16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Tarantula Thread V11, Either you love em or hate em

Oldfart
post Jun 18 2009, 07:47 AM

QUOTE(littlesaint @ Jun 17 2009, 02:34 PM)
thx mr.stew for the link, this is originally where i got the information from, imo i think c.thorelli's on sale in the market is just a way of selling the c. schioedtei for a much higher price
Maybe. I've not seen anyone selling any C.thorelli in the US. When dealers were selling the C. schioedtei as C. thorelli, I think the dealers were just going with what the exporter labeled them as. Eventually the word got out and now I have not heard it called thorelli for some time. But I would not be surprised if there are some shady individuals out there trying to take advantage of some noobs in the hobby.
Oldfart
post Jun 18 2009, 11:23 PM

Sorry for your loss- it happens to everyone sooner or later.

Added on June 18, 2009, 11:26 pm
QUOTE(Foxngn @ Jun 18 2009, 08:14 AM)
Woohoo ! my OBT molted without my notice, yesterday it still eat the mealworm i gave, & just now only noticed it molted, makes a mess inside the enclosure, with those substrate stick around all the webs
Grats on the successful molt.

This post has been edited by Oldfart: Jun 18 2009, 11:26 PM
Oldfart
post Jun 19 2009, 01:42 PM

QUOTE(east_wing @ Jun 18 2009, 10:34 PM)
my rosea just molted yesterday... smile.gif
Grats! rclxms.gif Where're the pics?

Added on June 19, 2009, 1:52 pmMy fat bottom girl- not sure of the species.

This post has been edited by Oldfart: Jun 19 2009, 01:52 PM
Oldfart
post Jun 19 2009, 02:33 PM

QUOTE(rideon @ Jun 18 2009, 11:23 PM)
bloody hell... shes damn fat arse....
yeah- didn't realize she had so much junk in the trunk! tongue.gif
Most of the time these pet holes show you the other end.

Oldfart
post Jun 19 2009, 02:51 PM

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Jun 18 2009, 11:36 PM)
Wow...looks like a going-to-explode balloon to me. tongue.gif
Quite dangerous for T if too fat rite?
Dangerous if they take a fall. Fortunately this one doesn't leave her burrow much.

Added on June 19, 2009, 2:53 pm
QUOTE(aros @ Jun 18 2009, 11:37 PM)
fire marking, robust legs?
lol- need to measure the leg for this one. Been waiting for a molt. Looks like she's due anytime now.

This post has been edited by Oldfart: Jun 19 2009, 02:53 PM
Oldfart
post Jun 19 2009, 10:51 PM

QUOTE(junshern222 @ Jun 19 2009, 02:42 AM)
why not a clear shot of the carapace? smile.gif
looks like a haplo..
It was puchased as H. longipes. Bought a few H.longipes from 4 different dealers- was trying to find if any dealer had true H. longipes. So far, I have doubts about all of them. Will know for sure once I've had a chance to measure and compare legs I and IV.
Oldfart
post Jun 20 2009, 04:43 AM

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Jun 19 2009, 08:41 AM)

Added on June 19, 2009, 11:43 pmthe small small size t ?? upknow c sp smile.gif

Added on June 19, 2009, 11:43 pmuser posted image

Added on June 19, 2009, 11:44 pmuser posted imageuser posted image
How big was their mama? See if you can get some more info from the seller like which country it is from- that will help to narrow down the list of likely candidates.

This post has been edited by Oldfart: Jun 20 2009, 04:44 AM
Oldfart
post Jun 20 2009, 12:20 PM

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Jun 19 2009, 08:51 PM)
ok ...will do .. i will try to seek for mor einformation from the person who sold it to me smile.gif

Added on June 20, 2009, 11:52 ambtw i was told it was abt 3" in size .... currently he promised to take more pics of it ... will post it when he emailed me ...
That's a damn small chilobrachys female! I'm thinking it may be a Coremiocnemis - just a guess. smile.gif
Oldfart
post Jun 20 2009, 12:59 PM

QUOTE(geo @ Jun 19 2009, 09:51 PM)
my dad say all my slings molted.
but so sad i cant see any of them sad.gif
Then you will be pleasantly surprised when you do get to see them again cause they will all be a lot bigger!

ETA: That's cool that your dad is watching over them. He into T's too?

This post has been edited by Oldfart: Jun 20 2009, 01:00 PM
Oldfart
post Jun 21 2009, 12:05 AM

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Jun 20 2009, 01:40 AM)
^Nice fangs there.

