16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Nintendo Wii Discussion Thread V3, FAQS and queries go right here!

ramz
post Jan 29 2010, 11:46 AM

21,313 posts

i think, but i oso not very sure, that u r wrong.

i know one, but this is obvious. u can have a wii like pc at your living room, so when u want to do pc like things u don't have to get up and go to the room. sometimes oso u want to listen to music or see some videos, and don't want to go to the room, or lazy to on your hifi/blue ray set.

but those functions make me yawn.
ramz
post Jan 29 2010, 01:35 PM

21,313 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 29 2010, 11:43 AM)
actually for some, they just like a ONE ALL PURPOSE machine to do it all...and some just for the enjoyment that their machine can do more that it was supposed to do. Let's just say the wii for its size are smaller and more portable than the PS3 n PC itself, and by adding some brews on it, the wii can be an all purpose machine that be brought along wherever they go.

But i guess it all goes back to preference. If u see some of the brews on the list below is something u would want for ur wii or for urself, then go for it smile.gif IMHO, the wii hvsome of the healthiest homebrews out there. smile.gif

http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Homebrew_applications
thanks. i looked through the link, nothing that interest me. yeah. its not for everybody. but i imagine if i don't have a pc, then all those function would be very useful.
ramz
post Jan 29 2010, 02:41 PM

21,313 posts

i go on youtube using internet channel too. no problem also. load as fast as my pc
ramz
post Jan 31 2010, 11:59 PM

21,313 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jan 31 2010, 09:13 PM)
I have a Nintendo Wii and it's been really fun playing games on it. However I'm quite annoyed that I can't upgrade it if I want to use Homebrew Apps. So I after much research and trial and error I've finally found a solution.

I managed to get the Wiimote working with Windows 7 32 bit. And I can play the Wii games I rip off the DVDs. The best part is this is completely brick proof and region free. It's all legal because there is not agreement signed before you play a game saying you need to play a game on a real Wii console or you can't play games outside the region they are sold. Wii games runs flawlessly on my laptop, which of course I hook to a TV. So now I can use my laptop to play Japanese games and game needing updates which could brick my Wii console, which I can use to experiment Homebrew stuff on.

And all this is completely LEGAL, so don't shoot me back with the no piracy stuff. You buy original games and play it on the PC.
a few point i want to make:
1. if u didn't buy the original wii game, no matter what u say to justify it, it is still illegal. but point taken u only said u rip it off the DVD, so there is no proof u did anything illegal. assuming u own the original wii DVD, then its perfectly legal.
2. having said that, i will proof to u in malaysia piracy is legal. illegal means u will go to jail or get fined if u do it. so if u don't go to jail, and don't get fined, then it is legal. therefore, piracy in malaysia is legal
3. dolphin emulator is worst then a modded wii as of now. it is getting better (development is on going) but still got a long way more to go. not all games can play properly as of now.
4. dolphin emulators are not user friendly. u won't get a non-techie interested in it. not for everybody.

emulators have been around since the birth of computers. its not a new concept. its software. and any software engineer can tell u u can make software do anything. it come in different packages but they all have the same objective to emulate a popular platform. but one thing they have in common, that they never get to emulate perfectly.

This post has been edited by ramz: Feb 1 2010, 07:50 AM
ramz
post Feb 1 2010, 10:21 AM

21,313 posts

dono, he said coz he can't upgrade his wii. which is not true, u can. the effort of research to upgrade your softmod wii through backend is less then effort of research on the emulator.

keep it simple smiley.
ramz
post Feb 1 2010, 11:01 AM

21,313 posts

mumeichan, u sound like u taking this as a hobby. that's good for u. but i wouldn't even spend even 1 minute of my gameplaying time to do this. that's also the reason i don't sofmod my wii.

ramz
post Feb 1 2010, 11:15 AM

21,313 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Feb 1 2010, 11:03 AM)
btw ramz, last time i saw at some other thread u don't have ur wii anymore...is that true?
yes and no. the wii is at home with my family, and i am working everywhere except at home. i do go home often of course. now my mobile console is the ps3. so i still play my wii, but only when i am at home.
ramz
post Feb 1 2010, 11:55 AM

21,313 posts

slim. 3 kg of slimness, not mentioning my 5 kg of 19 inch hd tv. 8 kg of wholesomeness. no choice, otherwise i will cari perempuan, which is more expensive then my ps3, and heavier too.
ramz
post Feb 4 2010, 10:37 AM

21,313 posts

eh darktan. ya la, our "creative wii" entries went missing la. must be the automated "batu api" detection system they recently implemented. good lah. LYN is really a leader when comes to synertized discussions.
ramz
post Feb 5 2010, 09:20 PM

21,313 posts

QUOTE(Shadsight @ Feb 5 2010, 08:09 PM)
Anyone know where to get Nintendo Points for the Wii system in Malaysia so can buy WiiWare Games?
the cheapest option is to buy from Wii shop, which is found in your wii menu. all u need is a credit card and to set your country as "Brazil" in your wii settings. this is the cheapest option trust me.

