Alpha street pricelist courtesy of albnok ***updated 1st April 2009***
Camera --------- Sony A200 + 18-70mm F3.5-5.6 DT = RM15xx Sony A200 + 18-70mm F3.5-5.6 DT + 75-300mm F4.5-5.6 = RM18xx Sony A300 + 18-70mm F3.5-5.6 DT = RM18xx Sony A300 + 18-70mm F3.5-5.6 DT + 55-200mm F4-5.6 DT = RM22xx Sony A350 body only = RM20xx Sony A350 + 18-70mm F3.5-5.6 DT = RM23xx Sony A350 + 18-70mm F3.5-5.6 DT + 55-200mm F4-5.6 DT = RM26xx Sony A700 body only = RM33xx Sony A900 body only = RM85xx
Battery Grip -------------- Sony VG-B30AM for A200/A300/A350 = RM6xx Sony VG-C70AM battery grip for A700 = RM9xx Sony VG-C90AM for A900 = RM9xx
Flash ------ Sony HVL-F36AM = RM8xx - Discontinued Sony HVL-F42AM = RM7xx Sony HVL-F56AM = RM11xx - Discontinued Sony HVL-F58AM = RM11xx
Sony 16-105mm F3.5-5.6 DT = RM16xx Sony 18-250mm F3.5-6.3 DT = RM16xx Sony Carl Zeiss 16-80mm F3.5-4.5 DT = RM25xx Sony Carl Zeiss 135mm F1.8 = RM48xx Sony Carl Zeiss 85mm F1.4 = RM50xx Sony Carl Zeiss 16-35mm F2.8 SSM = RM54xx Sony Carl Zeiss 24-70mm F2.8 SSM = RM54xx
Common Kelvin White Balance Settings : 2500K - very strong orange tungsten light 2800K - strong orange tungsten light 3200K - yellowish tungsten light 4500K M6 - flourescent light (most flourescent tubes are green even though our eyes don't see it) 5500K - flash 6500K - daylight (or daylight-balanced flourescent light) 9900K - strong blue stage lighting or evening light
Xenon lighting is rare but that should be between 7000-9000K.
Whenever you enter a new situation that has different WB, just set your Kelvin WB again and test with one shot. You should be able to do this with practice.
With the Sony A300 and A350, you can use Live View and see the effect of changing Kelvin WB... live!
M = Magenta G = Green 2500K = Blue 9900K = Amber
Take a picture. Supposing the picture is very Green, you need to add the opposite which is Magenta. If the picture is too Blue you need to go closer to Amber. So if the picture is very blue-green-ish, you will need to go closer to 9900K M9.
To prevent the built-in flash from appearing in pictures when in wireless flash mode, you can use any of these methods, or a combination of them:
- use a darker aperture (e.g. F11) - use a lower ISO (e.g. ISO100) - use a shutter speed faster than your flash sync speed so that High Speed Sync is activated (e.g. 1/320th of a second) - use a piece of exposed, developed negative film in front of your pop-up flash
@signither - Can I see a pic of ur eva foam and styrofoam plate alien gun?
@ryzan76 - "im affraid 70300 not sharp....(correct me if i wrong) i had try sal70300 combine with raynox 250 but the image i dont like.... btw the tamron 70300 filter size is what?"
tamron 70-300 not recommended to use with raynox 250? the filter size is 62mm.
@ryzan76 - "im affraid 70300 not sharp....(correct me if i wrong) i had try sal70300 combine with raynox 250 but the image i dont like.... btw the tamron 70300 filter size is what?"
Raynox 250's sixe doesn't exceed 58mm izzit??
Picture Sepam sikit...
#1 #2 Kononnya Album Cover Shoot #3 Nighttime Falling #4 Concentration Is Key #5 Student's Gathering Before Finals
C&C Pls
This post has been edited by Braynumb: May 17 2009, 02:27 PM
it range from 52 to 67mm but im affraid its not sharp....
Added on May 17, 2009, 2:52 pm
QUOTE(Braynumb @ May 17 2009, 02:03 PM)
Raynox 250's sixe doesn't exceed 58mm izzit??
raybox can fit 52-67
This post has been edited by ryzan76: May 17 2009, 02:52 PM
ooo...its mph...silly me...not bad for an old car...can hit 100km/h easily..haha
QUOTE(signither @ May 17 2009, 01:59 PM)
behold, my alien gun v1.0:
codename: bumble bee
what have you done to my ex-flash!!! T.T
great work btw...never had the chance to make alien gun..
QUOTE(ryzan76 @ May 17 2009, 02:45 PM)
it range from 52 to 67mm but im affraid its not sharp....
Added on May 17, 2009, 2:52 pm
raybox can fit 52-67
hmm...i tried fixing it on my tammy 1750....when tried using macro...only see 1 ring only...a dark black ring...like looking through a pinhole...haha..any idea?
had u try with u 75300?
Added on May 17, 2009, 3:14 pm
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ May 17 2009, 03:08 PM)
hey,
does expensive CPL filter make a really different if compare to cheap one?
RM250+ vs. RM60+ .. ..
dont know bro...dont had cpl.... btw u sell u alpha ka?
Added on May 17, 2009, 3:16 pm
QUOTE(Braynumb @ May 17 2009, 03:01 PM)
So, the biggest size filter diamtr recomended for sharpness of the subject is 55-58 izzit??
bro i dont mean about the diamtr...im affraid tamron 70-300 not sharp..
This post has been edited by ryzan76: May 17 2009, 03:16 PM
- all buttons on the right hand - n00b explanation mode (might reduce conversation here, though.) - SAM lenses (Smooth Autofocus Motor) - SD/SDHC support (meaning you can put your SD Wifi cards) - HDMI output - taller flash! No more kit lens shadow
I am quite looking forward to the HVL-F20AM also for my A900.
Anybody have trouble accessing the bigger images? I can't get anything beyond the thumbnails, getting an error instead.
hahaha... well... you're still a regular here... that's pretty much all that matters... can share2 pics with your new baby kan2?? hehehe...
also found one of the link that says an upcomming a500... wonder how true would it be anyway...
haha .. I know many people from this thread .. .. so, I will be regular here .. .. I will share the pict with new baby if you guys dont mind. .. but so far, I have not yet really use my new baby la .. Damn busy in last few days ..
QUOTE(signither @ May 17 2009, 01:59 PM)
behold, my alien gun v1.0:
codename: bumble bee
1. Why is your alien gun pointed more to the front as opposed to ryzan76 alien gun that is pointed downwards?
2. What is the material covering over the styrofoam (diffuser)?
3. What are the differences of flash rings and alien gun?
Added on May 17, 2009, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(sidewinderz @ May 17 2009, 03:04 PM)
ooo...its mph...silly me...not bad for an old car...can hit 100km/h easily..haha what have you done to my ex-flash!!! T.T
great work btw...never had the chance to make alien gun..
i wanna try on my 17-50 too...but you said got that prob.. can it be fixed?
Added on May 17, 2009, 4:33 pm
QUOTE(Braynumb @ May 17 2009, 03:23 PM)
Oooo... how bout Sigma 70-300mm?? better than tamron 70-300? or how bout SAL75300?? which one has better pictures with raynox 250??
I suspect Seng Kiat jumping ship leh... just a guess
if you googled.. the newest sigma 70-300 is really quite similar with newest tamron 70-300. there are numerous comparisons of it on the net. sal75300 looses in IQ to both tamron & sigma 70-300
This post has been edited by alpha_company: May 17 2009, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(ryzan76 @ May 17 2009, 03:28 PM)
i never had tamron or sigma 70300...but i had try sal75300 with raynox...the image not so sharp.....
from what i can see on google.. sal75300 looses in IQ to both tamron and sigma. but comparing sigma & tamron 70-300 is quite hard as it is very much similar.
1. Why is your alien gun pointed more to the front as opposed to ryzan76 alien gun that is pointed downwards?
if you googled.. the newest sigma 70-300 is really quite similar with newest tamron 70-300. there are numerous comparisons of it on the net. sal75300 looses in IQ to both tamron & sigma 70-300
I had wanted to snap photo of the fish nibbling around my feet but as you can see (or you cant see ) ... cant really see the fish. For this kind of shots, any advise? The main intention is to show the fish swimming / nibbling around my feet.
Appreciate your inputs...
Because the fish is in the pond there are reflections of water so it hard to see . You will need a CPL to reduce the reflections.
alien gun cheapo2 ... DIY flash rings also cheapo2...but i donno how to build it.
