[WTA]Setting up CCFL lights outside case, *want to set up CCFL+Sound Module*
TSZakov
May 12 2009, 12:47 PM, updated 15y ago

Hulo, I want to set up two CCFL kits outside my computer case, probably behind my LCD or on the desk(depending on how it goes) with a Sunbeam Sound Module. Since I prefer closing my ATX casing, is there any way for me to have both(the Lighting and Sound Module) outside the casing? Since if I can put the sound module near my speakers, it'll increase the sensitivity and I don't have to turn the volume up since when the sound module is in my case the reaction to sound isn't as good. I understand that there are several IDE/SATA to USB converters that have AC/DC to Molex 4-pin, but does it work if we want to connect it to CCFLs and also the sound module? Hopefully all the sifu here can give me ideas.  cheers
TSZakov
May 12 2009, 04:53 PM

Hmm that is for External SATA right? I also contemplated on using that...but I dun know where u can get that thing 2nd hand lol....
@zzzz52 Yeah, I understand, thats also one of the possible solution, removing the PCI plate/cover thingy and routing the wires outside the case. Or just drill a hole thru my casing sidepanel for the molex wire to go through it.
But is there any way we can get it to work without it depending on the PC's PSU? like how the external 3.5inch Hard drives work.
CCFL->Inverter->Sound Module-> Molex->AC Adapter??
TSZakov
May 13 2009, 10:56 AM

thx for the response all.  Btw, by DIYing the fan cable do u mean to extend the wires outside the case? So the power is still reliant on the PSU then? But I'm interested in DIY stuff, can u explain in more detail?  But my question is can u use the CCFL and not rely on the PC's power but rather use a Molex->AC Adapter? example, via using those Molex-> AC adapter cables found in SATA/IDE to USB Converters. This post has been edited by Zakov: May 13 2009, 10:58 AM
TSZakov
May 15 2009, 06:58 PM

Ahh just the answer I was looking for. Because I tried doing it with an IDE to USB cable molex connector, and it probably connected to the unused molex ground pins, because it seemed like there was no power going thru the cables. cheers bro
This post has been edited by Zakov: May 15 2009, 06:59 PM
TSZakov
May 27 2009, 02:07 PM

Great work there Vervain, that'll help a bunch. I've got plenty of ideas right now, but I need to plan exactly where to put the CCFLs on my desk.(As I fear I'll accidently hit them with my constantly straying foot.  Care to share how u short the 24pin?
TSZakov
Jan 18 2011, 01:34 AM

haha, already sorted out a long time ago. Similar method, used a molex to socket adapter taken from an IDE to USB. Still, thanks for the help.
TSZakov
Jan 26 2011, 02:30 PM

Not using any CCFL whatsoever.  The reason why I put it outside the case was to make use of the Sound Reactive module, which I put near the center speakers. It was quite funny at first with the CCFL blinking in CS whenever I shot the hell out of my AK-47. But in the long run, it was becoming quite annoying. This post has been edited by Zakov: Jan 26 2011, 02:32 PM
TSZakov
Jan 27 2011, 11:34 AM

Problem with my setup previously was that I had my casing on the table and subwoofer below the table. didn't have a good effect when I put the sound module inside the casing.