Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

jimmy79
post May 24 2009, 08:37 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ May 22 2009, 10:36 PM)
crap.. my PR just got approved! Now i have to forgo 14.5% of my employer CFP.... hu hu hu.... i was hopping that they would only reply me in June, so that when i get promoted (hopefully) in July, I can take my payslip and apply for another job!!!

Btw, I am going back KL tomorrow!!! Yes Yes Yes!!!

Added on May 22, 2009, 10:38 pmchris, when u going back?? we can go mamak! hahhaha
You get approved and straight contribute full rate? Normally for those case that you need to bear your employer CPF, you will start from the first rate which is 5% ( you) and 4.5%( employer).

Added on May 24, 2009, 8:47 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ May 23 2009, 02:27 PM)
Just out of curiosity, how many of you knew early on that you can go through the auto clearance gates at Sg immigration using only our Malaysian passports?

I only found out last Thursday night at Tuas immigration. Seems like I  bodoh-bodoh wasted over 4 years queuing at the manual clearance counters when there was no need to. I wonder why the immigration officers never once made a remark or asked me why I didn't use the auto clearance gates instead.
No worry, the auto clearance using Malaysian passport is only started this year or end of 2008 if not mistaken, so you are not wasted 4 years queuing at manual clearance.

PS: you can use malaysian passport to do auto clearance only if you are singapore PR. All pass holder still need go through manual clearance or apply for access card.

Added on May 24, 2009, 8:50 pm
QUOTE(Joelion @ May 24 2009, 07:00 PM)
thx for the info  biggrin.gif

Added on May 24, 2009, 7:12 pm
ya. i m graduated in m'sia (utp). actually, my major is in instrumentation and control. At 1st ,I wanna try on O&G comp but after few month trying. cannot secure a job as a fresh grad in this O&G field as most of them prefer exp worker. So, i thought by widen by my search in EE field. It could be a higher chances. blush.gif

That y, i plan to secure whatever an EE engineering job.

Do u think it is possible to come down s'pore and stay for few week while applying ? High chance to get an interview?  sad.gif
DO you have a singapore number for all your previous application? For me having a Singapore contact number is good enough so that they can contact you for interview more easily as they will have a mindset you are in Singapore.

This post has been edited by jimmy79: May 24 2009, 08:50 PM
jimmy79
post May 25 2009, 04:57 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(blessedvillain @ May 25 2009, 03:57 PM)
i went singapore last week to check out the room that my agent recommended and it turns out to be really beyond my worst expectation. The HDB unit in Jurong West is supposedly a 3 rooms unit, but the owner has somehow partition it into a 5 rooms unit. Each rooms is twin sharing!! is this even allowed in singapore??

That's not the worst part....The agreement (luckily not signed yet), stated that light cooking is allowed, but when my gf ask about how "light" is light cooking, the owner says only we only allow to boil water and cook instant noodles!!!!!!

Thank God the agent managed to get back my deposit...

We went around Bukit Batok, Red Hill and Jurong West area to hunt for rooms, but the more rooms we see, the worse it gets... Some ads say aircon is provided means that standing air cooler is provided. Some single male owners insisted ONLY LADY tenant is allowed??!! that unit is filled with Vietnamese labors...

Is getting a room with decent housemates THAT HARD in spore??? My maximum budget is $700. Is this too low to get a decent place?

My new job in spore is starting next week and yet to find a place to stay. I'm OFFICIALLY screwed.
Change your agent. Go to first page of this thread, there are few link that can help you to find rooms in HDB. Like other say, 700 is enough for you to get a decent room.
jimmy79
post May 26 2009, 10:51 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ May 26 2009, 09:58 AM)
If i want to apply for PR, can i translate my birthday cert in Malaysia?
If I have to translate in Singapore, where is the place?
I never translate any my document into english so do my wife, we getting our PR without any problem .
jimmy79
post May 30 2009, 06:09 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 30 2009, 01:01 PM)
But Melaka is only 3 hours from Singapore by bus. After you factor in the time you spend checking in and waiting in the departure hall, flying won't save you much time.
YOu cant imagine in holiday how long you will need spend on the road. I have tried it b4 it i took 4pm bus and I reach singapore almost 12am. Its like 8 hours for the short journey. for normal day, its like 4 hours, dun think can make it less than 3 hours. If there is a choice and price not too much, I will go for the firefly.
jimmy79
post Jun 19 2009, 12:23 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 19 2009, 10:13 AM)
anyone got shock by the income tax amount for last year? hehe
I earn little, so pay little, no shock tongue.gif
jimmy79
post Jun 24 2009, 09:43 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jun 23 2009, 11:37 PM)
Hahaha.. yeah.. damn entertaining... gosh, fresh graduates nowadays too demanding. Funny funny

