16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Nintendo Wii Discussion Thread V3, FAQS and queries go right here!

ramz
post Jul 29 2009, 02:10 PM

21,304 posts

does anybody know when is this apa nama 'wii sports reort us version' coming to town? not that i am anxiously waiting up to the point i am googling 'wii sports resort arrive in malaysia' and hoping for a hit. i ain't anxiously waiting really. but is nice to know when.
ramz
post Jul 29 2009, 03:14 PM

21,304 posts

can't be last week coz launch was 26. maybe the japan and euro version. but i only interested in the us version. so us version this week aaa?
ramz
post Jul 30 2009, 08:32 AM

21,304 posts

wii sports resort arrive in manila retail stores yesterday! will hop there later to get my copy. such a wonderful day today. but the price is expensive leh, about rm220. well, no choice leh.....
ramz
post Aug 20 2009, 06:52 PM

21,304 posts

QUOTE(sasagirl1000 @ Aug 20 2009, 06:29 PM)
can anyone tell me what is the difference between korea and japan wii?
and what is the advantages of choosing us ori set against korea or japan wii set?
if u buying unmodded, go for US wii

japan wii, play japanese games, and can't play US games. unless u can read japanese, or in love with some japanese games that u can't get in US, then go for it. but if u not sure, go US.

korea wii ah, don't want to get there la, but they are all modded la. usually people buy korea wii to play pirate games (please raise your hand if u not that person)

just choose us wii lah. trust me you won't go wrong. if u want to play pirate, just choose any one, coz it won't matter.

ramz
post Aug 26 2009, 10:12 AM

21,304 posts

in general can, with exceptions here and there. i also got this block buster movie i think i am going to love. i will also test first before i buy.
ramz
post Aug 26 2009, 05:01 PM

21,304 posts

on the hard modded consoles, some games won't run coz the chip does not aupport that game (e.g. wiikey). it usually happen in new games. but usually the chip manufacturer is fast to provide a firmware update to resolve the problem. For example at one time everybody panicked that original Super mario Bros Brawl cannot work on modded wiis. But after the wiikey manufacturer release their firmware update, the problem was resolved. So in the future, for newer games this might happen again, so u might need to wait for the firmware update to resolve it. but i personally think is rare nowadays coz game makers want to make their original games run on modded wiis. so they are careful to make it compatible with modded wiis.

As for softmod wiis, i never heard of any problems with originals
ramz
post Aug 27 2009, 08:12 AM

21,304 posts

QUOTE(`arthas @ Aug 26 2009, 10:02 PM)
From my knowledge. Wii hard modded, it is abit troublesomes. Since it always update and keep on changing new stuff. So I recommend soft mod. easier and cheaper. lol
And also althought sometimes they mention is soft mod but there are some possibilities to soft mod + hard mod. because of the board problem.  rclxm9.gif
updating is not a problem on hardmod if u playing a same region game. but i wonder why people like to talk about modding. its a game console u know. to play games. if u want to learn about computer enginerring, then go buy a pc.

ramz
post Aug 30 2009, 06:04 AM

21,304 posts

remember, wii is sold by default unmodded. If u buy a brand new car, do you like it to be delivered as is or with modification? a modded console is as good as a 2nd hand.

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Aug 30 2009, 01:49 AM)
I just got a Wii. Is it recommended to get SD card?

1. What is the best SD Card brand to buy for Wii?
2. What is the biggest SD Card available in Malaysia?
3. How much?

1. any card also can. Although there are recommended cards for wii, i think is just marketing gimmick. I bought the cheapest card on the market. unbranded some more.
2. the size keeps growing la, i lost track already. but in context of the wii, it supports up to 32 gb max.
3. murah saje. a 2 gb card would be about rm25. that was 1 year ago. maybe cheaper now.
ramz
post Aug 30 2009, 01:20 PM

21,304 posts

i wouldn't buy anything from anybody who modifies my purchase, even with good intentions. and in the case of the wii, modding iti definitely makes the wii worst. but of course some people think its still worth the trouble.
ramz
post Aug 30 2009, 06:18 PM

21,304 posts

i'll just cut the chase and answer how most like it to be answered. coz i know it will get to that point eventually.

modded to play pirate (although some do buy modded for valid reasons, but they are from mars). unmodded to play original. difference is you get to play pirates on modded wii, but comes with hassles (please don't ask me to elaborate, just google it). If modded you only can play original, but its hassle free.
ramz
post Aug 31 2009, 08:26 PM

21,304 posts

i was going to answer in that manner (therefore i agree with u), but like i said, i decided to cut the chase. you see there are the 'purely geniune' group who mod their machines for the purely geniune legal reasons. and their objective of modding is as what u mentioned. but there aren't many of them! most of them are from the 'not purely geniune' group, i.e. they are the 'test first before i buy original' group. or the 'buy original if i love it, else just pirate it' group. Modding give you the avenue to pirate. i am not an advocate of making the wii do more other then a game console, coz u can do all that on a pc
ramz
post Sep 6 2009, 12:12 PM

21,304 posts

do u know that now u can download internet channel for free via wii shop. fee stuff man. grab it while it last

This post has been edited by ramz: Sep 6 2009, 12:12 PM
ramz
post Sep 7 2009, 02:20 AM

21,304 posts

2 reasons why:
1. your game is not original
2. your wii is softmodded

to solve, u got to be a bit of a wii engineer. that is why some forummers encourage to buy unmodded wii.

so, be a wii engineer and debug (this is not the forum to discuss this), or send to some engineer to solve your problem (think they charge for that if they not your friend), or just accept it and don't complain, as you get what u pay for.