@sidewinderz - can answer my Q on previous page?
Added on May 17, 2009, 5:13 pm
teach me how to do this?? and the diff of this and alien gun? the diff of flash produced?
i stil need some modification....but generally..the making process shd b similar to the 'alien gun' too...the diff is..u need to calculate more precisely here bcoz u had to put the flash infront of ur lens(in the 'hole' at the center)..so the distance is impt....
heres some examples for portrait taken with ring flash taken from flickr
the pic of diy ring flash attach on camera
*none of these photos r belong to me..credit goes to all the orig owner in flickr...
okay~im going to town to get back my cammy~hopefully tonite can get some good shot! *seriously i don hav anything in my mind yet..do help me to think yea =p *
This post has been edited by achew: May 17 2009, 05:36 PM
i saw some review on the 'real' ring flash vs some diy-ed one...to be frank not much diff...other than the 'real' ring flash could deliver the flash to much further distance...
okay..talk so much about ring flash..i've decided tonite i gonna come out with some portrait shots...not sure whether it'd sucess tho..lol..just a rough idea in my head now
This post has been edited by achew: May 17 2009, 06:01 PM
Added on May 17, 2009, 3:14 pm dont know bro...dont had cpl.... btw u sell u alpha ka?
Added on May 17, 2009, 3:16 pm bro i dont mean about the diamtr...im affraid tamron 70-300 not sharp..
lol...yea..tried with 75300...works fine bro...btw, i am alphaless already... jump to canon instead...lol
QUOTE(albnok @ May 17 2009, 04:12 PM)
Exciting things about the new A230/A330/A350:
- all buttons on the right hand - n00b explanation mode (might reduce conversation here, though.) - SAM lenses (Smooth Autofocus Motor) - SD/SDHC support (meaning you can put your SD Wifi cards) - HDMI output - taller flash! No more kit lens shadow
I am quite looking forward to the HVL-F20AM also for my A900.
Anybody have trouble accessing the bigger images? I can't get anything beyond the thumbnails, getting an error instead.
the downside is that they still use the same image sensor for the body...haiz...thought they will change to CMOS instead of CCD
QUOTE(alpha_company @ May 17 2009, 04:26 PM)
i dun think you can fix it...only way is to get a lens with a smaller diameter...preferably 55mm or less...
ryzan bro..u crop ur photo or u really able to get so close with the flies..?...u stick them to the floor issit..haha..=p
hokc77...i always like those sports photos which freeze the beautiful moment...nice shots there.. <3 it
setting up my stuff now..waiting my 'model' to dress up and hopefully im able to get wad i promise to deliver...lol...*else she gonna screw me for wasting her time n cosmetics*
ryzan bro..u crop ur photo or u really able to get so close with the flies..?...u stick them to the floor issit..haha..=p
hokc77...i always like those sports photos which freeze the beautiful moment...nice shots there.. <3 it setting up my stuff now..waiting my 'model' to dress up and hopefully im able to get wad i promise to deliver...lol...*else she gonna screw me for wasting her time n cosmetics*
Do you guys think the sony website will be updated immediately at 12 midnight when the new models comes out? LOL.
Added on May 17, 2009, 11:32 pmHmmm looks like a300 to me.
also thought the same thing... wondered if I was cheated also... anyway, was just spreading what i read... anyway, would be nice though... a500=a700+a350.... using a700's sensor... yum... _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
was surprised to see that SAL1870 & SAL55200 is going to be discontinued... was planning to buy that lens... dang... which one better? SAL55200 or Beercan??
This post has been edited by Braynumb: May 17 2009, 11:37 PM
* 17.20 megapixel * 2.7-inch screen resolution of 920,000 pixels * 8 and 9, the main focus points of support * viewfinder 0,98 x * 1 / 8000 - 30 seconds * ISO 100-12800 ISO 100-12800 * maximum “rate of 4 frames per second * Weight 516 grams
LOL .. and the kitlens still SAL 1870 ...
This post has been edited by lehtung: May 18 2009, 12:28 AM
Braynumb, the Sony 55-200mm F4-5.6 DT is a rebadge of the Tamron 55-200mm F4-5.6, with a different coating and circular aperture. (Not sure if the Tamron has circular aperture also.) The Sony has a 55mm filter thread to be consistent with the other Sony lenses while the Tamron has a 52mm filter thread.
reli?? damn... didn't know that... thanks for the info... hm... was thinking of replacing my SAL75300 with a Sigma 70-300... is it worth it?
QUOTE(Radeon @ May 18 2009, 12:15 AM)
no point to get the tammy if you already got the sony
How come? same performance??
QUOTE(Radeon @ May 18 2009, 12:49 AM)
fake to the max it's basically a a300/a350 with a model number photoshop
Also thought the same... but would be nice to to have a500... hehehe... a350 body, but with a700 performance... nice....
QUOTE(albnok @ May 17 2009, 11:52 PM)
ASAP, there is a good ring flash adapter at DigitalsMania, Pudu Plaza.
SinnerBuyer: Ooo who's that?
bro albnok, the flash ring adaptor in digitalsmania HERE right?
how's the fitting on the top? is it flexible? if it is then it would fit my cybertik flash..
Added on May 18, 2009, 2:18 am
QUOTE(Braynumb @ May 18 2009, 01:08 AM)
reli?? damn... didn't know that... thanks for the info... hm... was thinking of replacing my SAL75300 with a Sigma 70-300... is it worth it? How come? same performance?? Also thought the same... but would be nice to to have a500... hehehe... a350 body, but with a700 performance... nice....
from what i read in reviews...the tamron 70-300 and sigma 70-300 is better than SAL75300. i would go for sigma..they give a lens bag too..
Added on May 18, 2009, 2:27 am
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ May 17 2009, 05:26 PM)
CPL can help reduce the glare from the sun..
CPL filter is the round threaded one or also got in cokin square type filter?
what are the brands recommended? and how much is it? want to use it on my tammy 17-50
This post has been edited by alpha_company: May 18 2009, 02:27 AM
I have no idea... Snapped this on 2nd floor while rushing for movie... *OT, Star Trek if someone want to know* After the movie, he was still there... So, I'm posted here to see any response from that user. Apparently he was using Cobra and an Alpha with VG...
basically yes...that is ND function. Preserve your object while maintain other brightly exposed to be seen like what your eyes see. Good for slow shuttering at daylight, scenery pics. Also got graduated (like gradient) ND
This post has been edited by mushpop: May 18 2009, 10:26 AM
what i know is the ND is used to preserve our object without turning it to silhouette but still manage to capture the sun. correct me if im wrong
ND is used to reduce light without effecting the color balancing, this is mainly (as i know) for achieving long exposure (to take waterfall/beach picture - making the water 'soft')
to avoid subject turning into silhouette, u meter the subject's face then focus n snap. or u could meter the sky, and a flash toward ur subject. (techniques i read)
damn, totally passed out last night.couldnt remember a thing. i tot my a300 was stolen last night. luckily got good samaritan help me to hide my cam in my car spare tyre compartment.
i learned my lesson... dslr + alcohol not compatible with each other
damn, totally passed out last night.couldnt remember a thing. i tot my a300 was stolen last night. luckily got good samaritan help me to hide my cam in my car spare tyre compartment.
i learned my lesson... dslr + alcohol not compatible with each other
lol kopitiam... tot u only hang around kopitiam only
anyway.
"To help users take better shots with flash, Sony offers an affordable, compact external flash unit (model HVL-F20AM) that is simple to operate. Unlike a camera’s built-in flash, this external flash provides higher output (Guide Number 20), and enables users to bounce light off the ceiling to eliminate harsh shadows and achieve more even illumination when shooting indoors." -photoclubalpha
So far I've known that the new flash can do bounce.
"# The SAL-50F18 portrait lens will cost about $150. # The HVL-F20AM flash will cost about $130."
20GN is quite ok isn't it? like 1/2 power in F42 right?
lol kopitiam... tot u only hang around kopitiam only
anyway.
"To help users take better shots with flash, Sony offers an affordable, compact external flash unit (model HVL-F20AM) that is simple to operate. Unlike a camera’s built-in flash, this external flash provides higher output (Guide Number 20), and enables users to bounce light off the ceiling to eliminate harsh shadows and achieve more even illumination when shooting indoors." -photoclubalpha
So far I've known that the new flash can do bounce.
"# The SAL-50F18 portrait lens will cost about $150. # The HVL-F20AM flash will cost about $130."
