===, ===

tanjinjack
post May 12 2009, 11:45 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ May 12 2009, 09:41 PM)
nelson how is ur koko?

father 15k salary should not play a part IMO.
scholarships should be based on academic merit.
for everything else there are loans.

and besides,
if u compare 15k salary with 10k salary.
10k salary, with 2 sons getting JPA.
compare that with 15k salary with 2 kids, nobody gets JPA.
the person with 15k gonna easily be financially constrained than the person earning 10k.
just so you know, even michael jordan's son is getting a scholarship.

and if financial background is taken into account, why do rich ppl need to study?
then people will start complaining bout rich brats , spoiled kids. lol

jz my 2 cents, dont mean to personally offend any1. sorry if i did.
Scholarship can come in several forms, given out on certain criteria.
For JPA scholarship, family income is one of the criteria.

Michael Jordan's son should not be a scholarship in the form of financial aid. Perhaps a scholarship based on academic excellence or sports.

Please be clear about the scholarship discussed before comment.

Added on May 12, 2009, 11:46 pm
QUOTE(windsrave @ May 12 2009, 10:24 PM)
i have a friend who gets the Korea Engineering, got a phone yesterday, called her to enroll herself this Sunday in Shah Alam.
Do anyone has info about France Engineering?
how long does one need to study in local before he can off to oversea?

At least 3 months.
You can't expect going to France without knowing French right?
Hmm..
Bon jour.
Au revior.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 12 2009, 11:46 PM
tanjinjack
post May 13 2009, 12:00 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(YourHeadLah @ May 12 2009, 11:49 PM)
UH UH..
im so blur. so we're doing our pre u local?
i applied for engineering course.
my spm result wasnt that good. 7a1 4a2
but i talk alot during interview. maybe thats why i got it
Most probably you are doing your Pre-U locally if you are going for an English-speaking country.
But I heard somewhere that last year German Engineering is placed in KBU for German language 0.5 year, followed by 1 year AUSMAT.
Not sure about the AUSMAT though, but the German language is done there.
For Korean Engineering, you do your foundation/Pre-U there if I am not mistaken. You just study Korean locally.
tanjinjack
post May 13 2009, 12:09 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(nelsonyap48 @ May 13 2009, 12:04 AM)
man! tanjinjack, you are very good at this....where you get the info from? You got the offer too?

rclxms.gif   rclxms.gif   rclxms.gif   rclxms.gif   rclxms.gif
Those info are last year. I was last year's batch, among the majority who failed to get, LOL 10A1 2B3 (one of them being Malay).
Furthermore, I have been paying a lot of attentions of attentions since Form 1 (the year my sis got it), or to say, initially it's my parents who watch over it for me, feeding me information, but slowly I pick up the responsibility on my own.

Nonetheless, they change every year. I can say nothing about it. Like now got IPTS/A already.

Ah, just one more info.
Usually if you get Medicine or Dentistry, quite a number will get sent to IMU even if you are told that you have overseas offer. Don't worry, in the end you still get to go overseas and it's very possible that you can get into prestigious medical school like University of Edinburgh through IMU partnership.
Also, few years back, German Engineering scholars did A-Level in UiTM, that was year(s) before they contract out for IPTS to do the Pre-U.
Now, it's said that the better one are sent to UiTM while the not-so-good one got sent to Inti, Taylor's etc. for Pre-U.

Added on May 13, 2009, 12:11 am
QUOTE(kwh1989 @ May 13 2009, 12:07 AM)
ausmat will be done in KBU, total 1.5 years in KBU damansara, given tht things didnt change. for those computer science goin to US, most likely will be studying AUP in Inti Nilai, those goin for accounting in Aus will be studying SAM in taylors, those goin for architecture in UK will be doin A levels in intec, wut did i miss out, oh ya, actuarial science in US will be AUp in inti nilai, if Aus, will be SAM in inti nilai
Not necessary to be the same one.

The first batch in Inti SAM is for Actuarial Science and Accounting, but the second batch was not for that already. It's for Town Planning and some other courses.
First batch in Inti AUP is for Actuarial Science.

They always change.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 13 2009, 12:11 AM
tanjinjack
post May 13 2009, 12:26 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(chiam dar siang @ May 13 2009, 12:17 AM)
he told us bout his bro or sis got jpa overseas scholar last time, cant u remember?.......do i need to buy a laptop for my foundation since im probably not staying in home town. hmm.gif
Sis only. Bro tak de la...

It's good to have a laptop for studies, as hardly there will be species who still do not use computers at all in his/her life, especially for the teenagers in Malaysia.
Now less than RM2,000 can get one.
tanjinjack
post May 13 2009, 12:33 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(nelsonyap48 @ May 13 2009, 12:30 AM)
So, for computer science, most probably goin where to do pre u course? And goin only one country right, which is USA?
The only senior of mine who got CS went to US. For US, you probably follow an American Transfer Programme in which you may be placed in private institutions that offer it or maybe UiTM as well. UiTM has American Transfer Programme.

tanjinjack
post May 13 2009, 01:14 AM

4,122 posts

AUP is American University Programme, that's how Inti calls it.
Sunway and UiTM call it ADTP I think, America Degree Transfer Programme.
It's just up to you how you call it, all are same thing.

