Tarantula Thread V11, Either you love em or hate em

Foxngn
post May 30 2009, 10:26 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

finally my OBT start to make massive webbing around its burrow.
& My GBB had just molted.

Btw, if a T's abdomen stays fat for around 2weeks, is there anything wrong about it? I didn't feed it around this 2 weeks

This post has been edited by Foxngn: May 30 2009, 10:26 PM
Foxngn
post May 30 2009, 11:45 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(geo @ May 30 2009, 10:31 PM)
hmmm.. if its still damn big then wait till next molt jz feed lor..
but rmb to mist the container then ok dy
It just been molted around May head, currently the size around 4cm LS, yeah.. i do mis the container weekly...

hmm, i think maybe i wait 1 more week to see how first.
Foxngn
post Jun 1 2009, 07:55 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

Maybe i just make a fuss, is it common for a sling not eat for around 2 or 3 weeks? its not its molting period, since it last molt it just months ago
Foxngn
post Jun 1 2009, 09:11 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(junshern222 @ Jun 1 2009, 08:22 PM)
my sling dont eat for almost one month,then died.
what is the cause ?
Foxngn
post Jun 2 2009, 07:40 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(Oldfart @ Jun 2 2009, 05:07 AM)
it is not uncommon for slings with big butts to not eat for a couple of weeks.  On the other hand, if its butt is getting smaller and it does not eat then there might be a problem.  I had a sling that pounced on a mealworm and it struggled with it for a second then let it go.  Never ate the worm and never acted normal after that.  Would not burrow- it died a few weeks later.  I think it might have been injured during the struggle.  I also have a couple of G. pulchra slings that would come out after a molt, I'd feed it heavily for a few days, their butts get fat, then they go into hiding again till they molt.
Then i think my one would be in the other situation.
Cause my Suntiger been molted almost months ago, & it doesn't eat at all, & the butt is getting small.. as for my GBB i think still understandable, since it just molted a week more, & its butt also small, but not smaller than the suntiger.

I wonder does i need to give a half dead complete mealworm to them eat or not, since a half dead is still have movement. As currrently im giving them a chop off.
But chop off mealworm turns black very fast. If not chop off, the mealworm size is bigger than them.
Foxngn
post Jun 2 2009, 10:37 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(Oldfart @ Jun 2 2009, 09:13 AM)
Some T's are picky eaters.  Try something else.  I have a C. huahini that will not eat a live mealworm but I throw in a couple of crickets and it pounces.  I have T's that will eat cockroaches and some that won't.  Sometimes a T needs more movement by the prey to elicit a feeding response.
hmm.. i think i'll try to let it takes some live mealworm first, hopefully its will not freak out, as last time one of my T was devoured a much larger mealworm than it. tongue.gif
Foxngn
post Jun 4 2009, 10:43 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

Mealworm for me too..when they grown up to big size, just give them superworm.

finally 1 of my sling eating a live mealworm, will try on the GBB next time.
Foxngn
post Jun 11 2009, 02:37 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Jun 11 2009, 01:31 PM)
Do OBT slings nid a hideout like a bark?Mine still the same,dun wan to come down.When open the cover of the container it will bcome active and crawl out to my hand. rclxub.gif
My OBT do burrow & hide below substrate, but recently it been webbing a lot outside, almost cover the area of its burrower entrance with the driftwood. Now its been coming out occasionally under its web of protection tongue.gif

QUOTE(mr.hikano @ Jun 11 2009, 02:25 PM)
one more thing...is it true if the T finish their molt...we cant feed them because of their new skin still thin... we can feed them after two weeks...is it true????

all the info i get from this Molting
They can't eat immediately due to their fangs are still vulnerable. Need to wait til their fangs turn black & harden.

This post has been edited by Foxngn: Jun 11 2009, 02:37 PM
Foxngn
post Jun 13 2009, 07:32 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

Just wondering something, since T's can endure for not eating for a long period, does that apply to the sling too ? i mean not in the period of molting of course. Given an example that a sling abdomen is still bigger than its head. Is it ok to not feeding it til its abdomen get a bit smaller?
Foxngn
post Jun 15 2009, 09:48 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

speaking of OBT,

here's mine humble OBT enclosure.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Foxngn
post Jun 18 2009, 11:14 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

Woohoo ! my OBT molted without my notice, yesterday it still eat the mealworm i gave, & just now only noticed it molted, makes a mess inside the enclosure, with those substrate stick around all the webs
Foxngn
post Jun 26 2009, 11:31 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

Sames goes for my Phormictopus atrichomatus tongue.gif

Molted twice in 3 months time.
Foxngn
post Jun 26 2009, 04:00 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(Oldfart @ Jun 26 2009, 02:09 PM)
Is it still living in that mansion?  tongue.gif
Where's the pics?  Want to see how big it is now!
yeah, never change its enclosure yet.

Here's the picture, but i think this one is the i shoot before pre-molt, since i only saw its exoskeleton recently.
Somemore i saw its leg is longer a bit than the one in this photo

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Foxngn
post Jun 26 2009, 04:18 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(aros @ Jun 26 2009, 04:03 PM)
Foxngn welcome to MTS exhibition. lol
yeah... sure go to the one on MV... usually will go on sat.
Foxngn
post Jun 27 2009, 07:59 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

btw guys... another stupid question again.

Does a mealworm or the beetle that its morph able to kill a tarantula ? given the tarantula size is around 3.5inch LS
Foxngn
post Jun 27 2009, 06:24 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jun 27 2009, 11:40 AM)
If the Ts molting, anything's possible. That's how I lost my A.Avic.
sad.gif
Ic, sorry for the lost.

But i think if is not molting, it shouldn't able to harm the T's, correct
Foxngn
post Jul 8 2009, 06:46 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

sigh, lately my T's are boring..atrichomatus & GBB not eating at all, Suntiger & OBT always stay inside their tunnel...
Foxngn
post Jul 9 2009, 09:13 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(littlesaint @ Jul 8 2009, 08:32 PM)
well those are Ts, what do you expect from them?
LoL... no la, cause thought they are heavy eater mah.
As for Suntiger i read is an arboreal type, dunno why it was build up a wall of substrate that stick on the vertical coco shell & hide inside

QUOTE(Oldfart @ Jul 9 2009, 02:34 AM)
Sounds like you are due for a round of molts soon! rclxms.gif
Perhaps you need to get a few more T's!
XD... well, is a good thing, if they are really going to molts again.

Now still not a good times for me to add another T
Foxngn
post Jul 9 2009, 12:23 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(styr @ Jul 9 2009, 12:14 PM)
Oldfart: the container is delicup..and i want to move it into the same size delicup becoz the substrate is full with fungus..the bathtub method sounds good but i have no bathtub..can i use ceramic sink?

leetplayer: my obt never borrow but always make web all over the container.i dont think it interested with hole..hehe..anw thanx alot..ill try..

Izzulogy : obt is not my 1st place la.i have another species already b4 getting the obt.. tongue.gif thanx bro..
I didn't do transfer for the same size of enclosure before, but here's my way to transfer my OBT.

I'm using those wider bath plastic bucket when i transfer my OBT... so when i transfer it, i was scrap out all the old substrate into the new enclosure first...since the old substrate was cover up with webbing & its stick together, so when taking it out will be much more easy, when inside the new enclosure, i'm just slowly, "shoo" it out from the substrate. Once it out then can take out the substrate.

Foxngn
post Jul 11 2009, 08:38 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

yeah ! this morning i just saw my GBB molted again. so happy...
but all my T's always molt on midnight... no chance to see the progress

0.0440sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:53 AM