iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

fuiyo
post Oct 22 2010, 10:01 PM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

Not just the billing issues, Maxis should stabilize their download and upload speed as well. For my case, its really a huge difference when I use it in the day and at night, in KL and in Subang/Sunway area. Is it fine if Maxis charge you so much but you're not getting the speed that was claimed?
fuiyo
post Oct 23 2010, 08:41 PM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

QUOTE(wanzam99 @ Oct 23 2010, 05:49 AM)
When you choose the best Telco, than you have to pay for the best price. So what is that to complaint?
Turns out that it doesn't perform like it's the best telco. Actually I've been wondering how did an iPhone user get up to 800MB per month? Just don't reach the boundary and you're safe from shocking bills.
fuiyo
post Oct 24 2010, 12:22 AM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Oct 23 2010, 11:34 PM)
it is possible to get GB of data with tethering, I am using 6GB(dl+ul) of data in 1 week biggrin.gif
but I am on Maxis unlimited data plan RM99 smile.gif
Yours is a different case. What I mean is, how can a user reach up to 800MB EVERY MONTH? Even heavy users (Safari, Facebook, Twitter, News, update apps, etc.) won't reach that much. Unless they tether.

Added on October 24, 2010, 12:24 am
QUOTE(vez @ Oct 23 2010, 11:34 PM)
it is possible to get GB of data with tethering, I am using 6GB(dl+ul) of data in 1 week biggrin.gif
but I am on Maxis unlimited data plan RM99 smile.gif
Btw, how stable is Maxis's speed? I do frequent 3G speed tests on my phone and the ping is very high, at least around 100-200.

This post has been edited by fuiyo: Oct 24 2010, 12:24 AM
fuiyo
post Oct 24 2010, 12:25 PM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Oct 24 2010, 10:41 AM)
you miss out youtube biggrin.gif although youtube app from iphone only can stream low res, but stream from web app can be high quality, it can be GB in a day biggrin.gif
I seldom stream YouTube videos on my phone. Either I download the videos using the Downloads app and watch them when they are all downloaded, or I open in tabs on my laptop and watch them in one shot. More fun!
fuiyo
post Oct 24 2010, 09:07 PM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Oct 24 2010, 12:28 PM)
same what. u download or stream also use bandwidth
When I download, I download using WiFi. Why use 3G when there's WiFi right? Not like Maxis's speed is always that stable even it's higher. Plus, the latency is so high, it takes so long to connect. The ping is always at least 100-200. Sigh!
fuiyo
post Oct 25 2010, 12:30 AM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Oct 24 2010, 11:18 PM)
There's no apps to check which application is consuming the data usage right?

So far my data usage quite minimal, so I'm fine with it.

But my gf one, she kept telling me she just facebook a little and check mail but her data usage is very high.

Since I'm not the one using it, I also no idea how to check. Right now I suspect is her email's attachment is quite large.
Email doesn't affect much. I suspect that she leaves her 3G and notifications on 24/7, with their Safari app running behind on multiple windows. Many of my female friends do this, saying that they are just so lazy to turn them off. LOL.
fuiyo
post Oct 25 2010, 12:55 AM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Oct 25 2010, 12:41 AM)
Hmm I leave my 3G and notifications on 24/7 as well, because I want email, facebook, whatsapp to push to me. She already have the habit of closing background apps.

No apps to monitor which program using the connection huh?
Not sure about this. Don't think so.
Just don't leave the 3G overnight then it should be fine.
fuiyo
post Oct 28 2010, 08:11 PM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

Okay I just received my first bill after purchasing iPhone 4. I'm currently on an iValue 1 plan so I expect around RM120 after taking into account the SMS to other carrier as well as the tax and services. God it's RM192! After double checking everything, I realize that I text and call a little more then I should so I expect it to be RM130-140. Data usage was fine and Maxis calculated that part correctly (292.6MB/1GB). However, there's one part which I don't understand. My total usage is RM140+ and the rebate is around RM60+. The RM140+ includes the RM100 iValue 1 and those which I exceeded. How come it added another RM90, saying it's my monthly commitment which makes up RM190+ after tax in total? I know my bill doesn't sound so serious compared to some users over here but, still, it's around RM50 bucks more. I'm so gonna check it out tomorrow.

This post has been edited by fuiyo: Oct 28 2010, 08:14 PM
fuiyo
post Oct 29 2010, 11:53 PM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Loonie2 @ Oct 29 2010, 02:18 PM)
RM140 is included the rebates, once the rebates is deducted out, the net would be your extra usage... Therefore RM80 plus monthly commitment fees RM100, would be RM180 + service tax.. seems reasonable..
I understand, but why RM80? How did you get the figure? You know what, my rebate is damn little.

Added on October 29, 2010, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(deepan84 @ Oct 29 2010, 02:35 PM)
u see bro..ur usage is 140 which includes call n sms. the max u can use is 50bucks oni. the remainin 50bucks for data. so...rm140 - ur usage of 333mins+200sms to maxis = balance usage outside 50bucks cap. so its 50 max usage+50 for data+talk time exceedin 333mins+sms to other networks.

eg. i used 433mins dis mth plus 300sms to maxis and 100sms to digi. so my charges will be

333mins+200sms to maxis = 50bucks
100mins(@.15sens)+100sms to maxis(@.10sens)+100sms to digi(@.10sens)= 35bucks
data = 50bucks
tax = % of ur total bill.

so total wll be around 140bucks. n not 100. get it?

pls bear in mind the unbilled amount is all mins and sms to all networks. so u will oni kno the breakdown at d end of d month. it oso doesnt segregate ur free sms's. u wont kno ur usage til d end of the month la.
I understand those you mentioned, and I know that I'll definitely exceed 100 by a bit. The issue is on the rebate, how do they calculate the amount to rebate?

This post has been edited by fuiyo: Oct 29 2010, 11:56 PM
fuiyo
post Oct 31 2010, 10:26 PM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

QUOTE(ksl279 @ Oct 31 2010, 09:35 PM)
hi all, the data used is base on received or send ? or both ?

noob here.
Both. However, the usage which appears on your phone might not be the same as the one Maxis has calculated. So don't FULLY utilize the data.
fuiyo
post Nov 5 2010, 10:46 PM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 4 2010, 01:24 PM)
I just received sms from maxis

user posted image user posted image

I hope i dont get overcharge by Maxis if i can control use up 200MB only for the next 10 days. Because it is clear in the sms and it is clear in my usage as well. There is no reason maxix want to cheat me right? Ok we shall see what happen
Anyway, Maxis 3G really fast, i wonder if any telcos can beat this speed

Hey! Where did you get this speed?!
I never achieve this speed before! Maximum is 1.8MB. Usually 1.2-1.6MB.
fuiyo
post Nov 15 2010, 07:43 PM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

Anyone in KL manage to consistently get above 1.5-2.0Mbps on Maxis 3G in KL, Subang, Sunway or Damansara using your iPhone 3G and above?

0.0202sec    0.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:32 AM