For subjects to be taken, it should all follow the American style, you study a broad range of knowledge. But I don't think you got to choose your core subjects though, under sponsorship of JPA. You may not even have the choice of your breath study, but I am not sure about this. JPA may only concern about subjects that can get credits, not necessary entertain your interest shall you want to take Philosophy. (But if Philosophy can get credits, then you should be able to take it as breath.)
It's way more to talk about AUP, subject choosing etc.
tanjinjack
post May 13 2009, 01:25 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(YourHeadLah @ May 13 2009, 09:11 AM)
ohh icic.
i hope i don get a levels again.
am studying a levels january intake and i don like to repeat what i have studied.
Congrats. I suppose you got JPA scholarship.
I believe you can negotiate with JPA so that JPA would allow you to continue your A-Level if it happens to be that you will be doing it as well, provided the colleges you attend now have JPA placement.
tanjinjack
post May 17 2009, 02:41 AM

4,122 posts

Under any circumstances, I do believe if you got local, but got admitted into IMU, Nottingham, Monash or others that come with twinning option, you do stand a chance in obtaining an overseas opportunity later on.
IMHO, JPA is trying hard to secure talents within the country and if they find you worth investing for overseas, then they will give you the money for it. This is because, there's quite a number of special scholars who are supposed to go overseas but failed to do so. Hence, there's extra money, and hence, they use it up on you.

Well, take note here. What I said just now is my mere guess only, although I find it make sense.
tanjinjack
post May 17 2009, 04:09 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(yi7117 @ May 17 2009, 03:10 PM)
I think the interviewing part has led to the outcome of failing to get the scholarship for most student with good results.
Getting scholarship isn't about who is rich or poor it's giving to students that excel in their studies as a reward.
TO be fair you have to treat all the good students equally regardless of their family background.

Try to think the other way round if a good family background student got 16As in SPM then a less appealing family background student got 8As in SPM the scholarship went to the less appealing one do you call this fair? TS you are really fortunate to get offered by JPA despite your results i understand why lovelyduckling gets irritated by you. Cheerz!
Offer letter will be out by next week. Check the website.
There's nothing to be fair in this country as long as the people do not share a common view.
Today some races special, you call it not fair.
Then tomorrow this race no special liao, you say fair, but they say not fair liao ma..
Things would be like that, and will continue until a shared view is attained, which IMHO will not be achieved in 50 years, seeing the mindset of the people now.

And every scholarship has different criteria on selecting scholars, you can't just generalise.
Interviewing part is said to be 5% (or 10%) which is what I think should not be that significant.
Perhaps the marks awarded for academic excellence is the problem.
If 16A1 and 12A1 would have the same mark, then it makes not difference.
Even if the difference is by 4%, it still does not make it a huge advantage for the 16A1.

I do not know how the marking goes. But I think it's wise to revise.
Marks can be given, according to the population, not according to the excellence, which I think is what happening for the JPA this time.
(What I mean by 'according to population' is that, the best one (let say academic has 60% max), only the best 5 got 60.0, then perhaps next 5 got 59.5, then the worst one of all applicants (can be 8A) will get 0.0
This can really push up the great one, and make the less nice result people lose out.

tanjinjack
post May 17 2009, 04:14 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(lazyguy91 @ May 17 2009, 04:11 PM)
they sent the letter yesterday, I mean has anyone received? or must wait until tomorrow just because today is sunday?
Just wait la.
What you worry.
tanjinjack
post May 24 2009, 10:18 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ May 24 2009, 10:14 PM)
why? ive been wondering that too.
i know someone whose parents are both teachers, and all 3 of their children got scholarships,not in those lelong course 
but i dont know whether that's because of their parents' job.
is it explicitly stated that civil servants will be preferred or are we juz guessing?

and my friends, whose moms and dads are both teachers, got the scholarship as well.
the chance decreases to normal if only 1 parent is a civil servant, while the other's in private.
are we seeing a pattern, or maybe the teacher's children are more brilliant?  icon_question.gif

personally i think civil servants are getting a very good bargain, except those in healthcare sector (i.e doctors , nurses)
One of my friends whose parents are in teachers got the German Engineering scholarship, with 2-3 Bs for her result.

Well, being civil servants have advantage, for sure. After all, a child of civil servants are more likely to serve the government instead of people in the private sector.
tanjinjack
post Jun 1 2009, 03:48 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(qiqi91 @ Jun 1 2009, 12:29 PM)
i gt my letter d...
SAM at INTI, AS course
QUOTE(littleman @ Jun 1 2009, 01:40 PM)
i got SAM at nilai INTI, AS course too..u gt the nilai INTI?
Congrats to you both.
Don't worry about Inti. Their quality are very good.
The 1st batch of JPA there claimed a 99.85, not as good as Taylor's 99.95 though..

But all the best to you all. Say hi to Mr Yap also!
Aw, I miss him...

0.0226sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:45 PM