Migrating to the US?, when the economy bounces back...

say_it
post May 21 2009, 04:19 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(pauleta85 @ May 21 2009, 01:52 PM)
Migrate to US... I afraid U will kena bully by white ppl.. lol
I don't think so sweat.gif

QUOTE(chrishung @ May 21 2009, 02:26 PM)
The easiest way would be to get a close American relative to sponsor you.

Or enter as a student then look for a job there.

Or migrate to Canada/Mexico first. NAFTA agreement makes it easier for citizens of these two countries to enter US.

I'm not too sure on this one, but I believe that if you own a property in the US it's easier to get a migrant visa. Anyone able to confirm this?

EDIT:

Oh yeah, I forgot about another easy method. Marry an American!
Marry an American no longer can secure you an visa.
I saw some example before. They some more hire lawyer to settle the visa for them after they registered. But then still waiting...
say_it
post May 21 2009, 05:31 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ May 21 2009, 04:29 PM)
try to find a job first, i uploaded resume on canada job site to test how hard it is for me to secure a job. also need research on rent, transport, food cost, tax, visa requirement.

try workopolis and monster.ca to see what job is available and payscale to see how much is the market rate, go to thestar.com to check on rent ...

workopolis is a good job site even got a boss button  laugh.gif

the perfect scenario will be a company will hire me and help me to get work visa, them after that i can apply for PR, maybe need to get my uncle to sponsor me on that application also.
With this route, normally we will get an offer for an contract basic job and the pay is slightly lower than the job market.
Normally those good offer job they prefer citizen or PR.
It is apply to almost every country.

QUOTE(erictham @ May 21 2009, 04:41 PM)
Anybody actually tried the H1-B route & tasted success?  smile.gif
Yes, I know someone already in US with the world Largest Chip maker.

0.0121sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:34 AM