Time to call the zoo
Tarantula Thread V11, Either you love em or hate em
Aug 4 2009, 01:41 PM
3,820 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
Aug 4 2009, 07:00 PM
Andrew: Yea, just what i thought too.
and it seems that the insect zoo is actually out source to a 3rd party, it's not really managed by the zoo. More phone calls tomorrow |
Aug 6 2009, 06:55 PM
Just spoke to a veteran jungle guide regarding tarantulas and it is clear that the population of tarantulas has significantly decreased. Our government ain't doing anything about it and if this is going to continue, there ain't gonna be anymore tarantulas in the wild.
Once again, I would like to suggest only to buy captive bred specimen. Anyone who is interested in assisting me in a field research some time end of the year do PM me. If you are looking for profit, please do not bother. |
Aug 7 2009, 03:38 AM
As a matter of fact, it is rare for hobbyists in Malaysia to actually obtain a local tarantula. Most of them actually end up oversea, because in terms of profit it make more sense for the trader to sell at USD50 then to sell at RM50. I will tell you shamefully that it is easier for me to purchase a local tarantula from other country other then my own.
I do agree that the decline in population is caused by not one but many factors, and even if the hobbyists stop buying them they will still end up else where. However, it is important to be aware about the current situation and do what we as hobbyists can to create the awareness. I don't know about the rest of you guys but this is how I feel, we have the knowledge and experience, and so I guess that this also means that we have the responsibility to actually do something about it, no point having all these knowledge without putting them to better use, right? Even if the odds is against us, I still think it is best that we do what we can rather then just sitting around waiting for something to happen. littlesaint: Any state is possible as I am not looking at one specific location at the moment plus I do not have a structured plan yet. A mad man's plan is all that I have. |
Aug 7 2009, 03:12 PM
you got a point there Oldfart, Congrats on the molt btw:)
Aug 7 2009, 08:14 PM
Shouldn't it be undisclosed location?
I have a few in mind that are really hard to access |
Aug 7 2009, 09:02 PM
usually when a T is going to molt, it will 1st prepare a layer of webbing to molt on.
Aug 7 2009, 09:08 PM
Aug 7 2009, 10:03 PM
we can't just release them in to the wild, there are thing that we have to be certain of.
Aug 9 2009, 01:39 PM
Aug 9 2009, 01:46 PM
Aug 10 2009, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(junshern222 @ Aug 10 2009, 01:42 PM) It is possible that it's a cross between Haplopelma longipes and Haplopelma lividum.But then who knows QUOTE(Lawrence93 @ Aug 10 2009, 02:05 PM) Nice Tarantula ~ Big ... lol i found out tat tarantula is very fast creature when i 1st started playing curly xD If you are being threaten by a giant, I'm sure you will run away fairly fast too |
Aug 12 2009, 07:18 AM
Aug 12 2009, 08:35 AM
LOL, I'm sorry bro, there is no way i can see through blurred surface.
Aug 13 2009, 10:02 AM
Kenn and Fook: Kindly resolve your dispute via PM, There is no need for this to be posted here.
http://www.birdspiders.com/faq_sex.php |
Aug 13 2009, 08:42 PM
Got,
me lurking around. waiting for picture |
Aug 15 2009, 12:09 AM
ccfook2123: you are trying to say webbing right? not enclosure right? I dont have a lot of glass tanks to destroy leh
tunemystylez: yea lo, I also got a lot to learn. I berry berry noob one |
Aug 15 2009, 01:31 PM
Aug 23 2009, 10:04 AM
Aug 23 2009, 04:55 PM
oldfart: May I have your address? I'm flying over to help arrange your tarantula tanks
| Change to: | 0.0532sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:45 PM |