Stock Market VERSION 27, Feng Shui? Sentiment? Goreng?

danmooncake
post May 19 2009, 09:14 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,125 posts

QUOTE(cliffang83 @ May 19 2009, 09:08 PM)
That's bad... ohmy.gif
No, that's actually healthy! biggrin.gif
A bit of pullback is expected..after 200+ points run up yesterday.
What u expect? Always up??

US housing construction last month data points towards negative territory..
a bit of disappointment, so time to take some profits off the table! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 19 2009, 09:19 PM
danmooncake
post May 20 2009, 09:13 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ May 20 2009, 09:07 AM)
will try to ask my fren that working inside.. see what he said.. if got any info.. will post here smile.gif
Oh uh... yes, insider selling usually isn't a good sign. They definitely must know something that outsider
doesn't know and if large amount of shares being dump by executives, investors better follow suit
otherwise they'll end up holding the bag if something really bad is coming up.

danmooncake
post May 20 2009, 09:16 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ May 20 2009, 09:14 AM)
Sifu sifu..

Let say I buy stock A today.. T3 come, I sell (mean I no need settle since I sell in time on T3), then next day I buy again the same stock A.. Is this call short selling aka illegal?
Short selling is selling stocks that you don't have.
The sale that you've described sound more like short position (1 day).. no short selling.

danmooncake
post May 20 2009, 09:22 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ May 20 2009, 09:19 AM)
I understand now.. So it's called Contra too right?
Usually Contra (aka. IntraDay) means within same day trade.
Buy and sell on same trading day..(not next day).

To me, anything that is over the next trading day is considered a short position.
danmooncake
post May 20 2009, 09:24 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(jgchoo @ May 20 2009, 09:18 AM)
How to short selling in HL trading acc.?
I guess it is up to your broker if they allow you to borrow some shares to sell, right?

You're expecting the price to go down.. and after the price has gone down, you can buy back
to cover and gain the profits in the difference.
danmooncake
post May 20 2009, 09:28 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(fergie1100 @ May 20 2009, 09:23 AM)
contra means u sell the stock b4 picking it up...... wic also means that u dun intent to hold it  tongue.gif
Yes, before settlement, you already sold it...
People who do this must love chasing stocks.. aka. day-traders. biggrin.gif
danmooncake
post May 20 2009, 09:29 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(goognio @ May 20 2009, 09:27 AM)
what happen to goreng counter? all still sleeping? uncle , auntie come come buy la. make market excited
Uncle/Auntie are also afraid of sharks! tongue.gif

Added on May 20, 2009, 9:30 am
QUOTE(jgchoo @ May 20 2009, 09:28 AM)
I'm using HLe broking, online trading, inside the general infos, i saw it state allow short selling, but when I try to sell the share (I have 0 share on hand), it says server reject, 0 share for sell.
I think you have to 'borrow' first from your broker. nod.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 20 2009, 09:30 AM
danmooncake
post May 20 2009, 09:34 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(edwin32us @ May 20 2009, 09:30 AM)
Well this news is already late lah. My friend show me a chinese newspaper which stated these guys sold their shares last week.

Why only yesterday only made the announcement?
Hmm...slow releases of news..perhaps they don't want to shock others or cause massive sell down of their stocks.

Insiders sell first.. early news got to retail investors..then, they sell.. then official news.. only followed by ikan bilis selling. nod.gif
danmooncake
post May 20 2009, 10:41 AM

10,125 posts

Bear trap again? blink.gif
danmooncake
post May 20 2009, 02:05 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(ABC2020 @ May 20 2009, 11:39 AM)
just call UOB singapore for request to open an personal account. The official told me i need a reference letter from any malaysia bank. Anyone here ever request reference letter from the bank?
You can tell that UOB official, you'll take your money elsewhere. You're not applying for job.. you're opening a bank account and you're giving them money. That person must be stupid or something. doh.gif
danmooncake
post May 21 2009, 04:15 AM

10,125 posts

Boo!!

DJIA lost 50+ points today, looks like bulls running of stamina.. sad.gif
danmooncake
post May 21 2009, 08:07 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(chyaw @ May 21 2009, 07:33 AM)
I'm not good in trading... Whenever I bought a stock, the price sure drop one (only see sign of moving up after a week or more). So, how to be a trader? For long term play, I don't really need to glue myself in front of the PC to monitor the price. I only do that when I want to buy or sell a share for certain reason. For that reason, I only select those company that I think the fundamental is good or at least able to survive this downturn. Of course, once a while, I also goreng lar!  rolleyes.gif
In that case don't be a 'trader' if you feel not good in trading. Fast trading is for goreng-goreng players... they tend to kill others or be killed.

Be 'investor', like Buffet - pure fundalmentalist, learn to read balance sheets and buy and hold long term.

