THORChad
502 posts

Are tarantulas communal?

This post has been edited by HyourinMaru: Jun 12 2009, 09:45 PM
leetplayer
post Jun 12 2009, 09:46 PM

O'le
984 posts

Depends on what sp you're talking about.
HyourinMaru
post Jun 12 2009, 09:47 PM

THORChad
502 posts

OBT and Brachypelma Albopilosum?
leetplayer
post Jun 12 2009, 09:51 PM

O'le
984 posts

OBT, Avics , Pokies.. and some other that I don't know ;P.
junshern222
post Jun 12 2009, 09:55 PM

235 posts

aphonopelma seemani comunal?
HyourinMaru
post Jun 12 2009, 09:58 PM

THORChad
502 posts

Hmm...I read this somewhere about communality of scorpion is that some sp. can more tolerate others than other sp..So Ts also the same?
Oldfart
post Jun 12 2009, 10:46 PM

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Jun 12 2009, 06:58 AM)
Hmm...I read this somewhere about communality of scorpion is that some sp. can more tolerate others than other sp..So Ts also the same?
Yeah, there have been keepers that have setup communal tanks, but just a handful of T species. So far the trick is to find sac mates. I've heard it done with some pokies, avics, Holethele incei and the famous chicken spider is also rumored to be communal. There was also someone who tried to do a communal tank experiment with a bunch of rare/expensive t's (don't remember the species). Don't know how that one turned out.

This post has been edited by Oldfart: Jun 12 2009, 10:47 PM
HyourinMaru
post Jun 12 2009, 10:48 PM

THORChad
502 posts

So the best is separate them...Dun wan any cannibalism happen tongue.gif
*FallenAngel*
post Jun 12 2009, 11:17 PM

34 posts

guys, i c u all say dat we should remove watever left after de Ts ate n i dint c anything left inside... I feed my Ts v mealworms. Arent they jst suck de juice from it?
Oldfart
post Jun 12 2009, 11:41 PM

QUOTE(*FallenAngel* @ Jun 12 2009, 08:17 AM)
guys, i c u all say dat we should remove watever left after de Ts ate n i dint c anything left inside... I feed my Ts v mealworms. Arent they jst suck de juice from it?
T's secrete enzymes that reduce their prey's flesh into a soupy cocktail that they drink. Not everything is reduced though so you do end up with a small ball of leftovers which can be hard to see on the substrate surface. Here's a pic of a juvie P. regalis almost done with its meal. Even in its fangs, it's barely recognizable.

Before

And after...
aros
post Jun 13 2009, 01:41 AM

19 posts

true nod.gif

remove the leftover

*FallenAngel*
post Jun 13 2009, 02:07 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(aros @ Jun 13 2009, 01:41 AM)
true  nod.gif

remove the leftover

kk, thx guys... learn my lessons... hehe... will try hard 2 find de leftover...
Oldfart
post Jun 13 2009, 05:27 AM

QUOTE(*FallenAngel* @ Jun 12 2009, 11:07 AM)
kk, thx guys... learn my lessons... hehe... will try hard 2 find de leftover...
Actually, I wasn't telling you to remove the leftover, just trying to show you what the leftovers look like. I suspect a mealworm bolus is even smaller and harder to find. Personally I rarely remove the bolus from my enclosures. tongue.gif My eyesight is so bad I have a hard time finding it. blush.gif If you can be bothered to remove what's left, kudos to you! notworthy.gif I do remove uneaten dead crickets though. It is recommended that you remove uneaten stuff and the boluses as they can attract mites and/or grow fungus. But the choice is yours- I have not had any problems leaving the boluses in there other than the occasional fungus (these I can see!) But if you ever feed your T's a mouse like my friend Aros smile.gif , I'd definitely recommend removing what's left. shocking.gif
junshern222
post Jun 13 2009, 06:29 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(Oldfart @ Jun 13 2009, 12:41 AM)
T's secrete enzymes that reduce their prey's flesh into a soupy cocktail that they drink.  Not everything is reduced though so you do end up with a small ball of leftovers which can be hard to see on the substrate surface.  Here's a pic of a juvie P. regalis almost done with its meal.  Even in its fangs, it's barely recognizable. 

Before

And after...
female?
Oldfart
post Jun 13 2009, 07:10 AM

QUOTE(junshern222 @ Jun 12 2009, 03:29 PM)
female?
Nope- male. sad.gif Got four pokies- all turned out male! cry.gif
Foxngn
post Jun 13 2009, 07:32 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

Just wondering something, since T's can endure for not eating for a long period, does that apply to the sling too ? i mean not in the period of molting of course. Given an example that a sling abdomen is still bigger than its head. Is it ok to not feeding it til its abdomen get a bit smaller?
junshern222
post Jun 13 2009, 08:20 AM

235 posts

well,i will not feed her so frequent as to prevent rupture or bursting of abdomen,may be i will try one week one cricket drumstick for slings and a week a cricket for adults or juvenile
s98432512
post Jun 13 2009, 11:46 PM

49 posts

one Brachypelma Smithi sling molted tongue.gif

one Pterinochilus Murinus molted smile.gif

user posted imageuser posted image

aros
post Jun 13 2009, 11:54 PM

19 posts

congrats, its getting more velvety and the other is just more tangeriney. lol

124 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top