post Sep 27 2010, 03:29 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ Sep 27 2010, 03:08 PM)
my billing date is 14th, i registered my ivalue plan at 24th, from 14th - 24th is 10 days which is around 33%, so does this means that after prorated, my data usage now is 1GB x 66% around 660MB for me to use till next month 14th?

tq
To calculate:

A day data for 1GB plan = 1000MB/30 days = 33MB
24th to next month 14th = 20 days
Total prorated data you can use until next bill = 33MB x 20 = 667MB

*note: all smartphone (iPhone, Symbian, Android, BB) counter will not be accurate because all telcos charge RM0.10/10KB block not 1KB block, so allow plus/minus 50MB

This post has been edited by sunyen: Sep 27 2010, 03:29 PM
sunyen
post Sep 27 2010, 03:46 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Sep 27 2010, 03:38 PM)
well... i didnt use much data at all... 5-10 minutes of LYN surfing for 3 days and i have to pay rm260....

i did pay.... but i do complaint at maxis CS, and she said that i will be unbarred until i received my bills...

3 days of usage.. less an hour call, not more than 30 sms, less than 10mb data and i got charge for rm260....

cool....
you can read the previous posts for explanation on this.
sunyen
post Sep 27 2010, 04:07 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Sep 27 2010, 03:56 PM)
I know, u explained well, how ever, to think that ive been billed for rm260 for merely things is a bit absurd thou.
I only hope after this no more this crap. I can always pay rm3-400 a month but rm300 for 3 days? Thats just a bit sick man.
not sure you reading the right post but many ppl got the exact same rm260-rm280 bill shock, in fact many members here, maxis fb page and oso all of my friends who bought the iphone 4 this week...with your plan, you didn't use RM300 for 3 days, i repeat, you didn't use RM300 for 3 days..it's MAXIS billing system problem of unable to COMBINE old and new plan data limit, which they have personally contacted me to explain and acknowledge and posted at their FB page and oso emailed to all who submit enquiry, which to give credit to MAXIS, its quite a responsive service..if you haven't call them, just call them as ask and they will waive and debit back to your account next month.

sunyen
post Sep 27 2010, 05:56 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(jabbaian @ Sep 27 2010, 05:31 PM)
had my ip4 for 2 months w no data contract from maxis as i got it from sg.

hardly surf much on it too.

but the data bill comes to $800++ per month!
lucky maxis capped it at $250.

dunno what is taking up so much data in my phone sad.gif
darn..
its totally a must to signup a data contract if you use any smartphones (iphone, android, bb, symbian)
because all telcos charge RM0.10 per 10KB, it takes merely 80MB to easily reach $800 with no data contract, and that is super minimal web surfing! doh.gif
sunyen
post Sep 27 2010, 06:26 PM

253 posts

some facts on iPhone/Android's multi-tasking and data usage (its very different from the old smartphones's way of multitasking), if anyone ever see the same question/enquiry/complain being discuss again and again, please remember and explain with these actual facts:

1. Running background applications CANNOT/WILL NOT continue to use your data connection unless they are completing a task or using VOIP.
2. The ONLY ways an app multitasks is the following:
•Background Audio (NO data connection)
•VOIP (data while in use, negligible data used to maintain connection)
•Location (which notifies you with the compass arrow next to the battery icon, NO data connection)
•Local Notifications (all local, NO data connection)
•Task Completion (if you started something like sending an email, flickr upload, update app, download podcast, it will complete, but once that's done, no more data connection)
•Fast App Switching (app suspends/frozen in memory, no data connection)

Battery can be affected (minimal with iOS4), but unless your using VOIP, it is near impossible to have large data transfers unknowingly in the background.
And finally third-party apps CANNOT grab new updates while in the background (eg. Twitter) unless they're in the foreground (active).

The most common way your data is high is viewing online video (#1), streaming music and downloading app (iPhone will block above 20MB app download if you are on 3G).
Map data usage is about 3-4MB for 30 minutes drive. PAPAGO Map (NO data connection because they didnt use AGPS), TomTom & other GPS (about 3-6KB for initial AGPS lock)

Hope this clear some misconception/confusion.
sunyen
post Sep 27 2010, 06:50 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Sep 27 2010, 06:30 PM)
@sunyen
what about apps like Mail? that's background data. what about downloading an App, 19MB? that's quite expensive, but you mentioned it.
the simple truth is that if you're on Maxis, keep track of your data usage, or prepare to pay high data bills.
Mail is very minimal and attachment is not automatically downloaded. with my ivalue1 plan previously, my gmail using EXCHANGE is ON 24/7/365 and i never have any bill shock...the ONLY one time i got bill shock is showing off World Cup match using Astro B app, which is myself padan muka LOL blush.gif

And if you know you ARE going to download a 19MB app, you know you will use up 19MB of data regardless of the plan is expensive or not, common sense lor to discern this and its our responsibility as user to KNOW what is alot and what is little..like you go TGIF, you know your pocket got RM50, you wont go order steak that cost RM88 rite? you oso have to know your pocket only got RM50 rite? same logic.

This post has been edited by sunyen: Sep 27 2010, 06:52 PM

0.0503sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:46 PM