Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

magiclover
post Feb 3 2010, 04:09 PM

285 posts

I will be starting my work in singapore few days after cny.
currently looking for a room to rent, any ideas where can i get a not so expensive, in other word, cheap room around areas nearby chinatown? or easilly accessible by mrt

help is much appreciated if you have rooms to let or know friends that are renting at a good rate:)
magiclover
post Feb 4 2010, 04:07 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Feb 4 2010, 06:14 AM)
if your work place is in Chinatown, then you should look for smth near NEL. try sengkang or punggol area, the rooms there are cheaper.
thanks for the information
yes and i have been browsing the properties there for sometime, is asking from an agent online more expensive than get the room rates from newspaper or they are the same?
and i have some confusion between common room and utility room, what's the difference?

My budget is $400 maximum, and someone offered me $350 for a small/ utility room, how "Small" is that? can fit a single bed, closet and a table?

thanks for your help smile.gif
magiclover
post Mar 17 2010, 02:56 PM

285 posts

In other words, if we malaysian working in singapore, we do not have to pay contribution to cpf?
How about employer's portion? Do they still pay us the x% of employer contribution required or we do not enjoy that too?

Anyway, any foreign income remitted into Malaysia is free of tax so there is no worries regarding this issue, you just forgo the commission earned by the banks after the conversion.

Added on March 17, 2010, 2:58 pmby the way, i have tried to go singapore by car from Permas Jaya, Jb at 5.30 am and had breakfast at woodlands and still manage to reach Pasir Ris by 7.30 am.
So should not be a problem I guess, you can always do some sampling by testing the traffic yourself

This post has been edited by magiclover: Mar 17 2010, 02:58 PM
magiclover
post Mar 17 2010, 03:39 PM

285 posts

I agree with the statement above.
However, I think kids brought up in Malaysia will have a better life balance.
For early education , i would have preferred Malaysia however when it comes to higher secondary, Singapore is a good choice

magiclover
post Mar 18 2010, 12:02 AM

285 posts

The thing he was trying to imply here is students in malaysia are literally more independent of school. Most of them attend tuition after class and majority of their knowledge are not acquired from school.
So when are are put into nasty situation, we know how to handle.
2cents.
magiclover
post Mar 18 2010, 01:54 AM

285 posts

well its an opinion and everybody sure experience different thing.
Going for tuition is an example of students here who can find their way out of a difficult situation. I'm just speaking for my experience as a student for the past 15 years.
*never did i mention attending tuition classes is an act of street smart

As a Chinese proverb " one kind of rice feeds hundred kind of people" , we can see that both SG and MY do produce good quality students as well as the opposite. If you bring up your children well with a decent family background, teaching him the virtues and values I guess he or she will be successful one day.
But I will not deny quality of life in SG will be better, mainly the transportation, attitude and the cleanliness.

This post has been edited by magiclover: Mar 18 2010, 02:25 AM
magiclover
post Mar 21 2010, 08:24 PM

285 posts

Stability of politics, security, spending power and purchasing power, transportation, cleanliness, exposure, experience, stronger economy, fair opportunity, civilized attitude and etc ...

Though sometimes I feel guilty having to compare it to my homeland this way. sigh. But it is indisputable unless the leaders take actions.
magiclover
post Mar 24 2010, 01:40 AM

285 posts

Kuishinbo is good, they have snow crab legs!!
By the way its located in Sun tec city

This post has been edited by magiclover: Mar 24 2010, 01:41 AM
magiclover
post Mar 25 2010, 12:36 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(diabetes @ Mar 24 2010, 11:18 AM)
Hi guys,
I'm wondering if anyone knows about the salary and benefits offered by BDO Singapore for audit associate position?
Is BDO Singapore the 5th largest in Singapore?
Its 5th largest in the world, but Singapore I'm not sure, there is this debate over the 5th Largest between BDO and RSM.
But compare with other big4, the size is 4 - 6 times smaller if you compare their global revenue
Salary vary with your qualification, benefits in audit firm...hmm not a good question lol

magiclover
post Mar 29 2010, 05:34 PM

285 posts

LOL I was just wondering will the other 2 join the opposition.

magiclover
post Apr 3 2010, 12:05 PM

285 posts

maybe night shift la
magiclover
post Apr 6 2010, 04:16 PM

285 posts

raise back to 2.3011 already! haha
The reason you don't you singapore CC is because of the interest rate after conversion??
magiclover
post Apr 24 2010, 08:46 PM

285 posts

500$ can survive for food and travelling expenses only right? if include rental for us from outstation, that would be little
magiclover
post Apr 28 2010, 04:12 PM

285 posts

He just said EP holder cant, but never say PR can.

Anyway, for banks like Maybank and CIMB that have branch in SG, can we withdraw our $$ deposited in Malaysia bank from SG ATMs of respective banks?
magiclover
post Apr 28 2010, 07:21 PM

285 posts

Thanks for the clarification.
And i wonder if conversion rate the bank charge will be favorable to us or is it better to go to a money changer?
magiclover
post May 10 2010, 09:57 PM

285 posts

Debit card limit is up to the amount in your bank account also right?
Hence is debit card= prepaid visa/mastercard?

Because my debit card can work for merchant who accepts Visa as well.
magiclover
post May 11 2010, 12:39 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 11 2010, 12:27 PM)
my fren have around RM8k in the account and he is just doing a $70 transaction. because he didn't carry enough cash, i ended up helping him to swipe with my Malaysian Credit card and the transaction gone through with the same machine. it isn't that called "失败" and that made my friend dam embarrass as he was looking for me all around the place to pay for him.
FYI, maybank debit card need some online authorisation before certain usage.
Like for purchases from itunes, you need to allow for the transaction from maybank2u website.
So, understand the root cause before making a statement. Lol.

0.0506sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:06 AM