iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!
Loonie2
Oct 15 2010, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(yeahh @ Oct 15 2010, 08:50 AM) not sure whether this is the right place but ....... i guess its data related can we claim tax exemptions (internet) for usage of iphone? since our iphone plans now have data plans included INTO the plan ... how to separate out the data plan figure so that can use it as part of tax exemption? FYI, the deductions for personal tax is for Broadband subscriptions only...
Loonie2
Oct 15 2010, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(yeahh @ Oct 15 2010, 11:25 AM) kinda subjective isn't it? if i use my phone to tether ... it is technically a broadband service? Is quite difficult to argue with them / even convince them... because is clearly stated BROADBAND... Unless Maxis changed the wording from DATA to BROADBAND...
Loonie2
Oct 15 2010, 12:26 PM

QUOTE(yeahh @ Oct 15 2010, 12:12 PM) isnt broadband usage = data usage? if u dun use data then how to use broadband? the data we use is being paid for to use as a broadband service. if im not mistaken the idata plan for maxis can be used to claim deduction. same goes for digi's internet unlimited plan (which is tied to the postpaid plan). The tax relief is stated clearly "Subscription fees for broadband registered in the name of the individual"Maybe you should ask IRB directly..
Loonie2
Oct 26 2010, 03:52 PM

They have a few fix bill cycle dates, last time my one was on the 10th now i change to 7th... So the thing you must do, call up and ask when is your bill comes for the first month... Just to prevent any shocked bills !!
Don't know Maxis will waived or not, if you said "Maxis CS never informed me on this pro-rata basis thingy so i'm not going to pay the extra"
Loonie2
Oct 29 2010, 02:18 PM

QUOTE(fuiyo @ Oct 28 2010, 08:11 PM) Okay I just received my first bill after purchasing iPhone 4. I'm currently on an iValue 1 plan so I expect around RM120 after taking into account the SMS to other carrier as well as the tax and services. God it's RM192! After double checking everything, I realize that I text and call a little more then I should so I expect it to be RM130-140. Data usage was fine and Maxis calculated that part correctly (292.6MB/1GB). However, there's one part which I don't understand. My total usage is RM140+ and the rebate is around RM60+. The RM140+ includes the RM100 iValue 1 and those which I exceeded. How come it added another RM90, saying it's my monthly commitment which makes up RM190+ after tax in total? I know my bill doesn't sound so serious compared to some users over here but, still, it's around RM50 bucks more. I'm so gonna check it out tomorrow. RM140 is included the rebates, once the rebates is deducted out, the net would be your extra usage... Therefore RM80 plus monthly commitment fees RM100, would be RM180 + service tax.. seems reasonable..
Loonie2
Nov 18 2010, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 16 2010, 09:02 PM) The data charges include sms, mms, & internet charges... The 100mb they only charged you RM7.55 and they misinformed you bro, the 100mb is RM18 per month... checked my calculation >>>>> 13days/31days x RM18 = RM7.55 The data charges of RM130.48 no itemised billing? I supposed you have the itemised billing cos they charged you RM 2.74 This post has been edited by Loonie2: Nov 18 2010, 12:31 PM
Loonie2
Nov 23 2010, 04:21 PM

For those who have principal & supplementary line with maxis.. If you have just switch from Value plus to iValue.. Must checked the Calls & SMS between family lines..
I switched on the 16/10/10 and after this date all my sms & calls between my principal & supplementary line is not deducted out from the bill ... Estimate overcharged of my current bill RM100+ ..
Maxis Call Centre is blaming Maxis Centre.. and now is checking my SMS as i already got my calls charges deducted...