News! My dad was bitten twice by the same juvenile OBT. One on the pinkie and the other 1 on the leg.
Which one first-the pinkie or the leg? biggrin.gif
Hope both your dad and the OBT are alright.
Oldfart
post Jun 21 2009, 01:02 AM

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Jun 20 2009, 09:42 AM)
Mayb he bcome spiderman? brows.gif
thumbup.gif Good one! biggrin.gif
Oldfart
post Jun 22 2009, 12:59 PM

QUOTE(rideon @ Jun 21 2009, 09:52 PM)
wuhuhuhhuh.. my Parahybana molted to 6th instar... fast grower ar this guy...molt 2 times a month..
2 times a month?!! shakehead.gif shocking.gif what you feeding the guy? Steroids? laugh.gif
Oldfart
post Jun 22 2009, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(rideon @ Jun 21 2009, 10:41 PM)
well i hope this guy grows fast..
Mine was a half inch in Mar of 2007. It's about 7 inches now.
Oldfart
post Jun 23 2009, 01:51 AM

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Jun 22 2009, 08:52 AM)
sume cakap melayu mr.stew tak pham lar.
lol- don't worry about me- I remember enough to get most of it. Good practice! But the slang/shorthand/whateveryoucallit escapes me- what the heck is "xde?"

ETA: NM, I finally figured it out.

Back in 2007, I had 3 half inch slings, only the one in the pic made it- have not sexed it but I'm guessing female. I had another half inch sling early this year but somehow it escaped. cry.gif

This post has been edited by Oldfart: Jun 23 2009, 02:08 AM
Oldfart
post Jun 23 2009, 02:10 AM

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Jun 22 2009, 10:55 AM)
xde means
X = Tak
de = Ada
Thanks! I figured it out just before you posted that. But good to know I got it right. biggrin.gif

Added on June 23, 2009, 2:48 am
QUOTE(rideon @ Jun 22 2009, 11:07 AM)
lol.. tarantula thread become bahasa melayu class
It's Bahasa "Malaysia" now tongue.gif , right Aros? brows.gif

This post has been edited by Oldfart: Jun 23 2009, 02:48 AM
Oldfart
post Jun 23 2009, 08:03 AM

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Jun 22 2009, 01:53 PM)
For you guys that can't make it don't worry.. I'll post some pics tongue.gif

Added on June 23, 2009, 7:22 amMale H. gigas swimming!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uE4bki09Z2Y...re=channel_page
That H. gigas setup is something isn't it? thumbup.gif This is my H. gigas juvie. If it turns out female I would like to do something similar.
Oldfart
post Jun 23 2009, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(rideon @ Jun 22 2009, 06:27 PM)
wow.. didnt know that gigas can swim or stayed in water so soo long.,..
I've heard of people soaking their haplopelma tanks in the kitchen sink for almost an hour and the T's were fine but I don't think I'd dare to try it on mine! Speaking of things to try, Aros, I've got one for you. Flip your T over on its back and it will stay like that motionless on your hand for a good 20 minutes or so! Read it in a thread on AB way back in 2004. Think it will be a cool thing to show people at the show! biggrin.gif Just cup the T with both hands, one on top, one on the bottom, bottom hand should avoid the fangs of course. Then flip it on its back slowly, wait for T to settle and remove the hand. T SHOULD stay motionless like it is in a trance.

Disclaimer: Should you decide to try this, and get bit, I am not responsible! brows.gif

ETA: Went and found the thread if anyone is interested.
Trance inducing technique

This post has been edited by Oldfart: Jun 23 2009, 11:39 AM
Oldfart
post Jun 23 2009, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(rideon @ Jun 22 2009, 09:41 PM)
wow.. i would like to see this for my self...

Added on June 23, 2009, 12:57 pmar... so now i got it... the urticating hairs really irritating.. my hands are all iching heavily.. never had this problem. and i read that the after effects when u got ur self urticating hairs on ur skin.. anyone had the same thing??
Don't know. Never been haired directly. But I've had my palms and eyes itch for no reason. Might have come into contact with U hairs indirectly.

Added on June 23, 2009, 1:26 pm
QUOTE(rideon @ Jun 22 2009, 09:41 PM)

Added on June 23, 2009, 1:10 pmso damn itchy on my hands.. and small pimples of fluid are arise from the skin... i had this for weeks now..
Next time, if you know you've been haired, I've heard others say duct tape works well for removing the hairs.

This post has been edited by Oldfart: Jun 23 2009, 01:26 PM
Oldfart
post Jun 23 2009, 01:31 PM

QUOTE(rideon @ Jun 22 2009, 10:29 PM)
the thing is that i dont realised the hairs are stuck to my palms.
but afte few days holding my T this ichiness come to play..
Sounds like you are very sensitive to the T hairs- time to switch to OW T's! biggrin.gif
Oldfart
post Jun 23 2009, 01:33 PM

Have you tried any ointment like cortizone to relieve the itch?

16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0382sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:19 AM