Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups
f.e.a.r
Mar 10 2010, 09:06 PM

Hello guys, i have been offered a job in singapore as network engineer. I get sgd 2800 and i have 3 years working experience. I have no idea about the job market in singapore and i just want to know whether this is a fair offer?
Need your advise. Thanks
f.e.a.r
Mar 10 2010, 10:23 PM

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Mar 10 2010, 10:10 PM) what is your current pay in Msia? It must be the same, let say in Msia right now u are getting rm3K, so in SG u must get at least SG3K as well, or higher, don go for lower! dont think that is accurate... actually 2.8k is only 80% of my salary in malaysia.. so it is not a wise choice to accept this offer? This post has been edited by f.e.a.r: Mar 10 2010, 10:27 PM
f.e.a.r
Mar 10 2010, 10:30 PM

considering that i can save more by working in sg..lets say i can save 1.5ksgd (MYR3600) with income SGD2.8k. I am not able to save that much in Malaysia although my salary is >4kMYR.
fyi, i haven't accept the job offer yet.still in dilemma
This post has been edited by f.e.a.r: Mar 10 2010, 10:31 PM
f.e.a.r
Mar 10 2010, 10:33 PM

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 10 2010, 10:27 PM) What other offers have you gotten? And why do you want to move to Singapore? ie. do you mind NOT moving to Singapore? another reason is SG actually nearer to my hometown, so i can go home more frequent. I m Johorean...
f.e.a.r
Mar 10 2010, 10:37 PM

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 10 2010, 10:33 PM) 3 year exp at more then rm 4k is quite good. Not really, bro. The inflation rate in MY is quite high now, a plate of chicken rice/mix rice cost around MYR5.00 - MYR6 at my working place... After reduction of EPF and Tax..the amount i can save each month is very less.  Added on March 10, 2010, 10:39 pmQUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 10 2010, 10:35 PM) If you commute everyday then sure can save quite alot. If you rent a place there then thats a diff story. Yes probably i will share room with my friend because i knew that the rental in sg is god damn high. This post has been edited by f.e.a.r: Mar 10 2010, 10:39 PM
f.e.a.r
Mar 10 2010, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 10 2010, 10:42 PM) OK. So you want to come to Singapore. It's a push to move, not a pull. Now, what other offers have you received? thts the only offer from sg i have at the moment. Another question: Do you guys thinks that working in sg will get a career enhancement/build a better profile compared working in MY? What is the main reason/attraction for you to work in sg ? mind to share? Added on March 10, 2010, 10:50 pmQUOTE(rickysim84 @ Mar 10 2010, 10:46 PM) i just get an interview just now.. dilemma also All the best to you, good luck This post has been edited by f.e.a.r: Mar 10 2010, 10:50 PM
f.e.a.r
Mar 10 2010, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 10 2010, 10:59 PM) If this is your only offer, then there's no need to ask whether it's a good/fair offer or not. You have no alternatives. The only question you should ask is whether it's worth it, vs what you're doing now in Malaysia. QUOTE(f.e.a.r) Do you guys thinks that working in sg will get a career enhancement/build a better profile compared working in MY? What is the main reason/attraction for you to work in sg ? mind to share? Of course. Virtually every industry (with the exception of palm oil and agriculture related industries) is bigger in Singapore vs Malaysia. Main attraction... MONEY, MONEY, MONEY. MONEY rules
f.e.a.r
Mar 10 2010, 11:09 PM

[quote=crapp0,Mar 10 2010, 11:07 PM] MONEY rules  [/quote] Same motto what the lovely ladies in geylang have. [/quote] haha. so how about urs?
f.e.a.r
Mar 13 2010, 07:56 PM

hi i am going to sg to work in april and i am planning to buy a laptop there. Just want to know...compared to Malaysia price, is it cheaper to buy a laptop in SG?
f.e.a.r
Mar 13 2010, 10:36 PM

okay thanks for the info sharing.
Can anyone tell me is there any shopping mall like lowyat plaza in SG where is selling a lot of computer stuff?
f.e.a.r
Mar 14 2010, 07:17 PM

Is there anyone working in NCS hub in ang mo kio? mind to share what is the working environment there and do you need to wear formal shirts during working hours?
f.e.a.r
Mar 14 2010, 07:35 PM

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 14 2010, 07:31 PM) not sure, but as i know 50% of NCS hub employee jump ship to Apple  wahh.....where u got tht statistic?
f.e.a.r
Mar 14 2010, 07:50 PM

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 14 2010, 07:37 PM) Your job at NCS is IT support over the phone line? No i am not sure where is my working location yet but my company is NCS.. still pending rely from the hr for the working location. Anyone work in IT line here? mind to share what do you think of the IT industry in Sg? This post has been edited by f.e.a.r: Mar 14 2010, 07:51 PM
f.e.a.r
Mar 14 2010, 08:50 PM

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 14 2010, 08:47 PM) Im not asking about your location. Im asking if you know what position you will be filling in NCS, as a it support staff or customer technical support over the phone. IT support staff....anything you wannna share about NCS?
f.e.a.r
Mar 14 2010, 08:54 PM

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 14 2010, 08:52 PM) I dont think anybody here works at NCS. No prob, where u stay in sg? do we have any TT session in this thread? will gonna join u guys
f.e.a.r
Mar 18 2010, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 17 2010, 10:46 PM) standard for foreigners is 500 i think... charges i think by tt is 30sgd + bank forex rate + msian bank tt rate 30sgd + bank forex rate + msian bank tt rate is a lot, so you guys doing that whenever you want to send money back to Malaysia? Other than this way or Western Union, do we have any alternative to transfer money to Malaysia Bank in RM?
f.e.a.r
Mar 23 2010, 06:25 PM

can someone suggest me where to stay in SG will get a cheaper room rate and cheaper food if my working location is Yio Chu Kang..
f.e.a.r
Apr 21 2010, 04:06 PM

finally i have settle down in singapore, currently i am stay in pasir ris and working in bedok south road..will rellocate to AMK or YCK next month.. the public transport here is very convenient...and the fare is is affordable. Besides, i dont see kia su or lcly attitude/behaviour among my teamates (most of them are Singaporean Citizen)..so i am very happy with the environment here
f.e.a.r
Apr 23 2010, 03:40 PM

is there any public swiming pool or public gym in amk? anyone stay in amk atm?