20GN is quite ok isn't it? like 1/2 power in F42 right?
iinm our pop-up flash gn is 11... 130 usd = 462 myr.. worth it ka?? but the bounce thingy is better than flash direct with our pop-up 1 rite...
quite true oso... if can wireless... sure demn nice punya... cheap cheap... less than RM500... its not like we going to put it far away if wanna do simple portrait shoot ya..
n... yeap... new higher pop-up flash kinda looks like cobra jr
I read somewhere in one the threads that fixed appeture lens has a faster focusing speed compare to non fixed lens.
Assuming i'm comparing Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 HSM against Sony 70-300 G. With camera setting fixed, focal length at 200mm, 1/500, f9 for example; would the Sigma still focus faster than the Sony G?
assuming that Sony 70-300G SSM 4.5-5.6 and sigma is f/2.8 the siggy shud be faster than the sony but then i think SSM might defeat the siggy easily...I THINK SO~haha...correct me if i`m wrong.
Hmm I'm going 1utama soon. There's 2 Sony centres there. Hope they really got lauch la. But no adverts on newspapers also. ):
"Pre-orders will begin on May 18, 2009 at www.sonystyle.com/retail and at selected retailers nationwide. The cameras and a range of accessories will be available in July at Sony Style® retail stores (www.sonystyle.com/retail), at military base exchanges and at authorized dealers nationwide." -photoclubalpha
I dun think they be launching that soon....
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ May 18 2009, 11:49 AM)
assuming that Sony 70-300G SSM 4.5-5.6 and sigma is f/2.8 the siggy shud be faster than the sony but then i think SSM might defeat the siggy easily...I THINK SO~haha...correct me if i`m wrong.
spooky, i think u missed that siggy is HSM.. (the one hokcc77 comparing to).. but i dunno bout HSM vs SSM thingy lah...
This post has been edited by SinnerBuyer: May 18 2009, 11:58 AM
spooky, i think u missed that siggy is HSM.. (the one hokcc77 comparing to).. but i dunno bout HSM vs SSM thingy lah...
Ya correct. I wanna compare the SSM against HSM. Does f2.8 plays a role even though i'm using say f9? For discusion sake, lets include the Tamron 70-200mm f2.8 as well
Why i'm comparing the Sony G against Sigma HSM is because i like to shoot action scenes (motorsports, drifting, watersports etc). Under broad daylight, f2.8 is redundant for me. For example if i wanna shoot panning, at 1/60 my aperture have to be at least f11 and above, depending on the brightness of the sun. For freeze motion, at 1/500 i'll be at f5 and above.
For these conditions, Sony G is a better choice for its:
a. cheaper price b. compact size c. longer focal length d. 3m focus limiter
But what about focus speed, does the Sigma HSM f2.8 perform better compare to the Sony G under the same settings and conditions?
Why i'm comparing the Sony G against Sigma HSM is because i like to shoot action scenes (motorsports, drifting, watersports etc). Under broad daylight, f2.8 is redundant for me. For example if i wanna shoot panning, at 1/60 my aperture have to be at least f11 and above, depending on the brightness of the sun. For freeze motion, at 1/500 i'll be at f5 and above.
For these conditions, Sony G is a better choice for its:
a. cheaper price b. compact size c. longer focal length d. 3m focus limiter
But what about focus speed, does the Sigma HSM f2.8 perform better compare to the Sony G under the same settings and conditions?
OMG..too much too read...last version i read V23... btw, how are you guys...so many people upgrade olredi..im still not upgraded yet....
hmm just wanna seek an opinion from you guys... if u give one opportunity to get only ONE lens below, which one do you guys choose: 1. Sony CZ16-80 2. Tamron 17-50f2.8 3. Minolta 28-135 f4-4.5
OMG..too much too read...last version i read V23... btw, how are you guys...so many people upgrade olredi..im still not upgraded yet....
hmm just wanna seek an opinion from you guys... if u give one opportunity to get only ONE lens below, which one do you guys choose: 1. Sony CZ16-80 2. Tamron 17-50f2.8 3. Minolta 28-135 f4-4.5
Btw, the new Alphas all will have anti-dust system rite?
raynox with beercan.......
QUOTE(creepydslr @ May 18 2009, 01:42 PM)
bro.....for me number 1 and 2 is my fav...coz i own that 2two lens........ 1 for sharpness and colour..... 2 for low lite.....
raynox with beercan....... bro.....for me number 1 and 2 is my fav...coz i own that 2two lens........ 1 for sharpness and colour..... 2 for low lite.....
between CZ and Tamron which one?just ONE only.. owh...my reasons why i cant make up my mind because: 1. CZ - wider but not too wide as UWA (i dont prefer UWA) 2. Tamron - constant aperture but not long... 3. Minolta - love minolta colour (and it said it is G lens)..
thanks... between CZ and Tamron which one?just ONE only.. owh...my reasons why i cant make up my mind because: 1. CZ - wider but not too wide as UWA (i dont prefer UWA) 2. Tamron - constant aperture but not long... 3. Minolta - love minolta colour (and it said it is G lens)..
wat u wanna shoot first? wats ur typical shooting conditions? each lens have their pro and cons. Except for Minolta 28-135 f4-4.5, the range is not wide enuff for APSC camera.
3 votes for CZ..so it enough for me to make a decision...
QUOTE(ryzan76 @ May 18 2009, 01:53 PM)
its depend on u bro....if u want shoot jauh jauh go get the minolta....if u want shoot dekat dekat and sharp...go for cz.....
jauh2 no need to worry...just what i cant make a decision because of the lens itself as it told a G lens..and i try it... so, the CZ is the winner...how much CZ will cost,a new one nowadays?
QUOTE(hokc77 @ May 18 2009, 01:56 PM)
wat u wanna shoot first? wats ur typical shooting conditions? each lens have their pro and cons. Except for Minolta 28-135 f4-4.5, the range is not wide enuff for APSC camera.
i know that and thanks for the reminder... what im looking for is all in one lens... means wider and longer...i know 18-250 is the best but not wide enough...
This post has been edited by creepydslr: May 18 2009, 02:00 PM
3 votes for CZ..so it enough for me to make a decision... jauh2 no need to worry...just what i cant make a decision because of the lens itself as it told a G lens..and i try it... so, the CZ is the winner...how much CZ will cost,a new one nowadays?
hmm....somehow, the new camera don't have a percentage indicator for the battery...a lil disappointment for me.
I guess present Alphas would not be so excited as a new-would-be entry into DSLR. For a customer looking for his/her 1st DSLR camera (such as myself), I think Sony manage to "poison" me.. haha (although I have to confess that I had in the back of my mind have doubt that I would choose Sony over CaNikon... creepy thought )
Hope the IQ (especially high ISO) is improved.
This post has been edited by Banzai_san: May 18 2009, 04:44 PM
I guess present Alphas would not be so excited as a new-would-be entry into DSLR. For a customer looking for his/her 1st DSLR camera (such as myself), I think Sony manage to "poison" me.. haha (although I have to confess that I had in the back of my mind have doubt that I would choose Sony over CaNikon... creepy thought )
Hope the IQ (especially high ISO) is improved.
haha...if i am not mistaken, they are still using back the same image sensor and processor...so i doubt it'll be any better...haha...that is the main reason i jump ship..
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ May 18 2009, 04:47 PM)
wow the copper color one rocks man! hehe
yea...damn nice...it redefined the DSLR market instead of the usual black or grey... wanna go back to sony??
For my shooting needs, I reckon the A700 would be ideal (except it is much larger/heavier + no LiveView) for its better performance in low light shots.
But I think I need to start somewhere... so, a A330 I think would be enough to fulfull say 75-85% of my shooting needs Hence, yes... Im thinking of getting a brownie A330 + some nice lenses.
For my shooting needs, I reckon the A700 would be ideal (except it is much larger/heavier + no LiveView) for its better performance in low light shots.
But I think I need to start somewhere... so, a A330 I think would be enough to fulfull say 75-85% of my shooting needs Hence, yes... Im thinking of getting a brownie A330 + some nice lenses.
hehehe... kenot tahan la... your poison so venomous... need to save budget already... but only can buy after baby is born... hehehe... Tahannnnn.... tahan....
QUOTE(achew @ May 18 2009, 03:49 PM)
taken last nite...c&c r welcomed~
hmm... niceeee... with 50mm 1.4? nice leh... lighting's a bit off for me tho... but very sharp the pic... __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Btw, does Minolta 50mm f1.7 have AF when using with a200?