Added on June 23, 2009, 11:39 pm

No, not enough, salary ranges from the scale of S$10,000 to S$20,000 a month, so S$4.5k per month is not enough. Ask for a raise! >.<!!
Hmm, before we can conclude the ranges of the scale of S10,000 till20,000, you should ask also what is the company size and real responsible of the position. I have friends work as IT manager as salary 3.2k also. hehe

jimmy79
post Jun 25 2009, 09:58 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jun 24 2009, 06:20 PM)
I was just being sacastic. Of course S$4.5K is suffice to support oneself!!
Sorry, lately very tense. cannot get the joke. However 4.5k like you say is suffice for self use. But whether it is good for an account manager post is really very arguable.

jimmy79
post Jul 4 2009, 08:21 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(sweetcorn @ Jul 4 2009, 08:02 AM)
@chess_gal,

I actually do have nearing 3 years of relevant working experience back in Msia. In fact my field of work is quite specific and specialized. Before I decided to move to Spore, I went to an interview from a big Singapore company. The interview went REALLY well...but when they start questioning my residency status in Singapore, that's when it gets really disappointing. They were quite surprised that I'm not a PR (I think the HR screw up this part and didnt check my particulars carefully when they invited me for an interview). This is why I ask is having PR really matters?
I think main reason is the company your interview does not have headcount for any pass anymore. For PR and Singaporean, there is no limit headcount as to encourage company hire singaporean and RP, but for all pass holder, there is a ratio of pass holder to PR/Singaporean.

jimmy79
post Jul 17 2009, 09:55 AM

957 posts

Usually i remmit money from SGD to MY. However, this time I need to do remiitance from MY to SGD, anyone got any idea how we can do this in msia especially melaka since i seldom see remittance service in msia? If possible i would like to avoid bank as the rate normally is lower.
jimmy79
post Jul 21 2009, 02:29 PM

957 posts

Agree with seatang.
If you dun have confidence to yourself, who can have confidence on you?

Wasa, yeah plan to get a roof for me but seems it turn to seller market again, sigh
jimmy79
post Jul 28 2009, 09:34 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 27 2009, 08:01 PM)
not entirely true. there is a significant drop in COV price for the  last 3 months ..but it's picking up again ..
The COV and valuation price is picking very very fast. Now those unit near MRT is asking around 20-30k COV again, sweat.gif
jimmy79
post Aug 3 2009, 06:04 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 2 2009, 08:19 PM)
SGD1k for the whole flat is hard to get, unless probably 3 rooms flat . 5 rooms flat rental can easily fetch sgd1.5k
3 rooms flat also impossible to get as SGD1k. If you can get 5 room flat at sdg1.5k please intro to me. I biggrin.gif when see your reply.
jimmy79
post Aug 11 2009, 09:47 AM

957 posts

Anyone can explain why property in singapore still selling hot despite the slowdown of economy, will it continue to climb or will it be a adjustment later?

jimmy79
post Aug 11 2009, 03:48 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(iL99Jk0 @ Aug 11 2009, 02:15 PM)
I dont think it is a wise choice.

It is only viable for someone to work in Singapore if one could earn at least $3.5K and above. Otherwise I personnaly think that it is not worthwhile coming to SG.

For instance, you have your own car, own house, your favourite personal belongings etc, not to mention your girl fren, your mum, your dad, and your love ones... you are leaving everything just to come to another fresh country and start everything from scratch.

In addition, you will incur opportunity cost on your car (bcos you are unable to use your car but require to continue to pay monthly installments) and house (unless you are able to rent it out at a reasonable rate)

Unless you are staying in JB and go back every weekend.
Why everyone keep saying u must get SGD 3.5k above only worth to work in Singapore? If this is the case, how about all other ppl earning less than 3.5k?

For retnouc case, he dun even earn RM3.5k in Msia, I wonder how can earn 3.5k SGD only worth condition apply to him?
I will say the decision is still up to retnouc . you can take seatang advise as your guideline.

This post has been edited by jimmy79: Aug 11 2009, 03:50 PM
jimmy79
post Aug 20 2009, 09:15 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 20 2009, 08:56 PM)
since we are at this topic,
what are the chances of a person with work permit + diploma + 1 year working at MNC sg getting a PR?
You need at least S pass for getting PR. work permit is not able to get PR
jimmy79
post Oct 13 2009, 02:13 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Oct 13 2009, 12:07 PM)
I am hunting for job in Singapore again. The higher your position is, the more difficult for you to get a job. sigh sigh
Are you hinting you are having high position thus hard to find job? tongue.gif

0.0258sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:46 AM