Another not so cheap option is to buy wii point cards. u can get it from most game shops, like gamer's hideout and such. the price is marked up, so it won't be as cheap as the 1st option
ramz
post Feb 6 2010, 05:21 PM

21,313 posts

how much those gp batteries? i remember buying sony rechargeable batteries. waste of money only that one.
ramz
post Feb 7 2010, 02:33 AM

21,313 posts

QUOTE(Shadsight @ Feb 6 2010, 10:31 PM)
I set mine to US, was trying to buy that day with CC but need to key in billing address, later they find out not really from US, will brick?
that's right. that is what will happen if u set to US. that is y we all set to 'Brazil' if we want to purchase via wii shop.

bricking only applies to modded wii when u update the firmware either through wi-fi update, or via playing a game disc. changing the country to brazil is NOT updating firmware. so whether yr wii is modded or not, it will not brick. trust me.

Added on February 7, 2010, 3:05 am
QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Feb 6 2010, 07:05 PM)
i'd recommend this one too. A Pega brand battery. I've been testing it my wiimote for it to see how it performs (since ppl said 3rd party battery are not good) and to my surprise this one is worth the little money i spent. Lasted about one week ++ with constant nunchuk bashing for the past week smile.gif

some shops are selling it at RM59, some 40 but usually wii's accessories in my area ppl don't care too much compared to ps3 or 360 so since ppl dun buy it i got it for RM30 just so the shop can break even and clear it from their stock. Thinking of getting another one next week from another shop just for a spare biggrin.gif
before my lousy sony rechargeable batteries(cost me rm90), i bought this:
most shop sell it for around rm80. only lasted me 1.5 months. both battery kaput together at the same time, imagine that. so far i spent rm170 on my rechargeable bats and still not satisfied. i got so fed up, i been using non-rechargeable ever since. i think i will go with eneloop bats for peace of mind. i never heard it fail.

This post has been edited by ramz: Feb 7 2010, 03:05 AM
ramz
post Feb 8 2010, 08:03 AM

21,313 posts

nintendo should think like sony. ninty wants to save a bit on cost, but really for us users its not cost savings at all. i really appreicate the DS3 controller. even if no more charge, i can still continue playing like a PS2 controller.
ramz
post Feb 8 2010, 01:58 PM

21,313 posts

ok then, make buit-in rechargeable.
ramz
post Feb 8 2010, 04:24 PM

21,313 posts

a straight answer:
wanna ask... if an Mod Wii wanna UNmod can or not???
can if us or japan modded. but for korean, most say cannot. kira cannot lah.
where to find unmod Wii
anywhere in the world except malaysia, people actually ask "where to find modded wii?". in malaysia the question is always terbalik. actually many places - best denki, kyoyogami.......etc. look at the first page of this thread.....ada.
Mod Wii cannot go online and create own Mii???
people actually very confuse with whether a modded wii can do what an unmodded wii can do. give u an analogy, if u modify a car, can it still do what an unmodded car do? yes and no. depends how u mod the car, right? so, a simple answer would be can. but if u happen to have a problem, u need to mod it somemore to solve the problem. and that's the hassle of a modded wii i.e. the "modding it somemore" part.
ramz
post Feb 8 2010, 04:39 PM

21,313 posts

KOREK! spot on. if u lady driver.... u don't want mafan right? u just want to drive the car. modded cars are only for enthusiast/hobbyist.
ramz
post Feb 8 2010, 04:59 PM

21,313 posts

good question. i believe the demand for unmodded wii is higher. that is why its more expensive. but malaysian sellers don't understand this (idiots!). they insist buyers wants modded (idiot again!). but then no demand. so no demand price drop lor.
ramz
post Feb 10 2010, 10:18 AM

21,313 posts

gamecuge is the previous generation console. it is more meant for those who have a collection of gamecube games to ease those to migrate to the wii. however for u, since u are not from the gamecube console, u will need to have the following first as a prerequisite:
1. Gamecube memory catridge
2. Gamecube controller
3. Gamecube game (disk)

1 and 2, u got to purchase seperately. U can't use the wii controllers.
3. u can get at super discounts now. coz they are discountinued since 2007. the games are very good. in fact most wii games from nintendo are upgrades of the gamecube ones.

ramz
post Feb 12 2010, 05:08 AM

21,313 posts

so got such thing la
ramz
post Feb 12 2010, 07:05 AM

21,313 posts

i dont know what to do