QUOTE(SinnerBuyer @ May 18 2009, 05:17 PM)
hurm.. but they better come with a700 replacement.. entry level won't hold back any entry lvl users long...
sig: go get a100!!!
Sig getting different model ler... I think I have a pretty good Idea what it is... hehehe
QUOTE(suchap69 @ May 18 2009, 05:18 PM)
just curious,
will the new SAM kitlens have any significant improvement? maybe in term of IQ or faster focusing speed.
then price for SAL1870 and SAL75300 will fall further
I think the SAL1870 might be discontinued coz might be replaced with the SAL1855... SAL75300 not sure though... maybe price will drop... currently eying the Beercan or BIG Beercan to replace my SAL75300...hehehe... ryzan76 has poisoned me with his beercan+raynox...
This post has been edited by Braynumb: May 18 2009, 05:26 PM
Damn! The new alphas have TWO memory slots! That is so cool!!!! None of the other beginner DSLRs in the market from any other brand have this feature! And there is actually a hardware switch to change between the SD card & MS Pro card! Even the A700 & A900 do not have this hardware switch.... *green with envy*
This post has been edited by kysham: May 18 2009, 05:40 PM
kysham : Well at least the new models have ONE redeeming quality - dual, switchable memory slots. For me the grip is a real turn off! The shutter release and dial is all in the wrong place IMHO. But that's just me getting very used to my A100!!!!!
This post has been edited by shootkk: May 18 2009, 05:40 PM
not sure if this is posted before from dpreview: * The SAL-1855 standard zoom lens will cost about $200. * The SAL-55200 telephoto zoom lens will cost about $230. * The SAL-50F18 portrait lens will cost about $150
Launching of Sony 50mm f/1.8 means Minolta 50mm f/1.7 losing its 2nd hand value
Can't wait to get my hands on one of these.... this lens is supposed to come with the new SAM af motor. Would love to see just how good the new SAM is compared to the in body AF motor as well as the SSM / HSM motors. It is most likely going to be a micromotor (groan) but hopefully it is as smooth as Sony had advertised it. Just have to wait and see lah... with sales not expecting to start until middle of the year (soon).
Shootkk: Haiyah.... you are just being old-skool macho leh.
1 thing I did notice is the absence of a vertical grip for the new alphas..... oh boy.....
hi guys, wanna ask something. I read somewhere in one the threads that fixed appeture lens has a faster focusing speed compare to non fixed lens. Assuming i'm comparing Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 HSM against Sony 70-300 G. With camera setting fixed, focal length at 200mm, 1/500, f9 for example; would the Sigma still focus faster than the Sony G?
I would like to confirm this Q too ... Any one hv idea ? Sifu ?
QUOTE(SinnerBuyer @ May 18 2009, 05:54 PM)
its hard to believe... i'm actually interested over 1855 as my kitlens replacement... lols
Go n get one bro .. and dont forget to report some review bro ..
why not SAL16105 better range, cheaper price and IQ very close to the CZ
not sure if this is posted before from dpreview: * The SAL-1855 standard zoom lens will cost about $200. * The SAL-55200 telephoto zoom lens will cost about $230. * The SAL-50F18 portrait lens will cost about $150
Can't wait to get my hands on one of these.... this lens is supposed to come with the new SAM af motor. Would love to see just how good the new SAM is compared to the in body AF motor as well as the SSM / HSM motors. It is most likely going to be a micromotor (groan) but hopefully it is as smooth as Sony had advertised it. Just have to wait and see lah... with sales not expecting to start until middle of the year (soon).
Shootkk: Haiyah.... you are just being old-skool macho leh.
1 thing I did notice is the absence of a vertical grip for the new alphas..... oh boy.....
very good move for sony still maintain the in-Body-motor for supporting the legacy lens...not like the Nikon entry level
The Sony HVL-F20AM can trigger wireless flashes from the A900! REJOICE!
The Nikon SB-400 can't do that.
The Canon 270EX can't do that.
More excitingly, if the F20AM works on the KM5D/KM7D/A100/A200/A300/A350/A230/A330/A380/A700, then you can have a front bounce light (from the F20AM) and a rear hair light (from the F42AM).
alpha_company, the flash ring adapter comes in a few sizes to match camera body height and flash height. You need to get the correct one.
hokc77: Focus speed is made of 2 independent factors:
1) focal length and how bright the lens is; a F1.4 lens will let the camera "recognize" where to focus faster. This is the lag between half-press and the camera actually focusing.
2) focal length, focus throw, focus element weight, focus limiter, motor - after the camera knows where to focus, it then drives to the focus point.
Now, brighter aperture lenses, even if they have internal motors, may be geared slower! The Canon 50mm F1.2 USM and 85mm F1.2 USM for example, are slow focusers (but necessary, it needs the precision.)
You may want to PM macdude and ask him as he shoots sports - he has the Sony 70-200mm F2.8G SSM, Sony 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G SSM and a Sigma 300mm F4.
creepydslr, the Minolta 28-135mm F4-4.5 is nice but the 1.5 meters MFD is very potong stim lah.
sidewinderz, it is said that Sony has made some changes to the image processing. We don't know until the tests come out. I am glad they changed the interface a fair bit, the A200/A300/A350 was quite "slow-navi" compared to the A700's Quick Navi.
Braynumb, of course the Minolta AF 50mm F1.7 will autofocus with the A200, and any Alpha camera. It has the screw drive across all bodies.
ya lor.. where's the VG?? using new batteries so not compatible with current VG wor
Nvm la... hehehe... no need to change yet neways... the ups and downs of the new models are really disturbing... hehehe... sticking with my a200 though... still prefer the grip on my a200...
QUOTE(electron @ May 18 2009, 06:14 PM)
but the demand for the f1.7 should cool down that might bring the price down a bit
but also interested to find out how much is the street price for the new lens... if cheaper than Minolta 50mm f1.7, might get that one instead... but like shootkk says, minolta 50mm is a FF lens... much easier when upgrading tho... kan2?
QUOTE(albnok @ May 18 2009, 06:20 PM)
I am buying the Sony HVL-F20AM!
More excitingly, if the F20AM works on the KM5D/KM7D/A100/A200/A300/A350/A230/A330/A380/A700, then you can have a front bounce light (from the F20AM) and a rear hair light (from the F42AM).
alpha_company, the flash ring adapter comes in a few sizes to match camera body height and flash height. You need to get the correct one.
1) focal length and how bright the lens is; a F1.4 lens will let the camera "recognize" where to focus faster. This is the lag between half-press and the camera actually focusing.
2) focal length, focus throw, focus element weight, focus limiter, motor - after the camera knows where to focus, it then drives to the focus point.
Now, brighter aperture lenses, even if they have internal motors, may be geared slower! The Canon 50mm F1.2 USM and 85mm F1.2 USM for example, are slow focusers (but necessary, it needs the precision.)
You may want to PM macdude and ask him as he shoots sports - he has the Sony 70-200mm F2.8G SSM, Sony 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G SSM and a Sigma 300mm F4.
creepydslr, the Minolta 28-135mm F4-4.5 is nice but the 1.5 meters MFD is very potong stim lah.
sidewinderz, it is said that Sony has made some changes to the image processing. We don't know until the tests come out. I am glad they changed the interface a fair bit, the A200/A300/A350 was quite "slow-navi" compared to the A700's Quick Navi.
Braynumb, of course the Minolta AF 50mm F1.7 will autofocus with the A200, and any Alpha camera. It has the screw drive across all bodies.
Nice... great to hear bout that... hm... also interested with the HVL-F20AM... hope it'll be nicely priced as well...
This post has been edited by Braynumb: May 18 2009, 06:29 PM
wow...does this mean that its not using Bionz processor?
QUOTE(albnok @ May 18 2009, 06:20 PM)
I am buying the Sony HVL-F20AM!
does it can do the same(triggering) if the HVLF20AM mounted on A700?
hmm....somehow, the new camera don't have a percentage indicator for the battery...a lil disappointment for me.
