78 posts

any lowyat forumer work in NCS ?
allens
post May 6 2010, 10:32 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(cks2k2 @ May 5 2010, 03:36 PM)
Guys, I need an opinion.
I have 2 job offers: one from Penang and one from Singapore.

The offer from PG is from a major MNC, salary is pretty good (MYR5k/mth + stock options + other benefits).
But it's in the semiconductor field, which I used to be in and there's a feeling that the semicon companies are going to abandon MY for Vietnam in 5-10 years time.

The offer from SG is from a start-up with ties to A*STAR (the govt backed research arm), salary is around SGD3k (~MYR7020).
Job seems interesting and challenging, a big departure from what I was doing previously. But I feel the pay is a bit on the low side, as I have work experience and a masters from NUS (coursework, not research). I know someone with a background close to mine, and he got SGD4k, but that was before the economic crisis.

Given the high cost of living, SGD3k pretty much equals MYR5k. The saving grace is I am not contributing to CPF, and the tax rate is low (discounting GST). And I like living in SG, compared to PG where I used to work in (me KL boy).
But it's abandoning the comfort of a MNC for a small start-up, for pretty much the same pay (minus expenses). Should I pick SG?
for me, if i got such offer in pg, definitely i choose pg, but i don't have such offer, that make me go to sg.

Although 5K compare to SGD 3K (~7K), 7K is higher, but for the rental i pay at SG, it enough for me to pay for 1 apartment/condo installment at PG, u get a house, not a room ...

some more pg expense is much more lower than KL ... no toll, nice food(sg food ...sigh)

you said that semicon companies are going to abandon MY for Vietnam in 5-10, but thing after 5 yrs who know....

that my thought
allens
post May 6 2010, 11:33 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 6 2010, 10:41 AM)
erm..buy house and do installment no need to pay the down payment?
for some apartment in pg, the market price (which given by bank) is much higher than selling price.

From what i know from my landlord last time, she bought that house for 230K but bank can offer her till 270K load,
so do you think u need down payment for that ? but for sure ya installment going to be higher and also ya interest also biggrin.gif
allens
post May 6 2010, 11:41 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(cikopek @ May 6 2010, 11:03 AM)
They are slowly moving their operations to vietnam now.... good examples are Panasonic
No need to wait 5 years.
Now can see the effects with all the circus thing going in Msia (cowhead, PKFZ, teenage shooting by police, mongolian, anwar case, list goes on......) & don forget the rise of Indonesia , India & FDI still goes to Thailand rather than Msia even with their political unrest
ya ... for sure, they might move production to vietnam, but for R&D, i think they still will remain in malaysia, i think u wont be among those working as labour in production.... as a engineer, still should be ok ...
allens
post May 7 2010, 05:44 PM

78 posts

hey guy ...

what is the exchange rate today? any place that exchange is higher?
allens
post May 10 2010, 01:50 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(locust @ May 10 2010, 10:54 AM)
Wanna ask, those working in Sg, where do u renew your Malaysian driving license. JB can renew? where? thanks
any malaysia pos office also can, but they charge RM2(if not mistake) for service charge.

0.0508sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:00 AM