This post has been edited by ramz: Sep 7 2009, 02:31 AM
ramz
post Sep 14 2009, 04:49 AM

21,304 posts

I read somewhere in this thread that in order buy games from Wii Shop, we need to set the location to a specific location. How do we do that?
The location most malaysian use is Brazil. I use that too with no issues other then certain games introduce my Mii as a brazilian to the world. There is no 'Malaysia' in the wii setup. And using 'Singapore' won't do either.

Wii doesnt come with a wireless adapter, so can we use a USB2.0 wireless adapter instead of a ethernet adapter?
Doesn't wii have a built in wireless adapter (wi-fi built in)? u don't need a wireless adapter.

ramz
post Sep 16 2009, 03:25 PM

21,304 posts

QUOTE(grhunter @ Sep 16 2009, 01:54 PM)
hello!

sorry for this silly question, i'm a total noob in this...

i'm planning to buy a nintendo wii from my colleague (usd150 for 1 year old rarely used set with 2 controllers and bunch of games.. worth?), but was told just now that it's a Jap set.

he told me that the games still display in english but the wii menus are all in japanese. i have no qualms with japanese menus, but i need to make sure my games all display in english. does it mean i can pick up a game anywhere (US, aus, HK etc) and it will still be able to play in english? which is more advisable - a 2nd hand good condition jap set, or a spanking new US set from malaysia?

enlighten me pls! thanks.
u didn't give enough info. But the wii you will buy definitely fall in 1 of this categories:
1. Hardmodded wii - signs to look out - you can play boot legged games straight from the disc channel (i.e. the 1st top left channel)
2. softmodded wii: Signs to look out - you have "homebrew channel" installed. its just one of the channel if the channel menu.
3. Both Hardmodded and softmodded wii - as above.

to make a long story short, above are modded wiis, and they come with some hassles. 3 is the most hassle, followed by 2, then 1. Hassle free is unmodded, meaning spanking new US set. The list of hassles is complicated and long, so i won't expand it here, but you can easily google them. Hassle free is unmodded and that is what i would advise to buy, coz that is how it comes out of the factory. why do people buy modded wii's although it is not hassle free? that also u can google them. it is quite obvious it's worth the hassle for some people (some are legit - like u can pick up a game anywhere (us, aus, hk etc) and it will still be able to play; and some are not legit). just identify your preference and buy accordingly. good luck

This post has been edited by ramz: Sep 16 2009, 03:31 PM
ramz
post Sep 16 2009, 09:25 PM

21,304 posts

QUOTE(grhunter @ Sep 16 2009, 08:21 PM)
i guess i'll buy a US set when i'm back at malaysia...
who do u call? kyoyagami. who can u call? kyoyagami. beli tanpa was-was. with more people like u around, wii setup will soon have a 'malaysia' in its dropdown list. for now, its brazil boleh
ramz
post Sep 21 2009, 09:23 AM

21,304 posts

interesting new feature in the new nintendo channel. Gameplay records, which keeps track of you accummulated hours/times a game was played since the wii was purchased. for my wii, guitar hero world tour is current 1st spot, followed by rock band 2. and surprisingly mario kart wii is a close 3rd. i didn't know my family played so much mario kart wii.
ramz
post Sep 24 2009, 12:41 PM

21,304 posts

habis stock lama dulu la then price will drop here. that will take some time. furthermore, malaysians love old wiis. for some strange reason.....
ramz
post Sep 27 2009, 05:10 PM

21,304 posts

i think around rm70. only 1 type only. original. there are 3rd party ones too, but there are also considered original, and very hard to find in malaysia. the not-original i never seen, but dont buy them!
ramz
post Sep 29 2009, 09:26 AM

21,304 posts

QUOTE(Vistaril @ Sep 28 2009, 04:47 PM)
Just want to ask what is the current price for the Nintendo Wii? Which is more recommended Wii from America or Japan? Planning to be Original Gamer here smile.gif. Also please direct me the best place to buy the Wii & the cheapest place to bought from smile.gif, Thank you in advance.
on the price bit, i notice in ph, the price dropped over the weekend from php14.5k to 13.5k for a spanking brand new unmolested one. 13.5k is about 1000rm. ph responded fast on the price adjustment.....

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0502sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:16 PM