Added on May 18, 2009, 4:35 pmachew...mind to share your setup??
err...F58 at the back of her head..setting = 24mm n 1/32
at the front of her..i put a reflective board (made it with alu foil =.= ) hopefully it could bounce off any available light to her face..its very dark in the room..and if i on anymore lights..the whole room would b lit-ed up...
camera setting(manual) iso200 , F2 , Shutter 1/200s...
err...F58 at the back of her head..setting = 24mm n 1/32
at the front of her..i put a reflective board (made it with alu foil =.= ) hopefully it could bounce off any available light to her face..its very dark in the room..and if i on anymore lights..the whole room would b lit-ed up...
camera setting(manual) iso200 , F2 , Shutter 1/200s...
what lens were you using? your newly cleaned 50mm f1.4??
haha..ya...was using cz1680 but realized my living room is way toooo dark for the aperture....so i change to 50mm for a more flexible way of playing around with the setting..
btw the light part...it was purposely done in a warmer tone as the model prefer to have warmer photo..lol
This post has been edited by achew: May 18 2009, 08:17 PM
eh bro.. look up at the sky! in pic no 1 and 2... is it a bird? is it a plane?...... its dust! dang...
nice pic non the less... love the pics tho... very nice indeed...
QUOTE(achew @ May 18 2009, 08:16 PM)
haha..ya...was using cz1680 but realized my living room is way toooo dark for the aperture....so i change to 50mm for a more flexible way of playing around with the setting.. btw the light part...it was purposely done in a warmer tone as the model prefer to have warmer photo..lol
nice pic still... btw, would Minolta 55mm f1.7 deliver on par with the SAL50F14 in terms of quality??
This post has been edited by Braynumb: May 18 2009, 08:20 PM
just now i was wondering, isit my lappie screen dust or my pic dust hahaha...(my lappie screen has a big crack across ahhaha) i think F20AM should be around RM300?
aiseh...hehehe... better buy lens than repair lcd eh? hehehe... EH! like that is so much more affordable worrrrr!!! do you think in ebay should have it already? from overseas seller??
The SAM 50mm F1.8 DT can focus to at least 34 cm close!
This is a record beater; all other autofocus 50mm lenses which are brighter than F2.0, can only focus to 45cm close!
Also:
Dynamic Range Optimizer: Normal DRO improves detail using standard gamma curves for fast shot-to-shot response time. Advanced DRO adjusts dynamic range area-by-area. Improved algorithm from Sony A900
waaaa...soooo much to learn so wen is tis TT, i wan to join... Tapi i belum beli DSLR can join uh?
seriously... no need to buy yet pon better... so u'll know more what u want/need to buy and rough price.. sometime i dun bring my camera to some TT... its more like hangout time
achew, NIIICE! I like how there's even a reflection of the camera in the lens.
im not sure whether u notice...actually there r a few different "me" inside the reflections..i took a few photos and merge them using photoshop so in another way..the reflections r fake ones
Kul | Mo0, go take a good look at the pictures... there is a AF/MF switch on the bodies, which means it still has a in-body motor so all A-mount lenses work with auto-focus.
albnok: Can the SAM feature compatible with A700? I would love to have the 50/f1.8 for my A700. I won Minolta 50/f1.7 but the MFD of the new lens is an advantage.
seriously... no need to buy yet pon better... so u'll know more what u want/need to buy and rough price.. sometime i dun bring my camera to some TT... its more like hangout time
albnok: Can the SAM feature compatible with A700? I would love to have the 50/f1.8 for my A700. I won Minolta 50/f1.7 but the MFD of the new lens is an advantage.
Waitaminute.... YOU WON? a Minolta 50mm f1.7??? So lucky... where?????? still got??? maybe other lens????
QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 18 2009, 09:09 PM)
Then what is the point having Af/MF switches on both lens and body?
Was thinking the same thing also... would it mean faster AF? or does the AF/MF switch on the Lenses switch on/off the SAM function??
Waitaminute.... YOU WON? a Minolta 50mm f1.7??? So lucky... where?????? still got??? maybe other lens???? Was thinking the same thing also... would it mean faster AF? or does the AF/MF switch on the Lenses switch on/off the SAM function??
why get the SAM50 f1.8 if you already own minolta 50f1.7 isnt it better to get SAL50 f1.4 rather than f1.8? it looks totally plastic la minolta 50mm feels so good, heavy and solid
Added on May 18, 2009, 10:08 pmI also have to go by the horrible public transportation a.k.a BUS. ):
Aiya... too far la... hehehe... In Sarawak wooo... hehehe... besides, going back to Kuching to see my wife n baby this friday... thanks for the offer tho... might meet up whenever I'm in KL tho... ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Btw, something arrived for me today!
Came all the way from Hong Kong... See what it came with!
hehehe... Free... only paid for the postage... a giveaway from an old friend who migrated to HK recently... He joined the N Clan now... also coz he still ows me some money...
This post has been edited by Braynumb: May 18 2009, 10:27 PM
currently i am only having diffuser on it, but somehow when taking pictures the light is not as "smooth" as the type produced here by bro albnok or last time smashpop............ i am wondering if i use a white bounce card would be better than a diffuser? (ps its a stofen like diffuser)
and erm any suggestion for a good material for a white card to put on the f42am?
creating HDR with photoshop is great... but sadly my pc too old to handle photoshop... managed to make 1 tho... my processor fan goes "whuuuuuuuuuu... whuuuuuuuu........"
5/6 exposures were merged. (forgot how any edy... coz i deleted some before merging...) shot using kitlens..
achew: wat i know is.. HDR is HDR.. means it high in dynamic range... lol... exposure blending (normally 2 exposure - highlight + shadow) still cannot match HDR's DR... lol... me sleepy edy... now talk crap...
u can do 15 exposures blending...like that ur range also very wide ma.. =p
1. CP is reduce flare, ND reduces light intensity. the similarity is tht they both cut down lights entering ur lens. So you need a longer exposure to get correct exposure.
2. Erm no!..unless ur wedding ceremony is outdoor.
ooh i cant create a blur-line using photoscape...know how?Hmm... found this function anyway..pretty cute:
waa.. tiltshift effect... faking tiltshift with lens blur... nicely done~
QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 18 2009, 07:19 PM)
Wow means F20 also can wireless la? Cool wei. If cheap buy 2. Viper on top , 1 f20 on the left 1 f20 on the right. (:
until now only know that F20AM can trigger other flash... still dunno itself can receive IR signal and trigger or not...
QUOTE(achew @ May 19 2009, 12:03 AM)
u can do 15 exposures blending...like that ur range also very wide ma.. =p
yalor.. but wen u merge 15 exposures, its already called HDR..
QUOTE(alpha_company @ May 19 2009, 12:05 AM)
i know ND is most used to cut down light for that smooth waterfall effect.
guys.. wanna ask..
1. What is the diff with CPL and ND filters? any similarities?
2. CPL any good in weddings with my tammy 17-50?
3. ND filters come in those squared type cokin too but does Cokin makes squared CPL too?
1. CPL remove light source from particular direction.. ND reduce light source from all direction.
2. When shooting outdoor should be good.
3. If you planning to use cokin CPL for wedding, don't be... bcoz working with cokin is slow - cokin filter itself is bulky which limits ur movement... further more u have to adjusting the CPL... really time consumig. for me cokin works best for landscape type of photography where u dun have to move fast..
Added on May 19, 2009, 12:24 amon the second thought, now i think HDR = multiple exposure blending... which is still exposure blending...~~
achew.. u use what color profile? just now i screwed up with my color profile... dunno how to restore to default edy... help me~~ T_T
This post has been edited by SinnerBuyer: May 19 2009, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(SinnerBuyer @ May 19 2009, 12:18 AM)
waa.. tiltshift effect... faking tiltshift with lens blur... nicely down~ until now only know that F20AM can trigger other flash... still dunno itself can receive IR signal and trigger or not... yalor.. but wen u merge 15 exposures, its already called HDR.. 1. CPL remove light source from particular direction.. ND reduce light source from all direction.
2. When shooting outdoor should be good.
3. If you planning to use cokin CPL for wedding, don't be... bcoz working with cokin is slow - cokin filter itself is bulky which limits ur movement... further more u have to adjusting the CPL... really time consumig. for me cokin works best for landscape type of photography where u dun have to move fast..
1. now i understand.. i get it now.
2. it will make the skies more brilliant in colour right? also land too?
3. if normal round screw type? like this one? here.. any use in weddings?
4. if say CPL doesnt have any use in wed pics.. does it effect it negatively or positively? cause i dont want to change filters that often from normal uv to cpl and vice versa.
2. it will make the skies more brilliant in colour right? also land too?
3. if normal round screw type? like this one? here.. any use in weddings?
4. if say CPL doesnt have any use in wed pics.. does it effect it negatively or positively? cause i dont want to change filters that often from normal uv to cpl and vice versa.
2. yup.. the CPL will increase saturation in both sky and land bcoz unwanted light was removed..
3. yeah.. that is round screw type.. as i said before. if u snap outdoor wedding picture, it would helps.
