iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!
Superman7
Dec 25 2009, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Dec 25 2009, 09:36 PM) Reporting back. I'm on carrier 5.0. I tried safari several times again with this settings APN: uneta User: maxisa Pass: wap Still it does not connect. Even after waiting for some time. Mail Does not work as well. Apps store also does not connect. Data usage remains the same. Apparently the fake APN trick is still working for me. BTW, I'm based in Sabah, dunno if that makes a difference. The thing is, the claims are that the fake APN settings are now not working, so I don't think JBing your iphone will make any difference unless you mean JBing and then installing SBsettings to turn of EDGE and 3G. yes, we were all referring to JB to install SBsettings. Teikwing confirmed that only by those 2 steps, it will work. Otherwise it'll be a problem still. Not sure why yours the special one. You don't have SBsettings installed right?
Superman7
Dec 26 2009, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(Remedy @ Dec 26 2009, 06:50 PM) Damn.. i called maxis to disable my 3G and all data network this morning.. then i tried just now... at first it can't connect.. then 2nd try.. it connects! and the next thing i check RM5 credit gone! thats it JBing. that shouldn't happen if you disable the 3G settings via maxis. The thing is, the deactivation does not start immediately. Only possible after 2 hours according to maxis.
Superman7
Dec 26 2009, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Dec 26 2009, 08:57 PM) Well, he said he called Maxis this morning, and he tried sometime before 8:51pm... That's more than 2 hours... Oh well I tried mine after requesting maxis to disable my 3G. It doesn't connect anymore. Probably Remedy needs to call up maxis again to confirm if the 3G service had already been deactivated.
Superman7
Dec 27 2009, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Dec 27 2009, 08:59 AM) Got it, but the battery life is horrible. Might un-JB later. Looks like I'll be doing that as well, brother. Battery life is bad with JB or with SBsettings?
Superman7
Dec 27 2009, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Dec 27 2009, 01:37 PM) Some update here. Gotten my 2nd month statement. Strange thing happened, the iPhone data counter shown I had used about 65-70mb for this month. But the itemized bill only show 59mb. did you reset the counter on your iPhone? perhaps the 59MB is the usage of this month but the 70MB was actually the cumulative of last month and this month?
Superman7
Dec 27 2009, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Dec 27 2009, 01:46 PM) Yea. I did reset, my bill expired on 24th each month. I reset my iphone counter on 25th 00:00. Had keep an eyes for my data usage for 2 months continuously. I don't think it's as accurate as we would like it to be.. Anyway, less is always good right?
Superman7
Dec 27 2009, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(Remedy @ Dec 27 2009, 03:27 PM) So far ok.. i have wait till my phone fully charged then monitor. will let you know yeah. Pls let us know. It's about time to JB my phone.
Superman7
Dec 27 2009, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(hi54ever @ Dec 27 2009, 05:14 PM) @superman7 , just get maxis and close all connection, settle, haha already done that. Currently without any possibility to connect without wifi. Probably I should subscribe to some data plan soon. The only problem is that the current maxis data plan is still not very attractive. Guess I have to wait for some time more.
Superman7
Dec 27 2009, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(chris@cstorie @ Dec 27 2009, 06:48 PM) Which package u had signed for maxis? Hmm? I sign contract with maxis to get the iphone, but i using digi.  I didn't sign up for any contract. Just bought outright from maxis.
Superman7
Dec 27 2009, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Dec 27 2009, 11:02 PM) nope. I just got mine on 22nd this month.
Superman7
Dec 28 2009, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 28 2009, 01:13 PM) since u dun haf any contract.. u can change telco wat.. digi gt unlimited plan for RM48 for 12 mths if u sign up b4 31st of Dec.. normal charge is RM58 cos I'm on another contract with maxis
Superman7
Dec 29 2009, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(Remedy @ Dec 29 2009, 10:03 AM) Hey thats great news... yeah please do update again... I want to un-JBed... by the way bro.. where u get the firmware to un-JB? the link in lowyat to get that is not working. Have you confirmed that if it's the JB that's causing the battery drain or the SBsettings which is causing it?
Superman7
Jan 7 2010, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(thewayiam @ Jan 7 2010, 05:33 PM) lol yea i think thats coz we still have GPRS i called maxis earlier to cancel my GPRS 3G EDGE...the works lol until today i still have everything..maxis rocks i disabled 3G and EDGE and i still have sommee data going through...so far since i off everything...700kb passed already nott cool man sidenote: how are u guys battery going yea? i seem to hit 2 days to 2.5 onyl disabling of 3G/EDGE/GPRS from maxis requires 2 hrs of activation (at least that's what they told me). After deactivation, there is no more data creaping up by itself. At least on mine..
Superman7
Feb 21 2010, 08:24 AM
Just to confirm, the dataplan will reset every month with the statement date right?
Superman7
May 23 2010, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(childish_gal81 @ May 23 2010, 12:07 PM) wow..for the extra 74MB, you need to pay extra RM370??? That is a lot!!!! max cap for data is RM250
Superman7
May 23 2010, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(childish_gal81 @ May 23 2010, 02:38 PM) Just 74 MB already cost RM250? How did they calculate it? dytechinc, Did you exceeds the free calls or sms ? Only 74MB data cost so much to the bills? technically it's 0.005sen x 74,000kB = RM370 since maxis capped max at RM250, you only pay RM250.
Superman7
May 23 2010, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(stevenng97 @ May 23 2010, 04:44 PM) ^ top de guys can i know those games got openfeint will using pur data ??? reply asap thx somemore guys isit the all app are using data will show in usage ??? cause i damn scared by this those app using data but the usage not show ....  yes.. it will use up some data. But it shouldn't be anything to worry off as the amount of data used should be relatively low for openfeint. It simply post the highscores each time you completed a game. You should only be worried if you are playing games which only playable while online. If you are still worried, JB and install SBsettings.. Problem solved!
Superman7
Jun 29 2010, 11:12 AM
anybody had problem connecting to internet after updating the latest SBSettings?
Superman7
Sep 19 2010, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(richardtham @ Sep 19 2010, 10:47 AM) There is also 100 MB for Rm18 for maxis postpaid why is there no plan for 300MB?