Stay away from the technical mumbo-jumbo and charts watchers like those daytraders or 'goreng goreng' players. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 21 2009, 08:08 AM
danmooncake
post May 22 2009, 10:05 PM

10,125 posts

USD going down fast... SELL SELL SELL! biggrin.gif
danmooncake
post May 26 2009, 09:56 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 26 2009, 09:21 PM)

Not to mention P1 has cap of 10G download bandwidth limit imposed which is considerably small compared to others 3G service while streamyx none.
Pricing wise, it lose out for time being, so it is not attractive for people looking for budget one.
10G is a lot already. Can one really consume 10G of bandwidth per month as a regular user?
Unless most of subscribers are p2p addicts?

For p2p addicts, they most likely will go with unlimited use like Streamyx or Jaring package. Right?

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 26 2009, 09:57 PM
danmooncake
post May 26 2009, 11:57 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 26 2009, 11:53 PM)
Quick gains is not goreng meh?  tongue.gif

At the moment, my ABP for Lionind is 0.91. Everyday telling myself to ride this bull till the end but so itchy to sell.  doh.gif Lucky I only sold half my Kinstel last week. Now already shot up higher!!!

That's why I go for penny stocks. Can really shoot up a lot. Some more, I don't have much capital so have to buy penny stocks  blush.gif

At the moment, I think everything is expensive!!! I just don't know what to buy. Since I'm just a noob, better stay at the sidelines unless there is a reason to buy..... or if there are any tips....  drool.gif  drool.gif
Penny stocks are very volatile and manipulated a lot by big boys and day traders.. not necessarily it shoots up but
downward trend big time too. You must play properly otherwise can lose shirts, pants and underwears too. biggrin.gif

Over long term, better buy value blue chip stocks or just indexes if cannot afford individual stocks or know how to access those quality ones.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 26 2009, 11:59 PM
danmooncake
post May 27 2009, 03:20 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(David_Brent @ May 27 2009, 02:08 AM)
Obviously a new (and exceptionally high quality) consignment of finest white powder from Columbia has arrived on Wall Street. brows.gif
Nah...they all smoking home-grown pot and meth for now.
The rave party still going on.. everyone is drunk with money madness and buying euphoria now.
They all 'believe' the recession is going to be over soon.

I'm sure they feel hangover tomorrow. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 27 2009, 03:20 AM
danmooncake
post May 27 2009, 06:56 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 27 2009, 06:38 AM)
Yeah, gradually changing to blue chips and REITs. Waiting for dip to sai lang everything.......
Owh.... I always thought quick gain =  goreng.....  blush.gif

BTW, Malaysian GDP coming out today?  hmm.gif
Really? Malaysia GDP finally coming out?? yawn.gif
Any whisper numbers? Down 2-3% last quarter?

What about unemployment numbers? Govt too afraid to publish those? blink.gif

Added on May 27, 2009, 6:57 am
QUOTE(omores @ May 27 2009, 04:50 AM)
Whatever party they are having, i hope they continue doing it.

DJIA closed at 8,473.49    +196.17 (2.37%).

Yay  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Yeah.. here's your opportunity to sell into the rally and make some money, right?? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 27 2009, 06:57 AM
danmooncake
post May 27 2009, 10:37 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(abin28 @ May 27 2009, 10:31 AM)
dow up so much last night klci red, wonder if dow down 200pts what will happen to klci today
Aiya.. didn't everyone already said thousand of times already.

KLCI is COMPLETELY and UTTERLY DISJOINT from the rest of the world market.

KLCI is played by local big boys, breeding sharks with huge jaws to eat those 'ikan bilis'.
If you're one of those 'ikan bilis', you got to learn to swim very very fast to outrun them otherwise
you'll be eaten. nod.gif

danmooncake
post May 27 2009, 09:38 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 27 2009, 09:33 PM)
Lets hope Mr.Jones give us a green day...
wanted to buy TM but end up din buy.. hiaya...
tomorrow i think those bought TM sure making money.. hehe..

Added on May 27, 2009, 9:35 pm
i want to be the smart one to pick up their shares...
HaHa! Mr.DJ can pummeled ahead yet, Mr. KLCI can always always go backwards. instead.
Mr.KLCI is like stuck into a time dilation zone.. like back into the '90s
everything slow down and sometimes go backwards. not real time anymore.
Your money may shrink instead of grow by investing in KLCI. smile.gif

Added on May 27, 2009, 9:42 pm
QUOTE(speed7791 @ May 27 2009, 09:33 PM)
if we dilligently do our own research, we wouldn't need the gov't to tell us where our economy is headed. everything they say has to be taken with a pinch of salt. while the masses may dump their shares in panic the smarter ones will be glad to pick them up.  biggrin.gif

remember how they said sub prime in US won't affect us?

That's right.. but we do need to govt to stop feeding us lies, lies and more lies. Need to have more independent research,
market and economic data so that the market can be free instead of controlled and only those cronies get first hand information and they dump shares ahead of everyone else. nod.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 27 2009, 09:42 PM
danmooncake
post May 27 2009, 10:08 PM

10,125 posts

The latest US housing data has been released...the epic center of the economic issue,
inventory level is UP again.. therefore there's a 40 months oversupply.

So much for consumer confidence yesterday, DJ now going red..

Be prepared for blood bath tomorrow am at KLSE. sweat.gif

0.0464sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:30 AM