4. hurm.. i would let this for u to answer urself... go buy a CPL, try it, and see if u like the effect in ur picture or not...
Added on May 19, 2009, 12:33 amwah... that nikon CPL is SLIM version, which is more expensive. if your tamron 1750 doesnt vignetting on regular CPL, it would be fine. regular CPL only RM1xx~Rm2xx
This post has been edited by SinnerBuyer: May 19 2009, 12:33 AM
1. CP is reduce flare, ND reduces light intensity. the similarity is tht they both cut down lights entering ur lens. So you need a longer exposure to get correct exposure.
2. Erm no!..unless ur wedding ceremony is outdoor.
3. Dono..coz i cant afford them
Based on number 2, we still can use CPL filter if we shoot outdoor potrait right? CPL is not limited to landscape only?? It can be used for multipurposes as long as outdoor shooting during the day time. Am I right?
QUOTE(vandechrome @ May 19 2009, 12:44 AM)
not pro la..based on my experience, indoor also can use, if u are shooting through a glass and need to reduce the reflection..
so it means that indoors it would have a negative effect la right..because it reduces light from 1-1.5 stops..
i wanna do outdoor shots and dont want that sky to be white and washed out... and if i have cpl then i need to change it back to normal uv for indoor shots?
so it means that indoors it would have a negative effect la right..because it reduces light from 1-1.5 stops..
i wanna do outdoor shots and dont want that sky to be white and washed out... and if i have cpl then i need to change it back to normal uv for indoor shots?
u can just play with metering and flash.. meter the sky, then use flash on subject.. then u'll get the blue sky, and ur subject won't be overexposed.. but using CPL is easier to get the blue sky la..
u can use CPL indoor, but to remove reflection la..
u can shoot with small aperture and underexposed ur photos a bit..then control the exposure in PS..better shoot in RAW lah..
I just use the built-in white card of my F58 flash.
You must blend in ambient light though (ISO400 at least) so that you get an even exposure.
Any white card will do, honestly.
alpha_company, do not bother with an ND or CPL filter during weddings, there is no time. Unless the CPL only goes on one lens... but CPLs cannot be used on ultra-wides mind you.
tanjq87, wouldn't be so sure about the new Alphas not being able to trigger off-camera flashes - there's nothing in Sony literature that suggests otherwise, and David Kilpatrick has changed his articles from time to time as more updated information comes in.
QUOTE(albnok @ May 19 2009, 01:04 AM)
lanusb, I do not use a diffuser at all!
I just use the built-in white card of my F58 flash.
You must blend in ambient light though (ISO400 at least) so that you get an even exposure.
Any white card will do, honestly.
alpha_company, do not bother with an ND or CPL filter during weddings, there is no time. Unless the CPL only goes on one lens... but CPLs cannot be used on ultra-wides mind you.
tanjq87, wouldn't be so sure about the new Alphas not being able to trigger off-camera flashes - there's nothing in Sony literature that suggests otherwise, and David Kilpatrick has changed his articles from time to time as more updated information comes in.
can cpl be turned around for effect? how to use it? i donno. i've read something that says about max and and min cpl effect
QUOTE(vandechrome @ May 19 2009, 12:57 AM)
u can shoot with small aperture and underexposed ur photos a bit..then control the exposure in PS..better shoot in RAW lah..
was thinking of this too but bokeh effect gone la..hehe..
1. Can CPL filters be turned on the front of it? How to use a cpl filter? i donno how a cpl filter looks like really... i've read something that says about max and and min cpl effect
2. Is it wasteful to buy a cpl filter? i wanna do outdoor shots too..and i think PS cant really do CPL type effect.
thanks signither
btw, if got cpl can get a pic of me in the mirror with AF easily la kan..hehe
This post has been edited by alpha_company: May 19 2009, 01:35 AM
ooook.....hopefully it's not true, or else the new alpha is gonna be suck wei...
i play a lot with wireless flash, even the A300 pop up sometimes is still not enough to trigger wirelessly in daylight (yea i am crazy to strobe at daylight) thus where the HVL-F20AM comes in real handy... at least faster cycle time then popup(4sec) i myself will have a go with HVL-F20AM... since it's a little upper hand for wireless shooter like me...
i am thinking, A200/300/350, will not trigger mounted flash(F42, F58) for triggering wireless flash.
HVL-F20AM is design to able to trigger wireless for A230/330/380/700/900...
but see that A230/330/380 CANNOT use F58 to trigger other wireless flash... (huh???? =.=||||)
i beg Sony to release a Fireware for A200/300/350 to able to use HVL-F20AM for triggering wireless flash... (even thou it doesnt trigger F58) ... else strobist will be boring without HVL-F20AM
i not sure what did i type,.... ignore my grammatic errors....
i play a lot with wireless flash, even the A300 pop up sometimes is still not enough to trigger wirelessly in daylight (yea i am crazy to strobe at daylight) thus where the HVL-F20AM comes in real handy... at least faster cycle time then popup(4sec) i myself will have a go with HVL-F20AM... since it's a little upper hand for wireless shooter like me...
i am thinking, A200/300/350, will not trigger mounted flash(F42, F58) for triggering wireless flash.
HVL-F20AM is design to able to trigger wireless for A230/330/380/700/900...
but see that A230/330/380 CANNOT use F58 to trigger other wireless flash... (huh???? =.=||||)
i beg Sony to release a Fireware for A200/300/350 to able to use HVL-F20AM for triggering wireless flash... (even thou it doesnt trigger F58) ... else strobist will be boring without HVL-F20AM
i not sure what did i type,.... ignore my grammatic errors....
true, i just only knew f58 on a200/300/350 is not able to trigger other wireless flash. Let's hope the f20 can trigger wireless flash on a300 =) anyway, maybe sony expects those who reach the level where you'll play alot of wireless flash to upgrade to midrange/professional level body like a700/a900?
edited, to those who own f42 before f58, do u feel that f58 is too powerful for direct flash? and also because of the ability to rotate left/right for f58, you're restricted to face the wireless receiver to ur built in flash thus make it harder to trigger wireless flash at extreme angle?
This post has been edited by tanjq87: May 19 2009, 01:51 AM
Only the A700 and A900 can use the F58 on camera to trigger the F42/F58.
Only the A900 can use the F58 on camera to trigger the F42/F58 AND F36/F56.
Too much is not known about the F20AM, let's wait until there is an actual model we can try out. I'm already set on buying one, and we'll have a TT to find out exactly what it can or cannot do.
tanjq87: I don't feel limited by the F58's head and its sensor - as long as light can bounce off the subject, into the sensor, it will trigger!
This post has been edited by albnok: May 19 2009, 02:02 AM
tanjq87: i speak from my experince. i do agree Sony wish to keep thier classes diff with A700 A900 from the entry levels. but funny is, why they would even release a HVL-F20AM with wireless trigger ability?(mainly aiming A900 user? cheap flash for a rm9999 body, lol) but i still stick with a cheapo body, to me lens plays bigger roles, and the rest, photoshop can deal with it.
F58 is powerful, thus, always allow min of 2 metre from subject if u fire 1/32, if ttl, it will auto choose power (hidden power like 1/64 and 1/128)
*even the infra is not pointing straight, it will still trigger if it detects the flash from the body. try, go into ur room, turn off light, put the flash behind u (facing away from u) and u press the * button (will trigger the flash, will not shutter release), see if the F58 behind u fires. u'll get what i mean.
albnok; so late haven sleep? hahaha, gimme five! i also looking forward to purchase HVL-F20AM, i wan to know the result does it works with A300 series or not, pls update me too
(since the A330 will able to use HVL-F20AM to trigger but not F58... hmmm.. i hope this HVL-F20AM wireless trigger is not rely on body firmware but a software/AI onboard itself? since A300 can still fire WL on F58 (but not triggering other wireless))
This post has been edited by ieR: May 19 2009, 02:08 AM
Only the A700 and A900 can use the F58 on camera to trigger the F42/F58.
Only the A900 can use the F58 on camera to trigger the F42/F58 AND F36/F56.
Too much is not known about the F20AM, let's wait until there is an actual model we can try out. I'm already set on buying one, and we'll have a TT to find out exactly what it can or cannot do.
tanjq87: I don't feel limited by the F58's head and its sensor - as long as light can bounce off the subject, into the sensor, it will trigger!
haha ok, i havent really tried it out yet, guess it's not a downside compared to f42 then... sms me when there is a TT! hehe but dun be so last min
QUOTE(ieR @ May 19 2009, 02:03 AM)
tanjq87: i speak from my experince. i do agree Sony wish to keep thier classes diff with A700 A900 from the entry levels. but funny is, why they would even release a HVL-F20AM with wireless trigger ability?(mainly aiming A900 user? cheap flash for a rm9999 body, lol) but i still stick with a cheapo body, to me lens plays bigger roles, and the rest, photoshop can deal with it.
F58 is powerful, thus, always allow min of 2 metre from subject if u fire 1/32, if ttl, it will auto choose power (hidden power like 1/64 and 1/128)
*even the infra is not pointing straight, it will still trigger if it detects the flash from the body. try, go into ur room, turn off light, put the flash behind u (facing away from u) and u press the * button (will trigger the flash, will not shutter release), see if the F58 behind u fires. u'll get what i mean.
oh, didn't know there is hidden power! thought lowest is 1/32, that's why sometimes i find it too powerful when pointing direct. (i don't get what u mean by press the * button will trigger the flash but not shutter release?)
oh ya, anyone know exactly how the wireless flash thing works? detect the built in flash+signal? cannot be built in flash alone right? cos when u try to focus, the pre-flash would not trigger the flash+ any other flash also cannot trigger the wireless flash.
This post has been edited by tanjq87: May 19 2009, 02:12 AM
* button = AElock
*edit: sorry, i also blur blur coz sleepy.. what i mean, is, the AElock button, (used to see the "*" in the LCD when u AElock < thinking is the * button... hahaha)
*edit2: well, the flash, has a very fine flipflop or watever u call it, a very quick (double or tripple flash) that eye cant see, but the F58 and others can detect, that is why, sony cannot trigger nikon sb600/900 and nikon cant trigger F58/other but sony,nikon,canon can trigger the general nissin wireless(3in1)
This post has been edited by ieR: May 19 2009, 02:26 AM
ieR, I have an A900, F58 and F42. The F58 is wasted sitting on camera all the time if I want to trigger the F42... I used to be able to trigger the F42 and F58 with the A700 pop-up flash.
So, with the cheap F20, I can have a front fill light in bounce position, and 2 directional rear lights.
Nikon has a SU-800 which can trigger off-camera flashes... however it sends an infrared signal only, and is not a flash. Or if using the pop-up it cannot bounce. So, the F20 is the first ever compact flash which is also a wireless flash trigger.
tanjq87: The AEL button will send a modelling flash signal. Errr the flash workshop is supposed to teach this LOL. Currently, yes, your pop-up flash will trigger off-camera flashes.
ok guys..heres my shot for today(19 may)... do pardon me for the noob photoshop skill in making the 'fire'...didnt really spend much time to do it..hehehe..
other than fire..everything else is 'real'
50mm F1.4 1/2500s iso200
lighting: F58(on top) : 1/36 28mm 2 very weak table lamp at the bottom shooting up 1 alu. foil board at the bottom to bounce of any light from F58
Waaaaa.... BEERCANNNN.....
QUOTE(vandechrome @ May 19 2009, 12:39 AM)
shooting wedding using CPL are not recommended..cause u will shoot mostly indoor, unless if u have outdoor session on a sunny day..
has anyone ever tried using a CPL filter and a uv filter at the same time before? on the same lens as well __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Anyone in Kuching wanna organise TT session during Gawai holiday? hehehe... or Photo shoot session?? Come on now... don't be shy... hehehe...
albert...inform me when u wanna go and buy it...surely HVLF20AM looks cute on my A100
it can take body with big lens and a hole to let the lens see thru. so that we can snap beautiful girls pic without them knowing. hahahah. the remote shutter is built in the bag strap. hahahahha
but a man carrying a big girl's handbag? isn't that obvious, hahahha
1. Can CPL filters be turned on the front of it? How to use a cpl filter? i donno how a cpl filter looks like really... i've read something that says about max and and min cpl effect
2. Is it wasteful to buy a cpl filter? i wanna do outdoor shots too..and i think PS cant really do CPL type effect.
3. guys.. what is the cheapest brand of tripod that can tilt the middle stick downwards/upwards?
these new alphas is somewhat are directly targeted at female shooters. the smaller, lighter bodies, body colour options and accessories are all towards the girlie side. maybe they should have another one in pink. many girl would certainly buy it straightaway
maybe also for people like achew to buy a new DSLR for his g/f (cum model)
I like smaller (not too small till fingers get cramps), lighter and stylish designs (not pink though)... and Im no girl... hehe
This post has been edited by Banzai_san: May 19 2009, 12:51 PM
I do not understand the requirement to put a CPL filter in front of your lens unless you need the feature of the CPL, which is really to cut down on the reflections off shiny surfaces. That is the main purpose the CPL. If I was to have a CPL, I would probably keep it in my bag until I need it (like for instance when I want to remove that annoying reflections off the glass window). Do keep in mind that a CPL is never a "fast action" filter. You need to rotate the filter slowly to see the effects and get the exact effect you want.
You loose 1-1/2 stop of speed with the CPL attached to your lens, so why put it there unless you need it? I had seen people using CPL at night during an event... and the poor guy keeps complaining his flash batteries do not last long....
3. guys.. what is the cheapest brand of tripod that can tilt the middle stick downwards/upwards?
[1] 2 rings at CPL... back part fix at the lens.. the front is the moving part... twist until u get ur required effect... (bluer sky/no reflection/etc...)
[2] waste? actually u can choose... either shoot first edit later in PS... or... shoot straight print no edit.. let say u haf 1000 piccies to edit... CPL has make ur life easier a bit la.. (minor touch-up and its done)
[3] cant really get what u meant... can u google up some picture for us??
This post has been edited by dingenius3: May 19 2009, 01:02 PM
tak tau la... maybe to attract female shutterbugs... hehe
Apa beza linear polarizer dgn circular? Looking from pictures of the polarizers... linear has straight lines against circular
linear:
circular:
(image from cokin.com)
Usage wise, when to use linear and circular?
circular can pusing2, linear cannot pusing2.
QUOTE(alpha_company @ May 19 2009, 12:36 PM)
1.yes, it can pusing2, u need to rotate the glass to see the effect of CPL on reflected glass..
2. not wasteful, but u need to determine on what situation it will become useful to u..sometimes ppl do outdoor without CPL, because it will darken the subject, but will give impact to the clouds.
[2] waste? actually u can choose... either shoot first edit later in PS... or... shoot straight print no edit.. let say u haf 1000 piccies to edit... CPL has make ur life easier a bit la.. (minor touch-up and its done)
Can PS perform like a CPL ? eg reflection from mirror can be reduced / eliminated ?
There are two types of polarizing filters generally available, linear and circular. With the exception of how they interact with some autofocus and metering mechanisms, they have exactly the same effect photographically. The metering and auto-focus sensors in certain cameras, including virtually all auto-focus SLRs, will not work properly with linear polarizers because the beam-splitters used to split off the light for focusing and metering are polarization-dependent. Circular polarizers include a linear polarizer on the front, which selects one polarizer of light while rejecting another, followed by a quarter-wave plate, which converts the selected polarization to circularly polarized light inside the camera, which works with all types of cameras, because mirrors and beam-splitters split circularly polarized light the same way they split unpolarized light.
Now, I understand a lil bit
use CPL for auto focus & metering of SLR...
This post has been edited by Banzai_san: May 19 2009, 01:54 PM
Can PS perform like a CPL ? eg reflection from mirror can be reduced / eliminated ?
uhhhh... reflection... maybe sikit sikit... i can see lotsa details such as HDR if u shoot RAW.. but the nice blue-ish sky for sure la.. (more if u use RAW oso )
why not a300? Sometimes the liveview can be very useful like:
- some difficult positions down or up - know where the flash bounce
Try studio zaloon.. 012-291 3886. or 03-21455186 ( mr chin )
can A200 take picture effect liek ur spiderman pet? becoz this will b my 1st camera...i was using my phone to take picture >.< still need a lot of things to learn fr all the pro here
camera can...but most imptly..u need a macro lens...
i would suggest u get a a300 if u like to do macro..coz usually the bugs r at those weird angle/position..which liveview would come very useful(i'd hav change to a700 if not bcoz of i need liveview for macro)
meanwhile..i suggest u do some read up on the basica photography stuff...no point to wait until u get ur camera n start shooting blindly...at least get the basic things like iso/exposure/shutterspeed/aperture/diff type of lenses/composition clear...
ps:i'd suggest u get a flash too if u intend to shoot macro alot...
This post has been edited by achew: May 19 2009, 03:58 PM
u venturing into macro photog?? any camera will do punya... if.... u haf the lens for it.. most of em using macro lens which stated 1:1 magnification ratio..
if u free this friday nite.. we having lil "teh tarik" session at mamak at tesco mutiara damansara.. i can show u 1:2 macro but not really that nice image quality... come join us..
u should molest molest some before u decide what to buy or worth ur moneh~~
oh ya...macro lens to shoot bugy picture and wide angle lens to shoot mountain hahah i'm new here and i am seriously...not joking one...very very noob... i'm shy...i dun dare to go out to meet ppl coz i am fat n ugly
haha..come on dude..we r discussing abt photography..not which-photographer-is-more-handsome...why so worry..lol
anyway..most impt thing is to read up n shoot more*using wad u've learnt* ..
QUOTE(cplow1 @ May 19 2009, 04:09 PM)
i stay beside there only...i will sit behind u all and shoot u all v my camera phone...kekeke
doesnt matter punya... me oso noob.. i've joined few TT with way older/fatter/richer photogs (all C & N vs S).. learn learn and gather some tips from em...
This post has been edited by dingenius3: May 19 2009, 04:14 PM
haha..come on dude..we r discussing abt photography..not which-photographer-is-more-handsome...why so worry..lol
anyway..most impt thing is to read up n shoot more*using wad u've learnt* ..
he's sayin dat cos he looks good... kidding la achew... hey man i miss ya stuff... haven't been on the forum for a while did I miss a lot? oh yea the hand fire thing looks good man...
eh eh eh..don divert the topic...later kena warning by mod =p
if im really that handsome..i'd b showing my picture as my avatar instead of a silly looking monkey =p
@millenia3000 where have u been?can always add me in msn/flickr/facebook...
the "hand-fires" thingy was an 'accident'...coz i was telling my gf i wouldnt b slping early..need to surf net n hopefully get some 'inspiration' from the things i see..coz today whole day i've nothing to do...if i couldnt come out with 1 photo..i'd b extremely sad..lol... so im surfing surfing..and suddently around 4am..i had this idea in my head..and i get up from my bed n to go my living room shoot immediately...took me about 50shots to get the right compo..keep dropping the lens cap onto my hands..lol.. den i start my PP until around 5~6am..finally finish everything...
but again..i've used up that idea..so today..back to the starting point..i have nothing to shoot =(
QUOTE(cplow1 @ May 19 2009, 04:18 PM)
i am getting the cheapest sony A200 in the world and i scare u guys will laugh at me and teast me when i take out my stuff and kitlens =(
anyone laugh u for the model/brand u r using..thats simple too shallow....a photographer shd always b judged by his work..but not his camera...wearing a david beckham jersey doesnt mean that fella can bend it like beckham u know?if u r holding a D3X n giv crapping photo..thats sumthing u need to think about..
This post has been edited by achew: May 19 2009, 04:23 PM
doesnt matter punya... me oso noob.. i've joined few TT with way older/fatter/richer photogs (all C & N vs S).. learn learn and gather some tips from em...
eh eh eh..don divert the topic...later kena warning by mod =p
if im really that handsome..i'd b showing my picture as my avatar instead of a silly looking monkey =p @millenia3000 where have u been?can always add me in msn/flickr/facebook...
the "hand-fires" thingy was an 'accident'...coz i was telling my gf i wouldnt b slping early..need to surf net n hopefully get some 'inspiration' from the things i see..coz today whole day i've nothing to do...if i couldnt come out with 1 photo..i'd b extremely sad..lol... so im surfing surfing..and suddently around 4am..i had this idea in my head..and i get up from my bed n to go my living room shoot immediately...took me about 50shots to get the right compo..keep dropping the lens cap onto my hands..lol.. den i start my PP until around 5~6am..finally finish everything...
but again..i've used up that idea..so today..back to the starting point..i have nothing to shoot =(
hey it's a cool idea alright... owh that's the lens cap!? anyway, how didja compose it... mind to share? i had thought of the same thing too... but i didn't really have the time to get it goin... yea i prolly shud add ya up on flickr.... and flickr... damn i should start uploadin my pics there too... i haven't been around for sumtime cos i been really bz wit work and all la... somehow here's where i learned lotta stuff from ya guys... i'll never leave this thread for good...
kulmoo, got sigma 50mm f2.8 edi... wooo... how ok ka?
hey it's a cool idea alright... owh that's the lens cap!? anyway, how didja compose it... mind to share? i had thought of the same thing too... but i didn't really have the time to get it goin... yea i prolly shud add ya up on flickr.... and flickr... damn i should start uploadin my pics there too... i haven't been around for sumtime cos i been really bz wit work and all la... somehow here's where i learned lotta stuff from ya guys... i'll never leave this thread for good...
kulmoo, got sigma 50mm f2.8 edi... wooo... how ok ka?
heres the setup..
F58 mounted to a crappy tripod fires wirelessly on top of my palm.. power 1/36..24mm
2 table lamp(very weak) shoot from the bottom to lit up the bottom of my palm 1 aluminium foil reflector at the bottom(together with the lamp) to bounce off any available light from my F58
camera setting F1.4 Shutter 1/2500(so that the surrounding is dark and my body wouldnt b captured) iso200 built-in flash fires(just to trigger my F58) self-timer 10sec (so that i know when i shd drop my lens cap)
This post has been edited by achew: May 19 2009, 04:33 PM
cplow1: OMG! Just come and learn!-_-''' beauty contest kar? gear comparison contest kar? just STFU and come hahahhaha I was also a a200 user ok? (just kidding)
This post has been edited by Sp00kY: May 19 2009, 04:40 PM
F58 mounted to a crappy tripod fires wirelessly on top of my palm.. power 1/36..24mm
2 table lamp(very weak) shoot from the bottom to lit up the bottom of my palm 1 aluminium foil reflector at the bottom(together with the lamp) to bounce off any available light from my F58
camera setting F1.4 Shutter 1/2500(so that the surrounding is dark and my body wouldnt b captured) iso200 built-in flash fires(just to trigger my F58) self-timer 10sec (so that i know when i shd drop my lens cap)
wooo must've been a pain... got remote shutter release thingy? psst... where did the fire come from la chew?
i don have remote control..and anyway..i don have extra hand to press the button either...1 hand is in the frame..another hand need to drop the lens cap..use my toes to press the button maybe?lol...anyway..10sec is easy enough la..no need shutter...but my problem was that..most of the time..the "alpha" logo wasnt facing the camera..or the flash nv hit it so its totally dark..or the position is too high/low to be my liking...
fire?was added in my PP...i couldnt possibly set my lens cap on fire..lol...
macro photo HAVE TO use macro lens? normal lens cannot get such effect?
normal lens can giv u close up..but not macro...nowdays any lens that do 1:3~4 and the manufacturer would claim its macro capable...but a true macro lens is usually a prime lens which givs u 1:1 ratio...
i don have remote control..and anyway..i don have extra hand to press the button either...1 hand is in the frame..another hand need to drop the lens cap..use my toes to press the button maybe?lol...anyway..10sec is easy enough la..no need shutter...but my problem was that..most of the time..the "alpha" logo wasnt facing the camera..or the flash nv hit it so its totally dark..or the position is too high/low to be my liking... fire?was added in my PP...i couldnt possibly set my lens cap on fire..lol...
oh yea u did mention 10sec on timer...
of course la you PP'ed the fire... but it was PPed from another image or you created it in Ps?
http://moo-ved.blogspot.com/ i haf no alpha t-shirt... look out for people hanging around with camera la.. usually i calling calling when reach the place...
calling? how oh?walk around and ask around? Hmm Moo has to be there earlier la..organizer (what) hahaha....
of course la you PP'ed the fire... but it was PPed from another image or you created it in Ps?
its taken from a stock photo website.. stock.xchng
QUOTE(cplow1 @ May 19 2009, 04:51 PM)
may i know how old r u guys? coz all of u seems very pro!!
24 and 10months!! (omg..im old)
actually most of the time..we r only talking about flash/shutter speed/aperture/iso..which are the fundamental elements in photography..nothing pro or not pro...just that u hvn finish doing ur homework....and u expect to read something 'pro'..it has to b from bro albnok...LOL..
guys...about tripod.. u know ka one that can flip the middle part/centre column downwards so that can take pics 180 deg..camera facing down completely.. i saw a pic before.. donno whether it is manfrotto or giottos..
what is the cheapest i can get ? and what model.
This post has been edited by alpha_company: May 19 2009, 05:04 PM